Any idea when are they going to change the OPR?
Why does OPR have effect on FD?
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1
Aug 4 2014, 01:07 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,333 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Any idea when are they going to change the OPR?
Why does OPR have effect on FD? |
Aug 4 2014, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 4 2014, 01:11 PM) Please understand what is OPR first. Read about that. But still cannot understand how it affects FD and loans.URL: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overnight_policy_rate Market is anticipating another 25 basis point up by end of the year. Current OPR rate is at 3.25% Banks can just ignore's BNM to increase their FD rates but increase their loan interest to maximise profit right? |
Aug 4 2014, 04:24 PM
I read that if OPR increases, BLR also increases. How does OPR causes BLR to increas/e
Aug 4 2014, 06:10 PM
So OPR increases BLR will increase. This causes loan and FD interest to increase right?
So OPR can be seen as a double edge sword right? |
Aug 4 2014, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 4 2014, 06:20 PM) Yes. That's why investors are concerned and sensitive over interest rate as cheap money is not longer available especially at US, a lot of anxiety in the market whereby there's a potential for Federal Reserve to hike the interest rate for first time since financial tsunami in 2008. HiThanks for the reply. 1. WHat do you mean by "cheap money"? 2. Why does increasing the interest by Federal Reserve causes anxiety? I know that last time US almost defaulted on its debts. That was what was worrying. BUt I cannot see how does increasing interest causes anxiety Sorry. I am very noob. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 4 2014, 06:26 PM |
Aug 4 2014, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 4 2014, 06:30 PM) 2. When interest rate in US does go up, cheap money invested in other markets like emerging markets will go back to US. This will hit the currency and economy of the emerging markets. We saw this phenomenon last year when Federal Reserve started to say they wanted to end QE3. Countries depend on foreign fund like Indonesia, India and etc will suffer if their current current is not prepared for the outflow. Of course, I'm just quoting examples from the developed market and in Malaysia, this may not happen but as interest rate goes up, loan is getting not cheaper. Another question is why it may not happen in Malaysia? The last I check, Malaysia is still a developing country. |
Aug 4 2014, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 4 2014, 06:38 PM) You're correct about the first section. Thanks againAbout the second section, I may confuse you. The outflow of foreign fund will definitely affect Malaysia as we're still relying heavily on FDI. What I tried to highlight the correlation of extremely low or negative interest rate may not happen in Malaysia as of nearest future or decade unless Malaysia is heading to Greece path and we're stating to print money to become banana paper money. Sorry to confuse you. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 4 2014, 06:54 PM |
Aug 15 2014, 01:45 PM
Affin pure FD, 4.05%, valid until 30 December is rubbish.
They told me min RM10k Must open account with them. Min amount RM100 also can cause interest will be added into that account. Cannot add on |
Aug 15 2014, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(bearbear @ Aug 15 2014, 03:47 PM) Cause they tell me to open an account, minimum is RM100. Then cannot add on. Interest will go into that account. Normal FD, interest can add onWhere can I get Maybank 3.85% interest? Their website still state 3.3% |
Aug 29 2014, 07:05 PM
Sep 3 2014, 08:50 PM
1. I want to ask you sifus MBSB FD 4.7% have no PIDM protection. Is it safe?
2. Will one get 4.7% pa for 5 years Or you will get 4.7% at the end of 5 years? regardless OPR increase or decrease? Accroding to MBSB site, there is no 4.7% except for retail. Do you guys mean that? http://www.mbsb.com.my/deposit_fixed.html 3. How to become open a FD retail with them? I am sure not for normal people like me right? Thanks This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 3 2014, 08:56 PM |
Sep 4 2014, 09:25 AM
Sep 4 2014, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(HJebat @ Sep 4 2014, 09:03 PM) Are you currently pursuing a graduate course in a university? Traditionally (so many years already), I have been putting my money into FD. So yeah, I am use to ~3% pa interest. An additional increase in interest rates is most welcoming. I thought you do not prefer to put your $$$ into FD that yields less than 5%...why the change of heart? Why not add the $$$ into your ASG...if your account is still active? |
Sep 4 2014, 11:40 PM
I usually put in PIDM banks. So, I have no experience putting in non PIDM banks But was considering MBSB. But my parents strongly object. I will put in MBSB or other place with high interest for FD in the future when I am earning my own money. Hehe...
I like FD as it is easy and good money. No need to moniter and yet still earn good money. |
Sep 5 2014, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(HJebat @ Sep 5 2014, 08:32 AM) Oh, so you really are in the midst of completing your degree No, They only put FD The experience of placing a FD between PIDM & non-PIDM protected intitutions is almost the same...except for some glitches on occasional occurences PIDM will come into play when a member bank kena TKO...but that hasn't take place in Bolehland...yet. Your parents are finacially savvy kot? More inclined towards property, UT & stock Does it mean that you will pump more $$$ into MBSB to enjoy the rate & gifts? This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 5 2014, 05:45 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0450sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:37 AM |