130 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

LYN Gen2 Club, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!

vexus
post Sep 2 2006, 02:35 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Sep 2 2006, 02:12 PM)
care to advice, vexus?
remove the front engine hood chrome lips.
navigator
post Sep 2 2006, 03:27 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Sep 2 2006, 02:35 PM)
for short, removing it will make the car prone to catch big particle to the intake port.

This post has been edited by navigator: Sep 2 2006, 03:28 PM
JasonKing
post Sep 2 2006, 03:42 PM

G-Unit
1,642 posts

hello bro if u want to give advise give it nicely lah... dont give short short statements and make people ask 10 times to find out what u trying to say.... mad.gif anyway removing that is not advisable exactly what navigator said... up 2 u all 2 follow his advise... doh.gif
rcracer
post Sep 2 2006, 04:04 PM

?????
3,772 posts

You yourself do it or not?

It's damn ugly lah without the chrome lip.
vexus
post Sep 2 2006, 05:15 PM

6,660 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Sep 2 2006, 03:27 PM)
for short, removing it will make the car prone to catch big particle to the intake port.
no particle could get in through that hole. The engine hood itself has weather strip. Remove chrome lips is to make the breather less restriction. U say u can try 1st.
vexus
post Sep 2 2006, 05:26 PM

6,660 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Sep 2 2006, 04:04 PM)
You yourself do it or not?

It's damn ugly lah without the chrome lip.
stick it with the black sticker. can get it from brothers, rm8 only. Before that clean up the surface

stick ledi become like this

remove this chrome lips. just 4 screw only

the most simplest and cheapest method...

This post has been edited by vexus: Sep 2 2006, 05:35 PM
shackks
post Sep 2 2006, 07:55 PM

1,777 posts

Bro,
y not just adjust the height of the bonnet support at the rubber support at both side??

that wud be easier rite?? Your method is good too, but then, gotta sacrifice estatic.

tot of that b4 and still under experiment.

This post has been edited by shackks: Sep 2 2006, 07:56 PM
JasonKing
post Sep 2 2006, 08:33 PM

G-Unit
1,642 posts

u all not scared of water going trough the snorkel???its clear from the pic water can easily be sucked in 2...
shackks
post Sep 2 2006, 09:20 PM

1,777 posts

dun leave the gap too big... or else water droplets sure sips in.
vexus
post Sep 2 2006, 09:52 PM

6,660 posts

QUOTE(JasonKing @ Sep 2 2006, 08:33 PM)
u all not scared of water going trough the snorkel???its clear from the pic water can easily be sucked in 2...
QUOTE(shackks @ Sep 2 2006, 09:20 PM)
dun leave the gap too big... or else water droplets sure sips in.
your snorkel got water dripping hole. Nothing to worry about.

if my setup water can sip in. What is the difference of doing CAI ?

If u complain about water sipping in, might well don't do CAI.
mattchin
post Sep 2 2006, 10:39 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

yeapz.. i support wat vexus said.. most of the cars air box is fitted wif that dripping hole..
JasonKing
post Sep 3 2006, 02:18 PM

G-Unit
1,642 posts

CAI is normally place at the bottom... i dont think water can fight graviti and go all away up ... but the question is have u all tried to rev the car and put ur hand infornt of the snorkel... can feel the thing sucking...quite strong 2 if u rev high especially with large snorkel and knn drop in... so the concern is water can be easily sucked in.... if its like that... when raining heavily what is preventing the water from being sucked in?? i dont think the dripping hole can help....
mattchin
post Sep 3 2006, 07:03 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

i think if u do a CAI at the spot light hole, then maybe it could.. especially crossing a flooding area.. but that thing for it to breath like wat haf vexus done.. i don think so it will take a large amount of water in..
shackks
post Sep 3 2006, 08:32 PM

1,777 posts

IMO,
having that lil' gap between the grill and the bonnet will do that much harm actually...

If u've open the airbox before, the space is rather large to store water(if there's any)....

So all in all, i think worth to go for it...

cheers

JasonKing
post Sep 3 2006, 08:49 PM

G-Unit
1,642 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Sep 3 2006, 07:03 PM)
i think if u do a CAI at the spot light hole, then maybe it could.. especially crossing a flooding area.. but that thing for it to breath like wat haf vexus done.. i don think so it will take a large amount of water in..
bro no need large amounts of water... a little bit also can cause damage already
vexus
post Sep 3 2006, 09:15 PM

6,660 posts

QUOTE(JasonKing @ Sep 3 2006, 08:49 PM)
bro no need large amounts of water... a little bit also can cause damage already
actually there is very minimal water getting through. The chrome lips design has some flaw. They should cut off the inner plate that seat near to the snorkel intake. The chrome plate has block almost all of the air intake. Remove the chrome lips is to let in more fresh air into the snorkel intake. The gap i show in the picture was taken in different angle. If u look straight angle, you can't even see the gap. Thus remove the chrome lips is to force in more fresh air during high speed. Cost of CAI is expensive vs FOC DIY remove chrome lips.

If u worry about water sipping through, you may choose not to follow me. U can try CAI. CAI also can force in water through forced air flow vs car speed. The faster you go, the chances of water getting into the airbox is greater.

You try remove it and test it for few days. If u like it, u can do cosmetic make up like what am i doing. U can stick what ever colout of sticker u like.
arsenal
post Sep 3 2006, 10:01 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

i drove my fren gen2 just now,.....dunno why all the chicks lookin at me......when i drove my myvi..no chick lookin at me...:'(...
JasonKing
post Sep 3 2006, 10:43 PM

G-Unit
1,642 posts

hahaha.... this clearly show chicks dig gen2... anyway vexus thanks for the info but i will discuss more and find out more info before doing it... from what i know i dont think its advisable... thanks anyways..
andy
post Sep 3 2006, 10:45 PM

1,973 posts

shackks, any updates on the knn drop in? smile.gif
shackks
post Sep 4 2006, 09:17 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Sep 3 2006, 10:01 PM)
i drove my fren gen2 just now,.....dunno why all the chicks lookin at me......when i drove my myvi..no chick lookin at me...:'(...
It obvious bro... Gen2 is a HOT RIDE!!!! Pimp it up, and u'll made the chick wanting u. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(andy @ Sep 3 2006, 10:45 PM)
shackks, any updates on the knn drop in? 

bro, sorry for the delay. As the bulk purchase needed 5 or more orders to get that price, therefore, we are still waiting for confirmation of 2 persons on their interest.

They are the one still delaying the purchase.

Dun worry abt it... I'll update u on this the moment there's a new status on this, ya. Ain't worth spoiling my reps for RM1xx.00. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

130 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:13 AM