Canon PowerShot S3 IS
sherren
May 7 2007, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(vichio @ May 7 2007, 11:34 PM) so where is the S4 IS ? Nothing increase, excpet megapixel ?  not worth to upgrade  the thing is good is the hot shoe, DIGIC III processer,face detection, auto focus 6 position, it still uses the same lens, overall even im using s3 is , i still no regrets, if u wanna get the s5 is around rm 2k + let say u wanna get 430ex or 580ex[Speedlite external flash] 430ex around 1k total up rm 3k++
sherren
May 11 2007, 01:45 AM
 im thinking of getting Canon TC-DC58B Teleconverter Lens is it worth it? im gonna use it for a long run to wont be able to afford dslr next 3 years. looks tempting look at this pic http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/customer-...&page=1#gallery
sherren
May 11 2007, 01:08 PM
rm 300 + i heard or maybe cheaper
sherren
May 12 2007, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(alex_8982 @ May 11 2007, 02:33 PM) I'm planning to get a good camera, have previously used some compact cameras and felt that I want a change... Seems that review on Canon S3 IS is very good ... But how bout Olympus SP-550UZ and Panasonic LUMIX DMC-FZ8? Which is better? Do they have any comparison on the models? Would be great if you guys could provide me with some pointers. Thanks..  so far i tried the 550 UZ the Is not that good, image quality is so okay,focal length quite good lah,i havent tried the fz8 yet but i know that is just abit better then fz7 which i played with the fz7 VS s3 IS.  S3 IS seems to be better
sherren
May 13 2007, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(fezanim @ May 13 2007, 03:51 PM) woo but for female like me , berat gak to compare with normal compact camera . well u will get used to it if u used it often, + DSLr is even heavier then S3 IS
sherren
May 14 2007, 11:55 PM
its up to you to get s3 or s5, i got S3 IS rm 1400, rm 110 canon LAH DC20 Lens Adapter/Hood Set,58mm Kenko UV Filter rm 30, Canon Ultrasonic 58mm Lens Cap Rm 30. Total up rm 1570 Phoenix Flash[Phoenix D91-BZS 4-Stop Digital Slave ] this one cost rm 310 but its not available localy, im gonna get it soon,waiting for shipment. Its more worth it then getting the Canon slave flash which same price and guide number is only 18  . http://www.phoenixcorp.com/Flash/Digital_F...ital_flash.htmlIts up to you to spend on the accesories, its depends on ur budget, and yes u can say i can afford a d40 already. but think carefully as im a student, im not earning yet. it sure cost more lah like bag,external flash,more lenses of coz,lens cleaning kit etc etc This post has been edited by sherren: May 14 2007, 11:57 PM
sherren
May 15 2007, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(JET @ May 15 2007, 08:47 AM) woww !!! show us... show us.... show us all yr gadget.... I beat with the UV filter. shooting the sky will be much more better  i havent got the flash yet but here are some pics with the lens adapter with uv filter and hood. Lens Adapter + 58mm Uv Filter with 58mm canon Ultrasonic lens cap  Cap taken off  with lens hood  Pictures are taken with Canon A710 IS This post has been edited by sherren: May 15 2007, 04:02 PM
sherren
May 18 2007, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(coolzero @ May 18 2007, 05:49 PM) I got my S3is during the last PC fair at RM1599 (not manage to reduce the price due to Canon control) BUT manage to squeeze the seller's ball to throw in mini tripod + normal tripod + 4 2000MH batt +2 charger + 1GB SD card + Screen protector. Canon on PC fair give 1GB SD Card plus a cap. It seems that during PC fair we can get better deal for consumer electronic items other than PC. S3is will be my first DC b4 upgrading to DSLR and it will be my superzoom DC for far distance objects. (I will never have enough money to get a 400mm lens for DSLR)  get Tele Converter  , im thinking to get one, since im gonna stick to these for a long time This post has been edited by sherren: May 18 2007, 09:14 PM
sherren
May 19 2007, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(driftmeister @ May 19 2007, 12:04 PM) haha i dono, but that's a hp number available why not call for a COD ? lol me too i am torn between S3 and also the oly 550UZ  i tell u the oly 550UZ u may say 16x is it correct zoom? u may say WOW,Focal Length i like it , but one thing the Image stablization and image quality is so so only. S3 IS still leads  , dont believe u can try testing both, even my fren DSLR kaki tried the 550uz he said s3 still better
sherren
May 19 2007, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 19 2007, 02:22 PM) hmm.....u think the s5is will produce better image quality due to its 8mp? the sensor still the same size wonder if the DIGIC III image processing will produce better results i guess 6-7 mp is still the best for ultrazoom cameras but much harder to sell well i say usually 6 mega pixel between 8 mp is not that much difference. yes the DIGIC III image processing will produce better results just like the g7. but wont be that much difference, of coz better abit lah
sherren
May 19 2007, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(DreamChaser @ May 19 2007, 09:13 PM) Just hacked my S3. Taking RAW was awsome! :thumb: show some shots pls
sherren
May 20 2007, 11:38 PM
hey check out here s3 is price rm 1400 http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/154761btw fz7 comparision between fz8 not much difference jus abit upgrade. Canon s3 Is i think is still better, becoz that sales woman[says customer feedback] let say im a sales man im talking to u[ i can say fz8 is good , and say customer feedback also. but fz8 is a good camera also i played with it so as good as fz7. why not try searching @ dp review fz8 reviews and S3 is.its also depends on user liking some sort u dont feel user friendly with canon, u prefer panasonic interface. S3 IS and Pana Fz8 both also good i pening liao This post has been edited by sherren: May 20 2007, 11:40 PM
sherren
May 21 2007, 01:33 AM
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 21 2007, 12:15 AM) s3is or fz8 now i have added h7/d9 sony to the equation h9 has 15x zoom, nightshot where u can take pictures in total darkness, and a tilting 3inch screen. h7 has the same specs but no nightshot and fixed 2.5 inch lcd both come with remote control S3 IS well sony semi pro's are costly  not to sure about their img quality and IS,it seems dam costly very few ppl buy. unless CAnon,Nikon,Pano,Oly
sherren
May 21 2007, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(itanium @ May 21 2007, 09:56 AM) My S3 where got hotshoe For those who are goin to spend rm2.2k onwards you should seriously consider Canon 350D or Nikon D40 instead. i know i already spend clost to 1.8k already ,yes u can say get a d40 instead is way better since its a dslr, but dont forget,ur buyin an dslr,then it will further ur needs let say u need the external flash,of coz few basic lens which is usefull 50mm f1.8. but think and see total up with the cost + a good quality bag, a tripod, etc theres no come to the end. u can spend as much as u want on DSLR depends on ur budget.If ur working then its fine. how bout those students still studying. they got other expenses to spend QUOTE(coolzero @ May 21 2007, 11:00 AM) Spending 2.2k on S3is is going to be the max (what else can you upgarde?) BUT for DSLR even the cheapest Nikon D40 kit set already cost you 2k above, you need flash and more lens plus filter in future which could esily goes above 3k or 4k. Added on May 21, 2007, 11:13 am  With the teleconverter len I can get 1.5x which means 12 * 1.5 =18X max zoom is it? yes after u get the teleconverter u get 18x max zoom which pwns the OLY 550UZ FLAT
sherren
May 22 2007, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 22 2007, 04:57 PM) i really like the s3is and i have about one more week to decide before i make my purchase. one thing that i dont like about the s3is is the 2inch sreen. and not to mention the EPV which is relatively bad. i dint really use the lcd when i tested it, so i want to know from u guys if the screen gave any problems ? like visibility in bright light....etc rarely use the lcd , i just use the lcd on play mode to check out my pics i took, mostly use the viewfinder  and yes 2 inch lcd is small, if 2.5 will be better This post has been edited by sherren: May 22 2007, 05:00 PM
sherren
May 23 2007, 02:08 PM
sherren
May 23 2007, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 23 2007, 04:33 PM) haha...initially i wanted to get the fuji 9600 but its out of stock. even the fuji hq no stock so if by next the 9th latest i get no news, probably i'll get the s3is! remember FUji always no IS
sherren
May 24 2007, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 24 2007, 01:43 PM) i will be getting it next week. price is around 1400-1699 the thing is that i'm buying it with credit card so i can only buy it around 1650-1699 with 2 gig card, mini tripod and case. its rather standard. maybe i'll get it from Shong Lee one u or Fotokem since they over 0% interest hmm...if cash and carry can get around rm1299. i remember seeing it in Lowyet trade area. i was thinking of getting a dlsr...like you but i like the flexibility of pro sumers. i dont have to worry about changing lenses as well. besides, i like recording movies...what more with a camera. we may learn together eh!  ] Cool we also same , at 1st i was thinkin to get a dslr also but decided to play with s3 is 1st before goin to dslr
sherren
May 24 2007, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 24 2007, 02:19 PM) haha....so when u plan to jump ? not tempted? after form 5, once i got loaded with cash to support at least 70-300mm, 50mm f1.8 and SB 600 speedlite and a Body[2k-3k]
sherren
Jun 25 2007, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Jun 25 2007, 11:45 AM) I was in Canon Store at KLCC last Sunday and they are selling the lens adapter at around RM140 (can't recall the exact figure). I think this is more expensive than it suppose to be. Have anyone purchased this adapter lately? Where and how much? Thanks. i got mine for rm 100