Newbie getting into shape! (male), Kindly need your guidance, friends.

TSmooze
post Apr 13 2014, 02:40 PM, updated 11y ago

Just A Normal Person With 2 Kids
1,406 posts

Hey all, I would like to redefine better healthy living and get into shape, short info as follows:

Short term goal -> To reduce belly fat, chest fat and waist size (last year 33, now 35) in 6 months before my planned wedding in September 2014.
Long term goal -> Experience and live better, faster, healthier body. Reduce and finally eliminate crave for overly sweetened, sugary, fatty, junk foods. Instill committed 'anywhere you go, you are able to workout your body'

Most of time at work I'm in office (PJ area). When at home, relax with indoor entertainment (TV, PC, etc.). Weekends able to allocate time but never seem to maintain weekly schedule self for simple act as jogging.

Kindly need your advise, sifus and friends here icon_question.gif

Self body weight/height : 84KG/169cm

Note:
Kind of tempted to get any of these workout products (certainly not the specific ones in commercial, just affordable kind of its type) but I know its rush and wasteful decision if I do it without planning -> http://www.askmen.com/top_10/fitness/top-1...-having_10.html

Home workout article, though I don't quite fathom what its telling me to do -> http://www.askmen.com/sports/bodybuilding_...ut-program.html

How to get in shape (with pictures) -> http://www.wikihow.com/Get-in-Shape

This post has been edited by mooze: Apr 13 2014, 02:59 PM
pj_guitarist
post Apr 13 2014, 06:35 PM

1,625 posts

QUOTE(mooze @ Apr 13 2014, 02:40 PM)
Hey all, I would like to redefine better healthy living and get into shape, short info as follows:

Short term goal -> To reduce belly fat, chest fat and waist size (last year 33, now 35) in 6 months before my planned wedding in September 2014.
Long term goal -> Experience and live better, faster, healthier body. Reduce and finally eliminate crave for overly sweetened, sugary, fatty, junk foods. Instill committed 'anywhere you go, you are able to workout your body'

Most of time at work I'm in office (PJ area). When at home, relax with indoor entertainment (TV, PC, etc.). Weekends able to allocate time but never seem to maintain weekly schedule self for simple act as jogging.

Kindly need your advise, sifus and friends here  icon_question.gif

Self body weight/height : 84KG/169cm

Note:
Kind of tempted to get any of these workout products (certainly not the specific ones in commercial, just affordable kind of its type) but I know its rush and wasteful decision if I do it without planning -> http://www.askmen.com/top_10/fitness/top-1...-having_10.html

Home workout article, though I don't quite fathom what its telling me to do -> http://www.askmen.com/sports/bodybuilding_...ut-program.html

How to get in shape (with pictures) -> http://www.wikihow.com/Get-in-Shape
yeap definitely read the stuffs in the forum more, and chk out HIIT (high intensity interval training) helped me alot last year when reducing my weight.
GameFr3ak
post Apr 13 2014, 10:35 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(mooze @ Apr 13 2014, 02:40 PM)

If fat loss is your goal, you don't need to buy anything. You'll even save more money on food. All you need to do is google and read up dieting, metabolism, TDEE and HIIT. Read these and get back to us if you have questions.
RedPillReality
post Apr 13 2014, 10:54 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ Apr 13 2014, 06:35 PM)
yeap definitely read the stuffs in the forum more, and chk out HIIT (high intensity interval training) helped me alot last year when reducing my weight.
+1. With HIIT, lost 7kg fat mass in 4 months, though it's very very taxing (if done properly) and never looked forward to it, had to bite the bullet and just do it.
pj_guitarist
post Apr 13 2014, 11:05 PM

1,625 posts

QUOTE(RedPillReality @ Apr 13 2014, 10:54 PM)
+1. With HIIT, lost 7kg fat mass in 4 months, though it's very very taxing (if done properly) and never looked forward to it, had to bite the bullet and just do it.
only those had went through HIIT for about 3 months would know how loathsome it is, even now i have a love/hate relationship when i unrolled my yoga mat to start a crazy hiit session, very comparable to heavy squat and deadlift days, same as you i never looked forward for hiit days but done right probably the best weight loss programme to follow, imagine the bucket of sweats and all the coarse air you forced to breathe through your overexerted lungs during that short period of rest.
RedPillReality
post Apr 13 2014, 11:58 PM

135 posts

1. Calorie deficit
2. HIIT
3. Lift (optional), it will speed up the fat loss process

With limited time in your day you can stick with 1 & 2.

High intensity interval training (HIIT) should be performed <20mins. Any longer than that means that you can still push harder.

Anything on HIIT you can PM me, been through it myself.
helven
post Apr 14 2014, 01:25 AM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ Apr 13 2014, 11:05 PM)
only those had went through HIIT for about 3 months would know how loathsome it is, even now i have a love/hate relationship when i unrolled my yoga mat to start a crazy hiit session, very comparable to heavy squat and deadlift days, same as you i never looked forward for hiit days but done right probably the best weight loss programme to follow, imagine the bucket of sweats and all the coarse air you forced to breathe through your overexerted lungs during that short period of rest.
Any HIIT exercise you can recommend for weak/injured knee? Trying to avoid stuff that can stress the knee like treadmill, cycle or jumping rob.
pj_guitarist
post Apr 14 2014, 01:53 AM

1,625 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Apr 14 2014, 01:25 AM)
Any HIIT exercise you can recommend for weak/injured knee? Trying to avoid stuff that can stress the knee like treadmill, cycle or jumping rob.
woah try researh glucosamine for the knee problem, there's still big comounds movement like bench press and pull ups, be very careful of your shoulders this time though ur back too. any form of exercise should be done with proper form at lower load first.

shoulders and knees is crazy important joints u wanna look after.
wrist and back as well.

perfect your form, search for upper body compound movement, if your leg can't take it. and try to superset the opposing muscles and intensify the training y lessening the number of minutes needed to rest.
razorboy
post Apr 14 2014, 08:52 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Apr 14 2014, 01:25 AM)
Sex. lots of hot and heavy sex. biggrin.gif

Cardio that causes less impact on the knees, off the top of my head - rowing machines and ellipticals.

For me personally, if there's something bugging me, I'll get to the root of it and fix it. Knee pains can be attributed to many things, more often that not, judging from your lifestyle, it's because of the shitload of sitting you do all day. You probably lack the mobility and flexibility in your hamstrings, hips and ankles to actually allow proper motions of your legs which causes a shit load of knee pain. Muscles that are supposed to fire aren't firing and the direction that your hips, hamstrings,knees and ankles are supposed to move aren't the way your lower body is moving.

Regarding your schedule, when there's a will, there's a way. I know a few of the members here who work shifts, long hours and have barely enough sleep year round. They find time either at night or in the morning to do what they do. Some of them train before work at 6, some of them train after work at 10. You only need approximately 4 hours PER WEEK to train.

Whatever it is you do decide to do. Good luck.
helven
post Apr 14 2014, 11:00 AM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ Apr 14 2014, 01:53 AM)
woah try researh glucosamine for the knee problem, there's still big comounds movement like bench press and pull ups, be very careful of your shoulders this time though ur back too. any form of exercise should be done with proper form at lower load first.

shoulders and knees is crazy important joints u wanna look after.
wrist and back as well.

perfect your form, search for upper body compound movement, if your leg can't take it. and try to superset the opposing muscles and intensify the training y lessening the number of minutes needed to rest.
QUOTE(razorboy @ Apr 14 2014, 08:52 AM)
Sex. lots of hot and heavy sex.  biggrin.gif

Cardio that causes less impact on the knees, off the top of my head - rowing machines and ellipticals.

For me personally, if there's something bugging me, I'll get to the root of it and fix it. Knee pains can be attributed to many things, more often that not, judging from your lifestyle, it's because of the shitload of sitting you do all day. You probably lack the mobility and flexibility in your hamstrings, hips and ankles to actually allow proper motions of your legs which causes a shit load of knee pain. Muscles that are supposed to fire aren't firing and the direction that your hips, hamstrings,knees and ankles are supposed to move aren't the way your lower body is moving.
Regarding your schedule, when there's a will, there's a way. I know a few of the members here who work shifts, long hours and have barely enough sleep year round. They find time either at night or in the morning to do what they do. Some of them train before work at 6, some of them train after work at 10. You only need approximately 4 hours PER WEEK to train.

Whatever it is you do decide to do. Good luck.
Thanks bros will take note and research moar
TSmooze
post Apr 14 2014, 08:32 PM

Just A Normal Person With 2 Kids
1,406 posts

Sifus, much appreciate your advise so far! happy.gif
fariddarif
post Apr 20 2014, 06:07 PM

239 posts

hi there. if your sole purpose is to lose weight, you should try intermittent fasting. it works for me. the fat just melting off man, no joke. do some research about it and give it a shot. just a humble advice bro... smile.gif
degraw1993
post Apr 20 2014, 11:04 PM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(fariddarif @ Apr 20 2014, 06:07 PM)
hi there. if your sole purpose is to lose weight, you should try intermittent fasting. it works for me. the fat just melting off man, no joke. do some research about it and give it a shot. just a humble advice bro... smile.gif
fat just melting off? if u didn't workout and having a good diet maybe u lost just a weight.
fariddarif
post Apr 21 2014, 02:38 AM

239 posts

of course. with good diet plan, make sure you're at a caloric deficit and exercise program also la bro. intermittent fasting just a tool to help you lose some weight...
GloryKnight
post Apr 29 2014, 09:36 PM

1,770 posts

You should also do planking when you really feel that lazy or tired - just a few minutes everyday would do wonders biggrin.gif
sochaikeong
post Apr 30 2014, 10:18 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Apr 29 2014, 09:36 PM)
You should also do planking when you really feel that lazy or tired - just a few minutes everyday would do wonders biggrin.gif
Does planking really help? I am doing it everyday now..
Damien?(:
post Apr 30 2014, 11:13 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(sochaikeong @ Apr 30 2014, 10:18 AM)
planking only helps strengthen your core, you have to check your cals in and cals out, overall diet, exercise, etc
GloryKnight
post Apr 30 2014, 11:56 AM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(sochaikeong @ Apr 30 2014, 10:18 AM)
Yes - your core muscles is one of the building blocks and foundation for even further exercises.

You can feel the sides and area around your stomach harden when you do it. There will be shapes of course.

But nuff said, your meals still accounts for almost entirely 80-90% of your regime.
sochaikeong
post Apr 30 2014, 05:58 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Damien?(: @ Apr 30 2014, 11:13 AM)
planking only helps strengthen your core, you have to check your cals in and cals out, overall diet, exercise, etc
QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Apr 30 2014, 11:56 AM)
Yes - your core muscles is one of the building blocks and foundation for even further exercises.

You can feel the sides and area around your stomach harden when you do it. There will be shapes of course.

But nuff said, your meals still accounts for almost entirely 80-90% of your regime.
Now this is actually my 11th day. It does make me feel the sides and area around my stomach harden when I am doing it and even if I am not doing my stomach area and the the sides still feel "stiff or hard".. is it normal? smile.gif smile.gif

GloryKnight
post Apr 30 2014, 09:30 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(661188 @ Apr 30 2014, 09:21 PM)
normal, based on expert estimation you shall have a solid 6 pack by next Wednesday.

calculated using the same formula that predict MH370's lokasi.
You troller.

sochaikeong: thats normal i guess, mine soft tongue.gif

0.0236sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:23 PM