16 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V23, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

raymondtong94
post Apr 8 2014, 05:24 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(elvatra @ Apr 8 2014, 04:45 PM)
Hi all sifus,
any recommendation on below requirement?

1. Preferred Brand : any brand will do except acer and dell. have bad experience..
2. Budget : 3.5k budget
3. Usage : a)heavy programming purpose. mostly on web programming. nd a fast laptop
                b)  nd 2 years warranty if hv any
                c) original window license.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : not more than 14" or 15"
take this :

MSI
GP60-2OD-034MY, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB
GP60-2PE-026MY, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT840M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM3299[Dynaudio], 4GB, 1TB HDD, W8.1

a programmer will benefit full HD screen and a decent quad core processor but the graphics card may be not useful. sweat.gif
prices in RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Apr 8 2014, 05:55 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(elvatra @ Apr 8 2014, 05:47 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Thanks bro. this spec suite me.  i was thinking going for lenovo Y510P as offer 8GB ram.... but ram can be upgrade as this spec is much more better.
i was about to recommend Lenovo Y510P as well but i noticed that you arent using the laptop for gaming, so my 2nd thought is the MSI.
although the RAM is 4GB, like you said, it can be upgraded. thumbup.gif

good luck on your purchase. biggrin.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 8 2014, 08:39 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(soullsllayer @ Apr 8 2014, 07:53 PM)
guys,how to check whether a seller is an authorized reseller?
for lenovo biggrin.gif
doh.gif
there are plenty of them, those with physical shops or reputable ones are much more as an authorized reseller.
raymondtong94
post Apr 8 2014, 09:01 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(soullsllayer @ Apr 8 2014, 08:48 PM)
icic.erm im quite new here.what does the stars mean?under the name.
do u consider versace as an authorized reseller?
cause his stars are not so many tongue.gif
the stars means nothing. its just an essential rating for those whom posted a lot (or peoples whom spammed a lot).
and yes, versace is an authorized reseller. he has a physical shop at lowyat plaza.
raymondtong94
post Apr 10 2014, 01:21 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(s30ckf @ Apr 10 2014, 12:28 AM)
Any good seller in Low Yat Plaza that can offer good bundled package for notebook to recommend?
bundled package as in? hmm.gif
from what i know, they only bundled the bag pack, keyboard and mouse is another story.

try visit Viewnet, Jayacom, C-Zone or PC Zone. they may have better offers. smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 10 2014, 01:32 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Pistolmanik @ Apr 10 2014, 01:12 AM)
Sup fellas!

1. Preferred Brand : Anything!

2. Budget : RM 2500 - 3500

3. Usage : University (Mechanical Engineering..presentation, project work, CAD program and also programming, and maybe some light video editing for projects), light gaming/Indie games to ease my mind like Don't Starve, Bastion etc., watching movies, listening to songs.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : I would like a laptop that gets the job done in portability scenarios. Mostly I will bring it around campus, use it as a study material in libraries and maybe it will become and entertainment system when I'm on board a plane..so I will need a laptop that has a long battery life, slim and not give a lot of noise and heating. I don't really need perfect speakers because I will mostly use headphones. Screen size can be anything in between the 'not too small and not too big' category. If possible..NO GLOSS!
not too big and not too small, i assume you might want something around 15inch. you can take advantage of one of the latest multimedia power horse. smile.gif

MSI
GP60-2PE-026MY, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT840M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM3299[Dynaudio], 4GB, 1TB HDD, W8.1

or if you want a more battery efficient (but a little weaker processor for your productive assignments and no anti-glare) :

Dell
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

you will benefit the full HD screen of both laptops a lot since you do CAD and programming projects. it also benefits your movie experience, while the speakers for both laptops are from decent manufacturers (although you dont need it). nod.gif
prices in RRP and negotiable.

EDIT : dayum sifu TJ mentioned the same laptops! tongue.gif i suppose he was sleeping at this time. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Apr 10 2014, 01:33 AM
raymondtong94
post Apr 10 2014, 11:05 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 10 2014, 10:06 AM)
Was playing Bioshock Infinite  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
dayum, that game, i wanna play. tongue.gif

QUOTE(lxying @ Apr 10 2014, 10:53 AM)
Thanks! =D Considering 15" 'cause it's for my dad who prefers a larger screen.
Any Asus to recommend?
if you willing to take risk for poor warranty support :

ASUS
X552LD-SX208/209D, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT820M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 1 year
raymondtong94
post Apr 11 2014, 12:20 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(qwerty93617 @ Apr 11 2014, 11:47 AM)
Actually what's the difference with N550"JV" or N550"JK"?, and also the "CN026H" or "CN077H" behind all those code. Thanks!
N550JV - older model with GT750M DDR3 graphics
N550JK - latest model with GTX850M DDR3 graphics

the code resembles the variant of the specific model but since there is only one model of N550JV and N550JK available, so dont bother about that.
raymondtong94
post Apr 11 2014, 06:14 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(jinjoll89 @ Apr 11 2014, 02:58 PM)
Preferred brand : Any, as long warranty support good. Asus preferred
Budget : Below 4k if possible, top-up 500+-
Usage : gaming like LOL,star-craft 2,diablo 3, warfare,crysis3, photo editing, photoshop, website edit.
Screen size : At least 15

Not rushing to buy, can wait at least 2months if got better one coming soon.. Doing survey and saving now, thanks all sifu.
Illegear
RE-15, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3499[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

i would recommend Illegear due to customizable, decent cooling system and great service. if you wait for 2 months, im sure illegear will have latest generation GTX800M series released. biggrin.gif
price in RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Apr 12 2014, 09:31 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(lowyat_hp @ Apr 11 2014, 10:35 PM)
Hello guys, i've been looking for a new laptop for a while now. Will be using it mainly for work, such as office applications, cad, and occasional photoshop usage. Need something that is portable and not hence must not be too heavy. I've shortlisted the following models for now:-
- Thinkpad T440p
- Thinkpad S440
- Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
- HP Zbook 14
- Dell Latitude E7440

From the above list, which will be the best option to go for? Hope to get some advice or opinion on this.

Thanks guys.
among the laptops you listed, my vote goes for HP Zbook 14 and select the spec that comes with the AMD Firepro graphics card. it is very beneficial for your cad usage.

but if lets say your cad usage isnt very intense, you can go for Lenovo Thinkpad T440P. best to go for this spec :

Lenovo ThinkPad T440, i7-4200U + Nvidia GT720M (1600x900) + 16GB mSATA + 1TB HDD@RM4799, 8GB, W7P+W8P, 2x (3-cell), 3 years
raymondtong94
post Apr 12 2014, 09:34 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(lov3light @ Apr 12 2014, 12:51 AM)
hi sifus, helping another friend to ask .
1. Preferred Brand:asus/lenovo
2. Budget:1.8k-2kmax
3. Usage:normal usage,doing assignment,little gaming like fb game/cs
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:14 inch and light weight.

Is A450CC-WX123H-White still available? or have new version of it?so this laptop suitable for her?
maybe still available at Lowyat. not sure about it or you can go for this instead :

Lenovo S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB, DOS; W8.1@RM1999

price in RRP and negotiable. icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 12 2014, 09:37 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(dream321 @ Apr 12 2014, 01:38 AM)
Preferred brand : any...as long as quality and durability is good
Budget : RM2-2.5k
Usage: normal use,some gaming
QUOTE(syamil6995 @ Apr 12 2014, 08:57 AM)
hi sifus, 
1. Budget:2k-2.6kmax
2. Usage:for design, n gaming

Thank for yur help..
same budget and same usage, so try look at this :

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699

it should be enough for your usage. icon_rolleyes.gif
price in RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Apr 12 2014, 10:26 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(lowyat_hp @ Apr 12 2014, 09:40 AM)
You mean the T440 or T440p? Those 2 are around the same price range but the performance for the T440p should be slightly better as it comes with an M processor and GT730M. But T440 will be lighter and more portable.

The reviews for the Zbook 14 is generally quite good but I've not seen it in real life before, hence not too sure how's the experience of the keyboard and touchpad. Specs wise it's quite good though.
both the T440 and T440p sports about the same weight (albeit 0.1lb lighter on the T440p) but T440 will be more power efficient due to the ULV processor used.

actually, i hardly saw a workstation laptop, as it is very rare and less resellers selling it so i dont even know how does it perform in real life.
raymondtong94
post Apr 12 2014, 11:07 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(lowyat_hp @ Apr 12 2014, 10:55 AM)
The T440 is actually the lighter one at about 1.8kg as it is dubbed as an ultra book. But at that size and weight it doesn't really feels like one. The T440p is heavier at around 2.2kg, but overall specs is on par or better than the T440, weight will be the main downside.

Not too sure is 2.2kg ok for constant travelling, sounds a bit heavy nowadays, lol.
i'd suggest to go for lighter ones if you constantly travel, or it will be really pain in the ass.
another alternative way is keep do shoulder work outs to strengthen your shoulder, so you can be a tough guy. laugh.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 12 2014, 11:27 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Juni0r007 @ Apr 12 2014, 10:08 AM)
Sifus! pls guide me.

1. Preferred Brand: any brand
2. Budget: 2.3k - 2.5k (additional 350 for ssd)
3. Usage: Programming (PHP, MySQL, VB.net, Eclipse(android dev) Dota2 and movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15"
Lenovo
Z510, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs, color: white

MSI
CX61-2PC, i5-4200M + Nvidia 820M@RM2199, 4GB, 750GB, anti-glare, W8.1

these should be enough. prices in RRP and negotiable. smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 12 2014, 08:31 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nik1993 @ Apr 12 2014, 11:22 AM)
Budget 2k +/- RM 200 what model laptop I could get near with i7 third gen?
please follow the format on the 1st page.
raymondtong94
post Apr 14 2014, 10:45 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

waseh, sifu TJ really hard work. laugh.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 14 2014, 05:53 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Apr 14 2014, 04:48 PM)
oic oic! ty ty
was looking at dell site, i tot there is one more model call Vostro ?
if you can survive with the weak wifi range, you can go for it.
raymondtong94
post Apr 14 2014, 06:14 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Apr 14 2014, 06:13 PM)
oh? weak on wifi?
yeah but fixable if you manage to get a wifi receiver.
raymondtong94
post Apr 14 2014, 07:09 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(g1bber @ Apr 14 2014, 06:54 PM)
Thanks for your idea

However I looked around and brand new is more than 2k ?
the seller's price list isnt updated.
and mostly at this price, it isnt negotiable anymore.

16 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0485sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:49 AM