5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Apply for motorcycle license, B, B1 or B2?

TSFlamingFox
post Mar 16 2014, 09:18 PM, updated 12y ago

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Hi all, I'm planning to apply for motorcycle license and would like to seek your advice.

Currently, there are 3 licenses available:
B - Above 500cc
B1 - Above 250cc and not exceeding 500cc
B2 - Not exceeding 250cc

1. What are the prices for each?
2. How long does it take to get the license? Let's say pass the test on first try but weekends are my only time I can attend practices etc.
3. I have a D license, do I have to take the undang2 exam again?

I have only rode on a small scooter before (for 2-3 days) , wasn't very stable so I have like close to 0 experience. Should I just go for B2 license? I'm male, 170+ cm and weigh around 60kg, I'm not sure if I can handle bigger bikes. Later jatuh cannot pick it up, malu max haha

My plan is to get a 150cc bike like Yamaha Fz150 after I obtain my license and probably upgrade in the future. Have been driving a manual car for a few years now but would like to venture into the world of motorbikes.

Thanks!
jaylim94
post Mar 16 2014, 11:18 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Mar 16 2014, 09:18 PM)
Hi all, I'm planning to apply for motorcycle license and would like to seek your advice.

B - Above 500cc
B2 - Not exceeding 250cc

2. How long does it take to get the license? Let's say pass the test on first try but weekends are my only time I can attend practices etc.

I have only rode on a small scooter before (for 2-3 days) , wasn't very stable so I have like close to 0 experience. Should I just go for B2 license? I'm male, 170+ cm and weigh around 60kg, I'm not sure if I can handle bigger bikes. Later jatuh cannot pick it up, malu max haha

My plan is to get a 150cc bike like Yamaha Fz150 after I obtain my license and probably upgrade in the future. Have been driving a manual car for a few years now but would like to venture into the world of motorbikes.

Thanks!
If you're in CDL/PDL, dont need to take undang2 anymore, but better hurry before April. Heard that April will change the procedure for car and bike.

If you're still PDL, the P duration for bike will expired with your car. So if CDL already, after u pass the test then straight away upgrade to CDL.

If you dont plan to travel long journey (Eg. more than 100km), just get B2 is enuf. smile.gif

If i not mistaken, B2 - include L course and test (RM360)

FYI, after u get L you can ride the bike. icon_idea.gif

JonSpark
post Mar 16 2014, 11:38 PM

ai shiteru
4,894 posts

QUOTE(jaylim94 @ Mar 16 2014, 11:18 PM)
If you're in CDL/PDL, dont need to take undang2 anymore, but better hurry before April. Heard that April will change the procedure for car and bike.

If you're still PDL, the P duration for bike will expired with your car. So if CDL already, after u pass the test then straight away upgrade to CDL.

If you dont plan to travel long journey (Eg. more than 100km), just get B2 is enuf. smile.gif

FYI, after u get L you can ride the bike.  icon_idea.gif
What changes?
jaylim94
post Mar 17 2014, 12:54 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Mar 16 2014, 11:38 PM)
What changes?
Sorry I not so sure, it is just rumors sweat.gif

But I get some official information.
Sauces

louyit
post Mar 17 2014, 10:03 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Mar 16 2014, 09:18 PM)

B - Above 500cc
B2 - Not exceeding 250cc

Thanks!
First of all, B1 is not available anymore, it's either B2 or B full. B2 would cost you about RM500 and B full about RM700, both type of package comes with a course to reactivate LDL (Learner's Driving License), practical at driving school's circuit, JPJ test, and CDL license (provided that u passed the test). How long does it take to get the license? You need to accumulate a total of 13 practical hours at driving school's circuit before you can register for test, so it depends on how much time can u commit for practice during weekends. I have a D license, do I have to take the undang2 exam again? No, you don't have to retake undang2 exam.

"I have only rode on a small scooter before (for 2-3 days) , wasn't very stable so I have like close to 0 experience. Should I just go for B2 license? I'm male, 170+ cm and weigh around 60kg, I'm not sure if I can handle bigger bikes. Later jatuh cannot pick it up, malu max haha"
I've seen a lady at 160cm+, estimated weight to be 50kg max, riding a Kawasaki Z800 (200kg+ bike), so I don't think that's a problem for you.

"My plan is to get a 150cc bike like Yamaha Fz150 after I obtain my license and probably upgrade in the future. Have been driving a manual car for a few years now but would like to venture into the world of motorbikes."
Get B Full, only if u're an enthusiast in big cc bikes, otherwise, B2 is good enough for you to ride bikes up to 250cc.

This post has been edited by louyit: Mar 17 2014, 10:04 AM
TSFlamingFox
post Mar 18 2014, 02:27 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

QUOTE(jaylim94 @ Mar 16 2014, 11:18 PM)

FYI, after u get L you can ride the bike.  icon_idea.gif
Based on the site given, seems like after April will be cheaper haha tongue.gif

QUOTE(louyit @ Mar 17 2014, 10:03 AM)
First of all, B1 is not available anymore, it's either B2 or B full. B2 would cost you about RM500 and B full about RM700, both type of package comes with a course to reactivate LDL (Learner's Driving License), practical at driving school's circuit, JPJ test, and CDL license (provided that u passed the test). How long does it take to get the license? You need to accumulate a total of 13 practical hours at driving school's circuit before you can register for test, so it depends on how much time can u commit for practice during weekends. I have a D license, do I have to take the undang2 exam again? No, you don't have to retake undang2 exam.

"I have only rode on a small scooter before (for 2-3 days) , wasn't very stable so I have like close to 0 experience. Should I just go for B2 license? I'm male, 170+ cm and weigh around 60kg, I'm not sure if I can handle bigger bikes. Later jatuh cannot pick it up, malu max haha"
I've seen a lady at 160cm+, estimated weight to be 50kg max, riding a Kawasaki Z800 (200kg+ bike), so I don't think that's a problem for you.

"My plan is to get a 150cc bike like Yamaha Fz150 after I obtain my license and probably upgrade in the future. Have been driving a manual car for a few years now but would like to venture into the world of motorbikes."
Get B Full, only if u're an enthusiast in big cc bikes, otherwise, B2 is good enough for you to ride bikes up to 250cc.
Wow very detailed explanation! Really appreciate it! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by FlamingFox: Mar 18 2014, 02:27 AM
SUSjolokia
post Mar 18 2014, 08:51 AM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

Never ride a bike before better take B2 license, later if u like then upgrade to B Full, as B full is big bike with clutch don't think you can handle it.

170cm no problem so long as you don't get those touring bike like Funduro or Super Tenere, my rule of thumb is so long both your leg can't touch the ground forget about it, can't tahan those fellow who need to find padestrian walk curb to rest of of their foot every time they stop at traffic. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jolokia: Mar 18 2014, 08:51 AM
free294u
post Mar 26 2014, 03:16 PM

24 posts

It is better to go straight for B license.

Take it from me. I have both B2 and D license. I got both cars and motorcycle. B2 although is easier, you will need to retake when you want to upgrade to better bike. A lot bike that are comfortable, stable (safer) and nice to ride are in higher cc. Furthermore some center charge B2 and B same price. So why do it twice (and pay twice) when things can be done once.

170 cm is no problem. Your height is average height. How to stop-rest is skill. There are plenty of video on youtube on how girls (that are short) riding bike and stop safely. Don't let that be psychological hindrance.
mADmAN
post Mar 26 2014, 03:39 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(free294u @ Mar 26 2014, 03:16 PM)
It is better to go straight for B license.

Take it from me. I have both B2 and D license. I got both cars and motorcycle. B2 although is easier, you will need to retake when you want to upgrade to better bike. A lot bike that are comfortable, stable (safer) and nice to ride are in higher cc. Furthermore some center charge B2 and B same price. So why do it twice (and pay twice) when things can be done once.

170 cm is no problem. Your height is average height. How to stop-rest is skill. There are plenty of video on youtube on how girls (that are short) riding bike and stop safely. Don't let that be psychological hindrance.
agree.... better to go straight for B Full especially if u plan to upgrade in the future.

i have both B and D.. have both cars and bikes.. and even though i went straight to B full... all my bikes have been kapcais only ahahhahaha.... but i NEVER have to worry about license.. i basically can ride any bike i want as long as they are street legal. and i also intend on upgrading end of this year kalau ada rezeki.
free294u
post Mar 26 2014, 11:33 PM

24 posts

I disagree. It is not how big the CC. It is how one ride the bike. If one ride safely, follow traffic rule and common sense the risk of accident reduce significantly.

Look at the Mat Rempit who do superman stunt on highway. Another example is simple waiting for red to turn green. I have seen so many biker just jump it. They are dangerous to themselves and other innocent road user.
TSFlamingFox
post Mar 27 2014, 09:11 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

QUOTE(wonggsamm @ Mar 26 2014, 09:52 PM)
Big cc motor bike are dangerous
I suggest 'L' is enough for u
What does big cc have to do with L? I thought B2 vs B full?

L will turn into P and finally turn into a normal driver's license.
mADmAN
post Mar 27 2014, 01:33 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Mar 27 2014, 09:11 AM)
What does big cc have to do with L? I thought B2 vs B full?

L will turn into P and finally turn into a normal driver's license.
with L u can actually ride any street legal bike regardless of cc....just that ur not allowed to carry passenger and u have to renew ur L license every 3 months...and also must hang/stick the L on the front and back of ur bike.

dont be surprised if u find alot of big bike riders using L license only... hahahahaha

anyway... some good news for u since u wanna take bike license.

http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles...ticle/?mutakhir
wirata_booken
post Jun 21 2015, 02:12 AM

72 posts

i'm interested on the B full.. and i only have D with me now...
calvin0808
post Dec 20 2019, 08:53 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 27 2014, 01:33 PM)
with L u can actually ride any street legal bike regardless of cc....just that ur not allowed to carry passenger and u have to renew ur L license every 3 months...and also must hang/stick the L on the front and back of ur bike.

dont be surprised if u find alot of big bike riders using L license only... hahahahaha

anyway... some good news for u since u wanna take bike license.

http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles...ticle/?mutakhir
Is this mean i can can just go JPJ and apply for B full L license and renew it unlimited?
Kaboku
post Dec 20 2019, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(calvin0808 @ Dec 20 2019, 08:53 AM)
Is this mean i can can just go JPJ and apply for B full L license and renew it unlimited?
U only have 2 years renewal for L license.
calvin0808
post Dec 20 2019, 09:45 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Kaboku @ Dec 20 2019, 09:29 AM)
U only have 2 years renewal for L license.
can i still able renew after expired?
flazeroth4th
post Dec 20 2019, 09:47 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(calvin0808 @ Dec 20 2019, 09:45 AM)
can i still able renew after expired?
can, need to retake class somemore and pay up.
calvin0808
post Dec 20 2019, 10:05 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(flazeroth4th @ Dec 20 2019, 09:47 AM)
can, need to retake class somemore and pay up.
I see...
Kaboku
post Dec 20 2019, 01:53 PM

Also most centers now will start to push u to take exam by 8-9 lessons.
Dreadlock13
post Dec 20 2019, 05:14 PM

480 posts

B full is about RM 750 OR RM 660 if you go to JPJ to reactivate L license your self

if you have L (meaning you already have a car or motorcycle license )
all you need to do is go to JPJ pay RM 20 to reactive your L license,
also don't forget to bring your photo,

after that you got 3 month to get your license,

Do this if you not using agent, if you using agent pay him RM 750 ish and let him do all the work,

you need to let you L license aged a month before you can take JPJ test,
so plan ahead,

if you not confident with B full, take B2 first, its easier,

and B1 ?? anyone here know a place where we can get a B1 license ?
i search a bit and no one offering B1 class

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:48 PM