[WTA] The Cost of Wedding, Need advice

kons
post May 14 2014, 08:12 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(p0ser @ May 14 2014, 08:10 AM)
Not sure what you experienced but my dinner was RM800 per table. Most of my guest gave more than RM100 any pow
Mine would be RM2k per table. So I am not expecting to get back everything.
Perhaps 50% is good enough.

p0ser
post May 14 2014, 08:17 AM

Travelling around the silver state
605 posts

QUOTE(kons @ May 14 2014, 08:12 AM)
Mine would be RM2k per table. So I am not expecting to get back everything.
Perhaps 50% is good enough.
Lol 2k per table. KL is so expensive. Good luck to you. Have a blissfull marriage rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
kons
post May 14 2014, 08:22 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(p0ser @ May 14 2014, 08:17 AM)
Lol 2k per table. KL is so expensive. Good luck to you. Have a blissfull marriage  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif
Thanks. Cheers!

deodorant
post May 14 2014, 09:36 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(bluenun @ May 13 2014, 01:27 PM)
Which of the major expenses that ready to occur, and is that true that majority of the wedding expenses are to be bear by the man?

All depends on you, your wife, and your respective parents. There is no "standard procedure" per se. If you are lucky and both side parents are those happy go lucky, whatever la kind, then you got a lot of freedom to cut down on expenses. If either side is big businessman and/or only child and/or super traditional parents then jialat liao.

Wedding Album              = RM6,500 (a package where we already signed up in last year)
Wedding Band                =
Bride Dowry                    =
Ang Pao Disbursement    =
Wedding Dinner              =
Actual day video & photo  =
Other??? (pls list down)    =

90% of wedding studios once you take your pre wedding photos, they will hard sell you like shit to pay extra few thousand to "add photos to your album." note that every single married couple will tell you that the wedding album will hardly ever get looked at. As I'm writing this I can't even recall where my wife put the album liao icon_idea.gif

Wedding bands, dowry, ang bao is up to you and your wife and your in laws, too variable.

Wedding dinner depends, restaruant from rm800-1k per table, 4star hotel from rm1200-rm1500 per table, 5 star hotel from rm2000. normally you can at least break even on restaurant and 4 star hotel; for 5 star normally hard to break even.

Actual day video/photo anywhere from rm2k to rm15k+

conclusion? wedding is as cheap (or expensive) as you want it to be.
gnuix
post May 14 2014, 09:53 AM

161 posts

please dont expect the angpow given to cover the dinner cost. be prepared to top up.
i'm doing one this year in ipoh.

pre wed photo = 3.6-4 (freelance photog + freelance wedding gown)
actual day vid/photo = 2.1
bride dowry = 10 tables of dinner + (the gor dai lai cost)
accommodation = 3.5k (heng dai + close relative)
honeymoon = postpone as long as possible. LOL

in the beginning i've already told my wife no bridal shop package because i hate it and i feel it is not worth it.

calculate and spend wisely. don't start the new journey in debt.
DrBarbarian
post May 14 2014, 12:10 PM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

Wedding Album = 4k
Wedding Band =
Bride Dowry = 88888
Ang Pao Disbursement =
Wedding Dinner = 40k
Actual day video & photo = 3k
Honeymoon = 20k
Reno house = 100k
elimi8z
post May 14 2014, 12:23 PM

940 posts

Wedding Album = Free by friend,in fact 2,both are famous photographer
Wedding Band = Free,hands me down from granny
Bride Dowry = Not discussed yet but +- 10k
Ang Pao Disbursement = She keeps hers,i keep mine
Wedding Dinner = 1k per table,max 20-30 table
Actual day video & photo = Free by friend
Other??? (pls list down) =
Honeymoon = Free by friend at Maldives (GM there)
Honeymoon 2 = Boracay, RM 10k,love the island so much
Apartment = Small apartment for 2,poorfag
Ash1988
post May 14 2014, 01:09 PM

641 posts

Gratz on ur upcoming wedding, infact i am preparing for mine too.
My wedding is end of this year.

Wedding Album = 4k
Proposal Ring = 2k
Wedding Band = 2k
Buffet Dinner = 3.5k
O/s Accomodation = 2k
Bride Dowry = 10k
Ang Pao Disbursement = Should be few hundred
Wedding Dinner = 30 tables at 1.3k ea @@ (Angpow not sure can cover or not cry.gif )
Actual day photo = 800, you need video? I feel like its kind of waste since you won't be watching it in future.
Honeymoon = Haven't plan budget 10k
Reno house = Big headache, reno + furnitures should be above 50k

KL restaurant now hardly you can find below 900, as I have surveyed alot. Price nowadays have increased to a least RM1k per table but people mindset is still RM100/head angpow. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Ash1988: May 14 2014, 01:24 PM
Ash1988
post May 14 2014, 01:16 PM

641 posts

QUOTE(gnuix @ May 14 2014, 09:53 AM)
please dont expect the angpow given to cover the dinner cost. be prepared  to top up.
i'm doing one this year in ipoh.

pre wed photo = 3.6-4 (freelance photog + freelance wedding gown)
actual day vid/photo = 2.1
bride dowry = 10 tables of dinner + (the gor dai lai cost)
accommodation = 3.5k (heng dai + close relative)
honeymoon = postpone as long as possible. LOL

in the beginning i've already told my wife no bridal shop package because i hate it and i feel it is not worth it.

calculate and spend wisely. don't start the new journey in debt.
Bro, wise choice of not choosing bridal shop package. I signed one of the quite famous bridal shop last year from the wedding fair. It cost me RM4k+ but the service is super lousy. I have not taken my pre-wedding shooting yet and due on this coming Friday. Hopefully they can produce a better photoshoot skills and output else I'm going to get mad and blast them kao kao.

Tell you this type of bridal shop is money-sucking business, whatever extra you need to pay pay pay. Even rent a shoes need to pay LOL.
SOCKman!
post May 14 2014, 01:52 PM

345 posts

This is for Chinese wedding in KL smile.gif Both of us are earning AUD though so take that into account. Me and wife cover all to eliminate calculations from both sides.

Wedding Album = RM 7k
Wedding Band = RM 2k
Wedding Ring = RM 7k
Bride Dowry = RM18888
Ang Pao Disbursement = RM 3k
Wedding Dinner = RM 60k
Actual day video & photo (2x video and photo from both sides) = RM6k
Wedding day make-up artist = RM 2.5k
Dinner Live Band = RM 5k

Honeymoon paid but not yet go: RM 60k laugh.gif
Build New Home DP: RM350k+
FirezZ
post May 14 2014, 04:55 PM

Naise kukUpi
1,993 posts

Dont panic bro

================ Year 2010 KL ======================
Wedding Album = went to China for the photo shooting (so im taking the amount for the ALBUM into consideration only) RM 6 K
Wedding Band = rm 8xx (a friend of mine know them (2 singers), so this consider as "friend price"
Bride Dowry = 8888 but return back 888 to us.
roosted pig, chicken... kili kala... rm few k .. lupa again
Ang Pao Disbursement = collect all of them and used it to cover our expenses.
Wedding Dinner = rm 8xx per table, 33 tables involved (excluding whiskey:ssss + 3 boxes of red wines) - damage lupa jor
Actual day video & photo = Free by friends but give angpau as thank you (rm 1000 + 300)
Organizers in helping to manage few occasions during the dinner (rm 1000 as thank you angpau)
hotel stay = rm 1K
Angpau for "hengdaiz" = rm 500
Damage for "jimui" = unknown.. lupa jor
Car rental = rm 500 (by relative)
Door gift = rm 750 (those organic soap by friend)
Those small angpau for own family and bride's family (single youngster) = unknown.. lupa jor
night time buffet = rm 2.x K

===> btw... the one in johor should be better right ?
had one round of wedding dinner in batupahat, 1 table cost rm 3xx only... and johor people's angpau is not "littler" wor.. ~q
sure untung
whistling.gif

FirezZ
post May 14 2014, 05:01 PM

Naise kukUpi
1,993 posts

QUOTE(Ash1988 @ May 14 2014, 01:09 PM)
Gratz on ur upcoming wedding, infact i am preparing for mine too.
My wedding is end of this year.

Wedding Album = 4k
Proposal Ring = 2k
Wedding Band = 2k
Buffet Dinner = 3.5k
O/s Accomodation = 2k
Bride Dowry = 10k
Ang Pao Disbursement = Should be few hundred
Wedding Dinner = 30 tables at 1.3k ea @@ (Angpow not sure can cover or not  cry.gif )
Actual day photo = 800, you need video? I feel like its kind of waste since you won't be watching it in future.
Honeymoon = Haven't plan budget 10k
Reno house = Big headache, reno + furnitures should be above 50k

KL restaurant now hardly you can find below 900, as I have surveyed alot. Price nowadays have increased to a least RM1k per table but people mindset is still RM100/head angpow.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
i was not expecting to "earn" from the wedding dinner too but surprisingly, (plain on the restaurant/tables) balance still positive biggrin.gif
found out most of them were from "friends".... peers nowadays giving more than rm 100 jor.. but still some with rm 50 (and 2 people coming together) aiks....

fuelsave
post May 22 2014, 12:26 PM

133 posts

u all missed out wedding photographer and videographer costs as well
Axell
post May 22 2014, 02:30 PM

Looking for FL
920 posts

QUOTE(RiuK3n @ May 13 2014, 08:45 PM)
Here's mine...

Pre wedding photoshoot: rm5,000
Engagement ring + band: rm11k
Dowry: none
Ang pao: none
Wedding dinner: rm30k
Actual day video: I check latest rate is rm3k fr video, rm2k fr photo
Others - wedding misc: rm7k

Btw I'm doing a beach wedding in KK next march
roughly the cost is around RM 55K..... fuh sweat.gif
RiuK3n
post May 22 2014, 03:14 PM

The Pursuit of Knowledge Dies With Age, Not Time
1,391 posts

QUOTE(Axell @ May 22 2014, 02:30 PM)
roughly the cost is around RM 55K..... fuh  sweat.gif
Lol, either you make the Mrs happy or bear the grunt for the rest of your life sweat.gif
Btw heard cheapest place you can do in KL is at this place called Cyberview lodge in Cyberjaya
sonerin
post May 22 2014, 08:22 PM

8,739 posts

Total spend of about 50k about 5 years back in Penang.
married for 5 years and we had 3 houses now. Staying in 1 and rented the other 2. First house bought after wedding was 2 story terrace.

This post has been edited by sonerin: May 22 2014, 08:26 PM
Quantum_thinking
post May 23 2014, 09:39 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(FirezZ @ May 14 2014, 04:55 PM)

Dont panic bro
================ Year 2010 KL ======================
Wedding Album = went to China for the photo shooting (so im taking the amount for the ALBUM into consideration only) RM 6 K
Wedding Band = rm 8xx (a friend of mine know them (2 singers), so this consider as "friend price"
Bride Dowry = 8888 but return back 888 to us.
roosted pig, chicken... kili kala... rm few k .. lupa again
Ang Pao Disbursement = collect all of them and used it to cover our expenses.
Wedding Dinner = rm 8xx per table, 33 tables involved (excluding whiskey:ssss + 3 boxes of red wines) - damage lupa jor
Actual day video & photo = Free by friends but give angpau as thank you (rm 1000 + 300)
Organizers in helping to manage few occasions during the dinner (rm 1000 as thank you angpau)
hotel stay = rm 1K
Angpau for "hengdaiz" = rm 500
Damage for "jimui" = unknown.. lupa jor
Car rental = rm 500 (by relative)
Door gift = rm 750 (those organic soap by friend)
Those small angpau for own family and bride's family (single youngster) = unknown.. lupa jor
night time buffet = rm 2.x K

===> btw... the one in johor should be better right ?
had one round of wedding dinner in batupahat, 1 table cost rm 3xx only... and johor people's angpau is not "littler" wor.. ~q
sure untung
whistling.gif
In my case,

thinking maybe wedding dinner lesser table, lesser wine, wedding band no need, album maybe find a friend with good discount (make some friends with photographers first brows.gif ), car can try to borrow.

On the other hand, dowry, honeymoon gonna sapu up all the savings made from those adjustment. cry.gif Wondering when can make up that kind of money to pay for a wedding.
fuelsave
post May 23 2014, 10:32 AM

133 posts

most ppl have parents to assist with the support, or take a personal loan for it

alternatively, just do a cheaper wedding / affordable one

This post has been edited by fuelsave: May 23 2014, 10:33 AM
dynamic123
post May 23 2014, 01:59 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(kons @ May 13 2014, 08:23 PM)
I doubt nowadays people are that generous.
Lol only close family will give alot la. If normal friends or others some even give minimum RM50,is it still enough to cover?
kons
post May 23 2014, 02:07 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(dynamic123 @ May 23 2014, 01:59 PM)
Lol only close family will give alot la. If normal friends or others some even give minimum RM50,is it still enough to cover?
That's why.. wedding dinner is never a revenue to start with. however it is a memorable moment and the moment for your parents to feel proud

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0232sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:59 PM