Best Companies to Work in Malaysia, Top 30 Hits

p4n6
post Nov 3 2006, 03:37 PM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 3 2006, 03:26 PM)
Correct, don't be fooled by bonuses, when you apply for jobs elsewhere, they're not going to care about your bonuses, they'll look at your current salary.
Yea, bonuses and allowance do not count in your salary if you change job. It can't even be used to apply gold or platninum card.
theofys
post Nov 3 2006, 08:18 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(luqmanz @ Nov 3 2006, 12:19 AM)
Well actually investment banks hire fresh graduate with at least 3.5-3.7 CGPA (engineering or finance or math or equivalent) from top univ.

Dont be fooled by bonuses alone.

I got 2 fresh grad frens.

One (investment banker) making RM1800 per month, bonus around 15 months (24 months is damn rare). Total a year = RM48600 
Another (IT person) making RM3500 per month, bonus maybe 2 months. Total a year = RM 49000

They receive around the same amount of money.
Huh ? An investment banker making RM1800 a month ?? Is he in Corporate Finance?? That's ridiculous !! Your friend is underpaid !!!! Jesus Christ ! That sucks. What a culture. Is he a freshie ?

In any case, I'll be mingling around until mid-2007 then I'm jumping ship to join the one of the bulge brackets in HK.

Mavik
post Nov 4 2006, 12:14 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(theofys @ Nov 3 2006, 08:18 PM)
Huh ? An investment banker making RM1800 a month ?? Is he in Corporate Finance?? That's ridiculous !! Your friend is underpaid !!!! Jesus Christ ! That sucks. What a culture. Is he a freshie ?

In any case, I'll be mingling around until mid-2007 then I'm jumping ship to join the one of the bulge brackets in HK.
Dude, fresh grads for most investment banks here in Malaysia earn around that much, depending on the position. If I am not wrong, RM1800 a month with about 12-15 months bonus sounds like a management trainee position.

Don't get them wrong, in the long run they will definitely overtake the IT guy.
luqmanz
post Nov 4 2006, 10:15 AM

Trading Geek
2,185 posts

QUOTE(theofys @ Nov 3 2006, 08:18 PM)

They are fresh graduates.
After 3 years experience, they will make much more. Imagine salary 5k-7k with 15 months bonus.

What job you are looking for in HK ?

This post has been edited by luqmanz: Nov 4 2006, 10:16 AM
theofys
post Nov 4 2006, 12:36 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(luqmanz @ Nov 4 2006, 10:15 AM)
They are fresh graduates.
After 3 years experience, they will make much more. Imagine salary 5k-7k with 15 months bonus.

What job you are looking for in HK ?
Oh when did your friends join them ? Hmm..arousing suspicion...In any case, I have already signed with my prospective employer in HK. So glad they put me in the M&A group.

luqmanz
post Nov 4 2006, 02:03 PM

Trading Geek
2,185 posts

QUOTE(theofys @ Nov 4 2006, 12:36 PM)
Oh when did your friends join them ? Hmm..arousing suspicion...In any case, I have already signed with my prospective employer in HK. So glad they put me in the M&A group.
They joined a year ago.

Btw, what kind of benefits they offer over there ?
theofys
post Nov 5 2006, 09:34 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(luqmanz @ Nov 4 2006, 02:03 PM)
They joined a year ago.

Btw, what kind of benefits they offer over there ?
Alrighty then. That explains the discrepancy in the pay range. CIMB sucks after the acquisitions.

Well the big guns are giving loads of benefits beyond your wild imagination.
If you are not a HK citizen, you'll get a stipend so which means you'll save a huge sum of money on accomodation. A blackberry is given as your next best friend so they could call you back anytime even when its Sunday or a holiday or worst, on a vacation. But no worries as there is no such thing as a vacation in their dictionary. You'll also get a lot of mile points as you'll be travelling in style most of the time.
You take your clients to fine dining. When a deal is staffed overseas, Ritz Carlton is your second home.

Dinner is paid because you are not allowed to go home before 11pm. Really.

Prior to joining the firm, you'll be send to New York or London for 2 months for training.

I'm not going into the details of the pay range but it's pretty standard across the 1st tier banks ;bonus is usually discretionary. Your bank accout grows exponentially but you'll have no time to spend them.

Usually, these guys don't stay for long because stress levels are too high. Most of the undergrads and MBAs do it for 3 years then leave for private equity.

Don't be fooled by the glamour. It's just a monkey job at the end of the day where you'll be kissing your client's ass most of the time.

This post has been edited by theofys: Nov 5 2006, 10:04 AM
vincentlws
post Nov 5 2006, 03:08 PM

168 posts

yup...dun be fool by i work with which which big company..i work with HP b4 too...duwan to go back.
Only thing is when u say u work with XXX company..ppl will like WAH!! XXX big company worr..
the rest only u know the pain in ur ass..

TMTANWHACKY
post Nov 5 2006, 06:08 PM

745 posts

which company has the highest rate of employing?

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0192sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:34 PM