QUOTE(michaelho @ Aug 13 2014, 10:26 PM)
I got a call 14 days after submitting the form! The officer said that he was given my number by his superiors only the day before!I turned down the offer without any hesitation!
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1
Aug 13 2014, 11:15 PM
376 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
QUOTE(michaelho @ Aug 13 2014, 10:26 PM) I got a call 14 days after submitting the form! The officer said that he was given my number by his superiors only the day before!I turned down the offer without any hesitation! |
Aug 14 2014, 08:46 AM
Aug 15 2014, 01:50 PM
Aug 19 2014, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 19 2014, 07:57 PM) Wonder which MBSB branch offer better gift on the brink of their merger. After I completed the 4.7% 5-yr FD, the staff there gave me a bag with 2 pens, a fridge magnet & a mug without me having to ask for gifts! Bravo to them. Compare this to BR's gifts of an umbrella & a hand towel for 2 separate FD's BUT I had to ask for the gifts! BTW the MBSB branch at Glomac, if not at end/beginning of the month, was empty when I was there last week. In & out in a jiffy! |
Aug 20 2014, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 20 2014, 10:39 PM) How u transfer $$ from bank rakyat/maybank to MBSB? I used my MBB cheque lah. This was a fresh fund not from my other FD's. QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 20 2014, 10:53 PM) My guess is your placement with BR reached or exceeded RM100k, thus enable you to receive those gifts. Previously, RM50k was enough The 1st BR FD was 100k (umbrella gift), the 2nd less than 100k (hand towel gift), & MBSB's FD was less than 20k but many more gifts. Yes, the glomac branch was deserted too... The MBSB branch that I frequented is indeed always uncrowded. If it weren't for the presence of the staffs there, I'd have thought that it's an abandoned office |
Aug 21 2014, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 20 2014, 11:13 PM) Learned one gate-crash skill from you today. Next time just need to find out the time & date of the open house. Show up at the time mentioned to do simple stuff & gain entry to the party good idea. have to get more "free" gifts from BR even tho it's in food form! |
Aug 21 2014, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 21 2014, 10:05 AM) If you are able to access the food & a real glutton when it comes to malay cuisine, then that sort of function is really worth the effort Syawal month's nearly over - probably missed almost all of BR's "open houses". Anyone care to keep us updated on such open houses' date/time/venue? The food consumed surely worth >RM30, based on the pricing that I'm familiar with |
Aug 21 2014, 11:21 AM
Aug 21 2014, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 21 2014, 11:51 AM) how to apply it as I dont see the code is available eventhough its mention application open till 31st august. looks like it's closed = http://www.groupon.my/deals/klang-valley-k...uob-1/718683520 |
Sep 2 2014, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 2 2014, 10:19 AM) A hollow nail with the intention to punctured you car tyre. Years ago they were not using these sharpies thingies, it was a direct puncture to the tyre using a sharpie thing, probably a sharpened screwdriver!!! I was in the car waiting for my wife to come out of the bank, and when she entered the car, this guy went passed the left side of the car and stabbed the left rear tyre! Upon seeing this I locked the car & blasted my horn! Lots of people came out & I saw the guy walking away quickly & a white Alphard speeding away from me! With the bank's security guards outside & seeing that the coast is clear, my wife and I entered the bank & asked them to call for the police. Later I was told by the tyre shop operator nearby the bank that I was the 3rd victim in 2 weeks to have their tyres stabbed. The 2 earlier victims were unlucky to have been robbed when they stopped after driving off just a short distance away due to their flat tyres! Also, my wife was not carrying cash in the courier bag but just lots of banking documents! Moral of the story - 1. Don't carry a courier bag or large envelope out of the bank! Stuff everything into the pockets or just carry the documents in plain sight sans the envelopes. 2. Park your car further away from the bank; go elsewhere (supermart, etc) & then double back to the bank. 3. And try not to carry too much cash! |
Sep 2 2014, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(HJebat @ Sep 2 2014, 12:37 PM) If you or your wife manage to jot down the white Alphard's number plate and/or snap a photo of the vehicle/guy, please feel free to post it here...we can produce a wanted poster for that treasure hunter wannabe This happened years ago. Was being defensive at that time to snap photos of the culprits. However I noticed that the Alphard was parked on the main road parallel to my parking spot with, I think, a driver & 2 accomplices in it. The stabber was standing about 20 feet away from the front of my car & another accomplice positioning himself about 6 feet from my driver side.When I blasted my horn, I could see the Alphard stopping ahead to pick up the accomplice who was near my door while the stabber disappeared to the back of the bank. Anyway, the police told me later that the number plate may not be real... |
Sep 2 2014, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 2 2014, 05:33 PM) In Penang, did not hear about it yet (or I missed out the news). Was it in Klang valley this has happened ? Thanks for sharing the event. These were quite rampant in the Klang Valley in 2010/11. My misfortune happened on the 8th day on CNY2011 (10 Feb 2011) - maybe the robbers thought that we were taking out monies from the bank!!! After this incident, I'm doing solo banking runs so as to not involve my lovely wife, and dealing with banks near my office or home, with car parked a distance from the bank. Also, cross & re-cross the roads looking to see if I'm being followed. Entering another bank to sidestep suspicious looking strangers... |
Sep 3 2014, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(HJebat @ Sep 3 2014, 11:47 PM) Perhaps your automobile or your wife's attire & accesories are a magnet to them? It was the courier bag used by my wife that attracted their attention, and the 8th day of CNY2011!I was told that their modus operandi was to place a lookout in the bank to alert others of who's carrying out cash from the bank BUT it was not cash that was carried out in the bag but just banking documents! Maybe my training as a bank internal auditor did help but I'm always alert especially at banks! We all should too... |
Sep 5 2014, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(HJebat @ Sep 4 2014, 11:28 PM) If that is the case, then you should be familiar with PIDM vs non-PIDM matter...it's not a tough decision 1. MBSB belongs to EPF.Evaluate your decision & select a course of action that you are most comfortable with...4.70% is considered a high rate for the time being, but your $$$ kena hold for 5 years & no PIDM protection. Therefore, to place or not to place in MBSB? 2. PIDM or not, will EPF/BNM allow MBSB to fail? Consequently the whole banking system in M'sia will collapse too! 3. Eventually MBSB will merge with CIMB-RHB. Even if the merger fails, I think EPF will merge MBSB with RHB. Methink the 4.7@ 5-yr FD is a good bet, especially if it inches closer to 5.0%! just my 2 sens... |
Sep 5 2014, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(HJebat @ Sep 5 2014, 08:32 AM) Does it mean that you will pump more $$$ into MBSB to enjoy the rate & gifts? looks like it but waiting to see the new BR rates... will it ever come out? |
Sep 5 2014, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(HJebat @ Sep 5 2014, 10:28 AM) Even if BR does come out with a revised rates (could be downward again Yes, that's true but I wouldn't want to place ALL of my $$$ into the 5-year FD. Otherwise I'll be out of the FD game for 5 long years... |
Sep 5 2014, 06:21 PM
looks like the CIMB-RHB-MBSB merger is going through! = http://www.therakyatpost.com/business/2014...fidential-info/
This post has been edited by giko: Sep 5 2014, 06:23 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0438sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:58 AM |