4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Collectibles Transformers Thread v71.0, Poison everywhere...

Cheesenium
post Jul 7 2014, 12:24 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Does anyone know where to find MP3 Starcream in Malaysia? I dont mind other colours as long as it isnt Acid Storm.
Cheesenium
post Jul 7 2014, 12:46 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(omichael @ Jul 7 2014, 12:29 PM)
There's a Takara Coronation Starscream reissue coming out early next year.

I preordered mine from primocollectibles.com for RM440+.

You can also check out Toys R Us, they recently stocked Hasbro MP Sunstorm. Also RM400+.

IMO if you don't have any MP Seekers yet, better go for the Starscream. More iconic character, more potential value in future. But also a longer wait  blush.gif
I actually found this on ebay: http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/Transformers-Ma...=item462309b44d

Worth buying that one? Damn tempted to pick up one now as I like the anime colours version of the MP Starscream.

Takara Coronation Starscream on primocollectables.com is sold out atm though. I have been looking for a MP Starscream since the original one is out. Just didnt buy one because of the high price a few years back.

I almost bought the Hasbro MP Soundwave last time as I really like the quality of the mold.

Tempted to start collecting MP transformers, despite I am collecting costly die cast cars now.
Cheesenium
post Jul 7 2014, 02:05 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(omichael @ Jul 7 2014, 01:06 PM)
Looks cool, the only reason I'd be a little worried about getting that first edition one is because of how old it is.

MP-3 came out back in 2006... so unless this is a reissue, that would make this box 8 years old. Not sure what condition the plastic will be in.

(Maybe some TF sifus here can comment better on plastic degradation.)

About Primo Collectibes - you can try emailing them and just say you want to preorder. I also ordered mine when the site said sold out.
I checked the Wiki, the more cartoon accurate version is out in 2007 to 2008 but yea, it is still damn old.

http://tfwiki.net/wiki/Starscream_%28G1%29...s#MasterpieceUS

Still, I am not too concern about the plastic as plastics are made to last for a long long time. They probably wont degrade in a few years time. I used to have a few G1 to Beast Wars transformers back then where I collected since I was 7, even after 15 years, they are still fine till now. Until my mum donated them to charity. doh.gif

I have been reading about the quality of the transformer, I heard that Takara MP's plastic is a bit more fragile than the Hasbro version, is it true?

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jul 7 2014, 02:17 PM
Cheesenium
post Jul 7 2014, 02:18 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(tnsai @ Jul 7 2014, 02:16 PM)
I think the only case I read where Takara has an issue was with Rodimus' thigh joints. THe plastic there snapped easily and was supposedly fixed in the Hasbro release (or the Takara v2 release). Never heard of other issues for other MPs.. except I guess the poorer paint application on Takara soundwave.
So, I guess the Starscream is pretty decent quality as a whole.

How about the price? Is it worth buying at RM450?
Cheesenium
post Jul 7 2014, 02:38 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(omichael @ Jul 7 2014, 02:32 PM)
Based on the packaging, it seems that the one you pointed out on ebay is the 2006 version.

Because according to the article you linked to, the 2007-2008 edition would have come in a different box.

If I were you, I'd still wait a few months for the coronation reissue. For around the same price, you get a fresh new piece. Plus all those extra accessories.

Also, this 2006 Starscream mould was previously updated in 2012 (e.g. the null rays no longer need to be detached for transformation).

And from the reviews I've read, most people agree that the updates made it a significantly better figure.
Thanks, I guess i'll grab the new version then. How does the Coronation reissue look like? Just like the old one with some mold upgrades?
Cheesenium
post Jul 7 2014, 02:43 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(tnsai @ Jul 7 2014, 02:40 PM)

Side by side compariosn
I assume the left one is the 2006 version and the right one is the coronation version.

I actually prefer the left one, the paint job is nicer in my opinion.
Cheesenium
post Jul 7 2014, 02:44 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(neo_01 @ Jul 7 2014, 02:44 PM)
upgrade mold looks awesome but plastic quality worse than old ver
What do you mean? The old version has better quality plastic than the new version?
Cheesenium
post Jul 7 2014, 02:53 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(neo_01 @ Jul 7 2014, 02:51 PM)
yes
I might pick up that one then since I like the paint job of the old one. Looks better IMO.

Then, maybe get Sideswipe, Soundwave and Prowl in the future.
Cheesenium
post Jul 8 2014, 12:32 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(tnsai @ Jul 7 2014, 03:53 PM)
Honestly I'd say do some research. There are a few problems that plague the oriingal MP Starscream too.. Best to go to tfw2005 and read someo fthe review sfor MP-11. They do have some comparisons. When I first started and before I knew aobut the MP-11 reissue, I was actually contemplating both and was deciding between the two. I went for MP-11 simply because

1) I didn't like the hip kibble
2) I enjoy transforming my transformers every now and then. and i read that it was pretty dangerous to do with the original mold ? (breakage? don't remember been a while now)
3) THe original was suppsoed to be difficult to pose etc..

Just my 0.02
I think I have different intention with mine. I think the hip kibble in MP3 is ugly too but I intend to store mine in plane mode which I think MP3 is suitable. The robot mode is a bit too tall for me to store it properly, unfortunately. It will probably transformed into robot mode and left on the table for a few days then transform back to the plane mode for storage.

I also really like the weathering effects on the plane, feels more realistic.

How are the joints in your MP-11? Are they tight? Or they will get looser and looser like the newer toys after transforming a few times?

Also, MP3 has the display stand, i think that one might sway me into getting one.

QUOTE(ckchan @ Jul 7 2014, 04:07 PM)
for me, jet mode mp-03 looks better. it more accurate to the actual jet and looks more realistic with the weathered effect. also it hides the bot parts better. i showed some pictures of it to my fren and they can't tell it's a transformers. they tot it's a plane model.

bot mode, mp-11 looks better, mainly because of the hip kibble.

quality and built wise... no comment cos i only have mp-03
May I know hows the quality of the joints in your MP3? Will they become loose after transforming a few times?

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jul 8 2014, 01:03 AM
Cheesenium
post Jul 8 2014, 10:49 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Jul 8 2014, 10:04 AM)
can't really remember cos it's been quite some time i transform it. but as far as i can remember, i think the joints are all still ok.
Thats alright.

Are there any part of the transformation that feels fragile?
Cheesenium
post Jul 8 2014, 11:14 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Jul 8 2014, 10:55 AM)
now that u mention, i think the back smaller wings are abit loose. most of the time i leave it in jet mode (love it so much) and i can say all the joints tap in nicely and fits perfectly tight. it's actually very solid feel when it's in jet mode.

in bot mode... quite difficult to pose also because of the hip kibble and the wings may get in the way... and quite difficult to make it stand also. good thing is u can just hang it on the stand and then it can be pose much easier.

but anyway, like i said, i leave it mostly in jet mode.
I am intending to leave it in the jet mode. Can be used as a jet model with Starscream livery too. I like the inked panels as the jet mode feels a lot more realistic and polished. Thats why now I am considering to get it from ebay since the price isnt too bad.

I heard the MP11 does not have the stand.
Cheesenium
post Jul 8 2014, 11:32 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Jul 8 2014, 11:25 AM)
hmm.gif i think same as mp-03. the back tail wings is also loose

i do not have MP-11. but maybe it's time to get my MP-11s out of the box...
get MP-03 and pose it in jet mode. i feel that the jet mode itself is already worth the money i paid
True, it is not easy to find a decent quality jet to pose. Not to mention in Starscream colours.

QUOTE(tnsai @ Jul 8 2014, 11:26 AM)
Yep agree with others, if you intend to pose it in jet mode and given the fact that most prices i've seen of mp-3 is quite cheaper compared to mp-11, you should go for mp-3.
So, for RM450, is it worth getting MP-3 for that price?

EDIT: Just wondering, is true that only Skywarp only featured in Masterpiece in the MP-3 mold but not the newer MP-11?

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jul 8 2014, 11:36 AM
Cheesenium
post Jul 9 2014, 02:37 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(waikin_31 @ Jul 9 2014, 11:10 AM)

I got this instead and it's my first TF animated figure  sweat.gif

I have quite a few TF animated figure. They are really solid in my opinion. Fun to play, fun to pose and the quality is pretty damn good. I think Animated has one of the best Starscream. Sadly I lost one of its landing gear and could not find any spare parts for it.

Still looking for Animated Optimus Prime though.
Cheesenium
post Jul 9 2014, 04:06 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(FoxFace @ Jul 9 2014, 02:44 PM)
it also has the best blurr, best deluxe rodimus and swindle
Animated also have the best Blackout compared to the TF Movies.

Blackout Animated is easily posed and the alternative mode is so cute.
Cheesenium
post Jul 9 2014, 05:35 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(FoxFace @ Jul 9 2014, 05:27 PM)

you rang?
Yea, I rang. Can I has some tea please? tongue.gif
Cheesenium
post Jul 11 2014, 04:28 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jul 11 2014, 08:58 AM)
the lambor reissue is a hoax. it wont happen.
What? So no more Lambo and Starscream reissue?
Cheesenium
post Jul 11 2014, 04:31 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jul 11 2014, 04:30 PM)
my sg seller... smile.gif
coronation starscream just reissued leh

lambor nope, that one's a hoax. same like the so called rumors of a encore starsaber release.
Ah shit, now where am i gonna find a red lambo and Starscream. sweat.gif

I think i'll get a Prowl next week to access the Masterpiece quality before going on a witchhunt to find Lambo and Starscream. Gonna be much more pricey now.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jul 11 2014, 04:34 PM
Cheesenium
post Jul 13 2014, 11:21 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jul 12 2014, 03:29 PM)

My god, it looks good. How much is it? Where to get it?

Cheesenium
post Jul 13 2014, 12:31 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jul 13 2014, 11:54 AM)
apparently this chrome version is tfcon exclusive sad.gif

regular release wont have the chrome and the diaclone rider...

nevertheless, still a damn sweet design

speaking of tfcon...too much awesomeness in this post: http://www.tfw2005.com/transformers-news/c...-part-2-180695/

omfg!
OMG.

Now i need at least 1k to get the stuff i want this year.

Just saw Spark released the 2013 Toyota TS030, now i want it. sweat.gif
Cheesenium
post Jul 14 2014, 02:36 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Hey guys, I found someone selling their MP-3 Starscream for RM400. Worth buying at that price?

It is a used model where the owner claimed to only open it and display it. Not played much. And he has 2 MP-3 Starscream, both Takara Masterpiece with different box. One with a window where the figure is in robot mode and one in alt mode.

The reason he is selling is, his wife wants him to sell his collection so he is selling his Sun Storm and Acid Storm too.

I could wait for the MP-11 reissue but I want the inked panel version of MP3.

If I am buying second hand MP-3, what should I keep an eye on? Any fragile parts that are easily broken or stressed?

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jul 14 2014, 02:46 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0523sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:12 AM