Rate my final logo, College assignment.

chilicandy
post Aug 10 2006, 09:25 AM

sweet and spicy
1,389 posts

outline of the logo too bolded, makes the logo too heavy.
the bear image( the last one on the right ) angle is not nice, if the logo is shrunk in its size, might not be able to see the animal shape..

so, finding the right animal angle is important.

You should try to find more group of animals to represent the zoo..
for example there should be a bird, a carnivourous or 4 legged animal, the insects, the amphibian, etc....

And give the texts some colors too....
if its a revamp of the old image, there should be more 'newness' and 'attractions' in it, the logo represent the whole zoo new outlook.

TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Aug 10 2006, 11:22 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

hmmm, ok i did some reconstruction and changed the seal(the animal at the far right) to an orang utan. Here's how its looks.

Hmmm, somehow something's just not right...
Femi
post Aug 10 2006, 11:31 AM

Lady
739 posts

The outline for the butterfly is very thick....
johnjenin
post Aug 10 2006, 11:47 AM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

from my opinion...

too colourful...although u just use 4 colour [not considering white], still look something wrong. may be can eliminate green colour. previously u said u just want to use national flags colour which is blue, red, yellow and white.

4colours make it looks like...

and i think the font need to be modify in term of colour too...

This post has been edited by johnjenin: Aug 10 2006, 11:49 AM
TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Aug 10 2006, 11:47 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

what about others? =\

johnjenin: ahhh, i see i see, i think that's where the problem lies happy.gif will change it laterz, now going out for photoshoot smile.gif

This post has been edited by R a D ! c 4 L: Aug 10 2006, 11:48 AM
night killer
post Aug 10 2006, 01:53 PM

542 posts

water mark there not that nice... guah... canot read at all.....and the square square inside the animal...... redraw nicely.... find more easy shape to let people know wat kind of animal is it..... like the deer was great for it ... another two.... the buttefly really actract people so see it..... because in center as well so can u move to the side .... and then... behind there is a flowers?? and the red color look too bright in whole picture........so ... so hahahah u think of it loh tongue.gif anyway good try
night killer
post Aug 10 2006, 01:54 PM

542 posts

sorrry just now that post is the first design.... ishhh
night killer
post Aug 10 2006, 02:00 PM

542 posts

second one really too colorfull........ design logo better dun use more than 3 color..... if not will look fancy abit..... hahaah ok the animal shape is better to the first one... but ... not really consistance to look like same type.....the box box color one more too outstanding ..... for me first one more better heheheh...
Breaktru
post Aug 10 2006, 02:26 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

I think you can start of by the second one ,probably eliminate the jaggies on the first orang utan . .. But 2 orang utan there o.O ? Add a frog maybe biggrin.gif ? And yeah , try to synchronize the color a bit , not very sure bout this , but u need to trial & error . Gud luck mate .
TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Aug 10 2006, 03:49 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

so my problem now is... try reducing the colors... something with the orang utan(its actually 1!) Hmmm, a frog is not a bad idea smile.gif thanks. about the colors for the font, any suggestions? i sucked with colors =(
tsg
post Aug 10 2006, 03:57 PM

Idontcare Club
14,610 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Aug 10 2006, 11:22 AM)
hmmm, ok i did some reconstruction and changed the seal(the animal at the far right) to an orang utan. Here's how its looks.

Hmmm, somehow something's just not right...
imho:
zebra - far left
lion - far right

that "thing" like bee near the monkey & rusa - make it smaller or put it in the centre......
kyLL
post Aug 10 2006, 07:56 PM

-=-
1,638 posts

hmm. in regards to the above post, the 'butterflies' look like UNO cards. :b
etsuko
post Aug 10 2006, 08:15 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

IMHO, the previous logo is betta than this one.. this just looks amateurish.. the text shouldn't be too colorful. it's lost the Discovery Channel effect.

did you do research on zoo logos before comitting to a design?

I think you should work on the first logo more. The opinions here would definitely help you improve on it. smile.gif
haris_2305
post Aug 10 2006, 09:50 PM

48 posts

both of your design is good, can't say a design is wrong... but the butterfly in on top of the picture is too tick you might consider to make it "nipis", you said u want to make it an international logo, i suggest the word "malaysia" i mean the font size should be balance with the "the national zoo" font... hope this help...

-theres no wrong in design... design is design... wink.gif
X.E.D
post Aug 10 2006, 10:06 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

The sole problem I see now is the practicality.
No gradients for printing?
IDK if it looks like a butterfly farm logo, there's the text justifying it.
TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Aug 11 2006, 12:04 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ Aug 10 2006, 08:15 PM)
IMHO, the previous logo is betta than this one.. this just looks amateurish.. the text shouldn't be too colorful. it's lost the Discovery Channel effect.

did you do research on zoo logos before comitting to a design?

I think you should work on the first logo more. The opinions here would definitely help you improve on it. smile.gif
i see i see, then ill work on the 1st logo then. Yeah i did some researches on logos before i start, sometimes i just get carried away sweat.gif

QUOTE(haris_2305 @ Aug 10 2006, 09:50 PM)
both of your design is good, can't say a design is wrong... but the butterfly in on top of the picture is too tick you might consider to make it "nipis", you said u want to make it an international logo, i suggest the word "malaysia" i mean the font size should be balance with the "the national zoo" font... hope this help...

-theres no wrong in design... design is design... wink.gif
thanks, ill see what i can do. smile.gif

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Aug 10 2006, 10:06 PM)
The sole problem I see now is the practicality.
No gradients for printing?
IDK if it looks like a butterfly farm logo, there's the text justifying it.
Yeah, you have a point. A good point actually, i just didnt see that -__-"

Okay... here's the new look of the 1st design... unsure.gif

edit: btw, sorry for being noobish, but what's a watermark? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by R a D ! c 4 L: Aug 11 2006, 12:30 AM
bobtiang
post Aug 11 2006, 02:28 AM

I live in a 6 STARS Hotel
1,788 posts

damn lots of butterfly... what happen to your logo? attract so many butterfly smile.gif

watermark is something like background thingy, at the first post where you have ur nick radical. normally they put in in the print out paper, like company logo.

try remove the square butterfly and spread the beauty aroudn the boxes?
andriel
post Aug 11 2006, 07:08 AM

Justin Jibber
623 posts

Are the butterflies ur main emphasis??
Anyway i got a 2 cents idea, why not u put the animal logos into the wings of the butterfly? So the the main logo is only, the butterfly with the animals inside the wings and the words below..
Just my opinion smile.gif
TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Aug 11 2006, 09:22 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(bobtiang @ Aug 11 2006, 02:28 AM)
damn lots of butterfly... what happen to your logo? attract so many butterfly smile.gif

watermark is something like background thingy, at the first post where you have ur nick radical. normally they put in in the print out paper, like company logo.

try remove the square butterfly and spread the beauty aroudn the boxes?
there's only 1 butterfly in the logo XD meh the watermark thingy is just for fun, just ignore it biggrin.gif And those square square things, those arent butterflies, they are suppose to be flowers sleep.gif

QUOTE(andriel @ Aug 11 2006, 07:08 AM)
Are the butterflies ur main emphasis??
Anyway i got a 2 cents idea, why not u put the animal logos into the wings of the butterfly? So the the main logo is only, the butterfly with the animals inside the wings and the words below..
Just my opinion smile.gif
its a good idea, but then the logo will be very complicated already. That's what i think smile.gif thanks for contributing. Hmmm i think ill just change the flowers into something else...

ok, im sticking with these 2, im going to chose 1 from it. smile.gif all i need now is just the minor arrangement and stuffs. Oh well, here goes, today's the dateline already biggrin.gif later im going to class to submit them smile.gif so by before 12 ill do some minor tweaks and stuffs. smile.gif tellme what shud i remove? or just rearrange?

Sorry for the big image, but it saves some trouble from clicking thumbnail to view it. smile.gif
siaukia
post Aug 11 2006, 09:52 AM

1,491 posts

i hope i'm not too late to be here, no conneciton at home :/

well, i guess you suppose can get some inspiration and headups from these cool awesome inspirational logo sites

http://logopond.com/
and of course a lot of useful articles and examples on major existing brands : http://identityworks.com/ (look at how they comment on visa's rebranding smile.gif)

i learnt a lot from there.

my pov of your logo design, or probably my pov of how a logo design should be,
1. easy to be remember
2. practical, in a way that you can very flexibly reproduce it in many other format, etc...it will still look good in b/w or even colour. or even uses less colour if the company chose to print the logo on their namecards etc etc
3. learn from the best, and research more, look more.

edit: added comment

This post has been edited by siaukia: Aug 11 2006, 09:58 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0725sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:36 PM