Anybody here staying in a condo can advise on the going market rate to rent a single room in the sommerset area?
I heard its around 2k a month.
Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub
Jun 10 2014, 10:18 AM
4,414 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Anybody here staying in a condo can advise on the going market rate to rent a single room in the sommerset area?
I heard its around 2k a month. |
Jun 10 2014, 10:33 AM
Jun 10 2014, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(Green_Emerald @ Jun 10 2014, 12:17 PM) Singapore housing is so expensive. I used to rent $580/month for two people, one of us have to sleep on the floor on mattress somemore. My money is gone just like that. Dont you get housing allowances?Im currently on a project in korea on and off again basis and my company has provided me with a apartment in busan since i may stay there for months at a time and its cheaper than renting a hotel. A know a friend who was lucky enough that his rich aunt left him to use her condo in sommerset. I am inquiring if i can rent a room from him for cheap. |
Jun 10 2014, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(Green_Emerald @ Jun 10 2014, 01:57 PM) Studying and poor. Oh, if your studying. Then tough luck unless your parents have extra cash to give it to you.But next time come out work, money going to disappear again. If not, you gotta be "enterprising" if you want some additional pocket money. |
Jun 10 2014, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 10 2014, 01:41 PM) ada... just go do a quick search... Is this unit a studio apartment?$700/room is typical rate for hdb.. but sometimes can find exceptions for private at low price http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/172...nt-133-somerset wait till u go london or aus... yeaps... it applies, try asking whether your company have corporate relationship or not with the bank... then they can ignore that term.. also ask your hr whether your first pay can be in the form of a chq, then u use that chq to open ur acct after ur 1st pay.. then only cont in the subsequent months as direct credit Looks like those goshiwon rooms aka the closet room space or similiar to utility rooms that i used to stay when i was working in singapore. |
Jun 10 2014, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 10 2014, 04:48 PM) u click d ad, common room... its still a room... if dont want go for 1.1k room lor Just asking since its just a room and the other pics looks like a common corridor in a dorm.if can sgd5k... bank 1k, rental 1month, depo 1 month, agent 1month... pong 200, mkn minum geylang... etc etc... |
Jun 10 2014, 08:33 PM
Jun 10 2014, 08:37 PM
Jun 10 2014, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 10 2014, 08:39 PM) Didnt you work overseas before?If your familiar with welding inspection, my company is looking to contract qualified welding inspectors to be posted in busan korea for 12 months span with the option for recontract, housing is provided and transport is on a case by case basis, if you have an international license like myself, you'll get a company car and petrol is covered by the company because during the winter months, you absolutely need to drive. This post has been edited by crapp0: Jun 10 2014, 08:49 PM |
Jun 10 2014, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(bizfirx @ Jun 10 2014, 09:03 PM) Hi all, I heard nowadays alot of d*** house owners want a LOI letter of intent and cheque to prove that the "future" tenant is serious about renting a whole unit. And the tenancy agreement is nowhere to be seen.saw this thread while surfing the forum, would like to introduce myself. I'm a registered real estate agent in Singapore, under one of the largest local agencies here. I do both rental and sales of HDB and private properties. I understand that some of you may be heading to Singapore to work, or may already be in Singapore, and are looking for accommodation. I can assist you in your property searching process, from arranging viewings to the admin/legal matters. In my opinion, it is easier to work with an agent as he/she can handle the routine stuff for you, and also look after your interests. (But then, this is a biased comment since I'm an agent too hahaha) As what some of you have mentioned, there is a commission involved, which is negotiable. Generally, it is 0.5 months rent for every 12 months lease. However, this amount is of course, negotiable. Feel free to drop me a PM for a non=obligatory discussion, or simply to ask me if the property you are looking at is ideal for your needs. I only collect commission if you decide to engage my services in finding a property. Many thanks! What a joke. |
Jun 11 2014, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 10 2014, 10:27 PM) I thought this was standard procedure? I rent two different hdb with two different agent also same thing. at time of viewing, issue Letter of Intent and give 1 month cheque first to 'seal the deal' so that landlord don't consider other ppl offer. After that only slowly sign tenancy agreement, etc, then 1st day of move in only give another 2 months deposit (i rented both times oso 2 year lease). Alot of bureaucracy, legal framework and advance cheques just to satisfy the landlord requirements and to lock in to further negotiations from what my friend who is working in singapore is telling me.In korea, i just approach a local housing agent, and put in a price which is negotiable, if the landlord is ok with the inital offering, i will meet the landlord in person to view the place, make the final offer and if everything is ok, sign the tenancy agreement and handshake on it. No LOI BS and issuing a cheque just to prove to the landlord that i am serious about renting, if i wasnt, i wouldnt be searching through an agent in the first place. I used to work in sg 2 years back and whenever i rented, there was no LOI. Just meet up with the landlord and agent to discuss everything in person and get it done there and then. I guess renting is quite a terrible process once the human element aka the landlord is usually never present during negotiations. This post has been edited by crapp0: Jun 11 2014, 11:47 AM |
Jun 12 2014, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 12 2014, 02:04 AM) If you want to see it from landlords' point of view, all these rentals are business, and business they want as much certainties as they can get. No verbal contract especially you are some stranger from the street to them no matter how good you think you are. Given the spike in SG properties recently, landlords have their upper hand in choosing tenants they want to rent, raising the price, demand whatever they want. I am also looking at it from the point of a landlord since i am one myself (Not in singapore since i dont own any property in singapore).Always remember these 5 words, work every where. "U tak suka, u keluar." But you did already keluar so its ok. Annyong. There are only that many better degree around. Sooner or later those better degree will be employed, then those left over jobs are out for grabs. I used to own property in Sydney at the advice of a good friend as well as some of my relatives who also own properties in australia, had the house rented out for a few months before my agent informed me that a PRC was interested in my property and was willing to pay above market price to secure it ASAP. |
Jun 13 2014, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jun 12 2014, 11:33 PM) like what Fiona Chin said, if you don't like all the hassle (LOI, etc) just find another place to rent/ landlord which doesn't have so many processes, is not like Singapore is only left with a few room / units to let. Lol, i am talking about my friend who having no experience in renting a whole unit with the LOI since it was usually more straight forward with meeting with the housing agent and landlord, talking it over and signing the tenancy with no LOI in sight.I personally don't think that an agent should get the 1 month rent when all he/she does is just show up in front of the unit and show with a piece of paper for me to sign. I renting mine without paying the agent fee. Any agent/ landlord which require me to pay the agent, I just decline. It might take me some time but I eventually found one that suit my liking. I am also in support, what so boring about it ? Everyday sit in office, surf net and wait for end of month $$$ Just keep polishing your current skillset and add more stuff that interest you into your skillset would be my advise. No point for you to chase a certain 'in thing', it might be in demand now, but when you are about done with it, its no longer a shinny thing. With your expanded skillset more opportunity will open up for sure. I am assuming here you are doing normal IT in-house support (my printer can't print, why internet slow, etc), and this are getting boring having the same issues reported again and again. Perhaps you can research on using different ticket tracking, creating a self help wiki for the staff or wiki for your support colleagues (if there is none right now), POC, etc .. so many things to improvise I am not living or working in singapore anymore so this doesnt affect me one bit but i understand why my friend who is encountering the LOI for the first time is rightly pissed that an extra step in renting a unit is there. When i used to rent my house in Sydney, there was no such thing as an LOI, i just keep on contact with my agent through e-mail or skype and if both parties agree on the price and terms, then my agent will set up everything for me. |
Jun 13 2014, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 13 2014, 11:16 AM) are you fiona's hubby? Reminds me of, first world country, third world mentality.well, it protects both sides... just like OTP/booking fee when buying/selling... so some smart alek comes out with LOI, it gives both sides some security... as I had mention, sg's real estate industry used to be a very cowboy/dark area... the moment ppl heard real estate agent they would spit, any tomdicknharry can be an agent, event auntie.... not anymore since cea comes in.. sydney is a develop country... ppl are less sneaky.. just like most matured angmoh mkt, like US, UK.. etc... |
Aug 18 2014, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(Bill2012 @ Aug 18 2014, 01:06 PM) The worst ive encountered is prorated holiday which is 1 month = 1 day of annual leave.But due to my current contract, i am being paid on a day by day basis, no work for today = no pay and no such thing as annual leave, just sundays are "usually" the only off day i get unless there is urgent work to be done, then gotta suck it up. This post has been edited by crapp0: Aug 18 2014, 01:13 PM |
Aug 20 2014, 10:52 AM
Has there been a change in malaysian immigration policy on bringing in duty free alcohol which was bought at changi over to malaysia?
Recently a friend of mine was stopped since he had on himself a singelt bottle of hennesey which he bought when he came back from overseas and was planning to give it as a gift. The immigration officer said something like if your a malaysian working in singapore but stay in JB, you cant bring in alcohol and that the "no duty" on the first bottle only applies to foreigners bullshit. Btw he didnt declare the item, he just put it in his bag and went through the x-ray scanner. |
Aug 20 2014, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 20 2014, 11:04 AM) I do know that Duty Free allowances in Malaysia only apply if you've been out of the country for 72 hours (except Labuan / Port Dickson I think). So assuming your friend commutes daily then yes he isn't entitled for any duty free allowances. My friend doesnt commute daily and stays in singapore. How do you prove to the immigration officer that you are staying in singapore for more than 72 hours since there is no stamp on the passport since its all digital? |
Aug 20 2014, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Aug 20 2014, 11:53 AM) Nope no change. I always put alcohol bought in Changi in my carry on, no need to declare. Did it last week. I try to streamline the story, my friend who works and lives in singapore, only during public holidays will he go back to how hometown, otherwise he works in singapore or travels overseas for work, which he later returns back to sg.Don't understand your case actually. Friend land at Changi bought duty free there and cross Woodlands to JB, I think no duty free. If land at airports in Malaysia, anywhere from overseas also can duty free. But duty free is for personal consumption only, so if as gift like your friend planned, also wrong already. About a month ago, he went to thailand for some work, after 3 days there he came to singapore and bought a bottle of brandy for his friend (But he told the immigration officer that it was for his own consumption). 2 weeks after the trip to thailand, he went back to his hometown where he was stopped by the jb immigration officer who told him this bullshit about having to pay duty when he never experienced this before. Even when i was working in sg, whenever i brought alcohol from sg to my own hometown, they just check to see the amount of bottles i have and thats it. They never asked me to pay for duty if i bring in a single bottle of wine or liquor. But donno why this dude single out my friend. |
Aug 20 2014, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Aug 20 2014, 12:27 PM) Here, this: I mean after coming back from thailand from flight, he took a bus back to his hometown.There is no flight from SG to JB AFAIK. So he must be crossing the causeway by land, or he use personal jet I too used to go back to my hometown on a bus which went through the tuas 2nd link and i never encountered the crap which my friend recently went through. But then again i have not been based in singapore for quite sometime so i thought maybe the JB customs have changed their policy since my return flight will be in singapore, and i intend to buy a bottle of scotch to bring back to my hometown. I guess i will just show the customs officer that i was away in another country for quite sometime as proof that im just transiting singapore to malaysia. |
Aug 27 2014, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(Gazprom200 @ Aug 26 2014, 10:10 PM) Why? What have you done before? Or you could just lie.If you went to jail before, kiss all of your chances goodbye. SG, in fact no country wants ex-criminal foreigners I know of some people in backwater countries who have been to jail, but will the singapore government investigate their backgrounds for prior criminal cases, no since their too preoccupied with the current workload of just normal processing of applicants to bother with criminal background checks that were committed in your own country. |
| Change to: | 0.0566sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:17 AM |