5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[Project] The ELITE Strike Back, From prodigy to elite...update 13/11/14

TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 24 2014, 12:44 AM, updated 12y ago

164 posts

Hi..this is my first worklog and hopefully not the last..maybe it just another normal assembly WC rig in my point of view..but I just would like to share it and try to gather as much as possible comment and idea toward improving my modding skill..please all sifus out there..guide me tongue.gif tongue.gif ..SORRY THE PIC QUALITY REALLY POOR..JUST USING MY PHONE..NO DSLR.. sad.gif

I haven't post my previous rig's worklog because I think it just a normal WC rig assembly.. I would like to express my thank you to topazzatech, niclasteoh, pristine, digitalove_70s, christynsy, pali_5373 and many other forumer who sold their WC parts to me..and make my dream to own the WC rig came true.. rclxms.gif

This is my previous WC rig..may the force be with you..

Please ignore the table..I'm taking the picture on top of my dining table..my wife will kill me if she find out about this..hahaha..

quite messy with cables and tube..don't have any experience during the assembly..even spilled off the coolant to my motherboard..luckily it survive... biggrin.gif

For this build whistling.gif

Technical Spec:
Intel® Core™ i7-3770K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
ASRock Z77E-ITX LGA1155
Corsair Ram Desktop DDR3 Vengeance 2X 8GB PC1600
1TB Western Digital Scorpio Blue
256GB Transcend SSD320
Palit GTX 670 2GB
SilverStone Power Supply STRIDER GOLD 650W (SST-ST65F-G)~~~~replaced new one

Cooling:
Corsair Performance Dual Pack SP120
Globalfan 120mm 15mm thickness fan
XSPC Razor GTX670 Waterblock
XSPC Raystorm Intel CPU Waterblock
XSPC Acrylic Pump Top for MCP355
Swiftech MCP355
MasterKleer 3/8" ID x 5/8" OD Clear Tubing
Bitspower G1/4 Thread 45-Degree Rotary Adapter - Silver (BP-45R)
Bitspower G1/4 Thread 90-Degree Rotary Adapter - Silver (BP-90R)
Bitspower G1/4 Male to Female Extender - 15mm - Silver Shining (BP-WTP-C60)
XSPC G1/4 Thread 3/8" ID x 5/8" OD Silver Compression Fitting ~~~~replaced by the C-47 multilink fittings..
HardwareLabs Black Ice SR-1 120 Radiator
HardwareLabs 120GT Stealth Radiator
Armageddon Arctic Fuel 1000 Alien Green ~~~~replaced by EKWB UV green coolant

This post has been edited by orion_xtrmx: Nov 13 2014, 06:40 AM
TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 24 2014, 12:54 AM

164 posts

Here are my storage consist of 1 hdd and 1 ssd..

my graphic card..thanks pali_5373 for the waterblock and topazzatech for the extension cables..

don't know where to put the radiator because I don't want to sacrifice my 5.25" bay..so end up mounting the radiator outside the casing.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by orion_xtrmx: Jun 9 2014, 08:41 AM
TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 24 2014, 01:08 AM

164 posts

Extract the extension cables and PSU out...

Manage to safely extract the motherboard out with any spill coolant... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

but...how to drain the loop..doesn't have drain port..hahaha sweat.gif

TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 24 2014, 01:20 AM

164 posts

Safely pull out the graphic card with the coolant still inside the waterblock.. sweat.gif

Then dismantle the waterblock..just precaution to avoid spillage to the graphic card..

Then I remove the CPU waterblock..see the coolant still there..just let them spill inside the prodigy..

Finally..taken out the front mounted radiator, reservoir and pump..all together with the coolant of course icon_rolleyes.gif

TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 24 2014, 01:38 AM

164 posts

Time to clean the CPU and GPU chip from thermal paste...what else..I use these legendary tools..ARTIC TRIO..thanks niclasteoh..

CPU - before..

CPU - after.. I never lap the CPU..so it still in its original state..

GPU - before..

GPU - after..see the shining part icon_idea.gif

TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 24 2014, 01:53 AM

164 posts

Now the prodigy is emptied....waiting for future upgrade..hehehe cool2.gif

and....................THE ELITE STRIKE BACK..my original case before joining the WC community..

COOLER MASTER ELITE 120 ADVANCE...a.k.a ELITE
TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 24 2014, 07:44 AM

164 posts

yawn.gif so sleepy....Emm today I continue to the Elite preparation..
After cleaning all the previous coolant from CPU and GPU waterblock, I assemble the motherboard first..

Guess what..I manage to peel off the sticker and paint from both CPU and GPU waterblock..not enough money to buy new one..but still in good working condition.. brows.gif

Because the Elite has a very limited space compare to the prodigy, I have to sacrifice all the HDD cage by removing it..It's quite easy because there is only 7 rivets that hold the HDD cage..drilling time..

After removing the HDD cage..and put the motherboard inside..have a little bit space at the front side of the case..

Insert the graphic card and try to put an old tube to test the connection.. ohmy.gif ohmy.gif I guess it is way to near the distance between GPU outlet to the CPU inlet..the tube kink.. hmm.gif hmm.gif

TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 24 2014, 01:41 PM

164 posts

Install the pump..and sleeve all the front panel button cable..white.... cry.gif cry.gif

I need a gold sleeve. First I thought to get one from MDPC X or Lutroo Custom, but the postage price and waiting time killing me..

Since nobody sell a gold sleeve in our market, so I decided to paint it...huhuhu drool.gif drool.gif

PSU also got painted.... brows.gif

TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 24 2014, 02:05 PM

164 posts

Now all the tube to inlet and outlet of CPU and GPU has been replace and fix thumbup.gif ..but the pump location still not fix...

The placement of the three fans just to simulate the location of the radiator..I choose Hardware Labs Black Ice SR-1 120 taken into account that the thickness of the radiator is 54mm as per spec.. (25mm+25mm = 50mm) + 25mm (internal fan) +- another 8 mm clearance

Still waiting this item from niclasteoh...maybe tomorrow...

gxthelord
post Mar 24 2014, 03:03 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

wow bro nice ITX build there. Can't wait to see ur final update. biggrin.gif
Btw bro what's ur specs and wc list can lemme know. ^^ Maybe u can list it on ur first post hehe
TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 24 2014, 08:25 PM

164 posts

Thanks bro..hopefully I can finish this by the end of this week..
TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 25 2014, 10:38 AM

164 posts

Yay..huhu might get the package today... rclxms.gif

TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 26 2014, 08:01 AM

164 posts

Hi guys..package did arrive yesterday... nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

This is what inside..

HardwareLabs Black Ice GT Stealth 120...for my future build.. tongue.gif

HardwareLabs Black Ice SR-1 120..for this project..

Since my previous build just do the sleeving to the extension cables..I decide to go for full sleeving this time..my 18AWG wire..

Not to forget the pin and connectors...

TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 26 2014, 02:54 PM

164 posts

Fitted the fan on the radiator..but in the end it is too thick to be inserted due the restriction from the 5.25" bay..

Open the fan..the radiator successfully inserted..but....the case bracket highlighted in red block the radiator.. tongue.gif simple I just twist the bracket using plyer..

Then it goes just nice..sitting at the back of front inlet fan.. biggrin.gif

There you go..the pump also nicely fit between the fan and motherboard.. sweat.gif

Anyway still wandering around to get silver shine compression fittings...huhu does anyone would like to sell theirs? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
TSorion_xtrmx
post Mar 27 2014, 11:53 AM

164 posts

Hello..

little update..I'm trying to find solution for the reservoir..here is what I'm planning to do..maybe someone might have any idea what to do? icon_question.gif

Finish cutting the ATX 24 cables..but the outcome is like crab.. cry.gif No wonder people charge very high to get the job done..

Same goes to the sleeving process..I'm trying to do heatshrinkless..but its look like super crumple cables.. shocking.gif shocking.gif

Might redo the sleeving again.. sad.gif sad.gif
[Krauser]
post Apr 1 2014, 04:23 AM

119 posts

umm.. u said its was a heatshrinkles sleeving but its haz heatshrink at the end of ur sleeve..
anyway since u making ur cable by ur own,
u can cut inside line of cable shorter than the outside,
its will look more nicer n neat, i think...

btw bro i nvr own a xspc block but is this normal?

TSorion_xtrmx
post Apr 1 2014, 07:19 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(Krauser @ Apr 1 2014, 04:23 AM)
umm.. u said its was a heatshrinkles sleeving but its haz heatshrink at the end of ur sleeve..
anyway since u making ur cable by ur own,
u can cut inside line of cable shorter than the outside,
its will look more nicer n neat, i think...

btw bro i nvr own a xspc block but is this normal?

I really try hard to do the heatshrinkless sleeving.. sad.gif It is really hard to do..but after spending times 'youtubing'.. I finally get it done..

Please ignore the gold paint..my bad at painting.. sweat.gif

for the waterblock it is normal I think to have some stain at the cooper part of it..I just clean all the stain using lemon juice thumbup.gif and it's shine again..
TSorion_xtrmx
post Apr 1 2014, 07:34 AM

164 posts

Hi guys,

A little update..since I already spent to much time on sleeving..

Done installing the EPS cable..

Cut the side of the 5.25 bay to make way for the 6 pin pci-e cable..It's quite time consuming because I only use file to make the hole..broke the dramel during cutting the side panel.. sad.gif

Only manage to get one of the pci-e cable to pass through the hole.. tongue.gif

The most hard part is to do the short sata power cable..I manage to put 1 output only because the gap between the two HDDs is too small..the cable won't give in cry.gif This one I might need to redo again..

What left to install is the reservoir, 1 sata power cable and 4 pin molex cable for all the other auxiliary needs..

TSorion_xtrmx
post Apr 5 2014, 10:45 PM

164 posts

Little progress... sad.gif

Cutting both side of the side panel last weekend..hmmm quite hard to cut using dramel..

Today..I cut both side panel acrylic plate also using dramel..but the different is... it's easier.. blush.gif but it need to be sanded a little.. nod.gif

Both side panels also has been sanded to smoothed the surface..

Finally..after asking around to get the reservoir done..I manage to get some help from a friend here in KK..the reservoir is finish.. tongue.gif

user posted image user posted image

Now..waiting for the BSPP's tap and die set I ordered to arrive..later I'll will tap it to G1/4 standard to fit the fittings wink.gif
TSorion_xtrmx
post Apr 7 2014, 04:41 PM

164 posts

Hi..

The reservoir has arrived this morning and it fit nicely on top of the pump.. thumbup.gif but need to be tap to G1/4 thread first..

The side panel won't fit so the end of the case need to be cut a bit..I'm using 3mm thick acrylic by the way..both side need to be cut..

Finish cutting.....

And now both side fit and the case can be close nicely... rclxm9.gif

Please ignore the masking tape.. I haven't glue the side panel yet..

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:23 AM