48 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

v9.0 The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2011 thread, The new City, where to next?

Thrust
post Dec 17 2021, 03:34 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Dec 17 2021, 12:01 PM)
Front Showa absorber per set easily about 700MYR sweat.gif
Quoted from AR Man before i decided to order KYB Excel G
Actually, if one decides to fully restore the absorber, be prepared to fork out around RM1.2k for Showa absorbers. This includes replacing all the absorber mounting, bump stops, dust cover etc.
Thrust
post Dec 17 2021, 03:34 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Milo_O @ Dec 17 2021, 01:06 PM)
AR Man auto pricing is quite steep.
Yes indeed. Their pricing actually is on par with Honda SC.
Thrust
post Dec 17 2021, 05:27 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Dec 17 2021, 04:26 PM)
AR actually quoted me 1.7k (i think) for everything a few years ago, if its 1.2k for everything, still ok wor.
I agak agak only but I believe it will definitely be cheaper than 1.7k.
Thrust
post Dec 18 2021, 03:20 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Dec 18 2021, 11:00 AM)
Rear axle bush Worn out already
No wonder so not comfortable to drive with
So fast worn out? Can you snap closer on the rubber bushing to see whether there are cracks or bottomed out?

Trailing bush is quite difficult to replace. Need to hammer out that particular bushing and press in the new ones.
Thrust
post Dec 18 2021, 04:54 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Dec 18 2021, 04:49 PM)
From the zoom photo you can see alot of hairline cracks on the bushing
Yes. There are hairline cracks and I believe the bushing is harden already. That's why the ride will feel not so comfortable. BTW, it is not so severe yet as in the bush gave way and dropped down from it's original spot.

I believe our car have developed the same issue as your since these rubber bushing tends to wear down as they aged.

Are looking for a place to replace these trailing arm bushing?

This post has been edited by Thrust: Dec 18 2021, 04:55 PM
Thrust
post Dec 18 2021, 05:11 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Dec 18 2021, 05:06 PM)
Yea, looking else where foreman got the machinery to pump out the bush and replace it as front lower arm the tie end rod’s rubber boot also brittle and expose inner to dust n rust.
Hoping get it all done before CNY
Front lower arm, no point you press out to replace bushing since the entire lower arm assembly comes with the ball joint. You might as well buy the entire front lower arm assembly which comes with new ball joints and bushing.

For the rear trailing arm, that one you need to press it out just to replace its bushing since Honda don't sell the entire trailing arm assembly. Even if they do sell, it will cost a bomb to get it.
Thrust
post Jan 5 2022, 03:01 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Momo2014 @ Jan 5 2022, 11:38 AM)
Any recommendations for aircon flushing around KL/Selangor?
I normally visit the below shop for my car's aircond needs. His pricing is not the cheapest but not overly expensive also. At least I know he won't con me like some other foreman do.

Hoo Car Cooler & Accessories
Address: Ground Floor, No.13A, Jalan PJS 1/48, Taman Petaling Utama, 46000 Petaling Jaya, Selangor
Hours:
Open ⋅ Closes 6:30PM
Phone: 019-226 8793
Thrust
post Jan 5 2022, 03:04 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 5 2022, 12:13 PM)
few days ago, i notice this after a cursory check, i notice that the highlighted part has a trace of oil there, seems to be seeping out very little.
there is no dripping, just traces of oil, and considering Vmag helped to cleaned my engine bay previously, now only i notice it.

is this the solenoid valve rubber seal that need to be replaced? seems like in GM2 FB, there is a lot of ppl talking about this, but theirs are more serious, dripping down.
this is something that can be fixed around rm180-200 ish right?

You can send it over to VMAG and ask him to replace all those solenoid seals. It won't cost much.
Thrust
post Jan 5 2022, 03:22 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 5 2022, 03:20 PM)
i googled spool valve its the same with solenoid kan?
there is no noticeable oil elsewhere, it may not be clear in the pic but its quite clear from what i look the trace of oil is from the highlighted part. it didn't even seep further.
engine oil and head cover is totally different part so I'm positive that's not the case.
in any case, i have replaced my engine oil cap late last year. there is oil around it before and i thought oil might be spilled during engine oil change over the years.
Vmag did say it might spill from engine oil cap so just replaced it since its 10 years + cheap.
so its really there and called solenoid seals right?
You try clean it again and observe further. Sometimes, those residue could be from outside rain water that went in during your drive in the rain.
Thrust
post Jan 5 2022, 05:58 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Momo2014 @ Jan 5 2022, 05:51 PM)
Thanks, will check them out. Do you know if they have the aircond flushing machine?
Try to give them a call.. I think they have, else they can't remove the old compressor oil and replace with new one.
Thrust
post Jan 6 2022, 04:48 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Looks like recently, my radiator fan motor starts to have some slight squeaking sound whenever it turns on.

Might need to replace them soon.
Thrust
post Jan 6 2022, 07:43 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jan 6 2022, 05:15 PM)
Anyone experienced there’s some gunk on the radiator cap ? And how does it happen ?
A little bit of gunk is ok... The radiator system isn't 100% clean also..

Last time when you send your car for service, SC just use tap water only.
Thrust
post Jan 7 2022, 04:56 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jan 6 2022, 10:38 PM)
I did my radiator flush not long ago so it wont so fast surface any dirt or gunk yet
Will monitor closely on the engine temperature to see whether radiator start to clog with gunk ?
When you open the radiator cap, take a peek inside the radiator.. Is it still clear or rusty inside?

If its clear then there's nothing to worry.. If it's rusty, then you can start to worry.

Snap picture and let us see inside the radiator, underneath the radiator cap.
Thrust
post Jan 7 2022, 07:26 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 7 2022, 05:25 PM)
revisiting this again. today i have another look.
it seems like under this solenoid part, there are other parts further below seems to be oily, so it might be more than i first thought.
i cant any parts above that is oily, but its harder to see going up.

in any case, my plan is still the same, have it checked out during my next oil change. i did check my ATF level. still good.
Maybe vtec solenoid gasket koyak dy.

What is your mileage now?
Thrust
post Jan 8 2022, 08:42 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jan 8 2022, 08:35 AM)
The radiator which i clean yesterday morning seems like attracted some gunk on the rubber valve
As you can see crystal clear pink color now becoming
Murky coolant
Wonder is the coolant doing the cleaning by removing dirt from the engine blocks and radiator hose ?
You switched to Toyota red coolant is it? Honda suppose to be blue in color.

If you ask me, my comment is your radiator is not in a good shape. That is rust starting to build up. Did you let a 'mekanik bawah pokok' to meddle with your coolant?

You haven't seen mine.. Still blueish in colour and you can see the silverish radiator fins holes clearly. 12 years already and only did 2 times coolant drain and refill (total 6 liters in 12 years).

This post has been edited by Thrust: Jan 8 2022, 08:52 AM
Thrust
post Jan 8 2022, 08:59 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jan 8 2022, 08:55 AM)
I DIY the whole thing
Maybe wrong coolant was using
Will do another changes in few months times, will continue monitoring the situation from now
Your radiator system is already contaminated leh..

What I will do is to drain out your existing coolant and run radiator flush + tap water for 1 week.

After that, drain again and repeat for another week...

When the radiator water gets clear, then you can drain it and use Honda Type 2 coolant.

The full coolant capacity is 6.5 Liter but if you do drain and fill, it takes in about 3.5 Liter.

I think you bought a fake Toyota red coolant previously because if it was original, mixing red and blue won't rust the radiator also.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Jan 8 2022, 09:04 AM
Thrust
post Jan 8 2022, 09:23 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jan 8 2022, 09:22 AM)
I flushed my previous system by using distilled water by draining out old coolant n run straight with distilled water and repeat the process till the water drain out crystal clear

My coolant were bought from Vanli parts shop at Jln Ipoh which i dont think they sell fake stuff to their customer since is a big name in car spare parts industry

Just maybe this radiator need proper machine to clean off the inner parts already
Will source for the shop to do it
Ohh.. You previously did replace the entire radiator is it?
Thrust
post Jan 8 2022, 12:21 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jan 8 2022, 09:42 AM)
Previously only replace the radiator top fibre cover because aging and causing major leaks
Believes that when the radiator send for repair guessing the flush the radiator before they send back to my foreman ?
Yes.. Normally when replacing top fibre casing, they need to take the entire radiator out. I guess at some point, they did fill the system with tap water.

I strongly believe if the coolant content is more than tap water, rust will not form.

In your case, I suppose tap water presence is much more than the coolant content. Thus, rust / gunk starts forming.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Jan 8 2022, 12:21 PM
Thrust
post Jan 10 2022, 03:07 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(I.hunter @ Jan 10 2022, 11:36 AM)

My aunt has got a Honda City S 2009 (2009-2013 model) with mileage around 20-30k only and letting go to me for around 23k+. She is the first hand owner and has been using it since for driving around in town. Non flooded/major accident unit. Is it worth to pick this and aim to drive it another 7-10y? I am using a 12yo Myvi, so probably topup 10k can get this city or get other new cars. Is there anything I need to be prepare or should be aware if I get this car? is it worth it/suitable for me?

I'm not that kind of person that really go take care the car very properly other than just service/change parts when it's due (average owner - not my car is my wife mentality). My current myvi is fun enough to drive although abit lacking when going uphill. I don't mind getting something similar to current myvi but any weaker is not that fun anymore as I'm using the car for everything (city commute, leisure drive, outstation - mostly genting, cameron, pg, jb etc.) Want a good drive yet also want to save money. Options are this honda city 2009, axia (meh), saga (affordable but is it better than my myvi? or 2009 city is better option?), myvi 1.3/persona (top up >10k from saga  shocking.gif).
To be honest, many malays are looking out (hunting) for this car. Reason being, this car is very reliable and easy to maintain. Since your aunt is letting it go, plus with such a low mileage car, it is very worth to grab it.

This car beats all your other options (Myvi, Axia, Saga, Persona) anytime.

Once you took over this car, then we'll advice you on what you need to do for routine maintenance.

If you don't want to buy it, can contact me as I am interested to get it.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Jan 10 2022, 03:21 PM
Thrust
post Jan 10 2022, 03:23 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 10 2022, 03:20 PM)
134395km now. yeah. that's what i think happen too coz i do see many ppl post about this on GM2 facebook, hence i take a few more looks specifically to these areas.
at 134k km, I suppose there will be leaks but minor. Once you see the residue stain recurring, best is to replace these worn gasket. Else, your engine bay will be covered will oil stain in the long run.

48 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.1097sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:15 AM