130 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

LYN Gen2 Club, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!

TSTHTgadgets.com
post Oct 28 2006, 02:16 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Oh ya, u were one of the original 2003 members (really long time here!)... How come so long inactive? The topics were not relevant to your liking? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ClieNut Gadget Freak: Oct 28 2006, 02:16 AM
shackks
post Oct 28 2006, 08:52 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Oct 28 2006, 12:10 AM)
thanks for the advice, shackks.. i'll stop using it..

btw, clienut.. does the momo steering suits the dashboard? mind 2 take a pic? bcz i'm wondering will mine suit cz u know, our car's dashboard colour is kind of weird tongue.gif

dudez.. do u think rm163 for iridium plugz is worth o not? g2c used 2 haf a bulk but wat was the bulk price ah? he! he! smile.gif
yeap, in fact, momo/sparco looks better. suits the sporty image of the car.

Frankly, i found a cheaper source for the iridium plugz which only cost like RM15x but dunno still got or not lor. now no money to buy coz spent a quite a big amt on a new Dopod 818 when my second hp went dead on me cry.gif and also some emergency which was my Project Jenn2 was given a stop order by my gf. So now, need to fill back my saving account. hahahaha

So matt, if there's still available, go for it. biggrin.gif

mattchin
post Oct 28 2006, 01:47 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

cheaper by rm10+- ain't realli a problem larhh.. tongue.gif i was juz finding my way 2 a cheaper solution than the iridium.. cz "pacer" mentioned about the autolite but i'm not sure if it's worth o not.. cz let say if rm120 and iridium is rm160 and the power difference is relli something, y not go for iridium.. headaching now.. rclxub.gif

sad 2 hear that u r retrieving urself from the project cry.gif hope that u will b back 4 more.. tongue.gif
shackks
post Oct 28 2006, 01:51 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Oct 28 2006, 01:47 PM)
cheaper by rm10+- ain't realli a problem larhh.. tongue.gif i was juz finding my way 2 a cheaper solution than the iridium.. cz "pacer" mentioned about the autolite but i'm not sure if it's worth o not.. cz let say if rm120 and iridium is rm160 and the power difference is relli something, y not go for iridium.. headaching now.. rclxub.gif
well, not to say that pacer's review wasn't that valid, but then, the iridium are more "accomplished" where Gen2s are concerned. Lotz of them using this n the number increases as we speak, so, y not just go for it after all, the RM40 aren't much a big gap.

cheers.
pacer
post Oct 29 2006, 12:16 AM

618 posts

hi... i am back...

well shackks, try iridium out if u got a good price on it, i know that i am going to try it out the next time i change the plugs. wanna see how it feels too. i got my autolites for abt RM100. and also pls don compare autolite DOUBLE PLATINUM with other platinum becoz autolite has both electrode and tip in platinum, while others only has the tip in platinum

but from my experience on my previous ride. platinum dont last but performs better than irridium. irridium on the other hand can last long but not as good as platinums performance wise. however both of course are better than stock la rclxm9.gif

cheers mate
mattchin
post Oct 29 2006, 02:39 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

yo bros..

to make it simple.. i'm searching something that draws less power and produce better burning.. o is there no such thing.. biggrin.gif

and.. thw word don't last (for platinum) as in how many KMs of journey?

tQ, bros.. smile.gif
sleepwalker
post Oct 29 2006, 10:51 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(pacer @ Oct 29 2006, 12:16 AM)
hi... i am back...

well shackks, try iridium out if u got a good price on it, i know that i am going to try it out the next time i change the plugs. wanna see how it feels too. i got my autolites for abt RM100. and also pls don compare autolite DOUBLE PLATINUM with other platinum becoz autolite has both electrode and tip in platinum, while others only has the tip in platinum

but from my experience on my previous ride. platinum dont last but performs better than irridium. irridium on the other hand can last long but not as good as platinums performance wise. however both of course are better than stock la  rclxm9.gif

cheers mate
Dude, do you have the dyno charts to show the performance difference? A reputable spark plug manufacturer will never claim that Platinum will out perform Iridium or vice versa. Actually they all provide the same performance and the Platinum and Iridium plugs just last longer and take more punishment than regular plugs. Check out NGK website and their claims on so called 'Racing' spark plugs. They've mentioned that there's no such thing as performance gains but rather increased durability of the so called 'racing' plugs to handle punishment.

Of course we have the smaller players out there claiming XX percent amount increase in power which we all know is just a load of crap.
JasonKing
post Oct 29 2006, 10:55 AM

G-Unit
1,642 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Oct 29 2006, 02:39 AM)
yo bros..

to make it simple.. i'm searching something that draws less power and produce better burning.. o is there no such thing.. biggrin.gif

and.. thw word don't last (for platinum) as in how many KMs of journey?

tQ, bros.. smile.gif
bro change ur coil... it really works....
mattchin
post Oct 29 2006, 07:09 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

ha! ha!.. wat's a coil..? biggrin.gif

forgive me for my noobness.. notworthy.gif
pacer
post Oct 29 2006, 08:20 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Oct 29 2006, 10:51 AM)
Dude, do you have the dyno charts to show the performance difference? A reputable spark plug manufacturer will never claim that Platinum will out perform Iridium or vice versa. Actually they all provide the same performance and the Platinum and Iridium plugs just last longer and take more punishment than regular plugs. Check out NGK website and their claims on so called 'Racing' spark plugs. They've mentioned that there's no such thing as performance gains but rather increased durability of the so called 'racing' plugs to handle punishment.

Of course we have the smaller players out there claiming XX percent amount increase in power which we all know is just a load of crap.
hi
first of all i did not say that "A reputable spark plug manufacturer will never claim that Platinum will out perform Iridium or vice versa",
of course they will never claim coz the increase is minimal(1-5hp on engine is barely felt, less if its a turbo). i said through my experience with my previous ride that is what i FELT performance wise was through engine smoothness and free revving character. sorry for the confusion

no2. u said "They've mentioned that there's no such thing as performance gains but rather increased durability of the so called 'racing' plugs to handle punishment".
what is racing plugs made of? let me tell u about racing plugs... its a load of crap. u know where HKS racing plugs come from? yes i agree that plugs are made with better materials to reduce wear, but dont u think different materials can produce a better and cleaner spark? thus giving a smoother engine. if this is not the case then why do manufacturers come out with iridium and platinum that last longer? isnt it better for then to keep producing normal plugs and keep the profits coming?

no3. "Of course we have the smaller players out there claiming XX percent amount increase in power which we all know is just a load of crap."
Know your products my friend!!
i of course got no dyno result to show here and now. but since u say that there will be no difference in performance gains, then how do u explain the volker iridium dyno chart by speedworks. (and that is true becoz i got a friend who drives a waja with the same 3HP increase that was dynoed at speedworks which i have seen with my own eyes)
i would not say its a load of crap but these minimal incrase its nothing to shout about. maybe they should market it in a different way (maybe market it for better engine smoothness perhaps)

mattchin,
platinum usually last abt 40K km, while stock will be ard 20K, iridium on the other hand is ard 80K

*edit
mattchin,
coil is the thing that the plug cables are connected to at the other end of the spark plugs. (in simple terms at least), but sometimes there are variations like coil on plug design.

This post has been edited by pacer: Oct 29 2006, 08:50 PM
mattchin
post Oct 29 2006, 08:50 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

oooh.. ok ok.. i think i understand..

so after changing the coil.. wat effect do i geT? and what should i change to? how much will it roughly cost?

tQ tQ .. smile.gif
pacer
post Oct 29 2006, 08:53 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Oct 29 2006, 08:50 PM)
oooh.. ok ok.. i think i understand..

so after changing the coil.. wat effect do i geT? and what should i change to? how much will it roughly cost?

tQ tQ .. smile.gif
after changing ur coil of course u will get a bigger spark (if its a better coil la laugh.gif) and thus increase in power significantly.

better ask someone who had done it in more detail, i have not done it in a gen2 smile.gif,
mattchin
post Oct 29 2006, 09:13 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

thx bro..

i've done some reading from g2c regarding the coil.. other than the 4g63 is there other alternative? o is there new parts rather than chop shop stuffs? this coil thing sounds very interesting cz it seems 2 b fuel saving and faster acceleration as mentioned by a forummer in g2c.. drool.gif
shackks
post Oct 29 2006, 11:04 PM

1,777 posts

wanna ask... is a coil equivalent to the distributor of a carburetor??
mattchin
post Oct 30 2006, 12:32 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

i don think so.. it looks something like this..

(adopted it from g2c)

eng98
post Oct 30 2006, 01:26 AM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

hey matt... folks from g2c advice change the coil from a 4g63 engine?

mattchin
post Oct 30 2006, 07:49 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

4g63 is it evo engine? what about vr4?
JasonKing
post Oct 30 2006, 11:10 AM

G-Unit
1,642 posts

all mitsu coils from evo 1 to 3 can use....my friend just install his coil is 4g61... got difference in FC , enjine smoothness, and when u rev till red line enjine still smooth...
mattchin
post Oct 30 2006, 12:31 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

yo.. bro..

how much would it roughly cosT? i saw 1 in the forum it is from vr4.. but i'm not sure if it is evo o not and also not sure can use in my gen2..

*edit: how much did u get urs for? and what model it is? tQ tQ notworthy.gif i am so so so interested wif this mod now.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mattchin: Oct 30 2006, 01:32 PM
shackks
post Oct 30 2006, 01:36 PM

1,777 posts

bro matt, y dun u go ask ethan or vexus to get u a coil.. then u won't be so troubled to which coil to get lor...

130 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0220sec    1.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:36 PM