Huawei Honor 3C - Version III, Current Budget King

cvg
post Jun 3 2014, 08:48 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(fliz @ Jun 3 2014, 03:34 PM)
[attachmentid=3998005]
Next thing to test, please try and see if it is possible to update to B110 via OTA?
kehadapan
post Jun 3 2014, 09:05 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(scaarx @ Jun 3 2014, 08:04 PM)
we do need masta in unlocking loader. arghhh, what's the point buying an ori phone but cannot flash custom rom T_T
if you a flasher kaki, you should buy nexus device instead.
this device are yet to unlock its bootloader, means it is not advisable to flash any rom to it.
mynewuser
post Jun 3 2014, 09:07 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(cvg @ Jun 3 2014, 12:45 PM)
Try flash the following recovery with flash tool, this is official signed recovery image from B108 ROM.

B108 Recovery >  http://www.mediafire.com/download/9ab918o1...covery-sign.rar

SP Flash Tool v3.1324.0.177 (Secboot) > http://www.mediafire.com/download/aa577ali...177_Secboot.rar
Good work.
Kellyyhx
post Jun 3 2014, 09:35 PM

1,087 posts

Something off topic.

Found this nice case smile.gif

hakim_radzuan
post Jun 3 2014, 09:46 PM

699 posts

Guys, anyone got problem with making call? Mine suddenly cant make call. It appear emergency call only and no service below telco name. But 3G seems working as usual.
allenultra
post Jun 3 2014, 09:47 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(hakim_radzuan @ Jun 3 2014, 09:46 PM)
Guys, anyone got problem with making call? Mine suddenly cant make call. It appear emergency call only and no service below telco name. But 3G seems working as usual.
Its more like the telco issue. Try with another phone? Another sim card slot?

Btw, as of no signal, how could you get any data connection?

kehadapan
post Jun 3 2014, 10:31 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(hakim_radzuan @ Jun 3 2014, 09:46 PM)
QUOTE(allenultra @ Jun 3 2014, 09:47 PM)
Its more like the telco issue. Try with another phone? Another sim card slot?

Btw, as of no signal, how could you get any data connection?
allenultra is right. more to telco issue, sometime the line is dropping, but 3g full bar.
nx7010
post Jun 3 2014, 11:52 PM

148 posts

My review of the Honor 3C.

For RM499 it is fighting in a league above it's price band. As an avid smartphone fan, I've been changing phones just to review and to test out it's performance for the price.

Personally prior to the launch of Honor 3C, my personal bottom line phone is the Nexus 4. And at current used price of around RM600-700, I think it is the phone to get for a good overall Android experience. The Samsung S3, and HTC One X is pretty OK but does have its noticeable lags.

I've been using the Honor 3C as my daily driver for a about 2 weeks. And I gotta say I'm impressed. Day to day operation is pretty fluid. Don't expect Snapdragon 600 and above performance but for what it is a mediatek quad core. It is mighty decent. Especially if you are in the market for a dual sim phone.

How my phone is setup,
Stock unrooted.
GEL launcher installed.
Google Keyboard installed.
Most used browser chrome - 60+ open tabs and still smooth.
Games playing.
Real Racing 3
Frontline Commando 2.
Both games are handled pretty decent by this phone.

Camera
Pretty OK rear camera when it is bright. Though autofocus don't seem to be focusing sharply. Dimmed lighting or dark situations - not as good as HTC One, Sony Z1. Better performing than the nexus 4 camera - which is OK for a basic camera.
Front camera - selfie cam.. Very nice 5mp camera. And pretty wide angle.

Battery.
Decent - able to last 1 day for my usage. Screen On Time about 5-7 hours depending on gaming or not.

Screen
Bright, one of the best in price. 720p display. I know I've been spoiled by the FHD screens in the market, but this 720p screen is perfectly usable.

Overall, the convenience of having a pretty decent performance dual sim phone for RM500.

I'm excited to see what next year's RM500 phone could do. Probably specced as good as our current Snapdragon 800.

If you think about getting a dual sim phone. This is it.
If you think about giving family a starter smart phone. If you want a decent phone for your money. If all you wanna spend on a phone right now is RM500. This is it.
NightFelix
post Jun 4 2014, 12:17 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Wait for Honor 3D or 4C? laugh.gif
jsen58
post Jun 4 2014, 12:26 AM

344 posts

Hi guys, if anyone of u need a unit of honor 3c, i got one. jut received today. open to show mum, but she dislike. if you happen to be interested, kindly pm me.. thank you. my set comes with a blue and gold cover, and a screen protector

oneeleven
post Jun 4 2014, 12:39 AM

1,515 posts

Hi. New to phone, overwhelmed by so many postings. Wondering:

Can the light screen backgrounds be set to dark to save battery?
Where is the Apps Drawer?

allenultra
post Jun 4 2014, 12:52 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jun 4 2014, 12:39 AM)
Hi. New to phone, overwhelmed by so many postings. Wondering:

Can the light screen backgrounds be set to dark to save battery?
Where is the Apps Drawer?

Brightness can be adjusted for sure. Low, mid, high or auto.
The stock launcher doesn't come with Apps drawer, just like MIUI/Ios style if you ask me.
If you need an apps drawer, install other launcher and you are good to go.
danielcmugen
post Jun 4 2014, 01:16 AM

5,538 posts

Usually when I press my home button, I get to select between Huawei home and Nova launcher, but I accidentally press "always" at the bottom there. So now whenever I press my home button, I cant select which launcher I want. icon_question.gif
LonelyPenguin
post Jun 4 2014, 06:00 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jun 4 2014, 01:16 AM)
Usually when I press my home button, I get to select between Huawei home and Nova launcher, but I accidentally press "always" at the bottom there. So now whenever I press my home button, I cant select which launcher I want. icon_question.gif
Setting~Manage apps~(app name)~Clear defaults
hirota
post Jun 4 2014, 07:39 AM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(nx7010 @ Jun 3 2014, 11:52 PM)
My review of the Honor 3C.

For RM499 it is fighting in a league above it's price band. As an avid smartphone fan, I've been changing phones just to review and to test out it's performance for the price.

Personally prior to the launch of Honor 3C, my personal bottom line phone is the Nexus 4. And at current used price of around RM600-700, I think it is the phone to get for a good overall Android experience. The Samsung S3, and HTC One X is pretty OK but does have its noticeable lags.

I've been using the Honor 3C as my daily driver for a about 2 weeks. And I gotta say I'm impressed. Day to day operation is pretty fluid. Don't expect Snapdragon 600 and above performance but for what it is a mediatek quad core. It is mighty decent. Especially if you are in the market for a dual sim phone.

How my phone is setup,
Stock unrooted.
GEL launcher installed.
Google Keyboard installed.
Most used browser chrome - 60+ open tabs and still smooth.
Games playing.
Real Racing 3
Frontline Commando 2.
Both games are handled pretty decent by this phone.

Camera
Pretty OK rear camera when it is bright. Though autofocus don't seem to be focusing sharply. Dimmed lighting or dark situations - not as good as HTC One, Sony Z1. Better performing than the nexus 4 camera - which is OK for a basic camera.
Front camera - selfie cam.. Very nice 5mp camera. And pretty wide angle.

Battery.
Decent - able to last 1 day for my usage. Screen On Time about 5-7 hours depending on gaming or not.

Screen
Bright, one of the best in price. 720p display. I know I've been spoiled by the FHD screens in the market, but this 720p screen is perfectly usable.

Overall, the convenience of having a pretty decent performance dual sim phone for RM500.

I'm excited to see what next year's RM500 phone could do. Probably specced as good as our current Snapdragon 800.

If you think about getting a dual sim phone. This is it.
If you think about giving family a starter smart phone. If you want a decent phone for your money. If all you wanna spend on a phone right now is RM500. This is it.
Nice review, thanks for sharing thumbup.gif
cvg
post Jun 4 2014, 07:49 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Jun 3 2014, 04:26 PM)
i tested again to clean boot it...flash thru the same way using sp tool and signed recovery..now it hang at the Honor screen..no bootloop but stucked at bootscreen..cannot go into recovery as well... aduhhh
There are many misleading tutorial on the net, while the procedure will work on China version phone (aka AP), doing the same on Malaysia version H3C will lead you into hard times.

This post has been edited by cvg: Jun 4 2014, 08:54 AM
fliz
post Jun 4 2014, 08:23 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(cvg @ Jun 3 2014, 08:48 PM)
Next thing to test, please try and see if it is possible to update to B110 via OTA?
yup possible to update to B110, got notification
salimbest83
post Jun 4 2014, 08:38 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,647 posts

QUOTE(kehadapan @ Jun 3 2014, 09:05 PM)
if you a flasher kaki, you should buy nexus device instead.
this device are yet to unlock its bootloader, means it is not advisable to flash any rom to it.
erk. sorry to comment.
nexus kinda bad coz as a flasher. i usually keep 1-2 backup rom from different version on my phone.
but as of latest. one backup easily take 2.5-3.5 GB of space on storage.
which if u count that measly 5-9 GB space left on nexus device is ridiculously low
sususoya86
post Jun 4 2014, 09:34 AM

15 posts

just got my honor 3c yesterday from lowyat ground floor ...(>_<) , nice screen and performance ,but mine price is 650...

This post has been edited by sususoya86: Jun 4 2014, 09:36 AM
evtansk
post Jun 4 2014, 09:46 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(sususoya86 @ Jun 4 2014, 09:34 AM)
just got my honor 3c yesterday from lowyat ground floor ...(>_<) , nice screen and performance ,but mine price is 650...
WOW! shocking.gif that's quite a price leh...it's original Huawei Malaysia unit or AP? if AP, truly not worth d lor shocking.gif

but anyway, bought d mean bought d smile.gif happy using ur 3c thumbup.gif

126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:05 AM