Closed, Closed

miong93
post Feb 18 2015, 11:16 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Feb 18 2015, 10:44 PM)
roll back i suppose. the new drivers were meant for the 960, not exactly 980
And they "fixed" the OC potential also ! no more OS for nvidia mobile gpu. Sad..
miong93
post Feb 18 2015, 11:38 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Feb 18 2015, 11:32 PM)
Uhh So how do I rollback o.O
I update through the GeForce experience thingy lol
What I do is, uninstall the driver and download+install the driver version you wanted.

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Feb 18 2015, 11:34 PM)
yeah, for mobile GPU its now harder to "OC". I think for stability issues, or something they don't want laptop gamers to do, not sure what.
If want to OC need to flash BIOS ? any way of doing it ? I now dono how to do it leh.. need some guideline..
They want us to get a new unit every year.. Without OC the card will be even faster to be outdated I afraid sad.gif

miong93
post Feb 18 2015, 11:58 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Feb 18 2015, 11:44 PM)
Thank you, may I know which version of the more stable driver that you are currently using?
Well I'm using Z5, different GPU. Been using the latest driver since I'm not having any issue with it.
miong93
post Feb 19 2015, 12:01 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Feb 18 2015, 11:58 PM)
actually shouldn't OC yet. wait till the time comes, because I don't want to be responsible for anything. its a "Do it at your own risk" kind of a thing. Seriously.
Well actually I want to Underclock instead of Overclock. I want to lower the clockspeed and memory bandwidth sometime as the game doesn't requires all very high spec to play on highest settings.
I did it in previous driver and it works like a charm. Decreased GPU temperature by 5-12 degree C
miong93
post Feb 19 2015, 06:28 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Feb 19 2015, 08:41 AM)
I've got reports that NVIDIA is clamping down on this for some reason. Even for users, some underclocked it only to find it becoming unstable.
Well maybe they underclock it too much.. Some ppl tend to straight away OC or UC by big margin without even testing it on low value first.. lol

miong93
post Feb 22 2015, 07:18 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Feb 22 2015, 01:47 AM)
I've already made sure the computer is running at maximum performance mode :/

I even tried using ThrottleStop, doesn't seems like the CPU is throttled too.
I tried Furmark, the GPU usage is 98-99% so doesn't looks like there is any throttling going on with the GPU. Do tell if something is wrong with the score from Furmark.
Any clues? I'm kinda disappointed if this is actually the hardware limitation which I find honestly, is a big joke. GTX 980m has issue running a 2 years old game which a 1.5k cheap desktop can run flawlessly -.-
May I know you purchased a DOS version or ???
What OS you are using ? Win7 ? Win8 ? Linux ?
You're playing Local Lobby Match or Pub/MMR ? Cause I also facing some problem on my Z5 with 860m. I won't get 60fps with smooth screen transition on Lobby Match. But when it is Pub or MMR it performs smoothly. Smooth screen transition + fixed 60fps
Does playing other game still have the same problem ? Like COD, BF etc etc
Test without OC-ing your CPU and GPU, mostly throttle is caused by OC-ing. Lower your resolution to 1080p if you're running the game at 4k initially. 980m CAN'T run game on 4k reso smoothly.
miong93
post Feb 22 2015, 08:15 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Feb 22 2015, 08:00 PM)
It comes with Windows 8.1
Any modes I tried has the same weird slowdown at random intervals. Even watching games gives me the same issue.
Playing any other games gives me the same issue, yes. I tried L4D2, Ace Combat Assault Horizon, Crysis 2, Resident Evil 4 HD, Resident Evil 5, and some of these games are generations old even old fart 285GTX can run them smoothly without problem :/

Btw, I also tried running the games at lowest setting, same thing.
All games are running at 1920x1080 only. No 4k.

I did not overclock both GPU and CPU.

By the way, I noticed that the GPU usage does not go beyond 50% when I play Dota 2, and the temperature does not go beyond 62 centigrade. What the F? It's like the GPU isn't really working like it should lol

If your Z5 with 860m can run Dota 2 smoothly out of the box, then something is very very very wrong with my S5 with 980m :/
Perhaps I should send it back to Illegear and have them to look at it. Sigh. What a luck.
Well if you're having a powerful GPU, I guess it is possible your gpu usage doesn't go beyond 50%, as the gpu is already has enough horse power to render everything without full loaded it. Temperature is normal for me, I played 2hours+ BF4 and COD AW and max temperature I get is 69 degree for both cpu and gpu (will max fan). S5 come with trifan so it should do better for old game.

But I think it maybe an hardware issue, just pm ILLEGEAR to have them assist you. Or check whether your nvidia card is running when gaming or not.
But how come you can furmark and benchmark without having the issue ? It seems weird, cause if it is an hardware issue, you won't perform well and most probably will also face the similar problem when you perform benchmark or furmark. hmm.gif
miong93
post Feb 22 2015, 08:43 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Feb 22 2015, 08:22 PM)
True that, but then where does the random slowdown comes from lol
And yeah I could benchmark with the Furmark without problem, seriously I'm lost -.-
Yea.. Weird right ? you can furmark without any throttling and your "sudden random slowdown interval" but when you're gaming it occurs.
Hardware issue I think you will perform badly on both, but this is not the case. hmmm
No choice but to send it to ILLEGEAR to have them check on it, ask them to test it with both your own OS and their OS.
Make sure to back up your stuff.
miong93
post Feb 23 2015, 11:31 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 23 2015, 03:27 AM)
With Optimus, you're stuck with it, and no way to disable it in the laptop.

Which is why I got my Aorus X7 Pro, which ran off dedicated 970M SLI, and the onboard Intel GPU deactivated permanently. Optimus creates more problems than solution when you're treating your laptop as a purely gaming laptop connected to power plug all the time. Optimus only is useful when your gaming laptop is intended to double as a work laptop to extend battery life via switching to Intel GPU.

Extra benefit? Only non-Optimus laptops are expected to be able to take advantage of the upcoming mobile G-Sync feature, enabled once the drivers for mobile G-Sync is ready.
Can't we just disable the Intel HD driver in the device manager ? I remember i did it to my old laptop before.
miong93
post Feb 24 2015, 10:46 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 23 2015, 02:12 PM)
Maybe you can but having to do that or switching in and out of BIOS to do that, isnt what I call convenient. To each his own, I prefer no Optimus than having one at all. Optimus creates more problems for gaming on a gaming laptop than the sole convenience of prolonged battery life. For productivity laptops, you will need Optimus to enable you to work on your laptop longer.
QUOTE(Prince J @ Feb 23 2015, 02:13 PM)
You can't and it will lead to problems.
I guess Nvidia optimus really suck. My old hp laptop using AMD allow me to do it without any problem. Still can function well on game and normal usage, just that battery drains fast.
Well laptop is not like desktop which got unlimited power supply, so I think it is essential to have this, but still it brings lots of problem sweat.gif
You can't expect a gamer to 100% gaming when they switch on their laptop right ?
miong93
post Feb 24 2015, 01:09 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 24 2015, 12:01 PM)
Who are you reassuring, yourself or other people?  rolleyes.gif

The thing is, if you're lugging around laptops with high end discrete graphics, you're not be using it other than playing games or doing graphics-intensive activities that REQUIRES plugging in your power plug. And yes, I do expect a gamer to 100% game on his GAMING grade laptop, because that's the reason they bought a GAMING grade laptop. I do. If I bought an expensive GAMING grade laptop and use that to do spreadsheets or web surfing, I'd consider that a gross misuse and money poorly spent, I could've gotten a cheaper, longer lasting Ultrabooks than a GAMING grade laptop.
Well, relax. Don't get me wrong. I'm not denying your point of view. I just stated my opinion, that's all. No need to be so offended smile.gif
Even though you're purchasing a gaming laptop, it is still logical to think not all gamer play game once they turn on the laptop right ? It is like saying a gaming PC/Rig just can game, it can't do normal task like web surfing. Maybe the gaming portion is 99%, but there is still 1% portion which is for normal usage. And if you're a professional gamer, since you are required to plugged in to power supply, why not just get a PC ?
Well it is just my opinion. If I offended you, I apologize. Sorry smile.gif
miong93
post Mar 1 2015, 11:00 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Mar 1 2015, 01:39 AM)
I think my S5 may have a bad ram. I'm getting BSOD that says "Memory Management Error" very frequently since this morning. Ran the windows memory diagnostic and it says problem were detected. Guess I'll have to pay Illegear a visit very soon after all ><

Tried using memtest86, I've got 91k errors lol

EDIT:
I swapped out the Samsung 4gb ram, left 8gb (Team elite ram 4gbx2) in the system with dual channel, now testing and see if the laptop is stable. If it is then I guess this Samsung ram is faulty.
Hope your problem is solved soon, do update us on your progress.
But I think by default you're using 8gb ram dual channel right (team elite) ? In most cases, people want to add in ram, they will get them in bundle, because it ensure the rams is in most compatible state with each other.
If you go to any shop, you can see they are selling bundle ram which mostly comes in 2.

Note: is your Samsung 4GB ram same as your 4GB Team Elite ram ? as in clock speed etc etc. ? What OS you're using ?

This post has been edited by miong93: Mar 1 2015, 11:02 AM
miong93
post Mar 21 2015, 03:38 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Crissaegrim @ Mar 21 2015, 03:18 PM)
Hey PrinceJ,

I bought a laptop during the CNY promotion but your free bags were out of stock. Has it been restocked yet?

Also, as the battery is non-removable (S15), any tips on maintaining battery life so it doesnt lose charge over time?

You need to pm Prince J your order number and they will ship it to you. ILLEGEAR announced the bag has been restocked not long ago.
I think it is S5 instead of S15. S15 is from Aftershock though.
miong93
post Mar 23 2015, 12:54 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Adil@ILLEGEAR @ Mar 23 2015, 12:16 PM)
hi my name is Adil. i am one of the Illegear staffs.  if you have any future inquiries on our products, please don't hesitate to ask or email me at Adil@illegear.com.

Thank you.
Hi there. Erm just to let you know, your siggy link is not working.. ><
miong93
post Mar 26 2015, 12:25 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Cap Jones @ Mar 25 2015, 11:34 PM)
which models of Illegear laptop that have its gpu upgradeable ?
D, RS, RX series
miong93
post Mar 28 2015, 11:56 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Cap Jones @ Mar 28 2015, 09:50 AM)
Apologize

Lost you at IIRC ? What's IIRC ?
It should stands for "If I Remember Correctly"
miong93
post Mar 30 2015, 03:55 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Mar 29 2015, 10:16 PM)
Hi, has anyone ran Firestrike scores for GTX980M?

i'm getting 8K scores, but average reviews put it at 9K, so I'm just trying to figure out what happened to 500-700 scores missing?
Any help?

Or its just my CPU (17-4710MQ) that's holding up the scores?
Or the RAM?
On what settings you're running Firestrike ?
miong93
post Mar 30 2015, 04:12 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Mar 30 2015, 04:06 PM)
default. Its the test version. You can't change settings on demo version.
second run got 9k for gpu, 9k for cpu, 3k for combined, total at 8K (the orange one)

I remember seeing an Illegear with GTX980M going on 9K score (the orange, total score)
Hmmm.. Then I'm not sure though. Maybe the 980m variant they used to test is 8gb vram variant ?

Edit: Sorry I think your gpu is the same, 8gb variant.. Didn't notice your laptop is RS15 initially.. Maybe is different driver ? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by miong93: Mar 30 2015, 04:14 PM
miong93
post Mar 30 2015, 06:42 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(khaiandrew @ Mar 30 2015, 04:31 PM)
Is it as smooth as those on macs? And how's your battery life?
If you're asking about the touchpad, MB's touchpad is different with other laptop. It supports more gesture and the material is also different. So far I still couldn't find any touchpad which is on par or even better with MB's touchpad (in term of user experience). One big major effect of it is because it is using MAC OS X. So you can't really compare the experience with Windows machine
miong93
post Apr 3 2015, 05:59 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Apr 3 2015, 05:07 PM)
78C Max in One hour 1080P Furmark test.

IC Diamond + GTX 960M + I7-4710MQ
So Z5 is still the coolest among all ILLEGEAR laptop ? For gtx960m and 970m variant

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0371sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:07 AM