spring onion
post Jul 14 2014, 05:04 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jul 14 2014, 03:36 PM)
Well done!  rclxms.gif

See you do do some research. smile.gif

Yes, the company is not quite the same and the sundaily article explains why the huge jump in profits.

tongue.gif
but but but... transform so fast, how is it possible? the article dated back in Jan14, after march they announce jump in revenue, is that even possible?
TSBoon3
post Jul 14 2014, 05:08 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jul 14 2014, 05:04 PM)
but but but... transform so fast, how is it possible? the article dated back in Jan14, after march they announce jump in revenue, is that even possible?
So many butts for what? tongue.gif

Search uncle google..
This old story avtually..
Can see article from 2010?
Red Media around for sometime already.

spring onion
post Jul 14 2014, 05:12 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jul 14 2014, 05:08 PM)
So many butts for what? tongue.gif

Search uncle google..
This old story avtually..
Can see article from 2010?
Red Media around for sometime already.
so how you think, this counter boleh? but now it has become china stock type, how do you see and rate such situation?
TSBoon3
post Jul 14 2014, 05:42 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jul 14 2014, 05:12 PM)
so how you think, this counter boleh? but now it has become china stock type, how do you see and rate such situation?
cannot ask me boleh or no boleh one. tongue.gif

this is where you the porridge or rice time ma....

you see the chart...
looks nice, no?
if got run, it's not impossible to see stock hit maybe 27 sen and even run past 30 sen.

but when you see fundamentals, you not so sure.
New company, RTO...
the company is listed on London AIM...
proposal was actually made years ago... rclxub.gif 2010 article
and if you look at puc track record, puc track record is lousy....
This article calls it win-win: http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...ompleted-today/
puc used to be making 1 million per year only...
with Red Media, if annualised, one could see maybe 12 million or more profits....

But then.... you know la..... China.... laugh.gif
and then we have some x factors....
http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-ne...off-market.html
51 million shares sold off market at an extremely cheap price....
and then you got this.....
http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/in-the-edge...venture-fd.html
rights issue... maybe at 18.5 sen (solar venture? really meh? )
and then there is the 1 for 7 bonus issue with free warrants.....

total BS? or something gonna be cooked? the stock or the punters? laugh.gif

Let me ask you....
you see porridge or you see rice?
whistling.gif

( going to play ping pong now..... reply later)

spring onion
post Jul 14 2014, 06:09 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jul 14 2014, 05:42 PM)
cannot see must see the next upcoming quarter result, so you will ask me to wait and see right???

if kena goreng in a few days/weeks then this chance might be wasted, ont the other hand, go and goreng this share without much knowledge about it also will get in trouble if any shit happens

so your current job is only playing ping pong? morning free, noon free, only evening play ping pong laugh.gif
twhong_91
post Jul 14 2014, 08:37 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jul 14 2014, 04:17 PM)
Yes, LonBis has a lot of loans.
Sometimes it's not the issue of how much loan a company has ....
it's more the issue how the company is building up the total loans.

First you can compare simple yardsticks... (see no need complicated ROIC or whatsoever)

I curi tulang and borrow cgmalaysia data.

in 2003, LonBis makes PAT (profit after tax) of 9 million. Total borrowings 36 million
current TTM PAT is about 16 mil. Total borrowings about 260 million.

So in a ten year span, PAT increases 7 million. (from 9 to 16million)
An increase of 77%.
However to increase 77%, the company's loans increase from 36m to 260m!!!!!
Loans increased 7.2x!!!!!!

Straightaway we know something not right.

Then we need to find out why....

We see the company buying and selling property, plant and equipment.

Straightaway.....we go face palm!!!! doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

latest annual report: http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed...cements/1484433

page 49:
Gain on disposal of property, plant and equipment = (1,153,311)

LonBis lost 1.1 million from disposal of PPE!

Face palm !!!!!!! doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Mind you LonBis borrows money one to buy PPE!

Do what cow business do until like this one?
How would you evaluate such a company?
Loans build up so much and then you find out the company loan build up is due to the constant purchase of PPE...
then only to discover company is also active selling those PPE they had purchased!!!

My face also pain..... doh.gif
I see. very good analysis. learnt something new today! notworthy.gif
TSBoon3
post Jul 14 2014, 08:43 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jul 14 2014, 06:09 PM)
cannot see must see the next upcoming quarter result, so you will ask me to wait and see right???

if kena goreng in a few days/weeks then this chance might be wasted, ont the other hand, go and goreng this share without much knowledge about it also will get in trouble if any shit happens

so your current job is only playing ping pong? morning free, noon free, only evening play ping pong laugh.gif
These are the exact exercise I run myself thru all the time.
I weigh out the pro and cons.....
most important I shut out the noises from the market itself, yes, I do not want to know who, what, when and how (many would disagree but inside noise tends to distort my own personal judgement) ....

play with examples like this.....
see if you can develop some own personal skills in judging what's tradeable and most important what's not tradeable.

repeat same process over and over again.....

find your edge.

flex.gif
TSBoon3
post Jul 15 2014, 02:46 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jul 14 2014, 08:37 PM)
I see. very good analysis. learnt something new today!  notworthy.gif

Missed your post.

Ah Hong, these are the stuff I do whenever I want to consider I buying a stock.

But end of the day, I am different and you are different.
What is important issue for me, might not be for you.

And to make matters worse, stock markets are full of cliches.
And it can really confuse the hell out...

Good stocks sometimes seems to be in coma for ages...
Lousy stocks seems to be able defy gravity....

... and the stocks we deemed questionable and risky flies up, up and away....

yup it happens....
and many a times it's confusing..... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

TSBoon3
post Jul 16 2014, 08:50 AM

15,942 posts

The nice story.... biggrin.gif

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Investi...ovid-FV-46-sen/

The fine line....

They say 46 sen because "RHB Research ascribed a 17.0 times fully diluted calendar year 2015 earnings per share, at a discount to the 18.9 times average of its peers."

Sounds innocent. tongue.gif

The finer line.... whistling.gif

"We anticipate that its net profit may grow at a CAGR of 18.5% in FY14-16, or RM20.7mil to RM32.7mil,
CAGR is not something like you dump into the wok and start frying.... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

It's compounded annual growth...

and in this case ... compounded annual growth for TWO CONSECUTIVE years....

which means HOVID profits must fly from 20 mil to 32.7 mil or an increase of 63.5% over 2 years.

LOL!

This is where they get away with it...

when they RHB write CAGR of 18.5%, ordinary folks thinks 'ok what' , not a bloody fei kei target...

but when it's translated it means a bloody 63.5% increase in profits!!!!

Now put it a much better context when you relate to current prices...

price of Hovid this morning is 41 sen.
RHB says fair value is 46 sen or a 12.2% upside potential....

BUT to achieve this 12.2% upside, HOVID profits must increase 63.5% over the next 2 years!!!

face palm!

doh.gif

Hovid's current numbers?

2011 - lose money
2012 - 15.6 million profit
2013 - 20.3 million profit
ttm - 19.4 million profit -- huh? decrease wor! (current 9 months profit only 13.7 million - decrease 5%!)

come 2016 - can reach 32 million???

LOL!!!

come 2015 -- do you even remember what RHB wrote about Hovid today???

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Boon3: Jul 16 2014, 08:51 AM
twhong_91
post Jul 16 2014, 02:05 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jul 16 2014, 08:50 AM)
The nice story....  biggrin.gif

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Investi...ovid-FV-46-sen/

The fine line....

They say 46 sen because "RHB Research ascribed a 17.0 times fully diluted calendar year 2015 earnings per share, at a discount to the 18.9 times average of its peers."

Sounds innocent. tongue.gif

The finer line.... whistling.gif
CAGR is not something like you dump into the wok and start frying....  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

It's compounded annual growth...

and in this case ... compounded annual growth for TWO CONSECUTIVE years....

which means HOVID profits must fly from 20 mil to 32.7 mil or an increase of 63.5% over 2 years.

LOL!

This is where they get away with it...

when they RHB write CAGR of 18.5%, ordinary folks thinks 'ok what' , not a bloody fei kei target...

but when it's translated it means a bloody 63.5% increase in profits!!!!

Now put it a much better context when you relate to current prices...

price of Hovid this morning is 41 sen.
RHB says fair value is 46 sen or a 12.2% upside potential....

BUT to achieve this 12.2% upside, HOVID profits must increase 63.5% over the next 2 years!!!

face palm!

doh.gif

Hovid's current numbers?

2011 - lose money
2012 - 15.6 million profit
2013 - 20.3 million profit
ttm - 19.4 million profit -- huh? decrease wor! (current 9 months profit only 13.7 million - decrease 5%!)

come 2016 - can reach 32 million???

LOL!!!

come 2015 -- do you even remember what RHB wrote about Hovid today???

whistling.gif
I read this news yesterday and did some analysis on hovid and found out that the net profit has dropped but RHB set a TP of 0.46. luckily no touch, after reading ur analysis, i have much better understanding now. rclxms.gif
TSBoon3
post Jul 16 2014, 02:46 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jul 16 2014, 02:05 PM)
I read this news yesterday and did some analysis on hovid and found out that the net profit has dropped but RHB set a TP of 0.46. luckily no touch, after reading ur analysis, i have much better understanding now.  rclxms.gif
Hehe...ya this is how research houses play with target prices.

Most of the time, they use a fly sky eps estimate to set their fly sky target prices. tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jul 16 2014, 03:26 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jul 16 2014, 02:05 PM)
I read this news yesterday and did some analysis on hovid and found out that the net profit has dropped but RHB set a TP of 0.46. luckily no touch, after reading ur analysis, i have much better understanding now.  rclxms.gif
Then you did not note of HLIB comments on KNM?

KNM's eps is 1.8 sen. ( doh.gif only 1.8 sen only)

When HLIB wrote, KNM at that time price was 90.5 sen, which meant that KNM is already trading at a pe of 65x!!
whistling.gif

No problem so susah to fix.
All HLIB needed to do was to project KNM's eps to be 8.4 sen.

They gave this reason, that reason, this reason...
Which by alone, sounds reasonable.... tongue.gif

But then... tongue.gif
when we compare the finer point...
what HLIB was actually saying was....
KNM eps would jump from 1.8 sen to 8.4 sen.

Cow jumped over the moon.

EPS is supposedly will increase 4.66 times!!!!

And because KNM's eps can jump so high...
they think a PE multiple of 16x is FAIR....

So 16 x 8.4 = 1.35 TP.

Now everyone can jump over the moon. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

.... and yes...
this is where it's confusing for the average players.....
they be arguing how come if KNM so lousy...
why can KNM fly so high?

TSBoon3
post Jul 16 2014, 07:04 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 2 2014, 06:19 AM)
jonchai

Consider this...

Any chance of Zhulian company called X's business, which is doing badly NOW, rebound two years down the road?

vs

Any chance of company B's business, which is growing consistently NOW, continue to grow for another 2 years down the road?
Which sounds better?

tongue.gif
jonchai

Zhulian's profits.... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

profit dropped not too little hor.... eps only 1.8 sen.... sweat.gif
jonchai
post Jul 16 2014, 07:08 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jul 16 2014, 07:04 PM)
jonchai

Zhulian's profits....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

profit dropped not too little hor.... eps only 1.8 sen....  sweat.gif
Zhulian off my watchlist long long time ago liao ... biggrin.gif

Now watching E&O fly ... RHB kata 3.6, what you reckon? brows.gif
TSBoon3
post Jul 16 2014, 07:27 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Jul 16 2014, 07:08 PM)
Zhulian off my watchlist long long time ago liao ...  biggrin.gif

Now watching E&O fly ... RHB kata 3.6, what you reckon?  brows.gif
I thing I do know is RHB (or should we say OSK Research) is full of tong sampah!

tongue.gif

E&O meh?

No follow Titijaya ah?
TSBoon3
post Jul 16 2014, 07:37 PM

15,942 posts

Ah Leng chai JC,

Chart wise maybe got chance but I reckon stock might see some consolidate before hitting that high.

tongue.gif
twhong_91
post Jul 16 2014, 07:45 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jul 16 2014, 03:26 PM)
Then you did not note of HLIB comments on KNM?

KNM's eps is 1.8 sen. ( doh.gif only 1.8 sen only)

When HLIB wrote, KNM at that time price was 90.5 sen, which meant that KNM is already trading at a pe of 65x!!
whistling.gif

No problem so susah to fix.
All HLIB needed to do was to project KNM's eps to be 8.4 sen.

They gave this reason, that reason, this reason...
Which by alone, sounds reasonable.... tongue.gif

But then... tongue.gif
when we compare the finer point...
what HLIB was actually saying was....
KNM eps would jump from 1.8 sen to 8.4 sen.

Cow jumped over the moon.

EPS is supposedly will increase 4.66 times!!!!

And because KNM's eps can jump so high...
they think a PE multiple of 16x is FAIR....

So 16 x 8.4 = 1.35 TP.

Now everyone can jump over the moon. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
.... and yes...
this is where it's confusing for the average players.....
they be arguing how come if KNM so lousy...
why can KNM fly so high?

I dont look at their analysis because i knew in the first place that their analysis ia full of sh!t. haha..
learn from ah boon better! tongue.gif rclxms.gif
jonchai
post Jul 16 2014, 07:50 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jul 16 2014, 07:27 PM)
I thing I do know is RHB (or should we say OSK Research) is full of tong sampah!

tongue.gif

E&O meh?

No follow Titijaya ah?
No cash to follow titi o cry.gif

My own TP is 3.5. Once hit, no care, cut and go. More than 30% liao brows.gif
andrekua2
post Jul 16 2014, 07:58 PM

13,470 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Jul 16 2014, 07:50 PM)
No cash to follow titi o  cry.gif

My own TP is 3.5. Once hit, no care, cut and go. More than 30% liao  brows.gif
Good wor...

Still waiting for mine to bear fruit... I love 'tak laku' stocks...
Tripod
post Jul 16 2014, 08:03 PM

59 posts

i also have been monitoring the UK biscuit for some time coz attracted to its high NTA.

but after reading comments by sifu boon...felt lucky did not actually go and make the purchase sweat.gif

did not know those NTA analysis also could be so complicated...i thought if high NTA can already buy...sigh..

boon, wanna ask u about high NTA's in some plantation counters.

are they worth buying?

i see some counters...their current price is less then their NTA by almost half.

heart big..heart small on whether wanna make the purchase or not icon_question.gif

152 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.0364sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:42 PM