Monk Discussion V7, RoS:The perfection of Seven Sided Strike

cowithgun
post Feb 5 2015, 01:02 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

Try Grift 44 today... fail... sad.gif

Didn't die, not even once... but lack of DPS...

Will focus more on DPS next round...

cowithgun
post Feb 5 2015, 08:55 PM

2,248 posts

After failing a few more tries with some variation of build, finally decided to put in my 4.6k Torch! RG surrender!

cowithgun
post Feb 9 2015, 12:10 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Feb 5 2015, 11:53 PM)
Nice!!  rclxms.gif

400m of damage makes all heroes jelly.  laugh.gif
blush.gif

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 6 2015, 03:31 AM)
thanks for the party earlier; and also being the last straw for me to ditch lightning dual wield.

from 30-60mil dmg lousy pillars, to 200-300mil dmg explosive waves lol...
practically fully converted:
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/Quazaco...16/hero/5878974

skills pretty much copied from you, passives variation, and i got necklace free beacon.
now all i need is to slowly upgrade my existing pieces/gems lol

but seriously, from grift 27 to like 34 just because i go with stupid monkey armor...
i guess the 8666 dex is a sign... lol
welcome to the club! i m DW in the heart! will switch back to DW most like after 2.2 with Raiment Set fixed. Look like that set will be a DW set!

QUOTE(fungling2002 @ Feb 9 2015, 11:11 AM)
cool2.gif Guys, I currently using fire bell build.
            However, I found out that the damage range normally from 20M to 200M.
            The damage seems to be not consistent.

Is it normal?
Yes, that is normal. Your 20m damage probably crit without the Sunwuko buff, ie: first time your cast Bell after 3 seconds buff and without legendary gem proc such as Bane of Trap and/or Zei's Stone. Your 200m is probably after 500% more damage sunwuko buff and with proc from gems.

20m * 500% = 100mil
Proc from Zei's stone ~30% = 130m
Proc from Bane of Trap ~25% = 155m
Damage against Elite ~30% = 201mil

cowithgun
post Feb 9 2015, 12:22 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 9 2015, 12:12 PM)
hmm when is 2.2 again? may regret spending that 150-170 FS and organs i saved up sweat.gif
not so soon. they are targeting it to be after season 2. and season 2 targeted to be at least a few months... so, for a few months, i'd say well worth spending!
cowithgun
post Feb 9 2015, 01:33 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(dreaming @ Feb 9 2015, 01:23 PM)
so monks are the top class now?
checked ladder board just now, monk #1 GR52!  rclxms.gif
according to the ladder board.. yes rclxms.gif

i'd say Monk has both high damage (close to DH), high defense (close to Crusader) and great mobility (close to Reakor barb)...

cowithgun
post Feb 9 2015, 08:21 PM

2,248 posts

If your guys want some fast XP, look up for a community called "Exp Grift". Join a party, they mostly do GR 35-39, most of the time with 1 zDPS that open those GR.

Getting something like 16bil XP / hr. On top that, there is now a min of 1% (previously 0% if less than 7 level) to upgrade any of your gem.

cowithgun
post Feb 11 2015, 11:39 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(sandvillage @ Feb 11 2015, 08:05 AM)
I have an Ancient Inna Armor with below roll. Wondering if I should reroll Armor or the Exp on Kill stat. Can advice? Also in the main stat 15% Life better or Reduce Damage from Elite 11% better?

500+ Dex
500+ Vit
700 Armor

180 Lightning resist
Exp on kill
Armor to Elite damage reduction.

cowithgun
post Feb 11 2015, 11:42 AM

2,248 posts

Here is a sad story of me trying to break GR 45... fail a few rounds already, this time, thought I can get it with around 7 minutes to kill Bone RG, and I have a Power Pylon nearby too! Was waiting for the last 25% before I take the Power pylon... boom! Bone Reflect Damage kill me... fail...

Sad cow is sad.

cowithgun
post Feb 11 2015, 05:12 PM

2,248 posts

Finally! GR 45! With Fire Bell build! Must thanks those pony. With so many failure this round, I learn something:

1. Since I am on fire bell build, AOE is my weapon. Round those mobs and elite together. Kill them together!
2. Avoid Champion (yellow elite - those have tons of HP, not good for my Fire build)
3. See those Corrupted Angel? Bees? Skip thru them, not worth it!
4. See Unburried? Pony? Red Zombies? ^___^
5. Nearing an end? But there is a Pylon? Dont take it! Come back for it with RG.

Important lesson... that's probably as far as fire can (unless I am lucky enough to get pylon at RG). Moving up, really must change gear to Lightning... I have Lightning set, but rarely use because it's really not much use in T6 and low GR farming...

Watch in 720p60 for 60 FPS smoothness!

cowithgun
post Feb 12 2015, 01:27 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(kwwk87 @ Feb 11 2015, 11:44 PM)
Gratz!

you forget mentioning pray to RNG god for good map & mob lol. Thanks Ytar that the RG is The Binder.
ya, that is important too! i thanked the pony, forgot to thank the RG.

i finally found it.. the most useless Ancient item in game!

ps: found another one... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Feb 13 2015, 11:13 AM
cowithgun
post Feb 12 2015, 05:23 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(waklu @ Feb 12 2015, 04:24 PM)
abam cow

s2 start this friday for US right? what time for malaysia? heheh
Season 2 starts Malaysia Time 10am this Saturday! More reason to roll a monk this season... Gungdo bracer will be OP! All developers playing monk now!

http://www.twitch.tv/diablo/c/6097044

I found the youtube version:

ps: fun to see those developers skipping meeting so they can start playing season 1...

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Feb 12 2015, 05:34 PM
cowithgun
post Feb 15 2015, 09:31 AM

2,248 posts

Another interview... this one really interesting!

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Feb 15 2015, 09:31 AM
cowithgun
post Feb 16 2015, 09:54 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 15 2015, 01:50 PM)
I cracked up on build diversity,  and then I cried inside for my monk being 2 hander  cry.gif
I feel you bro! I hope the new Raiment DW set will be here soon. I thought of something good about the set last night (yeah... sometimes i think about D3 before I sleep), instead of lighting that does 3000% as 6-piece bonus, they can make Spirit Generator deals 3000% more damage! That will discourage ping pong style. After a dash, you can punch mobs to death! Dash to another target... I like playing monk like that.

For now, there is a pretty good DW Lightning monk by quin69. It's pretty good for T6...

http://www.diablofans.com/builds/29347-qui...ning-speed-monk

QUOTE(kwwk87 @ Feb 15 2015, 02:10 PM)
Found a 70 Gungdo Gear on season.

Not that decent roll though, but still the legendary effect rclxms.gif
Please make video!

QUOTE(waklu @ Feb 16 2015, 09:07 AM)
monk hype!!!!
There are many season players now... many monk... good!
cowithgun
post Feb 16 2015, 10:00 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(kwwk87 @ Feb 16 2015, 09:58 AM)
My pc too old liao, cannot record.

but you get the drills.. EP+CS+WoL

EXPLOSION MICHAEL BAY STYLE
Will the explosion from the proc from Gungdo gear trigger EP as well?
cowithgun
post Feb 16 2015, 10:10 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(kwwk87 @ Feb 16 2015, 10:02 AM)
Yeah, but the explosion radius is quite limited. Ppl usually run EPID for the 6000% damage.

Personally I like EPSG more, it jumps extra one target + DoT..
Awesome. I heard Gungdo gear is the *only* useful new legendary in season 2. laugh.gif Many monks are back. Even zhong playing Monk now. nod.gif
cowithgun
post Feb 16 2015, 08:25 PM

2,248 posts

Gong Xi Gong Xi! CuteCow wish everyone a prosperity new year!

ps: may the loot table be in your favor...

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Feb 16 2015, 10:53 PM
cowithgun
post Feb 20 2015, 10:22 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(DrLaboo @ Feb 18 2015, 09:32 PM)
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/DrLaboo...0/hero/53184470

im running perma epiphany with 1-sec buffer for Serenity + EP
for T6/GR im using build as per above..
seems to be no problem at all..
for GR im playing with 1 hands only managed to go till GR41 (with the Numlock auto cast trick)

it is so easy to clear the whites/blue/yellow but when it comes to the GR RG it feels almost like forever..  laugh.gif
GR50 seems to be a walk i the park for this build, except when it comes to the GR RG
checkout Quins's video below.. u'll get the idea

That high GR party build look very solid. especially good to upgrade gem to high level.

There is another really awesome party build, good for GR35-40. These GR level especially good for XP and loot because you can clear it really fast. Have 1 monk like this, you can probably clear GR in around 3 minutes! As a DPSer, you can gain around 15b-20b an hour. If you are the leeches (zDPS) with ruby on leoric, hellfire, etc, you can gain from 20b-25b. In the case of Gungdo gear and a well optimised party, up to 40b! (Minus the time to make 3x GR key).

http://www.diablofans.com/builds/52072-dat...onk-40b-xp-hour

BTW, patch 2.2 first look! I hope Raiment of Thousand Storms is good for DW...

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/blog/17989719/f...h-220-2-19-2015
cowithgun
post Feb 22 2015, 12:08 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Feb 20 2015, 11:56 PM)
Perma serenity = godmode
do u tink blizztard will leave tis build alone?
even with full CDR (lost a lot of DPS), your Serenity (Ascension) has -0.35 cool down. if u press a little too fast before serenity up, you lost around 200ms before u can press it again (depend on your latency, in Malaysia, its hard to get lower than 200ms), so, in theory it look like god-mode, but in practice, even when physically in AU playing AU server that has (sometimes) < 100ms ping, its hard to maintain the god-mode...

QUOTE(LifeX @ Feb 21 2015, 09:30 PM)
LOL Saw my name. Anyway, Gungdo seems to work great in packs, but when RG comes, kinda useless d...not sure worth the slot or not.
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 21 2015, 10:46 PM)
Which bracer good for rg? Reaper maybe once mob spawn (all rg got adds?) and assuming they drop health orb

Strong-arm also can't work since can't knock rg up
the other alternative would be Augchild set...
cowithgun
post Feb 22 2015, 10:53 PM

2,248 posts

Something quite interesting about GR and Pylon. Since 2.1.2, blizzard made Pylon appeared dynamically based on your progress. It's no longer generated during beginning of the map, but as you progress, it will appear. So, you can basically expect 2-4 pylon appears in various % of your progress. There is a caveat, the pylon will only appear in unexplored area.

So, the trick is, do a quick scout on the map don't kill mobs. With low %, you will not discover any pylon. Leave a little unexplored area. Clear the mobs till almost RG appear. Go to the unexplored area, 99% to get pylons there! Win!

Pretty cleaver. smile.gif Well, good for those pushing into the ladder board...

http://www.reddit.com/r/Diablo/comments/2w...u_can_use_them/
cowithgun
post Feb 25 2015, 11:13 AM

2,248 posts

Datamine for 2.2 just got out! Raiment set improvement! I dont really like the previous "improvement" in the last blizcon:

They mentioned that they will change that, and this look like it:

Monk
P2_ItemPassive_Unique_Ring_029 - Mystic Ally casts Cyclone Strike, Exploding Palm, Lashing Tail Kick, Seven-Sided Strike, and Wave of Light when you do.
P2_ItemPassive_Unique_Ring_033 - Increases the weapon damage of Dashing Strike to [VALUE]%.
ItemPassive_Unique_Ring_915_x1 - Seven-Sided Strike performs an additional seven strikes.
P2_ItemPassive_Unique_Ring_034 - Your Spirit Generators reduce your damage taken by [VALUE]% for 3 seconds.
P2_ItemPassive_Unique_Ring_049 - Increase the passive effect of your Mystic Ally and the base passive effect of your Mantra by [{VALUE1}*100]%.
P2_ItemPassive_Unique_Ring_022 - Your Spirit Generators have 25% increased attack speed and [VALUE]% increased damage.
ItemPassive_Unique_Ring_541_x1 - Your Spirit Generators generate [VALUE]% more Spirit.
P2_ItemPassive_Unique_Ring_021 - Dashing Strike spends [VALUE] Spirit, but refunds a Charge when it does.

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Feb 25 2015, 11:16 AM

19 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0446sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:31 AM