AMD Radeon™ Discussion V11, Latest - 14.12 | WHQL - 14.12

coolkwc
post May 14 2014, 02:03 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 14 2014, 01:52 PM)
try tomb raider benchmark with everything maxed out and fxaa.

better still if u can downsample it.
Huh, Furmark no longer a most stressful benchmark adi? Sorry, long time didn't keep up with benchmark tools, my good era of benchmarking is back to 10 years ago (Nvidia MX440, 6600GT, ATI 4850) Previous card HD6870 i never even benchmark at all. Start game, set all to max quality, if feel framerate acceptable then OK adi... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: May 14 2014, 02:04 PM
cstkl1
post May 14 2014, 02:11 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 14 2014, 02:03 PM)
Huh, Furmark no longer a most stressful benchmark adi? Sorry, long time didn't keep up with benchmark tools, my good era of benchmarking is back to 10 years ago (Nvidia MX440, 6600GT, ATI 4850) Previous card HD6870 i never even benchmark at all. Start game, set all to max quality, if feel framerate acceptable then OK adi... tongue.gif
cause most drivers throttle the power delivery.

so far gaming on crysis 3, metro etc... tomb raider.. it hits the power limit during the cut scenes and that time like my cards voltage will actually flux.

although i can correct it but just saying testing on default power limit etc...but oced on core. reason is to preserve the VRM's leakage for long term .

coolkwc
post May 14 2014, 02:20 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 14 2014, 02:11 PM)
cause most drivers throttle the power delivery.

so far gaming on crysis 3, metro etc... tomb raider.. it hits the power limit during the cut scenes and that time like my cards voltage will actually flux.

although i can correct it but just saying testing on default power limit etc...but oced on core. reason is to preserve the VRM's leakage for long term .
Sorry, not really understand.

I OC using MSI afterburner, power limit set to 50%, from what i know as far as the card temp/power never hit the power/temp limit it will not throttle the clock right? I monitor by GPU-Z during Furmark, no throttle happen. Voltage during Furmark is 1.039-1.051V... hmm.gif
cstkl1
post May 14 2014, 02:21 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 14 2014, 02:20 PM)
Sorry, not really understand.

I OC using MSI afterburner, power limit set to 50%, from what i know as far as the card temp/power never hit the power/temp limit it will not throttle the clock right? I monitor by GPU-Z during Furmark, no throttle happen. Voltage during Furmark is 1.039-1.051V... hmm.gif
test it.
then u will.

furmark u cannot run it at full cause drivers wont permit full power delivery. its a fail safe from amd/nvidia to stop ppl from killing their cards.
Sentinel92
post May 14 2014, 02:30 PM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

Wait then shouldn't retailers be more clear as to whether they are selling OC or non OC cards? How much did you get yours for, coolkwc ?
coolkwc
post May 14 2014, 02:37 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 14 2014, 02:30 PM)
Wait then shouldn't retailers be more clear as to whether they are selling OC or non OC cards? How much did you get yours for, coolkwc ?
The item listed in price list is Tri-X OC, but i get non-OC version...i bought mine @ 1.6k, which is cheaper than the listed price. I guess the shop also don know the different of it.

Feel lazy want to claim the shop unless they are substantial different for both version.
coolkwc
post May 14 2014, 02:40 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 14 2014, 02:21 PM)
test it.
then u will.

furmark u cannot run it at full cause drivers wont permit full power delivery. its a fail safe from amd/nvidia to stop ppl from killing their cards.
Just did a quick search, understood adi...

Meaning now 1080/1500 might become lower if using tomb raider benchmark?
Unseen83
post May 14 2014, 02:41 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 14 2014, 02:37 PM)
The item listed in price list is Tri-X OC, but i get non-OC version...i bought mine @ 1.6k, which is cheaper than the listed price. I guess the shop also don know the different of it.

Feel lazy want to claim the shop unless they are substantial different for both version.
if u buy it Jayacom... YES they should know what they selling to you.. if they say u purchase R9 290 TriX OC but get the Non OC u must receive wrong Gpu... go change.. and RE-check what it say on you receipts of purchase...

x
off topic when ur there they GOT Samsung 4K lcd eh? check price ? : ) icon_rolleyes.gif
cstkl1
post May 14 2014, 02:42 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 14 2014, 02:40 PM)
Just did a quick search, understood adi...

Meaning now 1080/1500 might become lower if using tomb raider benchmark?
its more of the vrm stability on delivering the voltage.

like i found out gtx titan's vrm works best at 70C on voltage scaling. above this.. i am actually killing the card on Overvoltage.
coolkwc
post May 14 2014, 02:43 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 14 2014, 02:42 PM)
its more of the vrm stability on delivering the voltage.

like i found out gtx titan's vrm works best at 70C on voltage scaling. above this.. i am actually killing the card on Overvoltage.
From GPU-Z, i can saw two VRM temp, which one should i refer to?
cstkl1
post May 14 2014, 02:50 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 14 2014, 02:43 PM)
From GPU-Z, i can saw two VRM temp, which one should i refer to?
both.

coolkwc
post May 14 2014, 02:53 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ May 14 2014, 02:41 PM)
if u buy it Jayacom... YES they should know what they selling to you.. if they say u purchase R9 290 TriX OC but get the Non OC u must  receive wrong Gpu...  go change.. and RE-check what it say on you receipts of purchase... 

x
off topic when ur there  they  GOT Samsung 4K lcd eh?  check price ? : )  icon_rolleyes.gif
They never said it was Tri-X OC, they just said Tri-X, and i'm not aware of this as well,but now i read back the price list is Tri-X OC... doh.gif furthermore the review over internet is misleading, some is review Tri-X but actual product is Tri-X OC, that's why i'm confuse....

This card i bought it without my home finance ministry acknowledgement, so i think i will just settle with it even wrong GPU received. sad.gif

Never look at their monitor, but their price list have la, Samsung 28" 4K, 1899...
Sentinel92
post May 14 2014, 02:54 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 14 2014, 02:37 PM)

Yeah you scale it back to similar clocks and see how it benches. If it performs fine then no need to do anything. The oC versio migh just be a simple factory boost, but just benchmark it to be sure.
coolkwc
post May 14 2014, 02:54 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 14 2014, 02:50 PM)
both.
Then I saw one of the VRM temp go up to 104'C during Furmark test... shocking.gif
Sentinel92
post May 14 2014, 02:56 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 14 2014, 02:53 PM)
They never said it was Tri-X OC, they just said Tri-X, and i'm not aware of this as well,but now i read back the price list is Tri-X OC... doh.gif furthermore the review over internet is misleading, some is review Tri-X but actual product is Tri-X OC, that's why i'm confuse....

This card i bought it without my home finance ministry acknowledgement, so i think i will just settle with it even wrong GPU received. sad.gif

Never look at their monitor, but their price list have la, Samsung 28" 4K, 1899...
LOL Home Minister. My customer all scared of theirs. Hahahaha.

Still, it's misleading. If they did quote you OC, and charged you for an OC card, and you bought a non OC one instead, it's not good of them. But it performs the same then don't bother lah.
coolkwc
post May 14 2014, 02:57 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 14 2014, 02:54 PM)
Yeah you scale it back to similar clocks and see how it benches. If it performs fine then no need to do anything. The oC versio migh just be a simple factory boost, but just benchmark it to be sure.
How about flash to OC version BIOS? brows.gif
Unseen83
post May 14 2014, 02:58 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 14 2014, 02:53 PM)

bro Check ur REceipts.... please tell me u still got it as i remember my Receipt from Jayacom is big as my belly so is impossible to lost it (A4 size) on that it show the model/SN number it should be clear on what item/product u purchase... if u receive different model is their Fault ur on right go change ASAP and try not to OC it too much lolz (eh heck let it loose lol)

x
on Samsung i got it for RM1,840 JayaCom ! ! see it does not matter what price u get is what item model/SN it say on receipts u should get what it state on the paper.. no matter what receipts is on right..
coolkwc
post May 14 2014, 03:08 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ May 14 2014, 02:58 PM)
bro Check ur REceipts....  please tell me u still got it as i remember my Receipt from Jayacom is big as my belly so is impossible to lost it (A4 size)  on that it show the model/SN number it should be clear on what item/product u purchase... if u receive different model is their Fault ur on right go change ASAP  and try not to OC it too much  lolz (eh heck  let it loose lol)

x
on Samsung i got it for RM1,840 JayaCom ! ! see it does not matter what price u get is what item model/SN it say on receipts u should get what it state on the paper.. no matter what receipts is on right..
Yes, i still kept the receipt (Of course as i just bought yesterday only), will check tonight i go back home...

Even is their fault, I dun get any chance to go change...my wife sure ask one...1.6k for graphic card, my head gonna be chopped off lo...the box adi stated non-OC version...

I will consider change it if OC and non-OC version price different more than RM100...so is it reasonable to pay 1.6k for non-OC Tri-X??
raydenex
post May 14 2014, 03:12 PM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

I believe its pretty much the exact same card, only the OC one is factory-OC'ed to those clocks. You can even possibly flash your non-OC Tri-X card with the OC Tri-X bios and get those clocks as stock-clock. I let the experts here confirm.
Sentinel92
post May 14 2014, 03:13 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 14 2014, 03:08 PM)
Yes, i still kept the receipt (Of course as i just bought yesterday only), will check tonight i go back home...

Even is their fault, I dun get any chance to go change...my wife sure ask one...1.6k for graphic card, my head gonna be chopped off lo...the box adi stated non-OC version...

I will consider change it if OC and non-OC version price different more than RM100...so is it reasonable to pay 1.6k for non-OC Tri-X??
Like I said. Benchmark and game with it first. Go to the unigine thread, see what clock speeds they use, and if you can overclock and achieve similair results, then it's perfectly fine. There shouldn't be issues.

The only problem for me now is that retailers aren't making it very clear for us in terms of discription and pricing.

126 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:45 AM