Travel LYN Scuba Divers V4.0, Dive the world :D
photopro
Apr 3 2014, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 3 2014, 07:14 AM) Saw photos of your new boat! Awesome!  Next perhentian trip will definitely be with you since ladies no need to carry own tank  If you come, I'll get into the water and carry your equipment but if Yanie is coming with you, then I'll be her slave =p hahahaha
photopro
Apr 3 2014, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 3 2014, 07:53 AM) So fast bored already a? Haha. Go vroom vroom with your new boat go around.. Lol So quiet now. But today getting busy. Go vroom vroom? 30minutes = RM100 headache
wKkaY
Apr 3 2014, 01:27 PM
misutā supākoru
QUOTE(photopro @ Apr 3 2014, 12:55 PM) So quiet now. But today getting busy. Go vroom vroom? 30minutes = RM100 headache Ehhh I swung by Bakawan today and your staff said you'll only be back on Monday
Joshua_0718
Apr 3 2014, 01:49 PM
Am going to Langkawi around mid this month. Is diving there recommended? I found two dive operator but their website is not updated for years. I need more info to contact them. Been quite some time since my last dive.
Blesse
Apr 3 2014, 01:50 PM
Hi Divers!
Mind to share about average tips for the guides/ boat man in different locations?
This post has been edited by Blesse: Apr 3 2014, 01:50 PM
TSmunkeyflo
Apr 3 2014, 02:02 PM
Blooop bloop bloop
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Apr 3 2014, 01:49 PM) Am going to Langkawi around mid this month. Is diving there recommended? I found two dive operator but their website is not updated for years. I need more info to contact them. Been quite some time since my last dive. Langkawi, dived with Pro Dive before. Boss name Andrew, contact him directly via email. Nice people but dives so-so only. Rather spend my time baking myself on the beach. Check back I think the V2 thread, got quite some info on Langkawi there, one of the forumers (can't remember who) worked in langkawi for quite some time. QUOTE(Blesse @ Apr 3 2014, 01:50 PM) Hi Divers! Mind to share about average tips for the guides/ boat man in different locations? Depending on how happy I am with the dive guides, how cheap the dive was and whether I'll go back or not also. Boatman usually it'll be in the pool tip for the dive center and the guides will give them individually.
EvanSoon
Apr 3 2014, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(photopro @ Apr 3 2014, 12:55 PM) So quiet now. But today getting busy. Go vroom vroom? 30minutes = RM100 headache Wah.. haha.. too bad cannot use jet-skies there or u could buy one and vroom around. lol. Want hire part timer? I go ur place help u clean up or be maid for 4 days. U provide me hammock sleep can di.. QUOTE(Blesse @ Apr 3 2014, 01:50 PM) Hi Divers! Mind to share about average tips for the guides/ boat man in different locations? I usually depend on how much money I have left after payment. If I am happy and did special thing than I will tip more. If DM is girl and pretty I will tip more. but I never give a lot also. Max also RM50. Boatman depends if boat got tip jar. I never meet before boat got tip jar so I never bother to tip. *hint hint* Photopro remember put tip jar on boat for your boatman aka you!
Joshua_0718
Apr 3 2014, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 3 2014, 02:02 PM) Langkawi, dived with Pro Dive before. Boss name Andrew, contact him directly via email. Nice people but dives so-so only. Rather spend my time baking myself on the beach. Check back I think the V2 thread, got quite some info on Langkawi there, one of the forumers (can't remember who) worked in langkawi for quite some time. Thanks for the info. How much did he charge you previously? Do you remember what is the place of the dive site? I did some research, saying Pulau Segantang is the best? This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Apr 3 2014, 02:56 PM
TSmunkeyflo
Apr 3 2014, 04:40 PM
Blooop bloop bloop
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Apr 3 2014, 02:56 PM) Thanks for the info. How much did he charge you previously? Do you remember what is the place of the dive site? I did some research, saying Pulau Segantang is the best? Errr don't remember. The dives are done at Pulau Payar. Full day trip of 2 dives inclusive of lunch. I'll have to check back the old threads. If not mistaken, I've posted the price there before. The sites I went to was coral garden, house reef, sunken ship and sponge reef. This was back in January 2012.
photopro
Apr 3 2014, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(wKkaY @ Apr 3 2014, 01:27 PM) Ehhh I swung by Bakawan today and your staff said you'll only be back on Monday  Lol.. I'm so bored. I balik kampung kejap.
photopro
Apr 3 2014, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 3 2014, 02:45 PM) Wah.. haha.. too bad cannot use jet-skies there or u could buy one and vroom around. lol. Want hire part timer? I go ur place help u clean up or be maid for 4 days. U provide me hammock sleep can di.. I usually depend on how much money I have left after payment. If I am happy and did special thing than I will tip more. If DM is girl and pretty I will tip more. but I never give a lot also. Max also RM50. Boatman depends if boat got tip jar. I never meet before boat got tip jar so I never bother to tip. *hint hint* Photopro remember put tip jar on boat for your boatman aka you! Jet skies are prohibited around marine park. Too bad... If not you already saw my jetski when you're here last two weeks. Lol.. noted! I'll put the tip jar when I'm back to the island. But now I already have 1 super boatman and 2 boatman in training
ukiya
Apr 4 2014, 01:46 PM
demn!!!
got attacked by titan triggerfishes >,< twice!
oh my dear fins...
TSmunkeyflo
Apr 4 2014, 03:22 PM
Blooop bloop bloop
QUOTE(ukiya @ Apr 4 2014, 01:46 PM) demn!!! got attacked by titan triggerfishes >,< twice! oh my dear fins...  What fins are you using?
ukiya
Apr 4 2014, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 4 2014, 03:22 PM)  What fins are you using? blue cressi froggy - another damage added to my list!? Triggerfish: "taste like lolipop" This post has been edited by ukiya: Apr 4 2014, 03:39 PM
b5n111
Apr 4 2014, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(Blesse @ Apr 3 2014, 02:50 PM) Hi Divers! Mind to share about average tips for the guides/ boat man in different locations? DM, 0 - 5% - 10% helpful boatman with knowledge on uw current, RM10-20
b5n111
Apr 4 2014, 07:33 PM

QUOTE(ukiya @ Apr 4 2014, 02:46 PM) demn!!! got attacked by titan triggerfishes >,< twice! oh my dear fins... Lucky lor, only the selected will be attached Get yourself a lottery
botterjr
Apr 4 2014, 07:34 PM
You guys mentioned about tipping boats man or DM. Just want to know, is this an unspoken culture/courtesy? Would like to understand more on this culture..
Thanks in advance.
This post has been edited by botterjr: Apr 4 2014, 07:37 PM
b5n111
Apr 4 2014, 07:38 PM

QUOTE(botterjr @ Apr 4 2014, 08:34 PM) Just want to know, is this an unspoken culture/courtesy? Would like to understand more on this culture.. To me, yes it is
botterjr
Apr 4 2014, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(b5n111 @ Apr 4 2014, 07:38 PM) To me, yes it is  oo. hmm. So when do you usually tip them, at the end of the trip ? Also you mentioned 0-5%-10%, what does that mean? mind elaborating? 1 more thing, do you tip as a group or as individual, just curious. many thanks.
b5n111
Apr 4 2014, 09:45 PM

QUOTE(botterjr @ Apr 4 2014, 10:35 PM) oo. hmm. So when do you usually tip them, at the end of the trip ? Also you mentioned 0-5%-10%, what does that mean? mind elaborating? 1 more thing, do you tip as a group or as individual, just curious. many thanks.  For me, end of the trip.. 0-5%-10%.. no tip, if tip, 5-10% of the dive bill.. i am ready to tip dm, boatman and group.