Travel LYN Scuba Divers V4.0, Dive the world :D

photopro
post Mar 20 2014, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(yaniee @ Mar 20 2014, 09:34 AM)
have fun in perhentian guys  cry.gif  cry.gif
ahhhh... I forgot that LYN trip this weekend. I'm in kl now. Esok blik Perhentian la. Yanieeeee datang cepat!
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 20 2014, 06:41 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

I need US power adapter cry.gif cry.gif
NightHeart
post Mar 20 2014, 10:23 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Mar 20 2014, 09:31 AM)
dun go for the resort with chalets on the hill.... it's on the right side if you are facing the island.....
There's 2 active operators in Tenggol now;
1) Tenggol Coral Beach Resort (http://www.tenggolisland.com/)
2) Tenggol Island Beach Resort (http://www.pulautenggol.com/)

The 3rd operator only opens when he gets sufficient bookings, else closed. So the place is really poorly maintained, you do not want to stay there (take my word for it). Plus I don't even know how to contact the operator as there's little or no marketing at all.

Tenggol Coral Beach Resort was abandoned for nearly 3 years until middle last year a new management took over. The old management couldn't manage it well before they shut down. So people who went there many years back may not like it at all. But the new management were inexperienced (you can see the poor reviews in TripAdvisor) compared to Tenggol Island Beach Resort who have been operating there for 10+ years. I stayed in Tenggol Coral Resort which was more expensive. Fortunately the management improved a lot since last year. The staffs were very friendly & helpful, plus the resort overall looks slightly better than Tenggol Island Resort (hence the premium).

I did walked around Tenggol Island Resort too, it looks not too bad honestly. So for those who don't mind a decent accommodation & don't wanna pay premium, I guess Tenggol Island Resort is the one for you.

I have photos but dunno whether to post here or the Redang/Perhentian/Tenggol Thread.

QUOTE(rip_code @ Mar 20 2014, 05:06 PM)
I went to Tenggol Coral Beach Resort.
I was there from 14 to 18 March'14. If you're staying over the weekend then we must have met there. I was supposed to go back on the 17th but on the morning of 17th, the boatman said the waves were too rough, so he can't bring us back. So, the manager FOC 1 more night for me lol.
teongpeng
post Mar 20 2014, 11:29 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

Hi guys,

do you know any shops in penang and sell snorkelling equipments?
Also, I'm looking for snorkelings vests/life jacket
teongpeng
post Mar 20 2014, 11:33 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

Wanna ask some advice....for non-swimmers, is it ok to venture out to a drop off if wearing a vest/jacket?

rip_code
post Mar 21 2014, 10:45 AM

1,972 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Mar 20 2014, 10:23 PM)
There's 2 active operators in Tenggol now;
1) Tenggol Coral Beach Resort (http://www.tenggolisland.com/)
2) Tenggol Island Beach Resort (http://www.pulautenggol.com/)

The 3rd operator only opens when he gets sufficient bookings, else closed. So the place is really poorly maintained, you do not want to stay there (take my word for it). Plus I don't even know how to contact the operator as there's little or no marketing at all.

Tenggol Coral Beach Resort was abandoned for nearly 3 years until middle last year a new management took over. The old management couldn't manage it well before they shut down. So people who went there many years back may not like it at all. But the new management were inexperienced (you can see the poor reviews in TripAdvisor) compared to Tenggol Island Beach Resort who have been operating there for 10+ years. I stayed in Tenggol Coral Resort which was more expensive. Fortunately the management improved a lot since last year. The staffs were very friendly & helpful, plus the resort overall looks slightly better than Tenggol Island Resort (hence the premium).

I did walked around Tenggol Island Resort too, it looks not too bad honestly. So for those who don't mind a decent accommodation & don't wanna pay premium, I guess Tenggol Island Resort is the one for you.

I have photos but dunno whether to post here or the Redang/Perhentian/Tenggol Thread.
I was there from 14 to 18 March'14. If you're staying over the weekend then we must have met there. I was supposed to go back on the 17th but on the morning of 17th, the boatman said the waves were too rough, so he can't bring us back. So, the manager FOC 1 more night for me lol.
I started to dive in Tenggol since 1997. Initially the name was Tenggol Aqua Resort. Few years back, the husband of the owner passed away, let the business ran by their sons. Since he doesn't have time to manage the resort, he rented out / leased the place to the new management.

Yes indeed the management improved a lot since last year flex.gif

Anyway, which one are you? I went there from 14-16 and the rough waves started on the day I went back. To be honest, I freaking scared as the waves as high as 18 feet. sweat.gif
NightHeart
post Mar 21 2014, 02:24 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ Mar 21 2014, 10:45 AM)
I started to dive in Tenggol since 1997. Initially the name was Tenggol Aqua Resort. Few years back, the husband of the owner passed away, let the business ran by their sons. Since he doesn't have time to manage the resort, he rented out / leased the place to the new management.

Yes indeed the management improved a lot since last year flex.gif

Anyway, which one are you? I went there from 14-16 and the rough waves started on the day I went back. To be honest, I freaking scared as the waves as high as 18 feet. sweat.gif
Ahh....small world. Last weekend, there's only you, your friend & the French lady diving. I'm the snorkeler lol. The waves & current was indeed strong, saw you guys got swept away so quickly. On my departure day, the wave was too high that the boatman declared unsafe to travel. So my stay got extended by another night.

Yea Siew & Adrian told me the history of the resort & how the have been managing it. I spent lotsa time with them cause they're very friendly lol.

I was told that the son who leased the resort to the current management was there last weekend too.
rip_code
post Mar 21 2014, 03:00 PM

1,972 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Mar 21 2014, 02:24 PM)
Ahh....small world. Last weekend, there's only you, your friend & the French lady diving. I'm the snorkeler lol. The waves & current was indeed strong, saw you guys got swept away so quickly. On my departure day, the wave was too high that the boatman declared unsafe to travel. So my stay got extended by another night.

Yea Siew & Adrian told me the history of the resort & how the have been managing it. I spent lotsa time with them cause they're very friendly lol.

I was told that the son who leased the resort to the current management was there last weekend too.
Oh. You are the couple is it? Yea, that time current so strong. Swept till diving at two dive site. haha.

If you realize that there is this uncle who sat with me most of the time. That is the owner. Known my parents since 1994.

Plan to coming back soon! hahaha. Eh your partner said wanna take the course, already plan ah?

This post has been edited by rip_code: Mar 21 2014, 03:02 PM
ericcc
post Mar 21 2014, 05:08 PM

216 posts

have fun you guys at Perhentian! must join the group trips some day..
NightHeart
post Mar 21 2014, 08:22 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ Mar 21 2014, 03:00 PM)
Oh. You are the couple is it? Yea, that time current so strong. Swept till diving at two dive site. haha.

If you realize that there is this uncle who sat with me most of the time. That is the owner. Known my parents since 1994.

Plan to coming back soon! hahaha. Eh your partner said wanna take the course, already plan ah?
Yea, quite chubby & senior looking one. Mr Siew was the one who told me that uncle is the son who owns the resort.

I also wanna go back cause I wanna go enjoy Tenggol again when there's better visibility & calmer seas somewhere in May/June. Including your diving trip that I tumpang-ed, I had 6 snorkeling trips (excluding beach area snorkeling) but only been to 3 different spots cause other areas waves are too strong.

My girl pandai je talk, but when we try to go snorkeling near the home wreck she got scared cause it became really deep & visibility became really bad. Scared kena eaten by god knows what fish. So still unsure whether to pick up diving or not, my only main concern is whether we'd be able to fully utilize the license as diving isn't affordable.

Some underwater photos (sorry, using iPhone 4 camera only), main highlights are colourful corals, black tip, blue spotted ray;

This post has been edited by NightHeart: Mar 22 2014, 10:57 AM
rip_code
post Mar 22 2014, 09:19 PM

1,972 posts

Guys, I got one used IST Dolphin Tech BCD to let go. Can refer here

This post has been edited by rip_code: Mar 22 2014, 09:20 PM
freza
post Mar 22 2014, 11:05 PM

129 posts

Any group trips to Perhentian on wknd of 11-13 april?
totomoyo
post Mar 22 2014, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Mar 21 2014, 08:22 PM)
Yea, quite chubby & senior looking one. Mr Siew was the one who told me that uncle is the son who owns the resort.

I also wanna go back cause I wanna go enjoy Tenggol again when there's better visibility & calmer seas somewhere in May/June. Including your diving trip that I tumpang-ed, I had 6 snorkeling trips (excluding beach area snorkeling) but only been to 3 different spots cause other areas waves are too strong.

My girl pandai je talk, but when we try to go snorkeling near the home wreck she got scared cause it became really deep & visibility became really bad. Scared kena eaten by god knows what fish. So still unsure whether to pick up diving or not, my only main concern is whether we'd be able to fully utilize the license as diving isn't affordable.

Some underwater photos (sorry, using iPhone 4 camera only), main highlights are colourful corals, black tip, blue spotted ray;

wow. got black tip shark oso when u went there? niceee~
i only saw turtle (i think it was turtle) d last time i went there.
even got shocked by almost 2-metres porcupine puffer fish.
else, it was great.

can't wait to go there again ^^
NightHeart
post Mar 23 2014, 02:45 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(totomoyo @ Mar 22 2014, 11:32 PM)
even got shocked by  almost 2-metres porcupine puffer fish.
else, it was great.

Apparently the black tip are regular & it's only slightly further from the beach. So no boat trips needed to hunt them.

From what I heard, the regulars are;
1) lobster (really huge)
2) black tip
3) barracuda
4) puffer
5) grouper

But I didn't manage to see the barracuda though.
botterjr
post Mar 23 2014, 08:09 AM

QUOTE(totomoyo @ Mar 22 2014, 11:32 PM)
even got shocked by  almost 2-metres porcupine puffer fish.
else, it was great.

2m porcupine puffer fish ??
Human size ?? Wow, do they get this big?
totomoyo
post Mar 23 2014, 08:54 AM

that 2m puffer shocked almost all of us. not rare but rarely seen.
maybe tenggol was so nice they can grow that big biggrin.gif

did not see barracuda or shark. im just not lucky sad.gif
next time tho, next time....

botterjr
post Mar 23 2014, 09:08 AM

QUOTE(totomoyo @ Mar 23 2014, 08:54 AM)
that 2m puffer shocked almost all of us. not rare but rarely seen.
maybe tenggol was so nice they can grow that big biggrin.gif

did not see barracuda or shark. im just not lucky sad.gif
next time tho, next time....
Any photos .. love to see them sad.gif
Can't imagine what it's like all blown up.. haha.

This post has been edited by botterjr: Mar 23 2014, 09:08 AM
DrBarbarian
post Mar 23 2014, 11:54 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

2m puffer? sure or not...... when it puff up becomes 4m????
wKkaY
post Mar 23 2014, 01:39 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Lost a torchlight to the sea cry.gif Now I'm looking for a new torch(es?) and have shortlisted these two Big Blue models:

Small CF250M: http://www.bigbluedivelights.com/products-....asp?REC_ID=100

Big CF900P: http://www.bigbluedivelights.com/products-....asp?REC_ID=121

They both have adjustable beam widths and take rechargeable batteries thumbup.gif
totomoyo
post Mar 23 2014, 06:14 PM

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Mar 23 2014, 11:54 AM)
2m puffer? sure or not...... when it puff up becomes 4m????
the dive master said it was puffed if i remembered.
not sure of the real estimation but its bigger than one of d dive master who went close to it.
pic, i dunno who got it. plenty of camera actually at d time. im sure someone got it ^^

127 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:15 AM