Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

Fairview
post Oct 13 2017, 12:59 PM

196 posts

Can you please generously share with us where you source for all these beautiful diamond. Of course after you have bought your diamond.

All of us know that there is no much value for diamond irrespective whether it is GIA or not if later you want to sell them for whatsoever reason. Diamond is illiquid and also the mark up for diamond is extremely high. It is pointless to buy too many diamonds.

Thank You.

Fairview
post Oct 31 2017, 12:56 PM

196 posts

Just received a "black" loose diamond from BGD and certainly it is a class by itself.

The fire from the stone is indeed mesmerizing and amazing. Maybe a bit more expensive but it is certainly worth it.

Looking forward to purchase the next "black" diamond from them. This is a personal preference as I have no experience buying from other established and reputable vendors such as Whiteflash in the States.

Only takes about 3 days from USA to Malaysia and I understand the item is also insured.

BGD also has a strong marketing team along with the diamond is a handwritten personal note from the master craftmen himself Mr Gavin congratulating the buyer.

BTW I also wants to congratulate all those contributors to this forum as their valuable postings have helped buyers from selecting their diamonds wisely and also widen the avenues including online purchase from USA.

Cheers.
Fairview
post Oct 31 2017, 03:07 PM

196 posts

Brother,

I have suggested to BGD to give free Shipping when they asked me to give them a feedback. Not sure they will do it.

Yes I fully agreed with you that our local brick and mortar shops must also learn to provide more useful information to buyers such as Aset Image, H & A Image, HCA Image , Video etc. However there is financial implication here how are they going to dispose all those diamonds that are not up to the marks. Cheap sale ? Special discount ? One time write off. Of course I also agree with you that those aiming for lower but still OK quality diamond might not need all these pertinent information.

In the long run it is the consumers in Malaysia that will be the deciding factor. If they are educated about buying diamonds for example visiting this informative forum and your excellent blog i am sure they will realise how and where to spend their hard earned money to purchase good quality diamonds for their loved one. Right now they are starting to lose sales to the online vendors like you stated Whiteflash which is giving excellent value.

What the contributors for this forum had done is disseminating information to minimize overcharging.
I understand that the margin/mark up is very high.

A VERY GOOD JOB. Well done.

Syabas.

This post has been edited by Fairview: Oct 31 2017, 03:27 PM
Fairview
post Nov 1 2017, 01:38 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Oct 31 2017, 03:43 PM)
I am sure the diamond landscape will change little by little. Private jewelers like Jann Paul in Singapore runs a brick-and-mortar store but they provide all the education of all the images in 2 hours. If one day local jewelers see such value, maybe they will adapt as well. Once they adapted, the suppliers will have to adapt as well, so do the cutters. However, I think the change will be slow because profit probably still go first, and those big players may feel reluctant to allow the cutter to spend much more time to craft the diamond to a top precision. Besides, some cutters may need to be trained, if they do not have such skill sets. Maybe things will speed up as digital economy blossoms further.

As for your question on how to dispose the existing diamonds, I can think of 2 ways:
1. Like you said, cheap sales / any promotional activities.
2. Send the diamonds back for re-cut, which I think may be impractical due to the cost, but there is a possibility to do so.
Hi Brother Koh,

Seek your expertise to recommend some 0.70 carat stones preferable in the range F to H & VS! to VS2.

Prefer to shop from online vendors than our local brick & mortar shops as they have more choices and more importantly the pertinent information such as HCA Score, Idea Scope Image, Aset Image are available.
Yes you need to wait but it only takes about 3 to 4 days for your item to arrive in Malaysia from USA.

Lastly we want to ensure the gem we bought are worth the price we paid.

Best Wishes
Fairview
post Nov 1 2017, 10:01 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Oct 31 2017, 10:52 PM)
The ASET of that G VS1 you chosen is not that good at the upper right hand side of the table. It seems to be leaking light there. The ASET in the ceritifcate also indicates there is a part with weaker light return.

This will be a better option, as far as 40-pointers are concerned:
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link). This diamond has excellent light return and fire. The lower girdle is at 77%, and it should show some bold flash instead of pin-fire flash.

There is another 40-pointer that shows great fire and light return as well:
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link). This should have bolder flash because the lower girdle is even lower at 76%. However, I noticed that this diamond's Hearts and Arrows pattern is not as good as the F VS1 above, hence the F VS1 above will be my first choice.

I did not exactly browse through each available 40-pointers within the F G colour range as I am abit busy at the moment, but the 40-pointer I chosen earlier will be quite an excellent diamond that I will shortlist to buy myself.

As for whether to downgrade clarity or not, it is okay as long as the inclusion does not bring any risky factor to the stone.

Hope this helps.
Mr Koh,

In what way diamond 1' s H & A pattern is better than diamond 2. Trying to learn from you.

Fairview
post Nov 3 2017, 11:56 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Oct 31 2017, 11:50 AM)
Here are some other options:

https://black.briangavindiamonds.com/diamon...?a_aid=myengexp (affiliate link) This is a G VS2. I like this in particular due to its high contrast in the ASET of the certificate.

https://black.briangavindiamonds.com/diamon...?a_aid=myengexp (affiliate link). This is a F VS2. This is actually not bad as well. Although it does not show as much contrast as the G VS2 above, but its contrast level is already pretty good. Minor complains may be the arrows of the H&A may not seem to be as "pretty" as some other Black by Brian Gavin, but this is just splitting hairs.

https://black.briangavindiamonds.com/diamon...?a_aid=myengexp (affiliate link). This is another F VS2. It is pretty similar to the F VS2 above. Minor complain is that there is weaker light return at the 12 o'clock edge of the diamond, if you refer to the ASET image provided. Although this is just a minor issue, it is pretty surprising as Black by Brian Gavin should not show such weaker light return, since it is brand as a better signature stone. Anyway, other vendor's super ideals do exhibit such pattern as well.

https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp. It is a 0.56ct F VS1 (affiliate link). This diamond is pretty interesting. Although the video looks not as sparkly as the following diamond:

https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp. It is a 0.541 F VS1 (affiliate link)

I will still buy the 0.56ct because of the ASET in the certificate shows more contrast. I believe, in real life, things will be more interesting on the 0.56ct.

Is 0.541 any good then? Absolutely fine. In fact, it produces bolder flash because the lower girdle length is 76% compared to the 0.56ct which has lower girdle length of 78%. In theory, shorter lower girdle length will produce fatter arrows and also produces bolder flash. It is good to buy the 0.541 if you want bright diamond with bold flashes. But personally, I prefer more fire, and 0.56ct seems to be able to provide that.

Although the video does not show that 0.56ct looks better than the 0.541ct, but I am willing to put my trust on it, after seeing its proportions and ASET in the certificate of the 0.56ct. Just personal preference.
Brother Koh,

Please talk more on the 0.56ct F VS1 in what way it is pretty interesting. Is this a top quality diamond ?

BTW I notice that generally the Video from Whiteflash is much more brillant/brighter/colourful than BDG. It is all due to the photography/ lighting etc or the quality of the diamonds ?

Regards

Fairview
post Nov 3 2017, 04:20 PM

196 posts

Mr Koh,

I wish to thank you for your lengthly explanation which is extremely useful. You have very good knowledge on diamonds and are you taking GIA Diploma Course in Diamonds. Understand you can take distance learning course and the final lab course to be taken at the nearest campus in Hong Kong or Bangkok.

There are much more things to learn about diamonds.

However I have decided not to buy too many diamonds as they are expensive but with very low resale value even for branded diamonds (although the branded diamonds can sell for better value and faster). In other words we will lose money with diamonds.

I will continue to learn up and improve my knowledge about diamonds as I find them fascinating.

Warmest Regards
Fairview
post Nov 6 2017, 05:49 PM

196 posts

Brother Koh,

Any well cut 0.50 carat diamonds from Zoara that is worthwhile for consideration. ie value for money.

Regards
Fairview
post Nov 9 2017, 12:05 PM

196 posts

Brother Koh,

Once again thank you.

I will take my time to digest what you have written.

Best Wishes.
Fairview
post Nov 9 2017, 12:18 PM

196 posts

Brother Koh,

I noted that most of the diamond rings are made of either 14k or 18k white/yellow gold. I have been informed that it is not advisable to made diamond ring with 22K yellow gold as the ring/prong wil be too soft and the diamond might fall out. Is it true ? Personally I prefer 22K gold as its rich yellow colour looks more like typical yellow gold as compare to 18K.
Has anyone try using 22k yellow gold for their rings ?

Interesting I also find out that 14K white/yellow gold is actually stronger than 18K as the portion of yellow gold used is lesser. Generally white gold is also stronger than yellow gold because there is a extra coating for white gold.

Regards
Fairview
post Nov 12 2017, 04:56 PM

196 posts

Brother Koh,

For the benefit of everyone to MAXIMISE for fire and strong spark what are the proportions we need to look for in the cutting such as crown angle, pavilion angle, star angle
table size , depth, lower grille, crown height ? Deeply appreciate if you could share your knowledge with all of us so that we could get the right diamond and not ripped by the sales personnel.
Thank You.

This post has been edited by Fairview: Nov 12 2017, 05:20 PM
Fairview
post Nov 13 2017, 09:51 PM

196 posts

Brother Koh,

Please give me your feedback on this loose diamond :-

GIA No 6261210752
HCA Score 1.9 (below 2.0)
Enchanted Diamonds Cut Score 94.1(less than 100)
I noted that the Crown Angle is slightly too deep @ 36 perecent.

Thank You
Fairview
post Nov 14 2017, 08:51 AM

196 posts

Thanks for the latest information regarding Collection Series which I understand are only for diamonds with colour D,E F and clarity IF and VVS. No doubt these are topnotch diamonds for those with deep pockets and want the best.

Those with limited budget diamonds with G/H colour and VS1/VS2 (eye clean) or even SI1 (eye clean) will be good enough. This would gives best value for their hard earned money.

Overall it is positive as it gives the consumer more choices and it is up to their personal preferences

Cheers.

This post has been edited by Fairview: Nov 14 2017, 10:41 AM
Fairview
post Nov 14 2017, 01:48 PM

196 posts

Personally I would prefer BGD because it is possible to get a "black" loose stone with clarity lower than VVSI ie VS1 etc.

However do compare the price between these 2 established online retailers and get the best bang for your money.

Best wishes.
Fairview
post Nov 14 2017, 01:52 PM

196 posts

By the way have anyone actually tried to place a order from Zoara.

If Yes how is the experience ?

Is it as good as BGD and Whiteflash ?

Best Wishes
Fairview
post Nov 16 2017, 08:03 PM

196 posts

Brother Koh,

Through my experience I find that sourcing the loose diamond from established online retailer such as BDG Diamonds & White Flash and getting a local jeweller to make the ring is a very viable option.

Buying from BDG or WF, I am assured that the hearts and arrows diamond is ranked amongst the best diamonds in the world. Furthermore there are more choices and not to forget
that the prices are very competitive. The local jeweller also
charged reasonable fees.

End of the day I managed to secure a very beautiful ring for my wife at a very competitive price and most importantly she like it. We get married many years ago but at that time I could not get a diamond ring for her with my low salary.

Of course it takes more time and effort and you need to learn up on diamonds but this is where the fun is. It is very rewarding.

Regards

Fairview
post Nov 16 2017, 09:10 PM

196 posts

Brother Koh,

Just upgrading only.

Glad to do that as at the same time I managed to learn about diamond. Before that like most people I have nil knowledge on this gemstone.

Best Wishes

This post has been edited by Fairview: Nov 16 2017, 09:11 PM
Fairview
post Nov 17 2017, 10:26 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Nov 16 2017, 09:15 PM)
No problem. Glad you and your wife like it. wink.gif
Hi Brother Koh,

Just for sharing I have paid RM6,488 (Inclusive of shipping, wiring charges etc) for the purchase of the loose stone, Thus if I add the GST of 6% then the cost is about RM6,877.
I get a local jeweller to make the ring which is of 18K white gold with small loose diamonds along the shank and it costs me RM1,500- which is very reasonable as the workmanship is good.

A very beautiful hearts and arrows solitaire diamond ring with loose diamonds along the shank for the total
cost of about RM8,377/-

Overall a very rewarding exercise and I have gained much experience in getting a diamond ring.

PS. I bought the loose round diamonds which is a 0.47 carat H, SV1 from BDG Diamonds and it is not much difference in size from a 0.50 carat.

Cheers.
Fairview
post Nov 17 2017, 01:31 PM

196 posts

Brother Koh,

Ring setting is done via a established local chain of mortar and brick jewellery shops namely WC. My wife is satisfied with the workmanship (usually ladies are very particular about their ring and this round passed the test) and charges is reasonable.

As for the photo thousand apologies as my spouse has taken possession of the ring.

Cheers.
Fairview
post Nov 17 2017, 01:39 PM

196 posts

Good news for those who plan to buy their loose diamonds from USA or Singapore as this morning Malaysian Ringgit has strengthened against USD and SGD.

Check this early afternoon the rates are :-

1USD = 4.16 MYR
1 SGD = 3.07 MYR

However please take note that the rates will fluctuate/change throughout the day.

Best wishes.

This post has been edited by Fairview: Nov 17 2017, 01:56 PM

0.1956sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:33 PM