The new Nissan Sylphy 2014, Coming soon

SportyHandling
post Apr 16 2014, 07:51 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Apr 16 2014, 06:46 AM)
No more 2.0L for they new tech 1.8L more fuel efficient than older 2.0L with higher 200mn torque anymore

The air-cond dials look like they are coming from a vehicle in the 80's. Doesn't look too good. However, I noticed the speedometer now shows up to 240km/h. The current Sylphy's speedometer is only limited to 180km/h.

I prefer the beige-coloured steering of the earlier versions of the Sylphy, together with the beige leather seats.
SportyHandling
post Apr 17 2014, 07:51 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Apr 16 2014, 03:52 PM)
Dunno how much enjoy for my each times ride brows.gif

Quiet and foot brake and more spacious
Is this the stock interior of the Nissan Sylphy everything original? I like the brown leather seats, very nice indeed. However, the wooden strip on the dashboard, not really to my taste. ALthough the finish is the same as the earlier versions of the Sylphy, I feel the wooden strip matches with the beige panels and beige leather seats better. Anyway a matter of taste. This wooden strip adds the "uncle" look to the car. In the Camry, the wooden strip is glossy, which looks even more "uncle" to me.

Though, I would still think the brown leather seats look very nice indeed with a touch of elegance. Not many vehicles come in this luxurious brown finish. I have seen the similar brown leather on Lexus and Volvo only.

Here is a picture of my old Sylphy sold about 9 months ago.

SportyHandling
post Apr 17 2014, 07:34 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Apr 17 2014, 12:43 PM)
How much you sold your sylphy for? Why you sell it?
There are a lot of used sylphy in the market, with the price as low as 60k for a 3-4yrs old car which i am considering as well. Lower than equivalent T and H cars asked for.
I sold my 5-year old car to a 2nd hand dealer for RM62k. I would say the mileage on my vehicle is very low, just a shade below 50,000km. Yes, Nissan resale is usually lower than Toyota and Honda, but not my much. Comfort-wise I would think the Nissan is better than Honda. Sold it because I wanted something different.
SportyHandling
post Apr 18 2014, 11:34 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(salam03 @ Apr 17 2014, 07:49 PM)
Do you change to Civic?

Read few review from Australia..the new sylphy got low score in handling department...even lose out to Kia Forte.

if not mistaken comparison betweeen New Sylphy/Civic/Mazda 3/Forte Cerato/Dodge Dart in one of online auto review in Australia.
Changed to Ford Focus.

The first batch of the Sylphy is on 195/65R15 tyres and comfort-tuned suspension. As such, the handling and cornering are severely compromised. Though I read the current batch of the Sylphy are on 60R16 and 50R17 so handling should be better. Still, Nissan vehicles are not known for handling but comfort. Comfort-wise the Sylphy scores very high marks in my book.
SportyHandling
post Apr 19 2014, 06:15 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Apr 19 2014, 05:49 PM)
so is this car worth considering?

i have booked a city V spec but after test driving the sylphy, i am keen to go for this instead, high spec 125k.

not sure worth the 35k extra... for a bigger different segment car

what is the fuel consumption like?
Whether the car is worth the money, only you can answer that yourself since it is subjective and depends on personal preference and priorities.

In my book, City and Vios are only good only if you want low fuel consumption. If you want power and better handling, the Proton Preve Turbo beats them at RM70k.

The current(older generation) Sylphy 2.0-litre model is not very fuel efficient when it is stuck in crawling traffic. The new 1.8-litre Sylphy may be more fuel efficient but will still not match the City/Vios. However, if you want comfort in larger space and soft plush leather seats, smooth drive and quietness, the City won't match the C-segment.

If you are looking into the Sylphy, might as well consider the Altis too. Depending on your priorities and personal taste. I find the interior and exterior of the Altis to be ahead of the new Sylphy.
SportyHandling
post Apr 19 2014, 06:24 PM

623 posts

But I have to say, Nissan vehicles, Sylphy and upwards(Teana) are comfortable cars despite some of their weaknesses. I miss the comfortable cabin and plush leather seats, quietness and smooth drive of the Sylphy sometimes. Though I understand we cannot have everything in a car.
SportyHandling
post Apr 19 2014, 08:50 PM

623 posts

Okay I have just read this review on Paul's blog and also seen the photos of both low-spec and high-spec models. http://paultan.org/2014/04/18/dnew-nissan-...t-drive-report/

The centre console of the high-spec model looks much better than the low-spec model.

High-spec :-

Low-spec :-

The reviews by Danny Tan, Anthony Lim and Hafriz Shah are also interesting. I pretty much concur on most if not all points presented in the review, mainly QUIETNESS of the drive which I have always stressed in the past on the Sylphy. Hence it is not a surprise that they find this new Sylphy to be a quiet car from the competitors.

Anthony Lim made a rather interesting observation on the VL high-spec vs. the E low-spec model. He actually preferred the low spec model due to its more "organic and comfortable" feel, and the nicer and comfortable steering feel. The only variable that may account for this difference is the smaller 16" wheel and larger tyres vs. the larger 17" wheel of the high-spec model. In this respect, although I have not test driven the new Sylphy, I am quite confident the low-spec model with 195/60R16 will be more comfortable and a better all rounder for this Sylphy if compared to the 205/50R17 of the high-spec model. When I owned the first batch of the Sylphy, it was on 196/65R15, even smaller wheels, and the drive is surely very comfortable. Only when cornering you need to do it like a turtle with those tyres.

Hafriz Shah's review is even more interesting as he compared the new Sylphy to the Honda Civic, Kia Cerato and Toyota Altis(and also briefly the Ford Focus which I currently own). This excert made is funny, but is a testament of the smooth and superior CVT of the Sylphy, which I fully support having driven one before:-

The Cerato’s smooth-shifting six-speed automatic gearbox is completely outclassed in comparison, both in terms of response and feel. With its 2.0 litre engine advantage it will edge forward in a drag race, for sure, but its superiority here is limited to outright speed alone. Though ultimately slower, the CVT pair feels more effortless gaining speed, with the Nissan being the more refined operator and the Toyota the quicker of the two.

Personally I think this new Sylphy is certainly very interesting. An upgrade to the old Sylphy in the exterior for sure, though I do not like the piece of spoiler on the boot of the high-spec model. As for the interior, it is also a pretty major upgrade to the current(old) Sylphy. However, the centre console, I don't know why the low-spec model gets the outdated air-cond dials. If the centre console of the low-spec model is similar to the high-spec model, it would definitely sell well, considering the low-spec model comes fully equipped with safety features(6 air-bags) also. Brilliant.

In the review, it was reported : The new Nissan Sylphy is now open for booking, with estimated prices of RM115,300 for the 1.8 E, and RM125,500 for the range-topping 1.8 VL.

High-spec model seems to be priced quite a bit higher than the low-spec E model.
SportyHandling
post Apr 21 2014, 07:59 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Apr 21 2014, 06:31 AM)

Altis 1.8 vs Sentra 1.8 @ Taiwan

Performance : so so cause both used 1.8L with CVT
Handling : Sentra
Material interior : Sentra
Seats : Sentra used more soft leather and back supporting quite well.
Suspension : Sentra
Navi : Sentra
Fuel : Altis
Steering wheel : sentra can feel more comfort for all time.
Noise : Both after comments like at behind window can't close as fit, you might try to close it at all rclxms.gif
Sporty : Altis
Deluxe : Sentra

Note for important thing : Altis can't well perform like climb up genting road condition, unlike sentra/Sylphy suspension can feel more soild, won't be too dangerous ride.

In malaysia
Altis 2 airbags with VCS
Sylphy : 6 airbags with VDC
Auto cruise : sylphy with std packaged
Sylphy : 16 & 17" rim for std packaged
Nice video. Both are nice cars the Altis and Sylphy. I prefer the interior of the Altis more than the Sylphy especially the straighter lines of the dashboard in comparison to the curved lines of the new Sylphy(a matter of taste), but the new Sylphy's interior is much improved from the current model and now looks much more presentable.

I noticed the boot of the Sentra(in the video) does not come with the spoiler. For me, the car looks bettter and more elegant without the small piece of spoiler that comes with the higher-spec Sylphy here in Malaysia. Again a matter of taste.

Finally, for the pricing between the Altis and Sylphy here in Malaysia, the Sylphy certainly looks better value than the Altis top spec which is about RM135k if I'm not mistaken. The top spec Sylphy should be slightly cheaper than the RM125k price tag after discount, knowing that Tan Chong always have reasonable discounts even for the launching of all-new models.
SportyHandling
post May 1 2014, 10:06 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ May 1 2014, 10:03 AM)
i am a proud owner of the previous gen, and the new one looks promising, however the handbrake upsets me totally.
Is your previous generation Sylphy the first model year 2007/2008 or the later batches? Have you went to the showroom to have a look at the new Sylphy? This all-new model certainly looks promising. I am particularly interested on the leather seats of this new model since I read that the old Sylphy's seats are more plush and comfortable than the seats of this new Sylphy.
SportyHandling
post May 4 2014, 07:04 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(setheo @ May 4 2014, 04:59 PM)
hi guys,

i just testdrive sylphy this morning. It's my first time driving CVT transmission car.
Just wondering is it normal that the engine bit jerky on low speed. Like when i pedal more, engine rev a lot but doesn't really pick up. Salesman told me it's CVT characteristics.
After pickup the speed then seems ok and smooth driving.

Is this normal for CVT?
It is true that it's due to the smoothness of the Nissan's CVT. The CVT transmission is certainly very smooth that you don't feel anything at all, I mean the gears upshifting(or downshifting) when you step on the pedal. Even in hard acceleration ie. stepping hard on the pedal, you hear the sound of the engine revving loud but you don't feel the car moving forward too much due to the absence of the jolts in the transmission. The CVT is really a smooth operator.

It would be useful if you look at the speedometer when the car is accelerating. You would notice the needle on the speedometer is climbing up rapidly even though you don't feel the car accelerating.

How is the soundproofing of this new Sylphy? The Sylphy is well-known to be a quiet car with excellent soundproofing from road, suspension, engine and wind noise.
SportyHandling
post May 5 2014, 07:29 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(setheo @ May 4 2014, 08:22 PM)
Ya. Didn't feel the jolt when accelerate. Feel a bit weird actually.
But my concern is when I first drive the car, it rev very high, like need power to move that car. After that, it's smooth all the way.
It is very quiet and comfy car, for sure. The car can absorb shocks from uneven road very well too.

I also tested Civic 2.0 this week and I personally feel Sylphy has better soundproofing. The interior in Civic is more plastic than Sylphy.

My personal opinion.

Pros:
1. good NVH
2. Safety feature - 6 airbags.
3. Spacious

Cons:
1. The position of handbrake is more towards passenger side. I believe this design is for left-hand drive.
2. Low spec fabric seat, emm.. just don't quite like it. Ask if there's option to upgrade to leather seat, salesman said no.
3. The aircond dial controller. OMG, it's back to the future to 80s!!

Anyway, i already place my booking for high-end spec.  cool2.gif
Sylphy's soundproofing is certainly among the best in the RM125k category and below. If comparing between the Sylphy and Civic, although looks are subjective, I do think the current Civic looks ugly. The new Sylphy looks better at all angles. As for interior, the new Sylphy has shed the "uncle look" by eliminating the wood grain strips and panels, replacing them with silver and black trims, giving the ambiance a modern and sophisticated feel. Again a matter of preference the dashboard and overall interior of the Sylphy looks better than the Civic. I only have problems with the air-cond dials in the low-spec model of the Sylphy. The high-spec Sylphy is much more presentable on this aspect.

I thought the high-spec model comes with leather seats and not fabric?

Yes, the Sylphy is definitely a comfortable and spacious car with impressive rear legroom for this segment. The older model comes with very plush leather seats(the new Sylphy's leather seats lost to the old model in terms of comfort from what I read) and to me is the king when it comes to comfortable seats. It is almost like sitting on a soft Rozel leather sofa at home. No joke.

If you want a comfortable, quiet and spacious car, I don't think you can go wrong with the Nissan models Sylphy and upwards(Teana).
SportyHandling
post May 11 2014, 12:14 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Sawamura @ May 11 2014, 10:45 AM)
i had a test drive yesterday.. at Nissan Shah Alam..

From what the SA told me..
- Launching of Sylphy wasn't really TC plan.. They were focusing more towards the Teana launching but somehow they decided to launch this first..
- 1.8 VL will only be available in July onwards, be it the selling unit or the test drive unit.
- At this moment, TC has received 400 orders (excluding orders made yesterday), so big chances you can be the first 1000, which will be entitled for solargard free tinting..

From my test drive..
- 1st impression.. Interior is damnn hugeeeeeeeeee.... biggrin.gif
- I broght my wife and daughter along, just to check hows the space. After i adjusted my seat, i realized that rear space behind me is freaking spacious.. You can put a crt monitor there literally..
- No chance to floor the paddle.. So i cant comment on its acceleration and stability at high speed..
- No chance to test sharp cornering either.. so no comment about the slightly bode roll people been saying about..
- Sport mode is a selling point. It serves its function. Unlike the overdrive mode in any other car, this is different in a way the gear will shift up / down.. Overdrive will stick in same gear.
- I like the feeling when you press the sport button.. It rev really from 2000rpm to 4000rpm at once. Not sure about the FC in this mide though..
- Cabin was quiet. Both brother in law are driving camry and the new altis, and it is safe to say this car is better in sound insulation.. Tyre noise is noticable, but at a very very very reasonable level.

Aesthetic:
- Design was uncle kind.. but to serve a loan for 9 years, i rather have a full uncle kind and not like altis which have uncle from rear n ah beng from in front..
- I dont like the manual AC dial in the E variant. VL variant auto AC suit the dashboard design better..
- Some of you may notice, the gap between the door and the dashboard when the door is closed. its quite obvious.
- Rear boot space claimed to be 510L, but with the odd shape inside it, it think the space in altis is better. And if you have chance to have a look, try to touch the rear boot side cover, its loose to me..

I have actually went to Honda yeaterday to check out civic, after finish with Nissan. When i first went into the car, I completely understand what people is fuss about The interior is soooo plasssticccccc... unlike Altis or Nissan..

I havent decide which one to go, ,maybe will go for few more test drive first.. But at this point, despite few things that didnt meet my expectation, I will say that Nissan Sylphy 1.8 is better than Toyota Altis 1.8. Honda Civic 1.8 is out of the league..
THanks for the insight.

The interior of the car is certainly huge. The width of the car has been increased from the old model, making it slightly wider. And yes, the rear legroom and space are, very spacious. Previously I can put an egg tray at the floor of the back seat. Now with my new car(Ford Focus), the egg tray cannot fit in the tight space. For the comfort of passengers at the rear, the Sylphy surely delivers. You can even cross you leg when sitting at the back seat while at it. :-)

Sports mode in the Sylphy is one of a kind. Yes, once the button is pressed, the rpms shoot up linearly, coupled by the roar from the engine that is also linearly increasing. It's a nice feeling to hear the revs of the engine going up linearly and the vehicle accelerating smoothly once the Sports mode is engaged. FC is surely worse if you use the Sports mode frequently.

Quietness of the cabin in the old Sylphy, to me, is excellent. Good to hear that you found the Camry and new Altis to be not as quiet as this new Sylphy. Tyres on new stock vehicles are usually entry or mid level tyres, not so quiet. Though I believe the car will be even quieter if the tyres are swapped to some costlier silent ones.

The aesthetics(interior and exterior) of the old Sylphy is more "uncle" to me. This new Sylphy although conservative looks more modern now. Similarly I share the same opinion, or should I say preference on the Sylphy vs Altis. I do not like the rear looks of the new Altis, especially the shape of the lights which looked weird.

Not too sure if the (large?) gap between the door and dashboard is due to poor QAQC in the test-drive unit. The fit and finish of the Sylphy in my experience is usually high.

Similarly I felt the Honda Civic is already out of the running. Sylphy and Altis should be in the forefront, higher sales of the Altis spurred by the Toyota brand name. The Sylphy sells for its overall design and performance, though will probably lose out in sales to the Altis due to a "less recognised" brand name with slightly lower resale. Though the Sylphy is certainly a strong contender now with a much improved design from its predecessor.

I am considering to trade in my Proton Preve Turbo to this new Sylphy if the engine continues to get noisier in time. A deja vu since I have owned the (previous model) Sylphy for 5 years.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: May 11 2014, 12:21 PM
SportyHandling
post May 27 2014, 07:19 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ May 27 2014, 12:34 AM)
Why not consider Fluence? Similar drivetrain to previous Sylphy, but it's a conti with great service.
The Fluence is ugly and may not be as reliable as the Sylphy.
SportyHandling
post Jun 22 2014, 11:16 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Jun 21 2014, 09:28 AM)
will the bodykit look nice on the new sylphy or keep it clean as original?

http://paultan.org/2013/12/09/nissan-sylph...sv-thailand-04/
To each his own. I prefer the Sylphy without any bodykit. For me, the rear spoiler doesn't look as good as the low-spec model without the spoiler. For features, the high-spec Sylphy is considered the better buy, though in terms of exterior looks, the clean looks of the low-spec Sylphy is more elegant and pleasing to the eye to me.

SportyHandling
post Jun 22 2014, 11:17 AM

623 posts

I just don't know but I always prefer a plain car without any bodykit. Not just the Sylphy but any car for that matter. Even the Almera. I do not like bits and pieces stuck to the car. All original looks cleaner and more elegant, though I can understand there will be some who prefer a more sporty looks with the bodykit.
SportyHandling
post Jun 25 2014, 07:45 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Jun 24 2014, 10:54 PM)
after lots of comparison... the sylphy is one of the best buy car ... but cant understand why the sales r low... but have to wait a month n see how many floods the road.
It's early days, so sales might be slow. However, Jutamind may have hit the nail on the head there. Previously, more than 2 years ago, the equivalent Altis and Civics are considerably higher priced than the Sylphy, if I"m not mistaken RM10k difference or more. Fast forward to today, now the low spec Sylphy is priced the same as the low spec Altis. I wouldn't say the Sylphy is good value anymore, considering the Altis and Sylphy are priced the same at RM115k if I'm not mistaken. It may still be good value in comparison to the alternatives, but the gap has been reduced. The previous generation Sylphy, at least you are getting a 2.0-litre engine, so folks may not mind the slightly higher premium over competitors with lower engine capacity.

Given a choice, I suppose most would go for the Altis due to the brand name, and the Altis is no slouch though only lacking in some aspects.

In the C-segment, no doubt the Altis would still be the common choice, though I suspect the Sylphy will still sell, though not in big numbers. I would expect the sales to be higher than the current (overpriced) Civic, which to me needs a major revamp ie. new model to play catch up.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Jun 25 2014, 07:51 AM
SportyHandling
post Jun 25 2014, 07:58 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Jun 25 2014, 07:52 AM)
Bro as what you pay and what you get..

I clouldn't found civic & Altis comes with 6 airbag???
Yes, that is a pertinent point. What I meant is some people don't look at airbags, and for the fact that the Altis is priced the same as the Syphy, these folks will go for the Altis.
SportyHandling
post Jul 16 2014, 08:09 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(setheo @ Jul 11 2014, 10:08 AM)
Ya. It does.. but am ok with it. smile.gif

Btw guys, yesterday I was driving on a wet road, I realized the splashing sound from rear tyre pretty loud, as though I didn't shut my door tight.

Anyone notice it?
QUOTE(nxtpg @ Jul 11 2014, 10:37 AM)
Haha. Me 2. I infact stopped in the rain to see if my doors were shut or tire fell off. 😆. Need 2 do wheel arch sound proofing.

Today after washing the car

1. All windows have some kind of gum mark inside the tint.  Not bubbles. Maybe need to claim tint warranty. Workmanship problem?  Can be seen clearly undersunlight.. open the door better view.

2. Rear windows got terrible watermark stain. Can see under sunlight. Lucky I tried using the glass compound n its gone. 👍

Apart from all this... the car is superb. I am eying on the teana too.
QUOTE(Alan @ Jul 11 2014, 10:43 AM)
tried with other car before, same also.
So the sound of water splashing at the rear wheel arches when driving on a wet road during a rainy day is quite loud? The previous generation Nissan Sylphy doesn't have this problem. Does this mean the soundproofing at this area for the new Sylphy has taken a step backward?

SportyHandling
post Dec 15 2014, 08:37 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Dec 15 2014, 03:23 AM)
My family owns 2001 sentra n16 XE, 13 years already. When one of the SA say it can be traded in for 22k, we decided to switch it for sylphy 1.8vl.

Current quotation given to me:
- rebate 4k
- free impul body kit (if don't want u get another 2k rebate, but the rear spoiler is standard)
- free solar gard armor coat worth rm1600

Given the specs of VL plus free tint, it deal good enough. However the audio system looks ok, why not complete it with 2din at once and enjoy thereafter?

Optional accessories:
- Navi 2 package with 6.5" 2 din gps, trunk tray, pedal metal, door floor LED panel, window roof for rm3.8k
- 6.5" 2 din gps for rm3.3k

I decided to reject the impul body kit for rm2k rebate to get the 2 din at rm1.3k. How would you advise?

1)  Add rm1.8k for the whole package?
2)  Save the rm2k for aftermarket 2 din?
3)  Proceed, Nissan 2 din gooding enough.

But one thing I notice on the brochure is that impul body kit is priced at rm3k. The SA emphasised it's rm2k rebate. Any of you got different feedback?

Also what is the advised aftermarket 2 din?

Hope you owners can enlighten me on repeating the Nissan purchase after the very well service and drive enjoyment the N16 provided me for 13 years.
It depends on personal preference and priorities but similarly I will not take the Impul body kit (I dislike bits and pieces stuck on the car) though the rear spoiler is not too bad.

As for optional accesories in the NAVI with 6.5" and 2 din GPS, again it depends on how important the GPS is to you. It is certainly good if the 6.5" GPS is already standard on the car, but if it is offered as a package and you need to consider adding RM3k+ for it, then the question of whether it is useful or worthwhile for you to top up the money arises. Different people will have different needs and priorities.

SportyHandling
post Jun 4 2015, 12:05 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Thayaalan 14 @ Jun 3 2015, 11:31 AM)
Bro, my mom bought the 1.8 Sylphy VL, full-spec and she regrets it. I drive the car most of the time and I'm telling you, DO NOT BUY IT.
It is a rip-off to pay so much for an under-performing car, fuel consumption is terrible unless you are doing long distance. The 1.8 is very very under-powered and there is a terrible lag . The car feels extremely flimsy as well on uneven road. I used to have a Latio 1.8, it was way more responsive and comfortable. Furthermore, Nissan's after sale service is terrible.
Sylphy drivers can verify that there is a splashing sound when driving on wet roads. If you want a 1.8 engine car, please look elsewhere, the Sylphy will steal your money. The only reason we havent sold of this hunk of junk is because fuel is paid for or else we would have sold it off. You might wanna consider the Mazda 3.
Just my 2 cents mate.

I have not driven the Sylphy 1.8 but have owned the Sylphy 2.0 for 5 years and cannot agree with your remark about Tan Chong's after-sales service being poor. Level of satisfaction among owners is rated as very good by JDPower if I am not mistaken as TCEAS's after-sales is in the top 5 in the ranking of the survey.

As for the performance of the car, the Sylphy 2.0 also has this splash sound on the wheel arches when it is driven in the rain, though it is not too bad. The overall NVH and quietness of the car (2.0) are good. Not too sure about the 1.8. Not too sure about the "very very underpowered" and terrible lag comment, but I don't think it will be too bad. Latio 1.8 is a smaller and lighter car so the acceleration may feel a bit quicker than the larger and heavier Sylphy. Nissan cars are not built so much for speed and performance but comfort and family use. For normal driving it should serve well.

0.4870sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:28 AM