19 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion V7, RoS:The perfection of Seven Sided Strike

cowithgun
post Aug 14 2014, 02:46 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

if this is the best effort from d3, it's really disappointing.

However, Sweeping Wind and Monkey King set buff looks good.

The Monkey King set buff seem indication that Raiment set will got some massive buff or better still a total revamp.
cowithgun
post Aug 14 2014, 03:24 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(waklu @ Aug 14 2014, 03:04 PM)
+1

swk buff indeed a good indication of they buffing the raiment
i want burst damage! huge burst damage! short period of time, but huge!

6-set bonus something like; when your spirit is 100%, your next spirit spender will consume all spirit but cause a massive AOE bell dealing 10,000% 77,777% Weapon Damage.

or something like this: http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/13778007681?page=2#37

2p: 500 dex
4p: Each time you strike a foe with a generator, you gain 5% increased attack speed and 5% cooldown reduction for 5 seconds, stacking up to 5 times.
6p: When you strike an opponent affected by exploding palm with a generator, the explosion has a X% chance to instantly activate.

However, i doubt they will do this considering they are removing all Crushing Blow mechanic in game...

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Aug 14 2014, 03:24 PM
cowithgun
post Aug 15 2014, 12:07 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(takumin_86 @ Aug 15 2014, 12:03 PM)
Tested the Shenlongs buff today. I'm running a holy monk. Swapped my TF with Shenlongs and DS with TR. Found that TR can trigger the fireball. I'm using 3 monk sets (Shenlongs+Monkey+Inna).

Attack: Use TR (500% holy damage) + trigger fireball (1600% weapon) + trigger SWK clone (3500% holy) + EP SS (2770% holy) @ 76% increased holy damage

Regen: Air Ally+Exalted Soul+Inna+Epiphany+EP SS
can get pass grift 31?
cowithgun
post Aug 15 2014, 02:12 PM

2,248 posts

sheattt..... look like PTR ending soon... and monk still a piece of sheatttt...

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/blog/15198719/i...witch-8-14-2014
cowithgun
post Aug 15 2014, 04:39 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Aug 15 2014, 03:58 PM)
grift 13 can kua  flex.gif  TR..lol.....classic hit and run..

1 week liao no log in...no moods liao..see monk hampa liao...haihhhh icon_question.gif
you should play your WD... got Kukri already? brows.gif
cowithgun
post Aug 16 2014, 09:45 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(takumin_86 @ Aug 16 2014, 08:29 AM)
swapped TR with LTK: Scorpion for the stun effect and gain buff from Relentless Assault. ditched Cindercoat and put on Blackthorne's for elite dmg and ground immunity. currently on GRift 18 clearing ~4min. got myself the Wealth of Lightning gem (600% lightning charge) and the poison dmg gem (2000% poison) so gonna continue with that later.
i always think Blackthorne is slightly overrated... i don't usually die from those ground effect (except may be molten explosion tongue.gif). Blackthorne didn't protect me against things that can kill me; arcane, fire-chain, thunderstorm, etc

IMO the buffed Harmony and 6th Sense is all i need smile.gif they becoming more important after grift 26...

i got a pretty good shen long set:

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/cowithg...84/hero/2367940

i just wish the fireball they do lighting / holy damage instead of fire...

please share your progress...

ps: shenlong will be getting more buff! thanks to Druin and John Yang! this is the type of response from developer i love to see!

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/13839303805?page=3#58

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Aug 16 2014, 10:21 AM
cowithgun
post Aug 16 2014, 06:06 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(fe3doe @ Aug 16 2014, 03:25 PM)
WOW The BUFF really GOOD in the first 1min.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

IMO monk are improving in the damage section (hopefully have good news before 2.1 is release). But, damage mitigation is still a big issue for monk as we are a melee class.. see how fast my HP drop in T6 RIF. Wondering how monk gonna sustain in GR when this is still a big issue.  Till they fix damage mitigation, i'll just continue to play DH.  doh.gif  doh.gif
nice video! mitigation is pretty good considering you are not using double unity and 6th sense...

damage can further improved if you stack Holy (instead of lightning) since decoy is holy based damage... but even if you do, i'd say our damage is still not quite there yet... i m comparing with M6, WD, sader's Roland... sweat.gif
cowithgun
post Aug 20 2014, 10:14 PM

2,248 posts

Tested Suwuko set with Flying Dragon. Managed to complete Grift 27 with almost 2 minutes left.

Don't really like 2H... I still hope Blizzard can make Raiment set super awesome for DW...

cowithgun
post Aug 21 2014, 11:04 AM

2,248 posts

i am so angry when i read this

"Ideally, each class should be within a couple Greater Rift tiers of one another. Our latest internal testing, where we often copy actual characters from players in the PTR and run them through Greater Rifts, shows that we're pretty close. "

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/13923582286

cowithgun
post Aug 21 2014, 11:56 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Aug 21 2014, 11:21 AM)
Keyword, ideally.

... we want each class performing similarly and with fewer outliers before we introduce new play styles.
Unquote

You can expect some works on monk.
It's either nerf others buff monk or buff monk all the way (through gears and skills).
I believe the latter is a more possible solution.

Assuming the toughness has been taken care of by implementing 1 DEX = 1 armor.
For me, it is very easy to fix monk. I do not know why Blizz took so long.
It's gear based game. Give monk some kickarse weapon like "Starmetal kukri". Blizz just needs to fix that.
And buff the skills like Epiphany. It is pathetic as compared to Akarat's Champion, WoTB and Archon.
...the part that make me angry is

"Our latest internal testing, where we often copy actual characters from players in the PTR and run them through Greater Rifts, shows that we're pretty close. "

cowithgun
post Aug 21 2014, 02:46 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Aug 21 2014, 11:34 AM)
Actually we have some kickarse items : Fist of Az and sledgefist....but it was too OP in team play hence was nerfed to oblivion. Just like how Furnace was killed off and Rimeheart too. Catch 22 position, epic legs which are hard to find is nerfed to be non epic, which totally defeats the concept of item hunt.

All I can say is Dong Vu doesn't care....
i hope someone can ask that to Don Vu tonight 2am (Malaysia time) during the Tavern Talk.

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/blog/15198719/i...witch-8-14-2014

i used to stay up late for this kindna thing... but not anymore...
cowithgun
post Aug 21 2014, 08:16 PM

2,248 posts

Grift 30 video. Think that's the best I can do.

cowithgun
post Aug 22 2014, 09:09 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Aug 22 2014, 02:47 AM)
Look at the time spent, you should be able to do grift 31-32.
I think that is close with other class.
i know you mean for encouragement... but situation is not as positive...

monk still at the bottom of the leaderboard... monk are definitely not "within a couple Greater Rift tiers of one another". we are always a few tier behind all others. never, even korean/invis monk can top ANY other class.

how does it feel always being lowest in the leaderboard? bad...
how does it feel being closer to other class but still lowest in the leaderboard? still bad...

now, blizzard said they are done with 2.1...

http://www.diablofans.com/news/48181-patch...eveloper-stream

.......... speechless .........

ps: top in leaderboard is DH at Grift 41...

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 22 2014, 06:53 AM)
dun worry be happy!
dia tok kok sing song nia!
The community in their forum give a load of good feedback and changes yet they don't listen!
This is all public relation damage control.
Usually have many ppl online but these days very very few clan members and friends liao!
more clan members will come back for 2.1... this weekend has 50% gold find...

good that you have kukri... carry me!

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Aug 22 2014, 09:12 AM
cowithgun
post Aug 22 2014, 10:43 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 22 2014, 10:31 AM)
FYI, Tavern talk = kopitiam tok.
doh.gif
me lvl450 carry lvl605 sweat.gif
some more, noobie me carry the famous cowithgun!?!?  shakehead.gif
what to do? monk is weak...

about that thread:

Oh, some of you should know or play with him before in my party, the thread starter: Hanzo Another hardcore monk (HC para606!) player that switch to WD... cry.gif

cowithgun
post Aug 22 2014, 12:20 PM

2,248 posts

Youtube video for Tavern Talk... take a good look at those developers... mad.gif

ps: as Wyatt Cheng put it... "a glass of water can kill your monk..."

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Aug 22 2014, 12:24 PM
cowithgun
post Aug 22 2014, 05:20 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(zonan4 @ Aug 22 2014, 01:16 PM)
What developer are you talking about? I just watching that hot Red Chick drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
right... what developers... all i see are monkeys that are about to start playing Monk when 2.1 come up... yeah, good luck with that.

cowithgun
post Aug 22 2014, 07:07 PM

2,248 posts

so, dev just "call it a day" in releasing 2.1 without fixing monk:

angry monk player is very angry

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/13829002777?page=4#68
cowithgun
post Aug 25 2014, 10:53 PM

2,248 posts

After many rift, upgraded Mirinie legendary gem to lv25. It can now deal 3000% holy damage every 5 seconds smile.gif

With that, completed Grift 31 with almost 2 minutes left.

Also found Vengful Wind fist weapon that will increase SW stack by 3.

cowithgun
post Aug 26 2014, 11:03 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Aug 26 2014, 10:43 AM)
Hmm not bad the fist. Can see a build based on SW with Inna's, alablaster glove and that fist. can get up to 10 stack of SW will be quite fun. Just wondering would the cyclone damage scale also?

cow are u going to run seasons?
Alabaster gloves which increase the duration of Sweeping Wind to 1min is no more. It's a bad joke. It shows how detached is Monk developer from the community.

Anyway, its replaced with this Fist. It is however a Seasons gear. Will only be available after season is over in 2-3 months. My guess is the first season may end even earlier. They are not done with balancing yet.

I won't be playing season. Too much pain, not enough profit. wink.gif Until they fix Raiment set, Sunwuko is the only set available for monk (for higher torment). Using anything not a combat staff, you lost the 20% damage. So, that fist weapon is not attractive.
cowithgun
post Aug 26 2014, 01:37 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Aug 26 2014, 11:23 AM)
ehhh..damn I thought they reworked the glove...sheet they removed it and replace with that fist? Seriously...? Waffak idiocy is this?

SWK set now BiS...waffak...? 4 piece better then 6 piece? Must use diabo now? Seriously...? 

Piss off blizz hate to say this..bring back Jay Wilson please.........at least he doubles everything.
Sunwuko is now the only competitive set. Most Raiment / Lightning gear couldn't get pass Grift 30, especially now that Dashing Strike cool down is 8 seconds.

A bit about Sunwuko, you guys should totally look for for this set for 2.1. The 3500% proc is much better than Raiment proc. Not only that it's a bit more powerful, it will automatically seek the nearby (distance improved too) target and kaboom! The gameplay is to just keep spamming Mantra to trigger the decoy and kill everything.

Bell will work too but not as effective as Mantra. Bell has animation (which is a lot faster now) so you must stop your generator. With Mantra, you can keep using FoT to generate spirit.

You also want to gamble the new Crudest boot that will spawn 2 Mystic Ally. With 2 Air Ally, your passive spirit regen will be sufficient.

Turn out that Flying Dragon is the best Daibo at the moment because when it proc, I get more than 2mil DPS and spirit goes up roof.

With that, you should aim for Sunwuko + Inna + Aughild's set + Crudest boot + Flying Dragon.

Basically, every joker monk will run with this build. Build diversity?

I was running at that build, still only get me to Grift 31. Need Legendary gem to push higher.

Check out the video above.

QUOTE(huoshenfeng124 @ Aug 26 2014, 12:57 PM)
blizzard games alwiz have meta in their games and it applies all their products, just hope monks and barb will shines brighter at other patches , after i jump ship to barb they oso weaken it's damage, sounds like no choice but have shift to crusader for melee or dh for range haiz
At least Reakor's set is doing pretty well now. This guy made it to Grift 35, and only the last in top 5. Last I check before PTR shutdown, Barb top at Grift 40.

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/13979137843

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Aug 26 2014, 01:40 PM

19 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0438sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:29 PM