12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V51-+♠+-, New / Naive members, pls read first post

TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 17 2014, 03:13 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kokleong725 @ Apr 17 2014, 03:00 PM)
normally how long the disc rotor can last long? if i just change the brake pad only, anything will happen? example, the new brake pad will fast finished?

i use butyl windscreen sealant to seal it. i think i need to replace the weather sheet ady.. the original weather sheet should be got a lot oil and dust and make the butyl sealant not sticky anymore.
was thinking.. my colleague ask me to just change the brake pad. for the disc rotor, my car age just almost 3 years and its not the time to skim the disc. except the disc rotor surface not good.
Don't know how long can it last for. I remember some writing on the internet that it should be changed after about 3 changes of brake pads or something but I'm not sure. I guess the easiest way to tell when it's time for a replacement is to get the width of the rotors measured.
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 17 2014, 06:48 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Apr 17 2014, 06:25 PM)
Nonit waste.money on drop in la..change myvi xt all kau tim
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 17 2014, 10:42 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Apr 17 2014, 10:31 PM)
He wan u to TRUST him only isit? Mayb u can find TRW brake pads...currently using for my front and rear...so far so good...slightly better braking than stock yet lesser brake dust
Eh? You're still using your Percuma ka?
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 17 2014, 11:44 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Apr 17 2014, 10:59 PM)
Driving waja currently...sometimes persona...wanna sell the persona...already bought a 2nd hand waja from my fren
sad.gif Don't want Percuma anymore?
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 19 2014, 02:29 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(normal_user @ Apr 19 2014, 12:46 AM)
Hi I need advice from sifus here. biggrin.gif

My 2009 M-line Persona already clocked 80K km plus, and the suspension has lost its bite. I remembered how if felt so comfy when I drove it home the first time. I just bought Almera for wife, used it quite often and when return driving the Persona, my car felt lousy in terms of comfort & refinement (but still great on handling & steering feedback). I realized my Persona is ageing fast, with all type of sounds coming from the dashboard and left door assembly when driving over uneven surface or bumps. To compare, my friends' City, Altis and Livina mileage all had reached 100K but never encountered such problem nor changed their absorbers. To summarize, here are the sounds:

Kraaaaak : when alight & moving out from car.
Kiook: suspension noise when driving over bumps slow at 10kmh
krik krik krik: something inside dashboard rattling
tak tuk tak tuk: something inside the door assembly rattling

See, I don't need to turn on the radio to play music in my Persona. As much as I love my car for its brilliant handling and solid drive, the enjoyment was somewhat hampered by these annoying noises.

So, my questions are:

1. Does changing Proton original shock absorber can eliminate this? Can it make the ride comfort feel 'quite like new'?

2. Where is the best place to fix the interior (dashboard and door) assembly fit & finish to eradicate the noise? Can Proton SC do the job?
Thank you
1. Changing the absorbers will probably make the ride better especially if they're already very worn out.
2. Any workshop / accessory shop can do the job, but the job quality may not be satisfactory. If you're willing to pay a Proton SC to do the job, why not? The price may or will probably be on the higher side though, and there's no guarantee that they'll be better than the workshops / accessory shops around, but since it's an official / authorised SC there should be less risk of getting a shoddy job.

Just to add on, aside from absorbers, you may want to consider inspecting all the bushings of the car to see which is worn out and replace accordingly. This may reduce noise and/or improve your car's handling as well. Also consider replacing the rubber seals for the doors, and maybe if you have extra cash, send the car for soundproofing for the doors / floor pan ke whatever part which has the greatest source of noise.

Or just buy the sports car myvi / super car vios and settle, really.

Edit: About the "krak" sound, it may be related to your drum brakes. When was the last time you replaced the shoes? What about the brake fluid condition/level? I used to have a lot of sounds coming from the rear brakes when entering / alighting from the car, which I don't really know how it disappeared later on. Maybe it's cause I topped up the brake fluid, replaced it, or maybe it just decided to cabut.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Apr 19 2014, 02:42 AM
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 19 2014, 12:45 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(lilac @ Apr 19 2014, 12:22 PM)
Hey guys,
my car is going to reach it's 40K milage soon and i notice that the tires are pretty used up. I was wondering - How much does it cost to change my tires? and any recommended places in PJ to change em?
A set of mid range tyres will probably cost you from RM900 and above, but there ones that are below RM200 per piece. I don't really know what tyre shops are recommended around PJ, and don't have any to recommend either. But I would suggest that you avoid the Continental tyre shop at Damansara Jaya. I just ask for the manufacturing date of the tyres I was buying and the manager is already unhappy. He thought that I don't understand chinese / cantonese so he told his colleague that the customer is duo si. If you are able to drive all the way to Jalan Ipoh, why don't you pay a visit to Kean Lee Hin nestum? I believe that his service will be very satisfactory judging from the response of the forum members.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Apr 19 2014, 12:46 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 20 2014, 04:25 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

And to think that a mature model would be problem free whistling.gif. There's a lot of fixing to be done which includes Proton's employees.
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 20 2014, 07:03 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(normal_user @ Apr 20 2014, 06:51 PM)
Yeah I haven't checked the rear drums, although I've skimmed front dics & changed brakes twice. Brake fluid is sufficient. The noise doesn't bother me much as it happen during entering/alighting from the car. Its the dashboard sound that is irritating.

Well, at least my Persona's comfort is better than Myvi with same mileage. Myvi with that mileage usually in dire need of absorber change (based on driving 4 different old myvis).

Thanks for the advice  smile.gif
How high do you usually pull the handbrake lever to? I normally pull mine to the max if it's on a slope, or about half of max or less if it's on relatively flat ground. I also let my car roll front / backwards with the handbrake on after parking before engaging the parking brake to prevent the parking brakes from being the one that holds the car still. That was a long time ago though, and I no longer put the car into P. I just put it in N, pull the handbrake, let it move until it stops and then alight from the car.
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 20 2014, 08:09 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ Apr 20 2014, 07:59 PM)
Hello guys. Hope you guys don't mind.
I'm helping to spread words for Nanolub.
We will be having an event.
Whoever buy a bottle of Nanolub will get free dyno run. Before and after pouring in Nanolub.
Details as follow :
Date : 4th of May 2014 (might extend one more day because of overwhelm demand)
Venue : RS Dyno Puchong
Price : Rm80 for one bottle of Nanolub RCX WS2

Interested parties may PM me to register.
Any enquiries please do not hesitate to ask me.
Thank you biggrin.gif
Wah. So cheap ka? hmm.gif I'm interested in the bottle but not so on the dyno part. Besi buruk dyno apa

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Apr 20 2014, 08:09 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 20 2014, 08:47 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ Apr 20 2014, 08:30 PM)
Yeah. Charity event tongue.gif
Bottle can get anytime from me smile.gif
Yours and the "extreme" version is different right?
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 20 2014, 09:32 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(normal_user @ Apr 20 2014, 09:24 PM)
Exactly. The Persona has the cheapest ownership cost, and yet is more fun to drive, and even more comfortable than the RM115K Honda Civic. The Japanese B-segments (City, Vios, Almera) has no match for Persona in terms of continental solid ride & handling balance. I recently owned Almera, and despite its smoothness, it cannot match Persona's pure driving fun & joy. Againts the C-segment below RM120K, only its sophisticated sibling, the Preve can beat its 'fun to drive' factor (by a small margin). Meanwhile, despite the Altis and Sylphy has better comfort, their handling & steering feel is no-where to match the Persona. It is proven reliable despite there are quite a number of lemons out there. My father in-law has one that clocked nearly 200K km, and yet it rides comfortable with no major problems and never broke down whether on garage or middle of the road.

The Persona's archilles heel remain its mediocre interior fit and finish quality, less than remarkable engine refinement and squeaky sounds inside the cabin.
I usually set to P, when the car really stops and not moving anymore. After that I pull the handbrake at 2/3 capacity (2 clicks I think). Only full when on a slope.
Why don't you try pulling the handbrake first then shift to P when the car has stopped moving with only the handbrake on? I believe that may very well be the cause of the krak ehh em sound when you get in or out of the car. My abah punya D segment also got this sort of sound (emmm sound) from the rear brakes when alighting / entering the car with that sort of parking technique.

I agree that the car is very nice to drive. How it compares to the cars you have mentioned, I don't know except for the Almera. Quiet? Yes. Smooth? Hmmm I guess. Steering feel? Very inaccurate, light and the steering correction to center is so strong it's unpleasant.

Edit: What about armadasaxon's opinion? cool2.gif I hear that the new Honda City stops and goes like the wind and the new Altis is amazing. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Apr 20 2014, 09:52 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 20 2014, 10:36 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ Apr 20 2014, 10:28 PM)
No idea if they added anything else into it. Mine is repackaged in Malaysia for Malaysia market. Theirs is from Singapore.
PM best price? brows.gif Might budget for this in the future unless I decide to buy some other things like new air-cond vents. I was quoted RM80 for the middle vents, and RM80 each for the left and right vents. shakehead.gif. Still haven't gotten around to asking for locally made vents price.
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 21 2014, 10:54 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Apr 21 2014, 10:11 AM)
dry.gif SV owners no contribute, where will the thread be alive one.  shakehead.gif
All waiting to hear the licking butt story. cool2.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 21 2014, 05:51 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

It's ok. Everyone jual their Persona combine money buy one expensive club car for members usage cool2.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 21 2014, 06:23 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Apr 21 2014, 06:15 PM)
140k only.. give me face please.. Ur A4 value more than double of the 208 new car price
yawn.gif  Later combine till more than 7 cars then only can get enough to buy one 208 GTi.
It's ok. 208GTI is considered luxurious for us. What about the higher end Vios? Can we afford it? cry.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 21 2014, 06:50 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Good idea. Or save money buy Kancil. Everyone will be happy cause everyone have their own club ride.
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 21 2014, 06:58 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Apr 21 2014, 06:55 PM)
It's based on exterior dimensions & engine capacity mah.. Inside nobody gives a shyit la..

Inb4 God car B segment with Rolls Royce ride, space & driving experience.
Ahem.

Aircraft ride, space and flying experience.
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 21 2014, 08:11 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(SoccerIsMyLife86 @ Apr 21 2014, 08:02 PM)
Loving SV.
Flew 180km/h last Saturday.

Stable as mountain, but again, minor issues like sounds everywhere when you reach certain speed.

Touching 4.5k then 5k service liao.

Bila TT?
Everyday.
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 21 2014, 08:41 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(SoccerIsMyLife86 @ Apr 21 2014, 08:36 PM)
Sure bo?

Then where to minum? hmm.gif
Your nearest mamak. cool2.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 23 2014, 09:02 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Mine also got ek ek or mm mm sound when close to a stop. It can be avoided easily though by adjusting your braking style, i.e let the car coast to a stop and disengage the gear as you're close to coming to a stop and when the car is almost stopped, release the brakes.

QUOTE(dragonteoh @ Apr 23 2014, 08:57 PM)
Hi guys, wanna ask, anybody replace the Door Lock Actuator (Driver Side) before ?

How much does it cost roughly ?

Easy to install ourself ?
I've got a replacement done for the one on the passenger side before for the front. Looks quite easy, and should be as easy as unscrewing and taking the old one out and putting and bolting the new one on the door if you're using original Proton door lock actuator. Otherwise if it's some third party actuator you may need to drill the door, and may have to bear with the sound of door locks coming up at a different rate.

Edit: I got a third party door lock actuator for RM40 if I'm not mistaken. Forgot the workmanship cost, but should not be too expensive.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Apr 23 2014, 09:03 PM

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.8033sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:36 PM