Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

TSmohdyakup
post May 9 2014, 10:55 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(keropla88 @ May 9 2014, 09:36 PM)
Maybe in the future, after i get enough experience and company B has stable as the way it should be, i will forward to Mr. Val  hehe.  biggrin.gif Unless the internal affairs been clear, it will be hard time for them to keep potential engineer in their company.  shakehead.gif
Thats one of the reason why I left B last time brows.gif but again working at B has made my resume looks very handsomely especially involving in South Acis EPCC brows.gif
TSmohdyakup
post May 9 2014, 11:37 PM

4,351 posts

Ideally looking for experienced candidates.
TSmohdyakup
post May 10 2014, 06:04 AM

4,351 posts

Another thing that I would like to share here. If anyone of you wanted to venture doing freelance in O&G, please please please kamu jangan nakal to spoil current market value by quoting a very low daily rate salary just for the sake to get the job. Aku hangin benar barua2 freelance yang spoil market camnih suka nak makan penyepak beruang. Yes Im having a permanent currently but I like being freelance again if I think I get bored with salary that I have right now (riak sebentar).

Ask your senior for the reasonable prevailing rate at the market. Please dont spoil it. Aku merayu benar ngan korang

This post has been edited by mohdyakup: May 10 2014, 06:05 AM
TSmohdyakup
post May 10 2014, 12:46 PM

4,351 posts

I have reply some of the email today. Mhyug CV very gooding one liao hahahahaha brows.gif this would boost my chances to earn referral bonus brows.gif

I need more drilling peoples come2 email me get me sign your referral form (ini bukan pemerdagangan manusia lulz)
TSmohdyakup
post May 10 2014, 01:13 PM

4,351 posts

My best guess is you join O&G consulting company who provide marine warranty survey services such as GL-Noble Denton (which is now known as DNV-GL), London Offshore Consultant or LOC via Berkat Global Sdn Bhd, Global Maritime Sdn Bhd Braemer Offshore Sdn Bhd or old name for Braemer is Falconer, and lastly IMEC Sdn Bhd (Independent Marine & Engineering Consultant Sdn Bhd).

Above said MWS is approved by Joint-Rig Committee London or JRC which recognized by major insurance underwriter for O&G industries.

Apart from these five MWS, you can also join like Bureau Veritas, American Bureau Shipping, Aqualis Offshore, DNV Maritime, MTU Engineering, Nippon Kenji apa nama entah this Japanese name aku dah lupa and so on.

If you want to know more about Naval Architect stuff, you have to belanja abgkik forumer in this thread a good lunch, and of course you have to involve me too coz my eating appetite kinda big brows.gif
TSmohdyakup
post May 10 2014, 01:31 PM

4,351 posts

You havent try yet. Give them a snail mail of your CV to their HR. You never know
TSmohdyakup
post May 10 2014, 01:36 PM

4,351 posts

If you are not interested in O&G related marine industry, try become a QA/QC inspector be it mech, electrical, instrument, structural etc but then you are wasting your Master liao

Ask yourself first. What you really want to do in this industry? You wanna become a field engineer? Tons of O&G contractor which is repeatedly discuss in previous thread. Snail mail your CV to them. No harm. I have one of my friend who last time a fresh grad printing out at least 200 CV and poslaju them to every single O&G contractor out there. He was starting as a junior field engineer at OAG Sdn Bhd and now after few years he's already becoming a Lead Installation Engineer with good daily rate salary in USD.

So again. TRY FIRST. PRINT YOUR CV. POSLAJU TO EVERY SINGLE O&G CONTRACTOR IN MALAYSIA, BRUNEI, SINGAPORE, INDONESIA, MYANMAR, VIETNAM etc

Aku tak marah. That caps lock emphasize my beruang mood at the moment. Tengah stress kat opis nih

This post has been edited by mohdyakup: May 10 2014, 01:37 PM
TSmohdyakup
post May 10 2014, 03:15 PM

4,351 posts

For those who already emailed to Petrofac referrals inbox, remember to put your subject title as per position list (job name & job request number) for example -

Subject : PM304 HSSE Analyst (XXXXXX)

Subject : Berantai Account Asisstant (XXXXXX)

This would ease the HR to do search query in the inbox according to job request number. Ohh ya dont bother to ask for internship or fresh grad opening to that inbox because from my past experience chit-chat with local headhunter & recruiter at other companies, they dont have time to respond to your query on internship & fresh grad application.

Please take note that the critical job opening for Petrofac is ideally for EXPERIENCED CANDIDATES only for the time being. If you notice from the email that I have forward, there are also non-core technical personnel required which is more to Finance role too.

If you ask me how to apply for Graduate Programme here, I simply have no idea at the moment. Aku tak sempat bersalam & berkenalan with the whole staff liao. I have been assigned to special task at my very first week working here so please stop bombarding my PM at LYN inbox lulzzzzz

Happy weekend. Aku nak gi layan wayang jap. Pening kepala liao
TSmohdyakup
post May 11 2014, 06:12 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(afrodizziact @ May 11 2014, 12:10 AM)
Hi all, I have been following this thread since the previous versions. My background is in commercial and contracts management and I am looking to enter into the O&G industry in my next career move. How is the employment outlook in this industry for someone with my expertise?

Based on my initial search of job openings, it appears that most employers would prefer candidates with prior experience in the O&G industry.
My background is similar like you but I focus on onshore & offhore construction & fabrication. Have you handle any EPCM before?
TSmohdyakup
post May 11 2014, 09:42 PM

4,351 posts

Apparently this headhunter/recruiter is a football fanatic too hehe myself is a Liverpool FC fan brows.gif

BW Penman: Project Services Supervisor/Contrac Engineer position‏
Actions

Luis Murillo (luis.murillo@bwpenman.com)
Add to contacts
7/5/2014
[Keep this message at the top of your inbox]
To: mohdyakup@outlook.com
luis.murillo@bwpenman.com

Hi Yakup,

Apologies for the unsolicited approach.

I work as an international specialist recruiter in the E&P industry. I have come across your details on LinkedIn and I was interested in having a conversation with you just so I can gain a better understanding of your background and also to properly identify what the ideal opportunity looks like to you for your next career move.

I am also working on a Project Services Supervisor/Contract Engineer position that I would like to speak to you about.

If you are interested in having an initial conversation please let me know a contact number and the best available time for us to speak, I will arrange to call you then. In the meantime if you could also send me a copy of your CV just so we can have a better conversation about your background, I would really appreciate it.

You’ll never walk alone!

Best regards,

Luis

Luis Murillo

International Business Consultant | Global E&P – Drilling and Completion

Description: Description: cid:image002.jpg@01CDA149.0C46E630

www.bwpenman.com

E-mail: luis.murillo@bwpenman.com

Tel: +44 (0)113 258 5150

Mob: +44 (0) 796 350 2657

BW Penman

Springwood House

Low Lane

Horsforth

Leeds

LS18 5NU

This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are confidential. If you are not the intended recipient, any reading, printing, storage, disclosure, copying or any other action taken in respect of this e-mail is prohibited and may be unlawful. If you are not the intended recipient, please notify the sender immediately by using the reply function and then permanently delete what you have received.

Please note that all calls to and from BW Penman ltd are recorded for training,security and legal reasons.

BW Penman Ltd provides the services of an employment agency

BW Penman
Springwood House
Low Lane
Horsforth
Leeds

LS18 5NU

Tel UK: 0871 222 9883
T: + 44 (0) 113 2585150

www.bwpenman.com

Registered in England No: 05841218

- - BW Penman - E-mail Disclaimer - -
This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are confidential. If you are not the intended recipient, any reading, printing, storage, disclosure, copying or any other action taken in respect of this e-mail is prohibited and may be unlawful. If you are not the intended recipient, please notify the sender immediately by using the reply function and then permanently delete what you have received.

Please note that all calls to and from BW Penman are recorded for training, security and legal reasons.

BW Penman provides the services of an employment agency as defined in The Employment Agencies Act 1973

TSmohdyakup
post May 12 2014, 07:19 AM

4,351 posts

I dont know much about working condition at Muhibbah & Kejuruteraan KQKS but if you ask me both company is great start to built your O&G project reference in your CV. Just take the offer. Current market are not for fresh grad at the moment. Just grab any opportunity in front of you smile.gif
TSmohdyakup
post May 12 2014, 07:24 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(afrodizziact @ May 12 2014, 12:01 AM)
Thanks for your response. The nature of the contracts that I've been working on do not appear to be based on the EPCM methodology in its entirety. I'm in the telco industry. Are O&G contracts a different ball game altogether?
Its not that different as O&G contract management be it EPCC, EPCM, EPCIC, EPCC are built on the same common foundation of general contracting term, just a little bit twist here and there as stipulated by Petronas PSC agreement and Petronas GSCMD-SCM governance. My advice is you take any role as Commercial Exec, Proposal & Tender Exec at any O&G contractor side to build your project reference. Its a good start anyway since you have commercial acumen in your CV

This post has been edited by mohdyakup: May 12 2014, 11:00 AM
TSmohdyakup
post May 12 2014, 07:45 AM

4,351 posts

RSSLike us on FacebookBPO @TwitterUB @TwitterBPO GalleryGoogle+YouTubeCONTACT USADVERTISECAREERSBOOKMARK US

Borneo Post Online
Site Last Updated 7:12 am, Monday

Home
News
Biz
Sports
Utusan Borneo
thesundaypost
Columns
seeds.theborneopost.com
Home - Business
MMHE to face challenging times ahead as margin thins
by Sharon Kongsharonkong@theborneopost.com. Posted on May 12, 2014, Monday

KUCHING: Malaysia Marine and Heavy Engineering Holdings Bhd (MMHE) is likely to face challenging times ahead as its margin thins, after recording a weak first quarter of 2014 (1Q14).

In a financial statement to Bursa Malaysia, MMHE stated that the group’s operating profit is lower at RM34.6 million for 1Q14 against RM55.7 million in the corresponding quarter of 2013.

The earnings came in below most analysts’ expectations, which has resulted in some lowering their financial year 2014 (FY14) and FY15 forecasts.

According to analyst Aaron Tan Wei Min from the research arm of MIDF Amanah Investment Bank Bhd (MIDF Research), MMHE is likely to have a lag in earnings recognition.

Tan noted that management had guided that it has yet to recognise any profit from the Malikai tension leg platform (Malikai TLP), adding that project earnings are expected to be recognised earliest in 2Q14.

“In addition, earnings from the SK316 project will be recognised earliest in 3Q14. As such, we foresee rough quarters ahead arising from lag in timing recognitions,” he pointed out.

Overall, MIDF Research is revising its FY14 and FY15 earnings downwards by 21.5 and 16.8 per cent respectively.

“We are assuming lower margins from the offshore segment given tight competition locally and globally. This is evident from the weakening offshore operating margin.

“In addition, we are negative on MMHE due to the tail-end nature of the orderbook and mid-to-back-end loaded earnings recognition of its major contracts,” the analyst projected.

MIDF Research further noted that the offshore business is also expecting potential new job orders to come in by the tail-end of the year, whereas the marine business segment is facing stiff regional competition from increased vessel repair capacity.

“Given its current predicament, FY14 could be an unfavourable year for the group,” Tan opined.

On the other hand, RHB Research Institute Sdn Bhd (RHB Research) has a more positive outlook on MMHE, believing that the group is expecting more news flow in the second half of FY14 (2HFY14).

“We expect new platform fabrication projects to be announced in 2H of 2014 (2H14), driven by Petroliam Nasional Bhd’s (Petronas) effort to increase the domestic oil production via enhanced oil recovery (EOR) initiatives.

“We expect the turnkey central processing platform, Bardegg 2 project to be awarded by 3Q14,” it projected.

The research housed added that it believes this project could fetch RM1 billion to RM1.2 billion, of which MMHE stands a fair chance of winning with ample yard capacity.

That said, it trimmed its FY14/FY15 forecasts by 5.1 and 7.5 per cent respectively as it lowers its estimated contribution from associates and value of works to be done in both years as it conservatively build in delays in project deliveries.

As for the research arm of Maybank Investment Bank Bhd (Maybank IB Research), it highlighted that its forecasts for MMHE are unchanged.

The research arm expects higher RM2.5 billion to RM3 billion of job wins for 2014 based on MMHE’s RM4 billion RM5 billion tender book (50 per cent international) versus RM2.6 billion won in 2013.

“MMHE, in our view, is heading in the right direction to be regionally competitive. While still reliant on domestic works, plans are in place to break into overseas markets,” Maybank IB Research opined.

It further noted that MMHE’s cost control is improving as the group progressively adopts good operating practices.

“The on-going yard optimisation allows MMHE to target sizeable platform structure jobs, worth over RM1 billion each,” the research arm added.

All in, Maybank IB Research maintained its ‘buy’ rating on MMHE while RHB Research reiterated its ‘neutral’ call on the stock. In contrast, MIDF Research reiterated its ‘sell’ recommendation on MMH.

Print Friendly
Share this:
Email
Facebook
Twitter1
Google
<< Previous Entry - Next Entry >>

We encourage commenting on our stories to give readers a chance to express their opinions; please refrain from vulgar language, insidious, seditious or slanderous remarks. While the comments here reflect the views of the readers, they are not necessarily that of Borneo Post Online. Borneo Post Online reserves the right not to publish or to remove comments that are offensive or volatile. Please read the Commenting Rules.

Get BPO Android App on Google Play now!
POPULARLATEST
TODAY WEEK MONTH ALL
Woman leaps to death from 6th floor carpark
Clerk attacked by semi-nude man in room
Mawan turns down Masing’s offer
‘Okaw’, ‘Amir’ gangs busted in Miri
Man shot dead, six hurt while eating at restaurant
WEEKLY NEWS HIGHLIGHTS

AFFILIATES

SUPPLEMENT DOWNLOADS
BPIEF 2014 Hourly Lucky Draw on 22.03.2014 (Full)
BPIEF 2014 Hourly Lucky Draw on 23.03.2014 (Full)
Perfect Wedding Supplement 2013
Malaysia Day Supplement 2013
New Year Supplement 2014
Real Estate And Housing Supplement 2013
STIDC Supplement 2013
Legacy Of Leadership
Ushering In A New Era
BPIEF 2014 Supplement
Member of
Malaysia Digital Association
Subscribe to The Borneo Post, See Hua Daily, and Utusan Borneo Newspaper Now!
BPO SECTIONS

HomeNewsBusinessSportsUtusan BorneothesundaypostColumns
USEFUL LINKS

BPO Commenting Rules & Regulations
BPO News Archive
Handy Contacts
This service is provided on BorneoPost online standard Policies and Conditions. Copyright 2010-2014 BorneoPost Online. All Rights Reserved.

Read more: http://www.theborneopost.com/2014/05/12/mm.../#ixzz31S4eAkSC
TSmohdyakup
post May 12 2014, 10:51 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(BlurTV @ May 12 2014, 10:06 AM)
How about an inexperienced candidate but eager to learn?  tongue.gif Can I try?
I dont want to sugarcoat my statement but a litte bit tough for you to try applying here at Petrofac.

Refer to my previous post reply. Try apply O&G MWS related companies. MWS - marine warranty survey services
TSmohdyakup
post May 12 2014, 11:38 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(BlurTV @ May 12 2014, 11:04 AM)
Yeah, I did read your previous posts.  smile.gif
This is the first time someone has suggested MWS to me. Do you think that I'm more suitable for a position in that line? I'm sorry. I know very little about MWS.
Try apply first. Send your CV to them. Bulih bah kalao kau lulz brows.gif

Go search about marine warranty survey services. Ideally, browse DNV-GL website to get know their business operation
TSmohdyakup
post May 12 2014, 11:46 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ May 12 2014, 11:30 AM)
cari makan pok..gne nak molah..contractor pun murah2 empun
Sekpat bro quote murah2 gia nok sakit dudi ari kita semua affected mun nak rejoin freelance balit. This is what happen to our local diver/ROV at the moment
TSmohdyakup
post May 15 2014, 03:48 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ May 15 2014, 03:27 PM)
If there's opportunity for internal transfer, you should give it a try. BELUM is a small topside, great place to start.
Belum & Pemanis jacket dah berlumut kat laut Bintulu tunggu masa nak mating with its own topside lulz tongue.gif
TSmohdyakup
post May 15 2014, 09:08 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ May 15 2014, 08:50 PM)
Hi may I know which mnc in Malaysia has OnG investment banking division ?
You search a govt-linked SPAC related company like Hibiscus Petroleum, Cue Energy, Matrix Petroleum. I think only Hibiscus issued an IPO few years back. There is another SPAC under Sumatec Berhad I cant really remember its SPAC subsidiary but they have an oilfield asset at Kazakhstan
TSmohdyakup
post May 16 2014, 06:23 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ May 15 2014, 09:19 PM)
Okay thanks. Doing some research for OnG IB-ing happy.gif
OnG IB-ing is not really a correct term. Those SPAC's is a special GLC's related focusing of only buying a prospectus oilfield & gasfield production shares, most in the case via PSC or concession agreement with the host countries. From the way I see it, you must have a very high level analytical skill doimg analysis to proposed acquisition to those oilfield & gasfield assets, hence, a certified CFA/CIMA or whatever you called it are required.

They are not really an operator I can say.
TSmohdyakup
post May 17 2014, 02:27 PM

4,351 posts

Number 32. And 33 was my ex-employer lulz

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0492sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:07 AM