Nokia first Android handset X, X+ and XL, Share,discuss,talk to win a Nokia X

arcxandroid
post Apr 15 2014, 01:40 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(syd04 @ Apr 15 2014, 01:26 PM)
Everytime sad.gif

Tested few times today...all calls were answered.

I will go to the service centre to sort this out later.
only happen in your pocket or each time call coming? i notice the answering call for nokia x is swipe down, and easily activated when the screen touch our leg while moving in the pocket.
meiyi
post Apr 15 2014, 01:42 PM

1,403 posts

QUOTE(syd04 @ Apr 15 2014, 01:26 PM)
Everytime sad.gif

Tested few times today...all calls were answered.

I will go to the service centre to sort this out later.
I forwarded your question to the customer service from their Facebook. Will give you the answer when they reply me later. Customer service is a better choice. Haha. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by meiyi: Apr 15 2014, 01:43 PM
alam fb
post Apr 15 2014, 01:46 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(chidori @ Apr 15 2014, 08:03 AM)
will most .apk able to work properly?
don't have a friend using nokia x, worried my android app can't work : (
anyone can help to try install kakaotalk?
after installing .apk can it be auto update like usual android?

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Apr 15 2014, 09:22 AM)

yes it will work. in fact, nokia x is a real android system base. You may download most of the apps from its nokia store or sub store which is 1 Mobile Market which is subsequently available in nokia store. Not to be worry as nokia x is as good as any android smartphone. Go get one and try it yourself. You will be surprised how good it is when you have it on your hand. icon_rolleyes.gif
it'll work alright. Its just that nokia suggest/prefer users to download straight from nokia store coz they wont be responsible for any third parties. However the good news is, nokias getting active in increasing the num of adroid apps on nokia x family by inviting developers to join their store. So in the future we may not've to install .apk much. hope so.

arcxandroid
post Apr 15 2014, 01:48 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(nonyaui56 @ Apr 14 2014, 10:51 PM)
So far Nokia X got any problem?
other than low spec, no problem yet with it so far.

QUOTE(chidori @ Apr 15 2014, 10:25 AM)
Thanks for the info. I'm just worried some functions of apk does not work.
the same goes for my bb z10, although can install apk but call function, emoticons, background etc are not functioning properly...
its still pure android without "google apps", if the cpu and ram can handle the apps, should be no problem installing any apps for android.

QUOTE(chidori @ Apr 15 2014, 01:39 PM)
thanks for sharing. may i know what is the bug? actually i'm thinking to buy nokia x and try android vanilla or cm10.
call function no working properly so far.
suntzulee
post Apr 15 2014, 02:03 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(chidori @ Apr 15 2014, 01:39 PM)
thanks for sharing. may i know what is the bug? actually i'm thinking to buy nokia x and try android vanilla or cm10.
for cm10, there was a bootloop problem. it just cant access into it. For vanilla, once you reboot the 2nd time, you will be hang at the nokia screen for no reason...Stay away from both until the developer stabilized it... nod.gif
alam fb
post Apr 15 2014, 02:13 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Apr 15 2014, 10:50 AM)
ok guys, i will do a review on custom rom available for nokia x. Well, i have tried three custom rom which were Lewa OS, Cynogen CM10 and Android Vanilla AOSP. Eventually i found they were not stable at the moment. There were just too many bugs for daily use...Therefore, i will advise user not to flash custom rom and stick with stock rom which is latest firmware 11.1.1. The stock rom is stable and sufficient to cater all your daily needs.
That's all from me and i shall recommend to everyone when custom rom becomes stable later. For now, i'm very satisfied with stock firmware and the unique of Windows UI. Fast, smooth and very responsive. rclxms.gif
so they're not stable yet. thnks for the info though. smile.gif n i heard (for those who want google apps on nokia x) its more simple to root nokia x n install google play store when it is running version 10.0.3 rather than updating the phone to software version 11.1.1. your pc will require KingoRoot app if u're on 11.1.1

QUOTE(syd04 @ Apr 15 2014, 01:05 PM)
Confirmed!
My phone self-answers my phone calls when it is in my pocket.
Is it a bug?
Or something to do with the sensor?
i think its the sensor
suntzulee
post Apr 15 2014, 04:12 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(alam fb @ Apr 15 2014, 02:13 PM)
so they're not stable yet. thnks for the info though. smile.gif  n i heard (for those who want google apps on nokia x) its more simple to root nokia x n install google play store when it is running version 10.0.3 rather than updating the phone to software version 11.1.1. your pc will require KingoRoot app if u're on 11.1.1
i think its the sensor
Is just a myth. Either 10.0.3 or 11.1.1, rooting is just piece of cake.
alam fb
post Apr 15 2014, 04:27 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Apr 15 2014, 04:12 PM)
Is just a myth. Either 10.0.3 or 11.1.1, rooting is just piece of cake.
its good then. coz if its true, user on 11.1.1 will have a hard time to root their phone.. nod.gif
syd04
post Apr 15 2014, 04:28 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(meiyi @ Apr 15 2014, 01:42 PM)
I forwarded your question to the customer service from their Facebook. Will give you the answer when they reply me later. Customer service is a better choice. Haha.  biggrin.gif
Tks!
meiyi
post Apr 15 2014, 04:31 PM

1,403 posts

QUOTE(edr1c @ Apr 14 2014, 08:43 PM)
the screen waking up on its own is very very frustrating. this is not even encountered in my lumia 620. calls get picked up by its own, friend listening to my conversations... LOL
QUOTE(syd04 @ Apr 15 2014, 04:28 PM)
Tks!
I got a feedback from Nokia Malaysia Facebook.

Hope it helps you all. biggrin.gif smile.gif
syd04
post Apr 15 2014, 04:34 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(alam fb @ Apr 15 2014, 02:13 PM)
so they're not stable yet. thnks for the info though. smile.gif  n i heard (for those who want google apps on nokia x) its more simple to root nokia x n install google play store when it is running version 10.0.3 rather than updating the phone to software version 11.1.1. your pc will require KingoRoot app if u're on 11.1.1
i think its the sensor
I haven't got the time to go to Nokia service center today.
So, I am experimenting....I taped the sensor and so far no problem, two calls came in. But with the sensor taped, the screen goes blank if I didn't answer fast enough.
Will try for tomorrow also and will update you all.
syd04
post Apr 15 2014, 04:47 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(meiyi @ Apr 15 2014, 04:31 PM)
I got a feedback from Nokia Malaysia Facebook.

Hope it helps you all.  biggrin.gif  smile.gif
Tks Mei Yi!

I went to setting-security-lock screen and see only "none". I click into it and I don't see the "swipe" option.
When I click at "none", it will go back to lock screen setting.

Can anyone help? Pls check yr setting for me to see if you hv the "swipe" option.

Tks in advance.
alam fb
post Apr 15 2014, 05:08 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(syd04 @ Apr 15 2014, 04:47 PM)
I haven't got the time to go to Nokia service center today.
So, I am experimenting....I taped the sensor and so far no problem, two calls came in. But with the sensor taped, the screen goes blank if I didn't answer fast enough.
I went to setting-security-lock screen and see only "none". I click into it and I don't see the "swipe" option.
When I click at "none", it will go back to lock screen setting.
Alright, will wait for update. even there r prob where phone answered call when pulling from pocket which might b due to downward swipe to receive call thingy. hve take alert coz happen wid other doesnt mean wont happen wid me in future. even if u go for nokia care, hope they can settle right then n there.
syd04
post Apr 15 2014, 05:38 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(alam fb @ Apr 15 2014, 05:08 PM)
Alright, will wait for update. even there r prob where phone answered call when pulling from pocket which might b due to downward swipe to receive call thingy. hve take alert coz happen wid other doesnt mean wont happen wid me in future. even if u go for nokia care, hope they can settle right then n there.
I cannot tahan and tried again. I used my friend's phone to call myself.

It is not the sensor. With sensor taped, calls still got answered.

I tried with phone in pocket....

Action: not moving at all.
Result: phone continued ringing.
Concluson: no problem.

Action: move slightly and slowly
Result: phone calls answered or rejected, eventually
Conclusion: the swipe motion to reject or answer is too sensitive.

Action: walking normal speed
Result: phone calls answered or rejected almost as soon as I hear the ring
Conclusion: something is really wrong with the phone.

alam fb
post Apr 15 2014, 06:50 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(syd04 @ Apr 15 2014, 05:38 PM)
I cannot tahan and tried again. I used my friend's phone to call myself.
It is not the sensor. With sensor taped, calls still got answered.
I tried with phone in pocket....
Action: not moving at all.
Result: phone continued ringing.
Concluson: no problem.
Action: move slightly and slowly
Result: phone calls answered or rejected, eventually
Conclusion: the swipe motion to reject or answer is too sensitive.
Action: walking normal speed
Result: phone calls answered or rejected almost as soon as I hear the ring
Conclusion: something is really wrong with the phone.
Then syd04, my friend u hve to make a visit to nokia care. tell them from a to z what happened with ur phone, evry single thing. u will find the personnel typed back ur complaint exactly what've been told. I find this funny coz my complaint area is very long on the receipt when i visited them. Mobile Technic Sdn Bhd that is.

i dont think its bcoz u mishandled the phone coz theres user in india facing the same prob

This post has been edited by alam fb: Apr 16 2014, 11:21 AM
DevionKnight
post Apr 15 2014, 07:10 PM

20 posts

I have nothing much to add to this thread for the entry to the Nokia/Storekini contest so I'll just say this:
My hats are off to Nokia for creating a true entry level device for the masses who are just having a grasp on the world of smartphone technologies and also realizing the dream of the fans of Nokia for having an Android based device. I really do see a bright future ahead for the X line of Nokia product so I wish them all the best.
sunnychai99
post Apr 15 2014, 10:58 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(alam fb @ Apr 14 2014, 08:24 AM)
you're right. red usually girl's choice so suits my mom alright but luminous green is the most catchy one. The ads n promo is all in green it gives excited feeling really. If i get the chance to buy another one, i would go for green n forget the blue. I mean look at that

wonder which of forum member here owned the green one n d tpu case looks elegant too  thumbup.gif
Nice pic..taken using nokia x??

alam fb
post Apr 16 2014, 09:12 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(sunnychai99 @ Apr 15 2014, 10:58 PM)
Nice pic..taken using nokia x??
no, taken from instagram. its nokia x promo event in thai i think. they hve this big outdoor event wid lots of games like fishing for plastic duck n all. n nokia x price over theres bout +-rm500.

n recently india got price cut for nokia x from +-rm470 to our price. how lucky. Anyway, i think the pics taken using nokia x too biggrin.gif

n heres what Nokia X first update lets you do

always wanna share things beyond but forgot bout the basics one. Thats me rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by alam fb: Apr 16 2014, 09:16 AM
leongseng123
post Apr 16 2014, 01:33 PM

245 posts

Anyone knows how to check the winner of Nokia/Storekini contest?
syd04
post Apr 16 2014, 05:13 PM

193 posts

I went to the Nokia Care in Amcorp, PJ this afternoon.

Issue: Phone calls got answered in pocket

I demo for them to see. The customer service girl called my phone using their land line and I walked around and call got answered in my pocket.

Then I showed her what Nokia Malaysia advised to do...go to setting > security > lock screen, and look for the non-existent Slide option.

She went into the back office and came out with a Nokia X phone. She went thru the Setting > security........... and cannot find "Slide" option too.

Next she set Pin on my phone to see if it can help. After setting the Pin, phone call got answered in my pocket too and later found out that the Pin thingy doesn't work when phone call comes in (whether in pocket or not). Meaning, it doesn't lock the screen when calls come in. What you see is the same "Swipe up to reject" or "swipe down to answer" screen.

Then she went in with both phones to talk to the technician. Ten minutes later, she came out and told me that their phone too has the same problem but not as sensitive as mine. Theirs needed a bit more movement.

She told me that they have no solution now and they will escalate this issue to Nokia. I left my number with her to call me back when she gets an answer from them (Nokia).

This is very frustrating. Whenever a call comes in, I need to scramble to get my phone out of my pocket asap.

The only solution I can think of meanwhile is to get a case with a flip cover. I feel that I am forced to spend extra money to get a case in order for my phone to work properly. And I don't like having the extra bulk of a case.

Sigh, sigh, sigh.....

105 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0322sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:21 AM