~*Sugar Glider Club V2 *~, Staring Contest Champions

suiteng
post Jan 14 2007, 10:11 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jan 13 2007, 09:30 PM)
i feed them apple, papaya,honey dew, orange, pineapple n i tried to make the BML diet except for the wheat germ n vitamins.ok i'll try to make them get out of the coconut shell n sleep in my shirt. but will they get a cold or smtg? because my area here has rain for a few days and it's very cold at night. how to get them into the pouch o? i can't even touch them. and how much calcium must i feed them? a little pinch?
No no... no pineapple and citrus. Too much of that make them poo water. Too much watermelon or papaya will make them poo red red also (seems very troublesome huh?).

They will be ok sleeping on shirt, if they are cold they will go inside and cover themselves wan..

For calcium you can buy supplement or give them cat kibbles (infant) once a week. I use cat kibbles for infant, once a week. But bear in mind, after eating their pee will be smelly. doh.gif
suiteng
post Jan 14 2007, 03:37 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jan 14 2007, 01:01 PM)
so feeding pineapple,citrus watermelon and papaya is forbidden? About the calcium supplement how much must i giv them?
Not forbidden, but cannot give too often coz it's not good for them. Will make them cirit birit ler... calcium you can buy liquid or powder form. Just sprinkle some on their fruits. biggrin.gif
suiteng
post Jan 14 2007, 11:20 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(MamaHui @ Jan 14 2007, 03:49 PM)
can i use the calsium for Gecko to my sugar glider? thanks!
I'm not sure about the gecko wan... what brand ar?
QUOTE(Vio @ Jan 14 2007, 03:59 PM)
i'm using the powder  1. mine is Reptor C ,Reptimineral which has an iguana on the cover.
Yup, Rep C will be fine biggrin.gif

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Jan 14 2007, 09:26 PM)
hehe..thanks for taking good care of chiwek  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif 

he's really fat tongue.gif guess u must be feeding him well.

ha? he can come back after he jump to other people cubicle wan ar? so good wan meh? he like to mix around. Some bakeries saw chiwek, give strawberry la, grapes la..most of his food is sponsored  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif 

hehe...chiwek "cham cha" (serve tea) to your boss ma...  laugh.gif 

he got noti ar? bite anybody or not?
He got a little beer tummy already la.. eat and drink non stop + sponsoring tea to my boss tongue.gif

Oh ya, he got jump inside my vendor's baju and bite on some important places sweat.gif
suiteng
post Jan 16 2007, 09:16 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(Sugre @ Jan 16 2007, 09:11 AM)
Help! My gliders are attacking each other! I was getting ready for work and heard so many loud squeakings and bangings on the cage. They are jumping on each other and biting and then jumping apart and running around like crazy and then attacking again.

I am worried... should I leave them together? Separate them? Anyone here knows why they are fighting?  rclxub.gif
Who is attacking who?
suiteng
post Jan 16 2007, 05:48 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Jan 15 2007, 05:59 PM)
yeah... lil beer belly... I wonder how he can drink the cola can? also wonder about his little suggies burps  laugh.gif

anyway he misses you... looking for u la, this lil boy  sweat.gif what u did to him until like that liao?  blink.gif sweat.gif  notworthy.gif
How ah? Hmmm... talk to him lor... say that cannot bad bad.. must good good.. Hehehe... like a godma liao tongue.gif

I think coz he's always on my shoulder when he's awake and always around me when he's sleeping gua..
suiteng
post Jan 17 2007, 05:20 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

@cheaka

At first, you need a lot of patience with him. Firstly, the water. Are you using waterdish or the bottle? If you use the bottle, you might need to train him a bit on how to use..

About the bag, just buy a drawstring bag from the RM5 shop. I think some forumers here can recommend where, I'm not sure where to get but I got mine from Ikano. Breathable ones will do.

Try not to use coconut shell for the first few weeks. Let him sleep on your smelly shirt for a while biggrin.gif Like this it's easier to interact with him smile.gif
suiteng
post Jan 17 2007, 10:02 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ Jan 17 2007, 05:31 PM)
Suiteng:

Thank you. I am such a lousy pet owner. I am using the waterdish. BUt the water level seem to be at the same level since the first day i got him.

I will visit the pet shop to get the bag.

As for coconut shell, can i take it out now...and just leave my shirt there.???
Nolah... everyone was a noob before. Just telling based on my experience only. Got replace the dish with fresh water everyday? If he's not drinking from the dish, perhaps he was used to bottle? What did the pet shop equip his cage with?

Just take out the shell and leave your smelly shirt in. Make sure it's enough to cover his whole body.. scare he cold cold ler...

QUOTE(MamaHui @ Jan 17 2007, 05:56 PM)
i am using the Exto Terra brand, is it alright? thanks
I'm not familiar with this brand. Better check it out at the pet shop to see it's compatible or not oh...
suiteng
post Jan 18 2007, 11:37 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jan 18 2007, 07:06 AM)
according to the shop i went that day, the shop owner told me that even giving the baby food to babies often is not healthy for the baby. guess maybe the was wrong about it
I only feed my gliders with gerber baby food until they are good enough to eat solids. Never heard of baby food is bad for glider.. hmm.. Your mix is good but TOO much honey tongue.gif Their pee pee will be very smelly ler... Give lesser honey, a teaspoon will be enough to put the flavor in it. So far so good biggrin.gif More things to be discovered by yourself. Gliders have different personalities.

QUOTE(cheaka @ Jan 18 2007, 10:27 AM)
Suiteng: thanks again for your guidance. I finally got him out from the coconut shell last night. Was trying to lure him out with the apple but he refuses to get out from the coconut shell, so i had no choice but to take out the coconut with him inside, the use my smelly sleeve to try to get him out. i had to tilt the coconut down then only he climb out.

I leave my whole t-shirt at one corner at the bottom of the cage with some of the cut out sleeve. he was not use to it. was hanging upside down on top of the cage.

After a few minutes, he was going around the cage, i am glad this is the first time i see him drink water from the dish and also take the "kao chi" out from the other dish too.

This morning, i was worried. Couldn't find him at all. Then realised that he really dig himself into the t-shirt. i try to see how he is...he make the noise...then i don't dare to kacau him liao. i think i stressed him out too much. so i left some banana for him.

Later today, i will try to get the drinking bottle and also the pouch. I hope things will improve..... sweat.gif
Crabbing sound ar? Hehe... patience my dear.. he's still not used to sleeping in smelly strangers T shirt tongue.gif Wait him get used to the smell lor..

QUOTE(Sugre @ Jan 18 2007, 10:41 AM)
They are both attacking each other! It seems to be better now... they hardly fight. Not sure why they fight to begin with. Could it be that they want attention?
They will bark if they want attention. If they are hissing or crabbing, perhaps they were playing with each other.. my Benben and Sasa also like to play the I-bite-U-U-bite-Me game.. biggrin.gif
suiteng
post Jan 19 2007, 10:29 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

Hehe.. looks like good progress there. Good luck in taming him oh...
suiteng
post Jan 19 2007, 03:57 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(kweekit @ Jan 19 2007, 02:38 PM)
HI my name is victor and im a very new sugar glider owner..i just got them yesterday...im afraid they are not eating...i tried feeding them by hand but they wouldnt take it...how pls help urgent
QUOTE(kweekit @ Jan 19 2007, 02:39 PM)
ooh yah..by the way..izzit advisable to feed them the baby food the apple juice wan in a container..wat is advisable??
What kind of baby food? Liquid or starchy? If they won't take it from your hand, put in a dish first. Then lure them to the dish and see what happens.
suiteng
post Jan 22 2007, 12:57 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

Or the lima ringgit shop tongue.gif
suiteng
post Jan 23 2007, 02:34 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

@cheaka

Hehe.. Gollum is still not used to your smell yet? Or izzit your T-Shirt is too smelly liao? tongue.gif

Glad to know that you're doing extremely well, keep it up!
suiteng
post Jan 23 2007, 04:42 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ Jan 23 2007, 03:09 PM)
the problem is..he pee pee and poo poo on the shirt...it is too smelly now...i am now going to wear another t-shirt to sleep for 2 nights.... blush.gif
Oh... good good. Getting a hang of it ya? tongue.gif
But it seems like you use quite a number of shirts oh..
suiteng
post Jan 24 2007, 11:12 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

Haha.. mine can do a great stunt by climbing to the top of the curtain rail and glide across the living room, splatting on the wall and slide down sleep.gif I'm really scare that they will break something.
suiteng
post Jan 24 2007, 05:09 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

Hi badguy, I think you have quite a number of advise from cheaka already.

About glider, you can determine the age by looking at the fur (only applicable for local breed glider). Joey have greyish fur, meanwhile adult fur is a bit cocoa or brownish. Got adult greyish glider geh.. like my Benben who love to swim! Most gliders hate water but my Benben love water since young and have been swimming in the water dish until he grow up. Maybe that's why his fur is soft and clean.. maintain greyish gua... hehe..

For beginners, it's recommended that you get a joey, easier to tame and bond. Some joey are wild by nature, so it depends on your luck too. About adult glider, need much more patience. Like what cheaka did, she spend a lot of time learning how to tame an adult glider.. getting bitten, scratched, poo'ed and pee'd on is normal.

Better get a pair from different parents to prevent in-breeding. FYI, in-breeding might cause unexpected result (i.e. my GongGong died of unknown reason a few months after I adopt him, then his mother died too..).

Hehe.. check back here once you get your glider oh..

PS : About smacking on the wall.. they love to smack on the wall. I dunno why lehhh doh.gif
suiteng
post Jan 25 2007, 01:07 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Jan 24 2007, 06:40 PM)
lol..chiwek loves smacking on slider glass doors.  rclxub.gif

my chiwek loves water or not? Whenever i give him a bowl of water, he still wanna stick back to me  vmad.gif  wanna see him play water  cry.gif  *sigh* I guess wat u saw him play water was really priceless  notworthy.gif
Come come let me train Chiwek to play water tongue.gif

Hmm.. one more thing I observed, he go and take the longan and throw inside the water. Make it sweet sweet then drink wo... rclxub.gif
suiteng
post Jan 25 2007, 04:02 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ Jan 25 2007, 12:22 PM)
Mine hardly drink water....my little gollum very scared still...

He will only go drink water the water trey after i switch off all the lights......hehehe...

i put the drips drinking bottle...don't know how to teach him to drink there...
Use your finger and wet it using the bottle, then give your Gollum smell. He will realize it's water then bring him follow follow to the bottle lo..

QUOTE(soggie @ Jan 25 2007, 03:10 PM)
One more thing... anybody know that calcium meant for dogs and cats are safe for glider consumption?
I dunno about others but I'm using cat biscuits (for infants) to provide calcium to my babies smile.gif
suiteng
post Jan 29 2007, 10:57 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

RM90 per bottle is a killer!

P.S : Your baby so cute~~
suiteng
post Jan 30 2007, 09:40 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

Great progress hehe.. ya, becareful when clipping coz the little nerves inside the nail is so tiny! I use baby clippers. I think the fastest nail clipping I've done is with Chiwek. Boy.. he can really sleep. My babies pulak... must see their mood sweat.gif
suiteng
post Jan 30 2007, 03:18 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

Ehhh... not bad wor.. Haha... Gollum love it in there. Got smelly blanket (i.e. sleeves) with him? I saw a cloth.

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:22 AM