LYN Gen2 Club, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!
TSTHTgadgets.com
Jul 29 2006, 09:53 PM
My Gen2 got bumped today! It happened when i was on the way to 1U and going to pass the TTDI exit... Suddenly, there was a loud bang and my car jerked violently twice! I parked the car by the roadside and went out to check... Behind me was a Kancil that had a badly damaged front (obviously that car was the one that hit my rear)... However, behind the Kancil were three other cars including a Wira with a completely gone-case front (the main perpetrator as a passing driver told me to take down the Wira no. plate - speeding very fast and couldn't stop in time)... What amazed me was that the Gen2's rear only kena damage to the boot as well as some scratches and small dents on the rear bumper... Considering that the car got hit twice, the damage sustained was quite minor (the Kancil front was banged in, actually)... Its good to see that Proton actually improved the durability of the Gen2 until it is able to stand such hard impact, thank goodness! I have to send the car for repairs and make police report tomw though... Have to go through the inconvenience in the coming days!
JasonKing
Jul 29 2006, 10:12 PM
really sorry to hear that bro... im sure ur model has the metal protector in the bumper... thats y not much damage...
TSTHTgadgets.com
Jul 29 2006, 10:15 PM
Thanks a lot mate... Luckily me and my occupants (including my mum, aunt, and cus... wow, they were shocked!) did not suffer injury and the car was not so badly damaged unliked the others...
This post has been edited by ClieNut Gadget Freak: Jul 29 2006, 10:16 PM
EpsilonStar
Jul 29 2006, 10:43 PM
rear bumper usually very hard 1 leh... last time i hit an iswara with my old toyota corolla, my headlight gone, hood bents up 30 degree... tat iswara just a scratch... no dent at all....
mattchin
Jul 29 2006, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Jul 29 2006, 10:15 PM) Thanks a lot mate... Luckily me and my occupants (including my mum, aunt, and cus... wow, they were shocked!) did not suffer injury and the car was not so badly damaged unliked the others... dude.. u sound happy to bang ur car.. ha! ha!  .. anyway.. i feel sad for ur car..
navigator
Jul 30 2006, 11:10 AM
So, the G2C is down currently? aw man.... Clienut, sad to hear your car's accident. BTW where did u sent for repair?
I suggest Sec13 SC as they have full range of tools & skills for body repair
JasonKing
Jul 30 2006, 12:28 PM
yeah still down ... wonder what they doing??
TSTHTgadgets.com
Jul 30 2006, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(navigator @ Jul 30 2006, 11:10 AM) So, the G2C is down currently? aw man.... Clienut, sad to hear your car's accident. BTW where did u sent for repair? I suggest Sec13 SC as they have full range of tools & skills for body repair Well, i will be making a police report in a short while... Hmmm, i can consider the Sec. 13 Edar SC as its near both my house and office (i stay in SS2, btw)... But how about outside workshops, pref. PIAM-approved ones? And yeah, the rear bumper is indeed a tough-nut... The car is still driveable although the boot area has a large dent...
JasonKing
Jul 30 2006, 03:18 PM
please let us know how much it cost to repair... was any of ur lights damaged???
vexus
Jul 30 2006, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(JasonKing @ Jul 30 2006, 12:28 PM) yeah still down ... wonder what they doing?? over bandwidth kua. Because so many new topic n many many high MP photo.
rcracer
Jul 30 2006, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Jul 30 2006, 12:54 PM) Well, i will be making a police report in a short while... Hmmm, i can consider the Sec. 13 Edar SC as its near both my house and office (i stay in SS2, btw)... But how about outside workshops, pref. PIAM-approved ones? And yeah, the rear bumper is indeed a tough-nut... The car is still driveable although the boot area has a large dent... Send it back to SC to do, outside workshops are real snakes eventhough they are on the panel of a billion insurance companies. With SC anything they do is not satisfactory you can complain.
JasonKing
Jul 30 2006, 11:05 PM
yeah better to send to sc... at least u know everypart that need changing is ori... outside u dont have that guarantee and u cant trust this guys
TSTHTgadgets.com
Jul 30 2006, 11:21 PM
Thanks for info... I should be sending it to one of the SC, not too sure which one though... But the Sec. 13 one is convenient...
larc
Jul 31 2006, 02:08 AM
if u send it back to SC..the parts wont cost u a bomb but the spray will..just get the SC to get the ori bodyparts & take it out to spray at ur own paintshop
shackks
Jul 31 2006, 08:24 AM
Clienut, sorry to hear that ur G2 is bumped... Anyway, consoled that the damage is minor and nobody is hurt.
Howver, I believe that your rear bumper "bounced back" to itz original shape after being hit. thatz y u heard the second bang and ur bumper just suffer a few scratches. i may be wrong tho... but then, bumper may have such "character".
cheers.
eone
Jul 31 2006, 09:19 AM
damn, my car got bird droping mark, anyone know how to remove it? after i wipe out the shit, seems the paint bumped.. and colorized to a bit golden..
TSTHTgadgets.com
Jul 31 2006, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(shackks @ Jul 31 2006, 08:24 AM) Clienut, sorry to hear that ur G2 is bumped... Anyway, consoled that the damage is minor and nobody is hurt. Howver, I believe that your rear bumper "bounced back" to itz original shape after being hit. thatz y u heard the second bang and ur bumper just suffer a few scratches. i may be wrong tho... but then, bumper may have such "character". cheers. Thanks a lot mate... I think u have a point there, as the bumper remained as it is with some scratches and misallignment (from the rear, it has come out of position slightly) but the boot was dented... The dent and realignment will take some time to do, that's for sure! As for cost, i have yet to send the car to the SC because the Sergeant @ PJ Police HQ will only be in on Tuesday... Once this is completed (report has been made though), i should be able to drive to the w/shop for an estimate...
shackks
Jul 31 2006, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(eone @ Jul 31 2006, 09:19 AM) damn, my car got bird droping mark, anyone know how to remove it? after i wipe out the shit, seems the paint bumped.. and colorized to a bit golden.. dun wipe away. use water to spray it away. the best is to wash it with water and soap completely. hope itz help. p.s. seems like birds like to drop their business on my car to..
rcracer
Jul 31 2006, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(eone @ Jul 31 2006, 09:19 AM) damn, my car got bird droping mark, anyone know how to remove it? after i wipe out the shit, seems the paint bumped.. and colorized to a bit golden.. Wash away with water and wax the area , bird dropings are very acidic and eats through paint very fast. QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Jul 31 2006, 09:41 AM) Thanks a lot mate... I think u have a point there, as the bumper remained as it is with some scratches and misallignment (from the rear, it has come out of position slightly) but the boot was dented... The dent and realignment will take some time to do, that's for sure! As for cost, i have yet to send the car to the SC because the Sergeant @ PJ Police HQ will only be in on Tuesday... Once this is completed (report has been made though), i should be able to drive to the w/shop for an estimate... Since you've already made a police report i assume you are making an insurance claim too since being bumped from behind makes you the victim, cost is then the insurance company's problem, make sure it's a good SC or whorkshop.
TSTHTgadgets.com
Jul 31 2006, 01:06 PM
Yups, i should be making a third party claim... Of all things i was the innocent victim who kena bumped from behind... And as for the SC, i should be getting the car fixed at the EON Kepong...