Laptop cooler, Need some suggestion

death_nite
post Sep 2 2007, 04:43 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Aug 24 2007, 05:16 PM)
hmm.. there is no such thing as the ultimate cooler, the best cooler is the best cooler that suits ur laptop specifically, what I meant by that is the laptop's vent system and the cooler's fan system.

U need to know ur lappy's vents and search for cooler that enhances the ventilation, i think i said it few times. Scroll around for more details coz I feel unnecessary to repeat myself over and over again.
derred, u did say rite if bottom notebook ventilation sucks air, make sure notebook cooler push the air toward the bottom ventilation to avoid vacuum rite?

well, dats wat i think too. but later on, i decided to change the fan orientation.

bottom ventilation will sucks air as usual. n my notepal now oso sucks air. theoretically, like u say, since both sucks air, it will create vacuum = temp rise aite?

well, it doesnt.

between notebook n cooler, there's a gap. vacuum wont occur, instead it create forces to sucks cool air all around ur notebook n cooler flowing through it n make ur notebook erh, cool. vacuum will only occur if there's completely no gap between notebook bottom ventilation n notebook cooler's fans.

there's no diff when i monitor the temp, but, one thing i can feel is dat, my keyboard become less warmer. smile.gif
kayanbutter
post Sep 22 2007, 09:45 PM

Validating
78 posts

Aiyo spend so much money for the lappie's couple degrees cooler. Your laptop have been designed to take much higher temperature and it have been designed to vent out the much needed heat from the laptop effectively with the builtin fans.

With these laptop cooler , it is only cooling the physical outside of the laptop and help dissipate the heat that is produced by the faster Notebook HD

My thinkpad is also much hotter at the bottom but so far 3 years using it without any elevation or fan seems to be no problem.
But what do i do is that I used 2 eraser . rubber to stick at the bottom behind of my laptop to elevate it to 45 degrees and this help make my laptop more ergonomic for typing as well as helping it to dissipate the head away from the laptop
It helps a lot and it ;s portable.

The heat that you feel coming out from laptop keyboard is always there regardless how cool your laptop cooler is because there is a heatsink existed below your keyboard to help dissipate the head from the laptop thru the gaps of your laptop

Dont believe, take apart your laptop . Any desktop engineer can tell u that.

derred
post Sep 22 2007, 10:22 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(kayanbutter @ Sep 22 2007, 08:45 AM)
Aiyo spend so much money for the lappie's couple degrees cooler. Your laptop have been designed to take much higher temperature and it have been designed to vent out the much needed heat from the laptop effectively with the builtin fans.

With these laptop cooler , it is only cooling the physical outside of the laptop and help dissipate the heat that is produced by the faster Notebook HD

My thinkpad is also much hotter at the bottom but so far 3 years using it without any elevation or fan seems to be no problem.
But what do i do is that I used 2 eraser . rubber to stick at the bottom behind of my laptop to elevate it to 45 degrees and this help make my laptop more ergonomic for typing as well as helping it to dissipate the head away from the laptop
It helps a lot and it ;s portable.

The heat that you feel coming out from laptop keyboard is always there regardless how cool your laptop cooler is because there is a heatsink existed below your keyboard to help dissipate the head from the laptop thru the gaps of your laptop

Dont believe, take apart your laptop . Any desktop engineer can tell u that.
Not all heats of laptops are dissipated on the bottom part of the laptop. Mine has it at the back while having air intake on the bottom. That means using a cooler will decrease a fair amount of Cs compared to what you were saying just now.

As for deathnite,

sorry for late reply, I somehow missed that. A lot of old Clevo users found out their laptops overheating while/after using cooler were because of that theory or shall I say that specific reason. So it is not recommended for one to do so. Choose the cooler wisely according to ur laptop heat management layout.
death_nite
post Sep 22 2007, 11:36 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Sep 22 2007, 10:22 PM)
Not all heats of laptops are dissipated on the bottom part of the laptop. Mine has it at the back while having air intake on the bottom. That means using a cooler will decrease a fair amount of Cs compared to what you were saying just now.

As for deathnite,

sorry for late reply, I somehow missed that. A lot of old Clevo users found out their laptops overheating while/after using cooler were because of that theory or shall I say that specific reason. So it is not recommended for one to do so. Choose the cooler wisely according to ur laptop heat management layout.
ic ic, which meant not all notebook can use the method i say laa....huhu...well, its works perfectly for my 6400.... smile.gif trial n error would b the best option! laugh.gif

n yeagh, notebook bottom layout n cooler layout is important too.. smile.gif

@kayanbutter

huhu...if i didnt use any notebook cooler, my hardisk temp gonna rise up up to the sky! since i guess my table is good heat resistance...it wont absorb the heat n trap it....

dats y i need notebook cooler...

using rubber wont seem practical to me...my hardisk temp still gonna rise up...i dont think hardisk can stand a lot of heat.....1-3 degree difference is alot....by any meant, using notebook coller can reduce the temp dats much, in long term, ur notebook life span is longer especially if u torrent alot with ur notebook...

btw, u use thinkpad...haih~ dont compare with other notebook okay! thinkpad cooler design is damn good! haih~

btw, i noe there is a heatsink existed below the keyboard. once dell technicion come n dismantle my notebook....got picture smmore...can find in my siggy...i guess... laugh.gif
V3000
post Sep 23 2007, 01:08 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Till now all the cooler i see is bigger then 12.1" normal screen size..
Do ne1 here see or have cooler that fit 12.1 normal screen lappy? If yes please let me know the brand and model number.. really hard to find 1 good cooler nowdays sad.gif

Cheers! Thanks in advance!.
Yukaeshi
post Sep 24 2007, 08:09 PM

417 posts

Looking to buy a good notebook cooler, and was wondering if I need one because my fan is at the back of the laptop. I have one but it's smaller than my laptop (Refer to my siggy) and is quite noisy, so I don't use it laugh.gif Any suggestions?
kapitan
post Sep 24 2007, 10:37 PM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Sep 2 2007, 04:45 AM)
anyone has tried the latest CM Notepal Infinite? how's its performance compared to Zalman ZM-NC1000?
If you wanna see them side by side, can goto Digital Mall in Section 14.

The first thing you will note about Zalman is the noise and air flow. Air flow is strong, yet its just silent. Cant hear anything. The bad is that, not sure why Zalman is so small in size, and why dont they extend the ventilation holes over the whole thing. The hottest spot is the GPU which is usually situated at the top but there's no ventilation holes there.

So I end up buying Notepal Infinite. Its big, suitable for home usage like Im using now. But most would be more interested in the air flow. If you turn it all the way up (level 3=max), the air flow is pretty good, though not still not as good as Zalman but the noise is noticeable. So let said you want silent operation, set it to level2, in which air flow is respectable yet not really can hear a thing when using it.

Im not sure about Zalman, but I still can feel some heat on the palm rest area lor. The notebook cooler works cooling down the bottom part but the upper part still will feel warm. Mayb slightly reduced but not eliminate. Good thing is that its easier on your hand when typing and also lift the lcd up for easier viewing.
derred
post Sep 24 2007, 11:53 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

Cooler is ridiculously expensive in Malaysia for unknown reason. Prolly I shud do bulk for super cheap but better performance cooler next time, rather than iPhone (since iPhone got too much risk ppl will complain ini itu, u know la Malaysians kiasu..) Cooler will be easier, and it cools and looks cool too, since it is a cooler. haha.
michaelyii1988
post Sep 24 2007, 11:56 PM

:)
1,291 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Sep 24 2007, 11:53 PM)
Cooler is ridiculously expensive in Malaysia for unknown reason. Prolly I shud do bulk for super cheap but better performance cooler next time, rather than iPhone (since iPhone got too much risk ppl will complain ini itu, u know la Malaysians kiasu..) Cooler will be easier, and it cools and looks cool too, since it is a cooler. haha.
yea..we will b waiting ur bulk o....make sure u get us really good price..hahaha
kapitan
post Sep 25 2007, 12:11 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Sep 24 2007, 11:53 PM)
I bought it for RM110.
I wouldnt say expensive, those selling in LYN more expensive.

Gaza
post Sep 25 2007, 03:24 AM

483 posts

I bought a silver Zalman NC-1000 for my Aspire 5920G and i'm happy with it. Haven't been able to game as much as i had hoped cause i'm running really busy, so I put the settings on medium flow and the fans are barely audible.
porkchop
post Sep 25 2007, 10:49 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

i dont know but i got the coolermaster notepal infinite, really high power and best of all at medium setting there is almost no sound.......not only that...if usse high setting, i can actually run illustrator and start rendering videos and yet the dell notebook doesnt get hot...

i would recommend it lo.........only irritating thing is the blue light(on the power button) ..so ahbeng
kapitan
post Sep 25 2007, 02:36 PM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Sep 25 2007, 10:49 AM)
i dont know but i got the coolermaster notepal infinite, really high power and best of all at medium setting there is almost no sound.......not only that...if usse high setting, i can actually run illustrator and start rendering videos and yet the dell notebook doesnt get hot...

i would recommend it lo.........only irritating thing is the blue light(on the power button) ..so ahbeng
bro,
the light at the back also cant see got ahbeng meh?
ProX
post Sep 27 2007, 10:13 PM

316 posts

I am using Zalman NC-1000 too. Pair it with my hp compaq laptop and my laptop temp noticeably lower
tslim2531
post Sep 27 2007, 11:17 PM

237 posts

I'm currently using DELL 1520. Last month just bought a VIGO NINJA cooler at RM89 at Carrefour. It is stated the speed is 3000rpm which I think is quite fast compared to other cooler available. But after a week using it, I found that the cooler didn't cool down a lot and the temperature is more or less the same without the cooler doh.gif, around 55 degree when idle and 68-73 when play games (is it normal?). So, I've refunded it back to Carrefour.

Then later I go found out that other cooler such as Cooler Master Infinity and other at ALL IT all have rotating speed @ 2000 rpm only, so my question is, even the VIGO NINJA which is full aluminium and 3000 rpm didn't make such a difference to the temperature of my laptop, then how about others cooler? Are they useful ?

(p/s: I've heard that 1520 has a really good heat flow and didn't need a cooler at all. anyone can verify this? I've feel that my fren's ACER with X700 graphic card is hot like hell even with those cheapo cooler, so maybe it is true....) unsure.gif
sotong168
post Sep 27 2007, 11:55 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(tslim2531 @ Sep 27 2007, 11:17 PM)

frm my experience, nb cooler reduces hdd temp. but not or less significant for proc & gc. i dun use any cooler now, just undervolt the proc for cooling sake (using NHC, can use RMclock also)
y_owez
post Sep 30 2007, 12:53 AM

1,745 posts

can anyone tell me which suits my asus f9s which is a 12' and the vent is one the left side....i dun wan so big cooler
death_nite
post Sep 30 2007, 05:48 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(tslim2531 @ Sep 27 2007, 11:17 PM)
I'm currently using DELL 1520. Last month just bought a VIGO NINJA cooler at RM89 at Carrefour. It is stated the speed is 3000rpm which I think is quite fast compared to other cooler available. But after a week using it, I found that the cooler didn't cool down a lot and the temperature is more or less the same without the cooler doh.gif, around 55 degree when idle and 68-73 when play games (is it normal?). So, I've refunded it back to Carrefour.

Then later I go found out that other cooler such as Cooler Master Infinity and other at ALL IT all have rotating speed @ 2000 rpm only, so my question is, even the VIGO NINJA which is full aluminium and 3000 rpm didn't make such a difference to the temperature of my laptop, then how about others cooler? Are they useful ?

(p/s: I've heard that 1520 has a really good heat flow and didn't need a cooler at all. anyone can verify this? I've feel that my fren's ACER with X700 graphic card is hot like hell even with those cheapo cooler, so maybe it is true....) unsure.gif
ur cooler made by wat?
plastic or aluminium?

there's a lot of factor to determine how good the cooler is...

this is my opinion,

judging by the speed of the fan is kindda wrong. wat u should take a look at is the cfm rate. the higher the better. doesnt meant having high rpm the cfm is strong too...u hv to c the spec 1st lar...huehuhue...

cfm definition http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Actual_Cubic_Feet_per_Minute

basically, cfm is the rate for how strong the fan can blow an air in cubit feet per minute. smile.gif

second,
material use for cooler is important. for me its useless to buy a cooler with plastic made. plastic = not friendly with heat i think. try ur best to avoid this kind of cooler.

third,
erh, brand oso determine how good the cooler is. tongue.gif they expensive for a reason.

combine this 3 factor, its determine how good the cooler is.

damn, kapitan, ur infinite rm110 only? for me its a good deal edy...notepal w1 expensive more expensive....now donno still expensive or not.... laugh.gif

@derred
wat brand/type of cooler u intend to bring in? sure a lot of people would join ur bulk...

@y_owez
hurm,
most cooler come in standard size lar. to fit as big as 15inch notebook. i not yet encounter small notebook cooler for 12 inch notebook. try lurk in lowyat plaza.... smile.gif

btw, bottom ventilation sucks or blow air? infinite/zalman blow air toward bottom part of notebook. make sure ur notebook bottom vent is sucking air too.. smile.gif
porkchop
post Sep 30 2007, 10:08 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

the bluelight on my coolermaster infinite is beng le.......it reflect off my table and curtain surface so can see.........

well on my notebook..the dell xps m1210 the processor and gc is very well cooled, but the hdd and dvd burner there is slightly warm though.............i think cause the air position is directly blowed to the slot at the bottom......

dun use evercool magic or something on the dell xps..doesnt fit and
Gen-X
post Sep 30 2007, 12:06 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

i don't know much about cooler fans but i got a cheap one for less then RM40 at midvalley. I do notice a significant difference in the air that comes out from side vents of my old compaq notebook.

My one is similar to below being sold in BULK section http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=416157&hl=cooler

26 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:42 AM