27 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

v9.0 The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2011 thread, The new City, where to next?

cempedaklife
post Oct 14 2021, 04:52 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

one question.
do you guys feel it when your transmission is changing gear? as in you know when the car is change gear. or it should be buttery smooth till you cant tell?

just wondering as i forgot the new car feel.

i can feel it, but not sure if its normal or not.
cempedaklife
post Oct 14 2021, 05:21 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 14 2021, 05:14 PM)
if drives smooth then the engaging were smooth till you don't realized that the gear already shifted.
but under heavy revving then the shifting will be rough abit
ok..then i guess its "normal" though every gearbox wear would be different after 10 years.
mine one sometimes sometimes, and like you said. maybe have to do with rev.
but typically higher gear more smooth.
cempedaklife
post Oct 14 2021, 05:50 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 14 2021, 05:29 PM)
overall i felt 1st to 2nd gear was quite rough , 2nd gear and above was quite smooth ..
recently i pour a bottle of Estremo Nano ATF care as a preventive maintenance
but i don't feel any different before and after ... maybe just placebo effects and that bottle just cost me about RM35 with free shipping from shopee.
yeah. I've heard about addictive as well but then again there are others that say honda transmission also a bit sensitive to anything other than honda atf.
but i guess if its normal i can live with it.

thanks!

i do agree 1st to 2nd feels a bit rough most of the time, but sometimes ok juga. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Oct 14 2021, 05:51 PM
cempedaklife
post Oct 14 2021, 06:21 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 14 2021, 06:10 PM)
I was like the other way around ..
ppl ask stick to Honda ATF else your gearbox will be spoil and i was like using other than Honda ATF but after 23k KM no issue reported but just complaining the Fluid was dirty only.
so far so good and no complain for now .. hoping can last me another 10yrs  biggrin.gif
wah 10 years maybe a bit hard but doable.
my next target is another 5 years biggrin.gif
cempedaklife
post Oct 16 2021, 10:39 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

errr..no..still drive straight like an arrow. you need an alignment is it?
cempedaklife
post Oct 16 2021, 11:05 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Oct 16 2021, 10:46 PM)
When you position your steering wheel straight, can you let go of it without worrying it to steer to other side? Cuz it is difficult for me to get it right at the middle always need to slightly adjust it to left or right
yes i could. i did it from time to time just to test it out. though feel is really relative. i could let go and it steer considerably straight but if since i worried that road may not be straight, there might be pothole that impact the direction and my straight is not really straight, i cannot do that and close my eyes la.

good idea to do rotation so your tyre wear evenly. in your case, i think try alignment and balancing first.

cempedaklife
post Oct 16 2021, 11:07 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 16 2021, 11:04 PM)
Then you should consider replacing the rear tyres and swap them to the front.. 🤭

I not yet change tyres.. the current CC6 still have a lot of thread but my next go to tyre will probably be either UC6 or Yokohama Bluearth ES32.
I'm guessing you are driving an E spec then?
cempedaklife
post Oct 18 2021, 09:32 AM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 17 2021, 07:12 PM)
This tyre actually not worth it leh... Expensive and noisy when it gets older..
it is expensive and noisy after a year or two.

but considering I'm driving one with 175 65 15, this is the best bang for the buck for me.
it can tahan lama still got bunga. for me its good.
but it has peeling/crack issue after 3 years or so la.

i don't drive fast but in rain, i never had to adjust to drive in rain (apart from visibility issue la), from what i heard, its still best for wet handling at that price range.

surprisingly, even though mco period impact but still, my current set more than 2 years plus, still cantik macam new tyres
and its still the xm2 ones.

i did think about getting cc6 and bluearth E32 but the review i see macam not good for wet handling.
although i must say, i haven't found one reviewer comparethe above both against xm2 yet, as in a single user who has experience with two or more tyres mentioned.

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Oct 18 2021, 09:37 AM
cempedaklife
post Oct 18 2021, 10:07 AM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 18 2021, 09:53 AM)
I believe your XM2 still have not harden yet.. When it does, these tyre will be awfully noisy especially you drive through old worn out tarmac on the road.

So far I've been using CC6 for about 3 years already and I can say it is very much quieter than the XM2.

When it comes to performance, I don't think other tyres can beat the XM2 or the XM2+. It is just the way it is.. You excel in performance, you have to sacrifice on comfort.

So it will be up to drivers to choose which they prefer more and opt for the best tyre that suits their needs.
Yeah. I agree on the last part. So I went for durability and wet handling. I know about the noise coz this is my third set of xm2 I believe. Since the original good year.

cempedaklife
post Oct 19 2021, 08:38 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 19 2021, 06:44 PM)
Hi guys.. I wonder did anyone of you here had replace the radiator top casing (resin)?

Mine is getting yellowish which is a sign of fatigue and might be prone to crack sooner or later.
Isn’t it black? How to yellow?
cempedaklife
post Oct 20 2021, 01:38 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 20 2021, 11:36 AM)
As promised, it looks like this.

Thanks for sharing. Have to take a closer look at mine and report back.

cempedaklife
post Oct 20 2021, 01:39 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 20 2021, 01:00 PM)
icic
mine the condenser was black in color from SHOWA thailand.
but the bottom part those cooling fins started to dent from the stone chips
Mine is silver too too. I think it was covered in grime till it become black. I only notice it’s silver when DIY clean it.
cempedaklife
post Oct 20 2021, 05:01 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 20 2021, 01:54 PM)
Maybe different batch different color
for now the aircond wasn't that cold on hot days , need to plan one day send for flushing old gas and oil then only ask the foreman to inspect the whole system .
when was your last service?
few months ago i also complain
i flush the gas and foreman said put in UV dye for leak, till now no UV dye see at engine bay.
it improved so i didn't proceed with other aircon services.
and then i DIY clean the condenser myself then viola its much much better. laugh.gif
cempedaklife
post Oct 20 2021, 05:06 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 20 2021, 10:23 AM)
I read from radiator specialist, they recommend to replace the top & bottom resin cover instead of replacing the entire radiator panel. The price to replace resins vs the entire radiator are about the same.

However, they said the replacement radiator aluminum material are less or I would say lighter / not as thick as the original. That is the rational for it.
then its not replacing with the same material then if replace whole radiator. so sure got price difference.
i have to check mine closer then.

do share when you do anything on it, for reference to us laugh.gif
cempedaklife
post Oct 20 2021, 05:21 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 20 2021, 05:18 PM)
I already plan to replace the top and bottom casing, radiator hose and probably the thermostat.. Just see when I am free only.

After that, I also plan to refurbish the alternator all Kwong Yik alternator shop.
dammit. was thinking of my alternator too.
whether to do preventive measure. kwong yik really got a lot of good review here.
actually i don't mind going there to do preemptive maintenance at all
just not sure if it makes a difference (in term of longevity) if do it preemptively.
cempedaklife
post Oct 20 2021, 05:30 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 20 2021, 05:29 PM)
What is your current mileage?

I believe if you refurbish the alternator, it will definitely serve as a preventive maintenance as your alternator internal parts are renewed and it will be as good as new. This will highly reduce the chances of your car being stranded on the road due to a faulty alternator.
13xk km.
yeah. was thinking that. at this stage i don't mind spending a bit here and there (just a bit more biggrin.gif) to maintain it.
considering i don't have any instalment to worry. laugh.gif
just need to know what make sense

plus, considering if alternator really kong. really troublesome, need to tow la..that time dunno can tow to kwong weng or not. plus dunno how long before they serve you (heard got many ppl you need to go way early), later end up too troublesome may got for new rather than repair. so that's also part of the consideration.

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Oct 20 2021, 05:33 PM
cempedaklife
post Oct 20 2021, 05:39 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 20 2021, 05:37 PM)
My last service also back in Dec 2019.
usually i DIY clean off the condenser with multi-purpose cleaner to wash off the grimes from the road to ensure better cooling
I use the indoor aircon cleaner. Works quite well. Cheap too. But diy without dismantling uaing mr diy spray bottle, not every small corner can reach la. But good enuf. Better than do nothing
cempedaklife
post Oct 20 2021, 05:56 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 20 2021, 05:49 PM)
have you try removing the aircond fan unit underneath the dashboard to service as well ?
don't dare bro.
i very minor DIY guy only.

- change engine air filter
- change cabin air filter
- change dome light
- spray silicon on battery terminal
- clean MAF sensor
- spray clean condenser
- ketuk magnetic clutch when it was failing to diagnose
- suka suka check obd2 with cheap obd2 scanner

itu saja i dare laugh.gif
cempedaklife
post Oct 21 2021, 10:18 AM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(nike89 @ Oct 21 2021, 10:11 AM)
is this service provided at honda SC?
just wonder would they cover this as part of preventive maintenance.

can i know roughly how much it cost if done at kwong yik.
i remember in kwong yik, most forummer is charged the same rm180, unless they do something extra.
as for SC, don't think they cover la. they will most likely say can last 5 years/100k km, or whatever it is during warranty. (which it really should last that long)
if rosak pun after warranty, ask you replace at your own cost, instead of repair/maintain.
i guess even outside workshop most is like that.

thats why kwong weng is a gem discovered laugh.gif

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Oct 21 2021, 10:20 AM
cempedaklife
post Nov 2 2021, 07:46 AM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

so my car has been creaking on off when going on bump, and lately a bit more serious when taking corner as well (it never really creak when corner before, but the sound not so serious la).

i have changed my engine mounts on April so i don't think it was the issue, then i narrow down in my mind, the absorbers, which i changed aftermarket (shokz by apm) about 3-4 years ago.

i have left over of AT205 (search in this forum what this is about), which is a liquid to rejuvenate rubber and and sprayed on the absorber, as you can see it was wet a bit. and it helps.

but i just noticed something. when i turn steering to left, the left absorber mount has gap, when i turn steering to right, the right absorber mount has gap, is this normal?

27 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.1120sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:55 AM