Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.24, WE love spiders

mingyuyu
post Apr 1 2014, 06:06 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

haha didn't thought I spam canon thread spam until nikon thread also let me spam XD
mingyuyu
post Apr 1 2014, 06:34 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 1 2014, 06:19 PM)
Time for you to get the Nikon D8000  brows.gif  brows.gif
i am waiting for the d9000 la weih whistling.gif
mingyuyu
post Apr 4 2014, 11:01 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Apr 4 2014, 10:43 PM)
first try on HDR out of camera function

really no idea what to adjust...
at least fix the horizon?
mingyuyu
post Apr 10 2014, 05:32 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 10 2014, 05:04 PM)
Nikon's mirrorless systems are not that good when compared to competitors hmm.gif
So if you want to stick to Nikon, DSLRs are still the better pick  laugh.gif

Mirrorless cameras, as the name suggest, lacks the mirror that allows you to see what you will be photographing through the lens- they lack the optical viewfinder, and thanks to that, they can be designed to be much smaller and more portable nod.gif
Of course, smaller = more portable but less ergonomic

So it depends on what you really want hmm.gif most mirrorless systems nowadays are quite affordable, and uses similar sensors (go for the ones with APS-C and not m43) as those in DSLRs.

If portability is important to you - mirrorless
If ergnomics (dials and button layouts) - DSLR

just my 2 cents~
not really true tongue.gif some higher end mirrorless have quite many custom buttons that allow users to pick a specific function for them. thus it will offer more direct access compared to dslr.

the main advantages of dslr I can see compared to mirrorless is the phase detection, weather sealing/ ruggedness and also the choices of lenses (not really matter if you just shoot specific thing, not everyone buy every single lenses of a system anyways).

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Apr 10 2014, 05:32 PM
mingyuyu
post Apr 15 2014, 05:51 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Apr 15 2014, 12:59 PM)
Ya. I know should always improve skill 1st. Still get very amateur shots, dont know how to improve @@''.. I dont have the creative mind to see how to snap photos ~~''.. FX too expensive XD.. hahaha
looking at sites full of professional works will help you to get the "creative vision" imo.

a good example is 500px, always feel inspired looking at all the good photos.
mingyuyu
post Apr 15 2014, 09:48 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Apr 15 2014, 06:17 PM)
When I see the photoshop vids, I get so confuse, they go thru really fast. When the layers and effects they combine any everything is mindblowing... Just sad that nothing is really natural~~''
Just looked at one of your post on the macro shots. You posted your Mushroom shot on Goldfries's site right? Nice shot btw =)

I should register for flickr and follow you guys XD ..hahaha
yeap that's me tongue.gif i submitted a lot of photos to sifu kentang's site. too bad the site is kinda abandoned now sad.gif
mingyuyu
post Apr 19 2014, 06:13 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Apr 19 2014, 12:17 AM)
Haha, thanks bro.

Have to admit I really did bump up the green's saturation a bit too much, and in some pictures I keep hitting the vibrance also. Guess there's just this period in our life huh.

Will try to travel more and keep improving  tongue.gif Hopefully will be able to take great pictures some day
all of them are hdr? not sure if asked before, but how to get raw hdr file from photo matix?
mingyuyu
post Apr 28 2014, 07:56 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Apr 28 2014, 03:38 PM)
aiya... i came back already lol
we plan next month, canon kaki of cuz can join
mostly i will shoot architecture  biggrin.gif
what did i missed? can i join? brows.gif
mingyuyu
post Apr 28 2014, 08:48 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 28 2014, 08:40 PM)
Wah sifu you are damn enthusiastic and passionate, faster jump ship  brows.gif  brows.gif
haha don't call me sifu la, still newbie tongue.gif

cannot jump ship since bought another canon cam recently biggrin.gif
mingyuyu
post May 1 2014, 10:24 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 30 2014, 04:45 PM)
Macro shots for today thumbup.gif

nice macro as usual, your 2nd and 3rd shots reminded me my own shots haha, so identical.

user posted imageIMG_0588 by tuna97, on Flickr

user posted imageIMG_1132 by tuna97, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post May 2 2014, 06:03 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 2 2014, 03:52 PM)
Try and do a search. A few years back, the choice was about equal in between the Tokina and Sigma. I believe picture quality and sharpness at wide open goes to Tokina but at f/8 apertures, everything becomes the same.  smile.gif

So for me, the 10mm and faster HSM motor was the deciding factor.
Before you perform this test, did you disable AF engagement for shutter half-press? Set the "AF Activation" option to "AF-ON only". For D600 it's option f4 if not wrong and since no dedicated button on D600 (and D7000) for AF-On, use the AE-L/AF-L button as the AF-ON button.

Also, for the test to be accurate, you need to make sure that your camera sensor is parallel to the newspaper or any intended object and also on the same plane.

For that you need something like LensAlign to correctly place the target and make the test more meaningful as you can manually set and determine the focal plane of the target to be parallel to the camera sensor plane.

200mm can also have big aperture. At f/2.0 lah.  biggrin.gif
Difficult question. But you can opt to buy the 17-55mm f/2.8 Nikon at 2nd hand prices and still sell them for a reasonable price should you decide to upgrade later on. Or you can get 3rd party lenses and sell later at lower prices should you decide to upgrade later.

The Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8 is beautiful lens. It's a lot of money but I don't think it suites well on the DX crop. Yeah some say ok but to me, it's not wide enough. If you have wider lenses, then you can got for it but if you don't have wider lenses, then save the money and look elsewhere. It's not a limited edition lens. When you want to buy it later after upgrading to FX, it will always be available.

hmm.gif

paiseh for asking, but why the 17-55 so crazily expensive arh? no IS no VR or whatever. canon equivalent is like 500-1k cheaper with IS.
mingyuyu
post May 4 2014, 10:52 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ May 4 2014, 08:06 PM)
Must be a stupid reason for me to say this to you but I guess I felt that I want to change to FX in a few years and I thought that the 70-200 would be a good choice since I take event photos and I've been using my 18-200 VRII 3.5-5.6 all the time and just can't get those shots at >120mm correctly exposed, so thought that the 70-200 2.8 might help me with that.

INB4 what happened to the 24-70 2.8 ( or DX 17-55 2.8 :v)
once you go 70-200, it's hard for you to go back hehe brows.gif

unless you cannot tahan the weight and size. otherwise 70-200 can create really sweet photos easily.
mingyuyu
post May 10 2014, 04:43 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Since black DSLR is too mainstream tongue.gif

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=480...&type=3&theater
mingyuyu
post May 11 2014, 06:10 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

user posted imageIMG_9684 by tuna97, on Flickr

user posted imageIMG_9682 by tuna97, on Flickr

@PF TJ, what kind of moth is this? First time see it haha.
mingyuyu
post May 11 2014, 11:15 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 11 2014, 10:53 PM)
Some shots over the weekend  laugh.gif

wah where to find these bugs? tired of shooting the same insects around my house tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post May 12 2014, 09:19 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 12 2014, 08:23 PM)
Where are you based again bro? haha
KL/PJ right?
Can try Bukit Gasing man, you should be able to find the stalk-eye fly when the season is right nod.gif
Plenty of other insects there too, good for practice  icon_rolleyes.gif
kl, selayang area。

closest place for macro is FRIM only, but not many insects in my last visit. perhaps someone organize a macro outing?
mingyuyu
post May 16 2014, 04:00 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

bro PFTJ, any idea what is this?

user posted imageIMG_1104 by tuna97, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post May 16 2014, 05:24 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 16 2014, 04:35 PM)
Any shots from the side or top bro? laugh.gif
Cannot ID based on the face only haha
too bad no worh sad.gif only manage to get this view. saw this guy around waterfall area last year. size around 2-3cm, quite big.
mingyuyu
post May 22 2014, 05:13 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 22 2014, 12:41 PM)
Its using a D4 sensor haha, it works awesomely during low light  laugh.gif
BTS dunno have or not  hmm.gif
sensor doesn't equal to AF capability tho tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post May 27 2014, 09:38 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 27 2014, 09:35 PM)
Welcome back man, looking forward to your photos thumbup.gif
I think it will take people with experience to clean off the dusts within the optical viewfinder, better let Nikon do it nod.gif
I have some in mine as well lol... have to take care of them one day  cry.gif
It's normal for dslr to have dusts inside though, mine will get more dusty even if i put in drybox and didn't touch it for few days. But the dust will come and go by itself after few days or weeks since parts inside are moving when you take pictures.

0.0264sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:04 AM