Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V19, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

JohnL77
post May 20 2014, 10:49 PM

1,887 posts

Hey, anybody experience being redirected to MIDAS advertising page when using Firefox 29's address bar to google things?

I just reformatted my pc and when I install Firefox 29 I noticed this. Tried reinstall FF several times, still the same. No such problem with Chrome.

I google this MIDAS and found this - http://midas.nervesis.com/#services

Apparently this is a collaboration with TM. So.. our f***er ISP is redirecting our google searches to advertising now?

I tried Firefox 28 and didn't have this problem. So.. is it FF 29's fault or TM's fault?
JohnL77
post May 21 2014, 05:54 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(sHsIkuA @ May 21 2014, 11:12 AM)
Notice that too and I thought I caught a spyware or something lol

Just use google dns and it will go away. Apparently it's TM Dns
Oh yeah, forgot to set up google dns after reformatting. Thanks. smile.gif

EDIT: It worked! smile.gif

This post has been edited by JohnL77: May 21 2014, 06:03 PM
JohnL77
post May 21 2014, 08:29 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(sHsIkuA @ May 21 2014, 11:12 AM)
Notice that too and I thought I caught a spyware or something lol

Just use google dns and it will go away. Apparently it's TM Dns
So that means Chrome automatically uses Google dns? Interesting. hmm.gif
JohnL77
post Oct 5 2014, 03:35 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Oct 3 2014, 04:19 PM)
Do you still got it on your firefox? I'm on FF 32.0.3 and now noticed it redirects to midas page everytime I use url bar to search. I'm on Google DNS.
Nope. After resetting Google DNS I no longer automatically redirect to that page.
JohnL77
post Jan 3 2015, 10:06 AM

1,887 posts

Anyone know how to change DNS settings on Unifi's router? I'm using the router with this kind of settings page:

If this is the wrong forum to ask, can you please guide me to the correct one? Thanks.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Jan 3 2015, 10:06 AM
JohnL77
post Jan 3 2015, 07:08 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(dankzone @ Jan 3 2015, 03:44 PM)
1)Login to your router using the username: operator, password : h566UniFi.
2)Go to Setup->WAN-> edit 1_INTERNET_R icon.
3)Enter Manual DNS, Apply.

Note, for those who haven't already discovered the operator login method on your RG4332s, make sure you modify the password for security purposes. Best way is to delete the admin user, rename the operator to admin, and then set your normal password to this "pure" admin account. TM kinda duped us into thinking that our default admin account is really an admin accessible account. It has actually been set to operator level which has less privileges than an admin account.

Avoid TM's backdoors as much as possible.
It worked! rclxms.gif Thanks!

Is it okay to delete the "admin" account? Won't it breach some terms of service or something? How to delete this account?

What other backdoor things are TM doing? Teach me, sifu.
JohnL77
post Jan 5 2015, 11:02 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(dankzone @ Jan 5 2015, 04:18 PM)
Yes, that would be fine.

The real sifu is master rizvanrp, take a look at his guide to router security and concerns about TM's practices:

https://rizvanrp.com/pub/unifi_athena_my/ro...curity.php.html

To summarize, and for a specific router like RG4332:

A)Default username/password combination can be changed at Management->User Management.
B)TR-069 Protocol can be disabled at Management->TR069 Configuration.
C)Firewall Settings at Advanced->Anti Attack.
D)Remote Management at Advanced->Access Control which is already configured for only pinging by default.
Thank you thank you. rclxms.gif You are the best abang seguru.

0.0223sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:41 PM