Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 21 2014, 05:01 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Bill2012 @ Jun 21 2014, 02:12 PM)
Is degree acceptable for mom appointment for card registeration?i kinda left my original spm at my home..(shoot)

So i have to go home again..?pls advice urgent!
ask ur parents to dhl...

non of us can answer, general rule is ori n poto needed...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 23 2014, 11:49 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(lolipoppers @ Jun 22 2014, 10:34 PM)
reign226, just promoted as Manager in one of the biggest Marine company in Sg
u also know er brows.gif how come he didnt belanja
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 27 2014, 10:16 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(soven @ Jun 27 2014, 12:13 AM)
Hi all, I will be relocating to Singapore  next month and am currently looking for a HDB to rent with budget about 2k. Preferably semi furnished. Work place is near Jurong East MRT Station

Any particular area or block I should look into? Just want to have a better idea before I head down to Singapore to enlist the help of an agent. Currently looking in Jurong,clementi,chinese garden area..

Edit ./ I am not looking for property agents. Don't pm please.
2k for a whole unit or a room?

workplace at IBP?

am getting my license soon, but doubt will be soon enough
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 30 2014, 10:23 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Jun 30 2014, 03:40 PM)
Hi people, I am moving my stuff back to Malaysia by air. Anyone know how much Malaysia custom tax for bulky electrical items like TV, monitor and printer? The items are few years old but still usable.
electronic items no duty... i think... diff item diff... depending on HS code

by air shocking.gif

QUOTE(Sammyking @ Jun 30 2014, 03:46 PM)
Urh, my boss keeps changing my working hours!! Sometimes it's the regular 8-5 but sometimes it's odd late evening hours like 11am-8pm or worse 1pm-10pm. Are they even allowed to simply change my working hours as they wish?? my letter writes something along the lines of *company has the right to change working hours if deemed necessary* but this was not as per discussed and agreed in the interview!! I can't even arrange any classes after work with this fluctuating working time
sammmyboy forum mod? hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 3 2014, 09:40 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(life4 @ Jul 2 2014, 10:43 PM)
I have tried to look at the jobstreet and see those experience, expected salary, and education level by the applicants.
I just see quite some with like 8 years only putting expectation like $2500-$3000 only.Making me think it is too competitive in the  IT field in Singapore because I am expecting $3500 or more lo.
IT is very wide, non-niche positions are snap up by pinoys and india indians, u have to compete with them

QUOTE(LVL1NiNjA @ Jul 3 2014, 09:33 AM)
I am planning to work here, what jobs are recommended for freshies or entry-level?
more details pls
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 7 2014, 07:26 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Jul 7 2014, 12:09 AM)
Thanks, maybe I'll try that later.

I have another question here, where do you guys usually go for dental check up? Got quoted $80 for scaling and polishing at Q&M. Not really sure about the market rate. Any good dentist to recommend?
$80 is normal.. if they ask you whether wanna put whitening gel, just skip it... unless of course your company is paying

QUOTE(danieltan @ Jul 7 2014, 04:10 PM)
Does anyone experience?

Just getting offer letter and mention in order to resign, myself need 3 month notice?

Dilemma whether sign this offer or not.
well, try to negotiate... if not then it is a take it or leave it... mkt is 2 months...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 7 2014, 10:00 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(danieltan @ Jul 7 2014, 09:37 PM)
Does Singapore MOM got such regulation whereby need work with a company within ONE year. Else the MOM won't give work pass when you wanna work for next company.
nope.. know of ppl jump within few days to 3 months.. no prob but riskier
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 9 2014, 04:09 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(danieltan @ Jul 9 2014, 03:55 PM)
can? MOM cannot simply give work permit like 'touch n go'.

coz currently I planning to work 1 month and look a better job in there too. even thought this company very high turnover.
case by case basis... there's no sure answer... friends managed to do it, so i share... but thats 2 years ago...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 9 2014, 04:59 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(danieltan @ Jul 9 2014, 04:56 PM)
properly last two years MOM not that strict. haha whistling.gif
was strict since 4 years bck... but prob now is d singkie 1st policy...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2014, 05:04 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 12 2014, 08:09 PM)
Will be joining you all next month...working in Suntec Tower.
QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 13 2014, 04:19 PM)
Thanks Bro...I will contact you once I be there. My HR told me that I will be living in a temporary house in clarke quay or orchard area. No exact address yet.
hi class ppl spotted
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2014, 09:10 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 13 2014, 05:22 PM)
I'm just a poor kid lor. Just for temporary tongue.gif  before company can find a suitable apartment based on the allowance value..also it close to the office!
i got a unit at the sails, marina side and another at spottiswoode residences near sgh for rent... interested?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2014, 11:18 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 13 2014, 10:54 PM)
Now u work as property agent ah??? tongue.gif
yea... part time job rclxms.gif after sakae sushi buang me cry.gif please support notworthy.gif special discount for members here...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 14 2014, 09:45 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 14 2014, 09:13 AM)
I wish to find it myself and got a good price at a good place from a friendly buddy like you...but i think the company already has appointed agent to do this thing...
thanks for response neway notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 14 2014, 03:13 PM)
Give you house rent got extra service or not? brows.gif
got X X-tra service also i give brows.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 15 2014, 11:47 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 15 2014, 01:26 AM)
He can co broke
rclxms.gif some transactions better to get agent, because the agent fees will be paid by owner... with no professional expertise, u might sign a one sided contract..

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 15 2014, 08:13 PM)
One mountain got one mountain high. After old age and brain expiry date kicks in gahmen will replace us with younger fts. Look at the problem locals having now... Every countries have their own problems. This is one of the criteria I considered when they invite me for citizenship. Short term looks good, long term still blur. Pr best hidup hidup.
get sg citizenship, go back under msia my 2nd home... buy 2 s-class duty free thumbup.gif

UMNO Youth proposes fee for S'pore cars entering M'sia

Malaysia’s UMNO Youth is proposing to impose a fee on Singaporean cars entering Malaysia, following Singapore's decision to increase the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) and Goods Vehicle Permit (GVP) permit fee for vehicles entering the republic.

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia’s UMNO Youth is proposing to impose a fee on Singaporean cars entering Malaysia. This follows Singapore's decision to increase the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) and Goods Vehicle Permit (GVP) permit fee for vehicles entering the republic.

UMNO Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin said Singaporeans are not charged any fees by the government for cars entering Malaysia, while no action has been taken against those who did not settle their traffic summonses.

"Such action is not fair, because they (Singapore) should reduce and not increase the fee from S$20 to S$35. Why not we too collect some revenue from Singapore cars entering Malaysia?" he told reporters after chairing an UMNO Youth exco meeting on Tuesday.

He said the proposal would be tabled in the cabinet meeting.

Khairy said UMNO Youth would also propose that the government study a system that would prevent cars that fail to settle their summons from entering the country, just like the procedure practiced by Singapore.

"It is time to act, we are losing in terms of revenue, they don't pay the summons, and when they increased the fee, it was the call for us to act," he said.

- Bernama/xq
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 16 2014, 09:14 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 16 2014, 09:25 AM)
Really nothing better to do.. opened up a can of worms and now everyone woke up!
confirmed..;

Najib: VEP fee for all foreign vehicles entering Johor

JOHOR BARU: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has announced that the Government has decided to implement the Vehicle Entry Permit fee for all foreign vehicles entering Johor.

Najib said that the decision was made following a request made by the state.

"I have discussed the matter with Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and have also informed Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Wahid Omar of our decision.

"I have instructed him to inform the Road Transport Department (JPJ) so they can work out the details before the VEP is implemented," he said during a buka puasa event organised by the state Wednesday.

"We will make an announcement later on the date of implementation and the rates for the VEP," he said.

Najib also assured that a portion of the collection would be channelled to the state Government.

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...entering-johor/
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 17 2014, 08:46 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Jul 17 2014, 01:47 PM)
Between My Second Home and Malaysia PR, which one is better?
for some ppl not easy to get PR... and also it depends on your investments, getting PR have some weight-age on how your income tax is calculated

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 17 2014, 01:58 PM)
And get carjack twice. thumbup.gif
shakehead.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 17 2014, 09:45 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jul 17 2014, 09:15 PM)
Hi All,

I just got an IPA letter, EP approved but haven't got my EP card.

During this period, I may travel in and out SG quite frequent to seek for accommodation, transportation and etc.
My question is between this period, I just enter SG as a tourist (fill in white card as embarkation and exit disembarkation) right?
yes, everytime u have to show them the letter

GELANG PATAH (THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK) - The proposed Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) fee for all foreign vehicles entering Johor Baru will have minimal to no impact on Singaporeans entering the city via the Causeway and Second Link.

Minister in the Prime Minister's Department, Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong, said that tourist arrivals from across the border would not drop just because of an imposed entry fee and that Singaporeans would still come into Malaysia for cheaper food and cheaper products.

"Even with the proposed fee of RM20 suggested by Mentri Besar Datuk Mohamed Khaled Nordin, it is only around S$7.50 for Singaporeans.

"I do not think there is anything for them to worry about compared to the S$35 VEP charge to be imposed on foreign vehicles entering Singapore starting next month," Dr Wee said at press conference here on Thursday.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/asia/sout...h.hmb3CFfV.dpuf

10 biggest factors towards getting a Singapore PR status under the PTS scheme
BY SATISH BAKHDA
Late last month, Deputy PM Teo Chee Hean stated in the Addendum to the President’s Address that Singapore will continue to improve its age balance and prevent its citizen population from shrinking. It will do so by welcoming new citizens who are committed to Singapore, share its values, and are willing to contribute to society. In return, the government will help them integrate.

As Permanent Residency precedes citizenship, professionals who are keen to make a home in Singapore should consider the following ten factors. Please note that these views are in no way endorsed by or represent to be endorsed by any Singapore Government Agency.

Your age
In light of Singapore’s growing ageing population, you stand a better chance of a successful application when you are young. This is because you will have many more years to actively contribute to society and can help rebalance Singapore’s resident old age support ratio. Furthermore, the younger you are, the greater the chances of socialising with others, and integration.

Your qualifications
As Singapore gets more and more qualified and skilled applicants under the PTS scheme, understandably the bar is going to be set higher. Degrees obtained at Singapore Institutes of Higher Learning are considered additional points in your favour. So is subject matter expertise or extensive knowledge in key/sunrise industries. However, this is not the only criteria considered.

Your job
The higher your position and bigger your responsibility in your company, the higher your chances of a successful PR application. Furthermore, the salary that you draw monthly indicates how well you can support yourself and dependants.This doesn’t mean that younger workers or PMEs (professionals, managers, and executives) don’t stand a good chance of approval. The government takes a holistic approach to reviewing PR applications.

The industry you’re in
According to the EDB, Singapore will increase its focus on knowledge- and innovation-intensive activities. In addition, R&D will become the cornerstone of the country’s economic development. As Singapore works to develop these areas and sunrise sectors, subject matter experts and talent in such industries will be valuable.

How long you've stayed in Singapore
Though you can apply for PR six months after you start your job in Singapore, it is better to wait, depending on the Work Pass you’re holding. P1 Pass holders are advised to wait 2 years, P2 Pass holders - 3 years, and S or Q1 Pass holders - 4 years.

Though this may seem like a long time, this timeframe can be used to assess whether you really want to become a Singapore PR. If you are keen and genuine, your activities during this period will easily reflect that you have been making efforts to assimilate.

Family ties in Singapore
Having your family stay with you in Singapore is definitely a positive factor and shows your genuine interest in maintaining close family ties. The likelihood of your family assimilating may be higher too as your children grow up and be educated in Singapore. In turn, they may grow to see Singapore as their homes and stay on as citizens.

Giving back to society
Volunteering, charitable works, and donations, for example, are important factors. However, please note that a one-off contribution or piecemeal attempt at volunteering does not make huge impact, and can be seen as insincere attempts to boost an application. You should utilise the time in Singapore to actively give back to society before expecting the country to take on the commitment of accepting you as a Permanent Resident.

Letter of recommendation
Based on your positive contributions to the Singapore organisation you’re helping, you may be able to get a letter of recommendation from one of its respected members who knows you well. This will shed light on your achievements from a different angle and recommend you as a valuable member of society. Please remember that a generic letter will cut no ice.

Integrate, integrate, and integrate
Why not learn one of the four local languages and get certified in that? It adds to your portfolio too, as there is a strong demand for multilingual workers and helps you communicate with your fellow neighbours. Also, don’t wait until you get a PR to take part in activities and celebrations organised by your GRC.

Is your application easy to understand?
ICA receives a large number of PR applications. To ensure that the ICA officer is able to evaluate your application properly and easily, all key information should be presented clearly and within 2 pages. This will give the officer a bird’s eye view of the application and anything which is unique about you.

Even after accounting for all the factors above, an application may still be rejected due to various circumstances. If you face a rejection, do not despair. See which areas you can improve on and apply again after a few months, with further data.

http://sbr.com.sg/hr-education/commentary/...nder-pts-scheme

This post has been edited by alaskanbunny: Jul 17 2014, 10:04 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 20 2014, 11:38 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(saihoe @ Jul 19 2014, 06:19 PM)
hey guys..i'm malaysian and working in singapore looking to buy a house in johore..do u guys have any area to recommend ?
hi, your property expert is here laugh.gif ask yourself these questions 1st;

1) is it for investment or own stay?
2) if own stay where do you work?
3) do you drive?

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 19 2014, 09:12 PM)
Iskandar. The nearer to the High Speed Rail project the better
=.=" iskandar is nearly the whole south johor.. except kukup and pangerang side...

it really depends on saihoe's intention..

besides HSR, MRT side would be a great idea too...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 21 2014, 12:05 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 21 2014, 10:35 AM)
Detached one with security armed with m16 how much? Working location at Central, drive but don't want pay MY's VEP. Malaysia latest stamp duty how much? Got MY version of ABSD? Can't afford SG anymore have to move North, hope the winter are not coming.
hmm.. central which area? tj pgr, raffles, marina side or orchard or city hall/suntec?

msia, for local selling rpgt is high at 30-15% below 5 years... as for buying there's the legal fees + stamp duty on s&p around max 3-4%... other tax/duty only applicable for foreigners.. other fees also negligible

note comparing sg-my... sg always pride themselves for hvng no capital gain but how the gov make $$$ is by charging stamp duty... they say it is a duty on your document not on the transaction... for layman it is the same, if u gotta pay u gotta pay no matter how u label it.. why put it that way? to attract foreigners to invest in sg..

also one big advantage if u r working in sg is u can use sg's bank to finance msian projects.. this works very much in your favor..

fiona jie cannot afford? dont joke ler... but i believe staying in msia offers more value...

for landed i would say go for johor west, not jb.. there's a lot of gated guarded housing estates that area extremely beautiful...

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 21 2014, 11:57 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(MenUnd @ Jul 19 2014, 01:51 PM)
Hi Guys,

I'm planning to explore my career with banking lines in SG.

I'm currently working with International bank in MY for the pass 5 years. Started as a customer service answering calls and consistently developing to my current roles as client experience and process improvement.

I only have STPM (Pre Diploma) and earning RM 4000+ here (unsure if its looks good)

My question is how SG will accept candidates without Degrees andd if it does, hows the salary like? Will they offer SGD 4000+ also?

Look forward for your opinion.
depends on field.. in general if u r making 4k, sgd3.5k is acceptable... but mind you in sg, bank roles are very sought after..

just try.. no harm... its free, all to gain ntg 2 lose

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 21 2014, 10:58 PM)
All those area all use AYE come down from Tuas la... no affect one. biggrin.gif

I heard MY raising something to cool down the market. Bank also less loan after few houses. Looking to buy landed heavily fortified jail cells, don't know can rent out or not, those people mostly buy themselves since they already working in SG? Got good property management property in JB, 2 months commission annually to take care the house? Later house become meth lab.
what do u mean? dont get it..

raise OPR by 25bp, its like sibor... so as a result some banks raise BLR by 25bp also.. well, true to a certain extent, u can always do financial engineering.. huh? why la buy until like that... those usually <rm400k landed will end up like that.. buy proper landed at the right segment then you will hv a proper place of course comes with a price.. like sg, rental yield in msia for landed is bad, u will get -ve cashflow, for rental high rise is better.. but of course i know of people getting +cashflow for landed but initial outlay is high.. yeaps, lots of msians bought as weekend home, weekdays work in sg.. weekend like a bawse in msia

ermm, rental can always nego.. problem is real estate agency mkt in msia still not that well regulated like sg, have to really find good agents to manage it for u.. meth lab? you're in luck... worse still it becomes a chicken coop laugh.gif

ini mau? brows.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0580sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:45 AM