Maybank 2 Cards Premier, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

Gen-X
post Feb 22 2014, 10:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Feb 18 2014, 08:23 PM)
Principal: RM800, FREE for the first year
Subsequent years FREE if spend a min of RM80,000 per annum
Supplementary: FREE up to 4 supplementary card
5th supplementary card will be charge RM 400 per annum

Minimum annual income: RM180,000
Benefits
•Maybank 2 Cards Reserve American Express® Card gives you higher Treats Points earn.
Maybank 2 Cards Reserve American Express Card
Local:  RM 1 : 5x TP
Oversea: RM 1 : 5x TP
2x TP: Government Bodies, Education Institutions and Insurance Providers

•Redeem 1,000 Air Miles: Enrich Miles (MAS) / KrisFlyer Miles (Singapore Airlines) with 4,500 Treats Points.

WOW! Fantastic, local spending 5X TP with same conversion for Enrich Miles as MBB VI. Based on what I have been preaching that my Maybank Visa Infinite gives me up to equivalent 30% cash back for overseas spending (click here to read my article about it), the same can be said for this card (the AMEX) smile.gif So, this card is excellent for those who spend RM80K a year locally.

However, too bad its for AMEX only and not Visa or MasterCard, therefore I won't be applying for this card. IF it had offered 5X TP for the Visa or for government bodies then I definitely will go find someway to get it. I just used my MBB VI to get 2X TP pay for local council assessment bills and earn myself 2X TP too. Nowadays my major local expenses are for Air Asia tickets and it is no where near the RM80K spending to get auto annual fee waiver. For overseas, I still think Maybank Visa is better as it is accepted at more places including for schools/universities tuition fees.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 22 2014, 10:43 PM
Gen-X
post Feb 22 2014, 11:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 22 2014, 10:53 PM)
But this Amex comes together with the VI - and the RM80k spending limit is combined between the two. If you can reach RM80K between Amex locally and VI overseas this card makes sense for Enrich collecting
So it comes with VI giving 5XTP and 2XTP for overseas and local spending respectively? If yes, you are right, I should go get these cards.
Gen-X
post Feb 22 2014, 11:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 22 2014, 11:10 PM)
Indeed.

See below reply from Maybank when I enquired :

They should really change their product information page on their website and give full information. Doesn't even say there which card is supplied!
Ya loh, I was wondering if the other card we can choose between a Visa or MC.

Thanks Bro for taking the time to post the MBB reply.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 22 2014, 11:19 PM
Gen-X
post Feb 23 2014, 11:10 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Feb 23 2014, 02:16 AM)
If we can choose between Visa and MasterCard, then the minimum spend to get the annual fee waiver won't be just RM80K per annum. tongue.gif
You making me confuse bro, I don't understand... can elaborate?

Anyway, for your case, even if spending requirement RM100K for fee waiver also no problems notworthy.gif
Gen-X
post Feb 23 2014, 07:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Feb 23 2014, 06:28 PM)
Haha, the Reserve Amex only comes with VI...

You see, in order to get the annual fee waiver on the WMC, one need to spend RM120K per annum. If the Reserve Amex can let us choose Between the VI and WMC, it's more worth to get the companion of WMC, as it's just need to spend RM80K per annum only. Hehe...

Oh, I get it now, yes MBB WMC requirement is high.

To ALL:

I did call MBB CS today to redeem my TP to Enrich so ask them the MBB 2 Premier. Now MBB VI downgraded to 3rd position i.e. Press 1 for WMC, Press 2 for MBB 2 Premier and Press 3 for VI.

The guy told me:

1. Download form to apply - and submit with docs (i.e. income). You guys know this is a problem for me sweat.gif

2. The MBB 2 Premier comes with PPMC card that allows 5 FREE entries. And if I keep my existing MBB VI (I already meet the min requirement for waiver) and get the MBB 2 Premier, total 10 FREE entries to airport lounge thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 23 2014, 07:57 PM
Gen-X
post Feb 24 2014, 02:48 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Feb 24 2014, 10:37 AM)
Gen-X, sifu, did u see this Post. Another CC for you to add to your collection.
Bro, thanks for taking the trouble to let me know, but I already commented, see previous page.

Yah, I want this card smile.gif And I will tell you why in my latest article to be published tomorrow or day after.
Gen-X
post Feb 25 2014, 12:31 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Feb 24 2014, 10:37 AM)
Gen-X, sifu, did u see this Post. Another CC for you to add to your collection.
Bro, like I said earlier I will tell you why I want the Maybank 2 Cards Premier ( I want and I can get is a different story, haha).

Besides the excellent conversion to Enrich for local spending, I just compared my MBB AMEX vs Maybank Visa infinite overseas conversion rate and found out that I am being ripped with the Maybank Visa Infinite.

Click here to my article MORE A Little Bitt Of This And A Little Bit Of That when you get home and read my comments on Overseas Conversion Rate and Maybank 2 Cards Premier First Look - A Quick Review. Note, this article is like a series of mini articles and if you don't have time to waste, please don't click on the link given.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 25 2014, 12:31 PM
Gen-X
post Feb 25 2014, 01:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Feb 25 2014, 01:00 PM)
I was surprised to see that maybank oversea conversion rate is actually cheaper than visa infinite! can't wait to received this card and use it in my japan trip next month.
I was not really surprised that AMEX ended up lower BUT with 1% diff, that I can't believe. But like I said, too bad I only did one transaction with the AMEX.

Bro, please use both the AMEX and Visa on your next overseas trip so that we have more comparison. And please let me know the outcome.
Gen-X
post Feb 26 2014, 06:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Feb 25 2014, 10:57 AM)
i received a call from their marketing department asking me whether im interested to migrate my VI to their 2 cards premier.. no docs required..
Why I not in their list cry.gif

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Feb 26 2014, 08:51 AM)
One of my friend just got his Reserve Amex. The card still bearing the 'Maybankard' logo instead of 'Maybank'.
This is the same to the VI.
I guess Maybank must have printed the cards much much earlier (last year) and only decided to launch it after the Christmas and CNY Festive seasons. According to the MBB people I spoke to, currently the MBB 2 Cards Premier still at soft launch stage. Official launching next month.

My "new" replacement Maybankard 2 Card AMEX sent to me end of last year is Maybank smile.gif To see it,
click here to my article My Credit Cards and Bragging Rights 2014

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 26 2014, 06:02 PM
Gen-X
post Feb 27 2014, 07:46 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Feb 27 2014, 05:35 PM)
Haha... Good news!!

Me later will go One U to collect my card as i received a call from them earlier. I didn't ask what card is that, most probably is my replacement card of the MBB 2 Amex. Let's see this time the card it's 'Maybank' or 'Maybankard'.
QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Feb 27 2014, 07:35 PM)
Got my replacement card for te amex. Still the old stock, bearing 'Maybankard'...
I guess the Maybankard Centre has lots of old stock. For my case, I requested it to be sent to my home, maybe from HQ and that's why new stock unsure.gif
Gen-X
post Feb 27 2014, 10:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Feb 27 2014, 10:28 PM)
So in this case, shall I request again those replacement card and to be sent to my billing address? tongue.gif
Why don't you call CS and ask how to go about getting the one without "Maybankard".... without being charge replacement fee (since you just got yours).

QUOTE(Dozz @ Feb 27 2014, 08:05 PM)
I requested to be sent to my home address too..  Let see I will get' maybank' only or not hehe
Bro, yours MBB 2 Premier, i.e. AMEX Reserve, right. We referring to MBB 2 AMEX Plat.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 27 2014, 11:00 PM
Gen-X
post Feb 28 2014, 02:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Feb 28 2014, 11:32 AM)
What about others who had applied this card? What is the last 5 digits of your Amex Reserve?

503XX? 504XX?
Alex.Yong and Dozz

Considering the AMEX is so easy to be used for fraud, why you guys want to let the world know its first digit of the last 5 numbers. But since you guys talking about number, how nice if I can get one that ends with 818 laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 28 2014, 02:13 PM
Gen-X
post Feb 28 2014, 04:06 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

See, now everyone knows the first digit of the last 5 numbers, hahahah.

QUOTE(iamWill @ Feb 28 2014, 03:56 PM)
Btw, can anyone post your card picture to prove your XXXXX? Lolol
Bro, Danial Ariff's last five digit starts with 8 and ends with 8, see post#1

Gen-X
post Mar 10 2014, 07:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just came back from Melbourne, and I was happy that my new MBB 2 Cards Premier were at home to welcome me back, hahaha.

Click here to my Facebook Page to see the welcome pack.
Gen-X
post Mar 16 2014, 09:52 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just read the T&C of the contest and highlighted in my Facebook Page that the contest is only open to PRINCIPAL card members. Take note.
Gen-X
post Mar 20 2014, 11:33 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just published my comprehensive review of the Maybank 2 Cards Premier, took me more than a week to compile and write the said article. The article/review covers the followings:

1. Why I wanted the Maybank 2 Cards Premier;

2. Real life image of my new Maybank 2 Cards Premier American Express Reserve and Visa Infinite beside my old stand alone Maybankard Visa Infinite. Of course the cards numbers' have been photoshop by yours truly;

3. Standard Card Benefits of both the AMEX Reserve and Visa Infinite;

4. Why the Maybank 2 Cards Premier has the best returns compared to any other credit card in the market;

5. Maybank 2 Cards Premier is the BEST Credit Card in The World. Reason being there is no other credit card with annual income requirement of USD60K/year that earns you 1 Enrich Mile for every USD0.30 spent anywhere on planet earth;

6. What you should do if you hold a Maybank Credit Card;

7. How to go about converting your Treats Points to Enrich Miles;

8. Foreign currency exchange rate, you will be surprised to find out that my AMEX has a better conversion rate compared to all my other Visa Infinites;

9. Places that accept AMERICAN EXPRESS;

10. Where to apply for the Maybank 2 Cards Premier; and

much more other related stuff.

Please click here to read my article titled Maybank 2 Cards Premier - Comprehensive Review of The No.1 Best Credit Card in Malaysia and Possibly The World too.

Dozz, please report back your AMEX and VI transactions overseas to compare conversion rates.

Alec.Yong, if you find that the above said article can benefit others, would appreciate you provide link to it in Post#1.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 20 2014, 11:36 AM
Gen-X
post Mar 21 2014, 02:32 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Mar 20 2014, 01:50 PM)
just read thru the awesome article smile.gif

under section MAYBANK2U ONLINE ACCOUNT - YOU DON'T NEED TO HAVE A SAVINGS ACCOUNT WITH THEM, last paragraph "Furthermore, beginning 1st April, we will be imposed RM0.50 for using cheques whereas it only cost RM0.10 for online transfer/payments to a third party via GIRO."

it seems BNM has deferred the imposition of cheque processing fee of 50 sen to 2 Jan 2015 instead.

Sauce: http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=en_pres...ess_all&ac=2983
Bro, thanks for the kind compliment.

And thank you much on the cheque processing fee thingy, I guess I will then still continue to pay my CC bills via cheques smile.gif

QUOTE(Dozz @ Mar 20 2014, 02:23 PM)
I will go to Japan next week.. I'll spend both cards Visa IV and AMEX at the same day and see whats the conversion rate like. Update later!
Looking forward to it.

I'll be flying off to Melbourne by end of this week and will try to remember to use both the AMEX Reserve and Visa Infinite on the same day(s). And I'll only visit here once I get back in early April.
Gen-X
post Apr 16 2014, 09:57 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just posted my Aussie transactions with my Maybank 2 Cards Premier AMEX Reserve versus Visa Infinite in my latest article titled A Little Bit Of this and A Little Bit Of That - Vol.1, Chapter IV.

For the benefit of those of you not interested in reading about stuff that I write about, here are the transactions:

Maybank 2 Cards American Express Reserve:
AUD44.19
RM135.9
Conversion Rate: 3.0753564

Maybank 2 Cards Visa Infinite:
AUD156.80
RM486.06
Conversion Rate: 3.09987

Dozz - managed to perform any overseas transactions yet with your MBB 2 Cards Premier?
Gen-X
post Apr 16 2014, 03:17 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Apr 16 2014, 03:01 PM)
Hi Gen X and all!

I'm back to this forum again. Yap, i just come back from Japan few days ago.  I purposely use different cards on the same day transactions. I checked my credit card statement online and here the outcome :

Maybank 2 Card Visa Infinite
Transaction date : 28 March 2014
Yen : 1890.00
RM : 118.21
Conversion Rate: 0.03290

Transaction date : 27 March 2014
Yen : 3420.00
RM : 112.56
Conversion Rate: 0.03291

Maybank 2 Card AMEX Reserve
Transaction date: 28 March 2014
Yen : 1890.00
RM : 62.01
Conversion Rate:  0.03280

Transaction date: 27 March 2014
Yen : 3100.00
RM : 101.74
Conversion Rate: 0.03281

Obviously Maybank 2 Amex Reserve card give us cheaper conversation rate in oversea transaction.  thumbup.gif
Thanks, so far you, rjb123 and me confirmed AMEX's foreign currency conversion rate lower than VI.
Gen-X
post Apr 18 2014, 01:46 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tigaxxx @ Apr 18 2014, 08:25 AM)
Was looking at my 1st statement of CC account  and noticed 30,000 "RESERVE ACTIVATION TP " ... smile.gif
Didn't know about FREE 30,000 TP before...

30,000 TP = 6,666 enrich miles,
so This free TP alone can almost justify paying rm800 annual fee for frequent flyer like me .....

Yah, nice welcome gift, FREE TPs. If you had not post I would not have even noticed it.

QUOTE(tigaxxx @ Apr 18 2014, 01:01 PM)
I'm sure from Amex , cos in the statement , stated there "RESERVE ACTIVATION TP "   and NOT   "VISA INFINITE ACTIVATION TP" ...
Perhaps other users can confirm this...
Yah, nice welcome gift, FREE TPs. If you had not post I would not have even noticed it.

I just checked my Statement after reading the posts above. Well, my statement also mentioned "RESERVE Activation TP" BUT I only got 20,000TP!!! Well, better than nothing and get to offset cost of RM100 GST. As for the VI, I got nothing for activation, only earned TPs from overseas spent. Maybe got to use the VI locally to get 10,000TP? I must go call CS and report back later.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 18 2014, 01:48 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0579sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:28 AM