Guitars guitar, learn to play guitar

TSBoyz88
post Jun 4 2014, 02:37 PM, updated 12y ago

84 posts

Hi all musicians...i really want to learn to play guitar. can u give some suggestion or opinion for beginner like me. FYI, i am zero knowledge about basic guitar. Simply said i am a newbies.hahaha..
Zot
post Jun 4 2014, 02:42 PM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(Boyz88 @ Jun 4 2014, 02:37 PM)
Hi all musicians...i really want to learn to play guitar. can u give some suggestion or opinion for beginner like me. FYI, i am zero knowledge about basic guitar. Simply said i am a newbies.hahaha..
Buy book and learn. Go straight for book with simple song and chord diagram. Practice far away for anyone unless you want to get stoned.

TSBoyz88
post Jun 4 2014, 02:44 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 4 2014, 02:42 PM)
Buy book and learn. Go straight for book with simple song and chord diagram. Practice far away for anyone unless you want to get stoned.
haha..thanks bro. i will try that. If i play in front of u, do u want to stoned me?haha..
regiuseven
post Jun 4 2014, 02:59 PM

/k/ & /mu/
1,533 posts

Post here and get stoned. Welcome brah
ILoveMyGuitarss
post Jun 4 2014, 03:00 PM

363 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2822147

Take a look at least to know what is a guitar and its parts.

First to learn of course how to hold a guitar in a correct way. I would suggest to find a mentor to teach. Do all these right before you proceed. The correct fingering will lead u to achieve much further.. unless you just 2ant to learn a song or 2 to impress girl. Then youtube will be good.
TSBoyz88
post Jun 5 2014, 02:07 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(ILoveMyGuitarss @ Jun 4 2014, 03:00 PM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2822147

Take a look at least to know what is a guitar and its parts.

First to learn of course how to hold a guitar in a correct way. I would suggest to find a mentor to teach. Do all these right before you proceed. The correct fingering will lead u to achieve much further.. unless you just 2ant to learn a song or 2 to impress girl. Then youtube will be good.
that would help me bro..thanks a lot.. rclxms.gif
juniorsia
post Jun 5 2014, 02:11 PM

210 posts

I'm interested to buy Corth Earth 70E..
Anyone know where I can get it cheaper than retail price?
SUSimpisco
post Jun 5 2014, 03:45 PM

58 posts

This. Must chords for beginner level.
ILoveMyGuitarss
post Jun 5 2014, 04:19 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Boyz88 @ Jun 5 2014, 02:07 PM)
that would help me bro..thanks a lot.. rclxms.gif
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_tejXLLDBrLyZFk2cZrhHw

subscribe this channel if you want. The lessons they have more than to impress girls rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

If you self-learn, do pay attention to thumb position. especially when your first time to hold "Bm" chord.

And do return to ask. A lot of us are ready to help.
leah235
post Jun 5 2014, 04:23 PM

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

Go for simple chord, like Avril Lavigne - Happy Ending (repetitive chord) or Eagle - Hotel California.

btw, it would be great if you have buddies to teach you in early stage. Good luck!
TSBoyz88
post Jun 5 2014, 06:51 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Jun 5 2014, 04:23 PM)
Go for simple chord, like Avril Lavigne - Happy Ending (repetitive chord) or Eagle - Hotel California.

btw, it would be great if you have buddies to teach you in early stage. Good luck!
notworthy.gif thumbup.gif
SUSPVCpipe
post Jun 5 2014, 07:55 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

i would recommend you to start on GnR - welcome to the jungle
+3kk!
post Jun 5 2014, 07:58 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Jun 5 2014, 04:23 PM)

if im not mistaken hotel has barre chords,

noob might break his spirit with such chords

if you want simple knocking on heavens door, if u uber noob then stand by me (the ben e king one)
pipedream
post Jun 5 2014, 11:16 PM

2,353 posts

Go read up on musical theory as well and how to read taugeh. I am relearning guitar through the correct way and knowing the piano key structure and how to read notes does help a lot.

Guitar and piano is more alike than u think smile.gif
alvarez_
post Jun 6 2014, 12:24 AM

Ocer Pencen
1,376 posts

the hardest part for beginner guitarist are to form the chords. Most basic chords are C Am F G Dm for old & modern songs. google simple songs with chords. practise to sing the song while playing so u wont get bored. keep practicing to change chord accordingly to songs.

if u practice everyday, after few weeks u can change chords easier.

after few days, the strings will hurt ur finger like hell. dont give up. after a week or so, ur finger tips skin will peel off for a new layer underneath. this process will repeat until few times. later on ur finger tip will be hardened. malay say got kematu. laugh.gif

as for me, i cant really sing. suara tak sampai. laugh.gif so i learn towards fingerstyle. as some suggested, youtube channel LickNRiff provide really interactive lessons for fingerstylist.

so good luck. thumbup.gif

Horatio_D
post Jun 8 2014, 08:40 PM

52 posts

why not learn from the youtube videos.. there alots of beginner lesson there... I am not so lucky .. have to learn from the book and friends, those days b4 google and utube times.. u r so lucky...
pj_guitarist
post Jun 8 2014, 10:52 PM

1,625 posts

Horatio is right.
Hes always right.
alextanhongpin
post Jun 9 2014, 03:43 AM

154 posts

I'll teach you biggrin.gif
ikram1991
post Jun 10 2014, 03:38 PM

134 posts

learn how to fingering chord and then strum down 4 times! hehe
rain_wolf
post Jun 11 2014, 08:43 PM

164 posts

http://justinguitar.com/en/BC-000-BeginnersCourse.php
Go go justin guitar! biggrin.gif
pipedream
post Jun 12 2014, 12:11 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(clamclamclam333 @ Jun 12 2014, 01:05 AM)
how to play guitar if u have short nails? hmmm :/
lel. shorter it is the better. learn to use a pick.
ciwi1166
post Jun 12 2014, 01:32 PM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Jun 5 2014, 11:16 PM)
Go read up on musical theory as well and how to read taugeh. I am relearning guitar through the correct way and knowing the piano key structure and how to read notes does help a lot.

Guitar and piano is more alike than u think smile.gif
of coz the theory is the same. it how the instruments implemented it quite different. smile.gif

piano is 'visually' more easier for beginner. u can see the octaves clearly along the keys.
jay209
post Jun 12 2014, 04:27 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(clamclamclam333 @ Jun 12 2014, 12:05 AM)
Usually guitarists keep the fingernails of their left hand short. This is to ensure better playability and to prevent the fingerboard from getting scratched. You can use fingerpicks if you find that fingernails are annoying.
Just my 5 sen here... xD
Zot
post Jun 12 2014, 04:30 PM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(clamclamclam333 @ Jun 12 2014, 12:05 AM)
Of course you need short nails. You press the strings with your finger tips .... not nails rclxub.gif

0.0180sec    1.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:23 PM