130 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

LYN Gen2 Club, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!

TSTHTgadgets.com
post Oct 12 2006, 11:47 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

I think my car has a slight problem with the brake pedal... Not the functionality though, but its just that whenever i step on the pedal, the brakelight will not go off... How come can kena such a problem 1?

Previously, this problem also came about during the first few weeks upon collecting the car but it went away after that... The non-turning off brakelight resurfaced today actually...
pacer
post Oct 12 2006, 11:47 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(JasonKing @ Oct 12 2006, 11:38 PM)
10 k that was recommended by ethan in gen2 club obviously not everyone gonna do at 10k bro this was Recommended only... What do u mean by port matching bro?
who recomend? an engine engineer? a mechanic? a worksop? a tuner?
seriously la, dont wast money every 10K, its just crap talk, do u see evo, impreza, etc do that? or do u see in any other car forums that recomend this 10K cleaning? if every 50K then maybe but 10K its just ridicules smile.gif

sorry for the harsh words but just dont want bros here to waste hard earned $

anyway
port matching is to match the intake manifold runners to the engine head, and also the intake manifold to the throttle body. this will help reduce the tubulance of air entering the engine. it is not porting and making it bigger but just enuf to make ot the same as the engine head

cheers

This post has been edited by pacer: Oct 12 2006, 11:52 PM
JasonKing
post Oct 13 2006, 12:11 AM

G-Unit
1,642 posts

ethan recommended...dont know whether his an enjine engineer or what so ever tongue.gif only thing i know his one of the sifus in Gen2club forum.... sweat.gif

anyway thanks for ur info bro....i thought polishing also does the same thing... which is help reduce the tubulance of air entering the engine... guess its PORT AND POLISH for me.... smile.gif
JasonKing
post Oct 13 2006, 12:15 AM

G-Unit
1,642 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Oct 12 2006, 11:47 PM)
I think my car has a slight problem with the brake pedal... Not the functionality though, but its just that whenever i step on the pedal, the brakelight will not go off... How come can kena such a problem 1?

Previously, this problem also came about during the first few weeks upon collecting the car but it went away after that... The non-turning off brakelight resurfaced today actually...
hmm really dont know about this bro...never experience this before....but the easy reply would be to take it to SC laugh.gif anyway hope u do it ASAP if the thing comes on most of the time u battery sure gone case.....
TSTHTgadgets.com
post Oct 13 2006, 12:16 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Yups, but this apparently happened after i changed my worn-out brake pads... Previously the brake lights were doing fine... Dunno whether this came about after the pads were replaced?

Anyway i should send the car back to the accessory center for them to double-check...
pacer
post Oct 13 2006, 12:22 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(JasonKing @ Oct 13 2006, 12:11 AM)
ethan recommended...dont know whether his an enjine engineer or what so ever tongue.gif  only thing i know his one of the sifus in Gen2club forum....  sweat.gif

anyway thanks for ur info bro....i thought polishing also does the same thing... which is help reduce the tubulance of air entering the engine... guess its PORT AND POLISH for me.... smile.gif
no problem bro, just wanna clarify la. come on la, to take out the intake maniflod can cost ard rm100 then cleaning will be another rm50. on top of that the half day to a day spent to do it. do it every 10K will actually make car mantainence high. 50K then okla.

moreover a thin layer of oil in the manifold is does not do harm, only if
1. its on the throttle body,
2. on the injectors or
3. in vapourise form

no 1 can be done easily by removing the throttle body and cleaning it together with the outer part of the intke maniflod
no 2 can be done be injector cleaning or decarbonizing
no 3 can be done by putting in an OCT

to prevent the throttle body form getting dirty, u can also put a breather mini filter on the connecting pipe from the intake hose (seal the intake hose)

hope this helps
pacer
post Oct 13 2006, 12:24 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Oct 13 2006, 12:16 AM)
Yups, but this apparently happened after i changed my worn-out brake pads... Previously the brake lights were doing fine... Dunno whether this came about after the pads were replaced?

Anyway i should send the car back to the accessory center for them to double-check...
huh??? tongue.gif
JasonKing
post Oct 13 2006, 12:27 AM

G-Unit
1,642 posts

QUOTE(pacer @ Oct 13 2006, 12:22 AM)
no problem bro, just wanna clarify la. come on la, to take out the intake maniflod can cost ard rm100 then cleaning will be another rm50. on top of that the half day to a day spent to do it. do it every 10K will actually make car mantainence high. 50K then okla.

moreover a thin layer of oil in the manifold is does not do harm, only if
1. its on the throttle body,
2. on the injectors or
3. in vapourise form

no 1 can be done easily by removing the throttle body and cleaning it together with the outer part of the intke maniflod
no 2 can be done be injector cleaning or decarbonizing
no 3 can be done by putting in an OCT

to prevent the throttle body form getting dirty, u can also put a breather mini filter on the connecting pipe from the intake hose (seal the intake hose)

hope this helps
bro as mention in my previous post i scared to the DIY OCT but shackss has help me but im still not so confident...anyway will try the mini filter thing... do u have a pic bro of ur OCT and minifilter....
TSTHTgadgets.com
post Oct 13 2006, 12:33 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(pacer @ Oct 13 2006, 12:24 AM)
huh???  tongue.gif
Well, it could be something to do with the connection between the brake pedal and light... Something could be loose, causing the non-switch off of the lights after taking my foot off the pedal... Sorry for the confusion ya! laugh.gif
pacer
post Oct 13 2006, 12:36 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(JasonKing @ Oct 13 2006, 12:27 AM)
bro as mention in my previous post i scared to the DIY OCT but shackss has help me but im still not so confident...anyway will try the mini filter thing... do u have a pic bro of ur OCT and minifilter....
i not having DIY OCT now, but last time i used pertrol filter.
actually easy
1. on the engine cover got 2 hoses. from the front of the car the intake is right and the manifold side is right... ok......

the one on the right.
1. disconnect the intake hose part.
2. plug the intake hose (i took a screw and put electrical tape ard it tongue.gif
3. with the exposed hose then put in a breather (mini flter) and u are done smile.gif

the left side
1. feel the hose till u get to the part that connects to the intake manifold
2. pull it out, and then stick a pertol filter to it (make sure the flow is correct,flow into the maniflod)
3. errr, this should be earlier, buy another hose 8mm fuel hose is good, to put it on the other side of the petrol filter and connect it to the intake manifold. and u are done.. smile.gif

some ppl may ask: by putting the breather, dont more air flow into the head through vacuum? yes, cool air flows in and this will help the cooling effect (less oil evapouration) and u got OCT with a filter so don be afraid of contaminants entering ur engine smile.gif

good luck
pacer
post Oct 13 2006, 12:38 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Oct 13 2006, 12:33 AM)
Well, it could be something to do with the connection between the brake pedal and light... Something could be loose, causing the non-switch off of the lights after taking my foot off the pedal... Sorry for the confusion ya! laugh.gif
oh... haha, normal la, all cars also like that esp highly tuned cars like ours tongue.gif
if no time to go acc shop
just see under the dash u got a small switch that is for the brake lights, can adjust it till ngam ngam no lights then it should be ok. smile.gif
TSTHTgadgets.com
post Oct 13 2006, 12:41 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Ya kah... Where exactly is it located under the Gen2 dash? And how will that help in removing the non-switch off brake light, just curious?

This post has been edited by ClieNut Gadget Freak: Oct 13 2006, 12:42 AM
pacer
post Oct 13 2006, 12:48 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Oct 13 2006, 12:41 AM)
Ya kah... Where exactly is it located under the Gen2 dash? And how will that help in removing the non-switch off brake light, just curious?
i dunno if it is the same for gen2 and other cars or not, but u can try la,(i have not kena b4, haha), so have not study it b4, but for other cars is like this:

see the brake pedal, just above it (under the dash), should have a on off switch to activate and deactivate the brake lights. this switch is adjustable (usually screw type), so just adjust that switch.
TSTHTgadgets.com
post Oct 13 2006, 12:54 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Oh ic, so this will at least ensure that the stepping of the pedal will keep the lights off when the foot is removed? I can try but to be on the safe side, its best for me to send the car back to the shop for a check...

Thanks for the tip though, pacer! thumbup.gif
pacer
post Oct 13 2006, 01:05 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Oct 13 2006, 12:54 AM)
Oh ic, so this will at least ensure that the stepping of the pedal will keep the lights off when the foot is removed? I can try but to be on the safe side, its best for me to send the car back to the shop for a check...

Thanks for the tip though, pacer! thumbup.gif
yup, its just a switch
its an on off switch only, relase the pedal then it goes off, press the pedal it goes on.

better take to shop la since u just change brake pads, who knows what other things it might be smile.gif hahaha

This post has been edited by pacer: Oct 13 2006, 01:06 AM
TSTHTgadgets.com
post Oct 13 2006, 01:13 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

True true... But i think it should be something with the pedal... The braking itself is doing fine, just that the non-switching off lights can be a worry in daylight... I don't want to have a konk battery just because of that! biggrin.gif
mattchin
post Oct 13 2006, 03:35 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

any of ur guys smoke the head lamp? is it expensive 2 do so?
eng98
post Oct 13 2006, 03:46 AM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

headlamp ah... better use the money to do angel eye smile.gif

btw... manual gen2 owner.... i just read about the clutch thread den only remind me of... did u guys adjust the height of ur clutch??i tried my cousin clutch... he did the adjustmebt until nicely... herm.... feel very easy to drive when take off..... like driving a wira... smile.gif if i go adjust outside.. will it damage my clutch plate??

This post has been edited by eng98: Oct 13 2006, 03:47 AM
shackks
post Oct 13 2006, 08:34 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(JasonKing @ Oct 13 2006, 12:27 AM)
bro, dun waste ur time doing that DIY OCT. itz full of crap and in the end of the day, you'll waste more money than u shud.

remove ur intakes parts then u'll understand how the piping shud goes... sitting here relying on pix ain't help much.

clienut,
there's a switch just under the brake pedal. check on it... alternatively, visually check the brake caliper after u brake and see if itz release... do it when ur brake disc has cooled down.

cheers.
shackks
post Oct 13 2006, 08:35 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Oct 13 2006, 03:35 AM)
any of ur guys smoke the head lamp? is it expensive 2 do so?
waddya mean by smoke??
blacken the inside of the headlamp or tint the headlamp?

130 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:56 AM