QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Sep 27 2014, 12:12 AM)
If your company gives you AWS and bonus in your 1st year when u work less than half yrs, consider not bad ma.hahaWorking in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub
Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub
Sep 27 2014, 09:12 AM
455 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
Oct 16 2014, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 16 2014, 08:53 AM) Good to hear that its a smoke. Singapore is always about efficiency, and you're working with talents from all around the world, so sometime you might feel stress compare to working in Msia, but I believe it is ok.I think they still prefer to hire foreigners because Singaporeans asking price too high and don't last long at the job,. But the thing is, I am scared about is the working culture there. They can be quite merciless, right? In my job, I communicate with a lot of Singaporean regional people, I find them quite demanding about deadlines. Do they like got very merciless methods to remove staffs they don't like? Well, can expect there is very competitive. Also I don't speak mandarin, is that a disadvantage? You might face some problems if you're working in some local SME, but if you managed get yourself into big company or MNC, I believe no problem. |
Oct 25 2014, 07:38 AM
Oct 25 2014, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(thpace @ Oct 25 2014, 12:14 PM) Google have fail me. Cant find a single that lead to the shipyard divison hmm..as u said ma,,never try never know..I also planning to use linkedin as last resort. I do hear a few comment by onlybto use linkedin as last resort Because linkedin is like a private account for . some and you suddenly msg them for vaccancy is like disturbing them I last time heard Keppel want ppl, but is in Kazakhstan, if u willing to work there I might can help u ask see if they still want |
Oct 25 2014, 12:43 PM
Oct 25 2014, 08:15 PM
Oct 26 2014, 12:07 PM
Nov 4 2014, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(theedi @ Nov 3 2014, 10:55 PM) Hi all, I'm planning to immigrate to Singapore with my wife and from what I read so far the process should be like SG is a good place to stay, if you're1. Find a job and get a work permit. 2. Apply dependent's visa for my wife. 3. Apply for PR. Is that correct? Anything I miss? By the way, I have more than 10 years of working experience in software development and wondering if IT job market is good there? 1. elite 2. workaholic 3. believe that your children is elite as well. sg is a good place, but you nid to be elite to survive, else due to high competitive rate, you can be taken down anytime, even after becoming a Singaporean. you can only retired at age 65 (to take out your cpf) that day i saw a result paper for primary school, average mark 85+/100, get 38 rank in the class.. if you like being competitive and feel confident, SG is definitely your best place. If not, maybe should consider other option. |
Nov 5 2014, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 4 2014, 09:31 PM) well, sadly to say, i'm none of it. 1. elite doesn't mean to be high qualification ma..i know a bunch of capable people with low academic qualification 1. highest qualification spm 2. go in office at 9am, by 4pm out of office already 3. maybe still got hope 2. then you really lucky la.. 3. sometime i see certain sg kids feel a bit pity them, not sure getting world class education is a bliss for them or not |
Nov 5 2014, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Nov 4 2014, 08:33 PM) Dunno, justnow the way you wrote, I assumed that you were saying the MoM have a jobsite for foreigners to find jobs. MOM only got jobsbank, you still can access the list, just that you can't log in and apply, and most of them for singaporean and PR only.but the trick is you can try find any suitable job and if got left contact, still can ask. if no contact, copy the ads and google up, see gt similar ads at other website (jobstreet and etc) or not |
Nov 11 2014, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(AIAF @ Nov 11 2014, 11:20 AM) Thanks! I think I'll assume only a year contract. 1) Rent - 600$ - 800$ (looking at single room if possible) Times 2.5 for deposit and agent fee. you can get cheaper if you stay far a bit, or find those maid room 2) Transport - 100$ 3) Food - 300$ You really need to control well, possible if u eat hawker for lunch and dinner, and drink milo+eat biscuit in office morning 4) Bank account minimum deposit - 1000$ I just tried POSB EP account.You don't need any deposit, however it will charge $2 if the money inside is less than 1k, which I believe is a worth trade off. That's 3.4k$. So I guess after adding in miscellaneous fees, phone plan and money to spare it's around 4k$/RM10k then. Follow up question: phone plan take prepaid first for first few months, cost you quite low..take postpaid only if you want to change phone Any way around any of these at all? 1) Rent - 600$ - 800$ (looking at single room if possible) Times 2.5 for deposit and agent fee. Stay with someone I know if possible. 2) Transport - 100$ No way around this I think. 3) Food - 300$ Eat less? lol. 4) Bank account minimum deposit - 1000$ Need professional advise on this. FYI no I don't have a job secured yet. But I'm looking at relocating next year, so will have to manage my RM savings. Just traveled a bit lately so savings kinda low for now. |
Nov 12 2014, 08:00 AM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 11 2014, 11:44 PM) My prediction is $300 for the first month nia. 2nd-3rd month onwards you'll be spending about S$25-30 per day on food, meaning close to about$750 on food. eat is something very subjective to people..i see some people cook themselves and can control the budget well.One can only eat food court that many times... before one starts craving for fast foods (about $7-10) or some of the "entry" level restaurants at $10-$15.. then it'll become a norm, and before you know it, you're blowing $30 at a ramen/korean restaurant in tanjung pagar... while some people 1 day no eat atas place restaurant will die.. most of the time it is depend on one's desire..while sometime depend on your colleagues as well..if they everyday lunch eat atas place..either join them, or leave them |
Nov 13 2014, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(datdude @ Nov 12 2014, 10:27 PM) Yeah, I have 1 condo & paying for 2 cars, one for my own and another for my parents. so RM 3500 is the right amount I spent. actually, if u work in sg, u might not nid the car anymore, which can reduce ur burden and left you some spare cash..Commission is vary i assumed so can't really count that. lunch break I have yet to ask. Thanks for pointing that out. I did, I asked for at least $3900 but was denied. They did however promise me an increment of $250 after probation, but that is 6 months later. I actually need to make decision by end of the month so I can tender my resignation properly. sigh~ sg food in hawker center is cheaper compare to in KL..but if u eat fast food + restaurant..then at the end of the day still same.. saving wise is subject to one capability of saving...cuz sg is an easy place to spend morning.night life la..food la.. |
Nov 18 2014, 07:52 AM
Nov 24 2014, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(faint_loop @ Nov 24 2014, 08:56 PM) Hi Guys, If got SG number/address, then put lo.dun have then dont' put lo..My first posting here, I hope I can get some thoughts from you all. I live in JB and have around 10 years of IT experience working in overseas+KL. Just relocated to JB and thought about trying out Singapore market. My questions: 1. Can I include my JB address and Malaysian number in my cv, or do I need a permanent singaporean address and number (which I don't)? 2. Any proven recruitment agencies that I can contact? How do you all (Malaysians) secure jobs in Singapore? Share me your thought, sifus anyway, it is not hard to buy a prepaid number in SH.. |
Nov 29 2014, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Nov 29 2014, 06:23 PM) Hey recently a few of my friends who accepted job promotion transfers by their multinational companies from Malaysia to Singapore got rejected by MOM. Reason being no degree. as long as not PR/singaporeon, still subject to MOMThen those with degree, still got their transfers WIP because Ministry of Manpower still pondering over their applications. So if we apply directly to employer, we won't be subjected to Ministry of Manpower scrutiny right? The employer still have to submit the application to MOM, and if they reject then GG. However in most of the case won't get rejected, the concern is only getting what pass QUOTE(djay16 @ Nov 29 2014, 06:24 PM) Hi, want to ask, when first moving to SG for work, what are the things we should bring over and what should we buy over there in SG ? first of all, which part of Msia u're from? Can you travel back frequently?I will be renting and was wondering if the cost of many small things like bedding, sheet, hangers, kettle etc etc etc have a noticeable price diff ? Currently bringing cloths, documents, electronics, light toiletries only. bedding sheet house owner no supply? I will say what you bought down is sufficient.. Perhaps some SGD as well... |
Nov 29 2014, 11:36 PM
Nov 30 2014, 09:10 AM
Nov 30 2014, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Nov 30 2014, 02:37 PM) They reject one of my friend because no degree. In general case, people will not get rejected for pass, unlessAnother few pending application to be reviewed. Been 3 months already. Looks like Singapore discourage people from getting transfer by MNC to Spore office to get job unless that person is an Ang Moh. 1. application got problem (lack of documents for example) 2. company quota (For example, since ur friend no degree, maybe suppose get S pass, but S pass got quota and the quota of the company full ad) 3. Got any criminal record or any other personal problems (SG quite particular with this) So ask ur friends check back with the HR of the company, where is the problem. If not, get the application number and call to MOM and ask. My bro got 1 friend UQ 1st class kena rejected as well, then it seems to be documents problem. problem solved on 2nd application |
Nov 30 2014, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Nov 30 2014, 09:16 PM) 4. Change of government's policy. EP renewal in the same company with higher salary and experience also have a chance to be rejected. agree, but since his friend is a new applicant, this chances is lower lo...cuz if he dun get EP at least can get SP..unless the HR apply 'EP ONLY' instead of 'EP/SP' |
| Change to: | 0.0542sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:14 AM |