Router Configuration Riger DB102 modem thread, Technical support

TStan_pang
post May 28 2007, 07:35 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(leadaxer @ May 28 2007, 07:30 PM)
I'm only using the Windows Firewall of XP SP2. Have added exceptions for the Utorrent software as well as UDP and TDP ports. Might i be missing anything else?
then how is the speed??
is it slow when you connected to many Malaysian peer??

if your speed didnt slow down, then it should be the µTorrent test port function got problem...
else, then try reset the modem, port forward again
and MUST click "Commit" in "Commit & Reboot" (most important. so that your setting will be save in the modem)

This post has been edited by tan_pang: May 28 2007, 07:36 PM
TStan_pang
post Jun 3 2007, 03:56 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(-kel- @ Jun 1 2007, 08:56 AM)
Riger db102 - did a reboot after settings and now I can't connect to the modem, ping it or even reset it.  Only the power and pc lights are on.  Bricked?  I don't know if I might have accidentally used other reboot options.. but should be able to reset? Never had such problems with other modems before icon_question.gif  Any advice?

Its the "in-a-box" package.. might try to request for a modem change from tmnet  sad.gif
try reset
once reset, all the option will be reset
so, i think the safest way is to reset

if after reset still have problem
then ask for exchange
TStan_pang
post Jun 4 2007, 11:35 AM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(-kel- @ Jun 4 2007, 09:10 AM)
Thanks for the reply.  I have tried doing a reset but nothing happens.  Will try to get an exchange, only worried tmnet might say I spoil the modem and  refuse to exchange. Thx again
last time i spoil a Aztech 600 (eu or er?? aledi forgot)
by change the firmware, and still got a modem exchange

why?? becoz the technician dunno anything...
i juz say "try change the modem"
then he try on this rubbish... everything fix since that

for me, this modem is easy to config only
nothing more pros
and if got anything wrong, i can reset back to previous stage...

if cant reset, then the only way is to exchange only

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Jun 4 2007, 11:41 AM
TStan_pang
post Jun 4 2007, 09:20 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(unix11t @ Jun 4 2007, 09:05 PM)
i juz got my streamyx activated. and currently i get the db102 modem which i only can online 1 pc. i connected it to the switch and i cant make other pc online.

can anyone help me in do the rite setting to enable all pc to be online. and make it act like a router. thankx
let me quote my old post
QUOTE(tan_pang @ May 13 2007, 05:58 PM)
First, go to http://192.168.1.1/
In the username and password field, key in "tmadmin" without the quote mark
(assume that you haven't change the username and password)

Second, go to WAN (or Routing) > PPP
you will see PPP configuration at there

3rd, Press "Add"
at the "PPP Interface - Add" > "Security Information"
key in your streamyx username and password
Submit

after that, refresh the PPP configuration page by press the "Refresh" at there until the "Oper. Status" show "Link Up"

Optional (in "PPP Interface - Add" )
1. You can enable the DHCP if you want
2. You can also enable the DNS too as you like
this is how to connect by routing mode
i think i have to update it to first post...
TStan_pang
post Jun 4 2007, 10:06 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(unix11t @ Jun 4 2007, 10:01 PM)
1 question. can it be connected to many pc via switches? and is it auto log in. i mean let say the main pc is off. can other pc which connected tru the switch can be online? im noob in networking.
the modem/router will connect itself after you set it connect by PPPOE
it mean even you have no computer open (as long as the modem/router open)
it is aledi connected to internet...

and of coz, all the pc can online if you set like that
and no matter which pc is turn off, other pc still can online
TStan_pang
post Jun 5 2007, 12:14 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Jun 5 2007, 12:50 AM)
u can connect or not??
then it goes dc suddenly??
hahaha laugh.gif
this is very funny, but truth...

becoz this modem/router is easily to dc while connecting with routing mode
cant even last for 3 hours...

Added on June 5, 2007, 12:15 pmso, unix11t
if you dc frequently with this modem routing mode...
then congrat... rclxms.gif
you are juz same with us

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Jun 5 2007, 12:15 PM
TStan_pang
post Jun 6 2007, 02:20 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(digitalpenang @ Jun 6 2007, 11:49 AM)
can i set up as a manual dial up and use the rounter funtion so other pc will be able to access internet?

will this have less dc?
manual dial-up but got router function??
kidding??

but what i did is use bridging mode (manual dialup) on 2 pc
the condition is the 2pc MUST connect at the same time
else, 1 pc can connect, the other will be error 691
need much time to do it if you get the wrong timing...

TStan_pang
post Jul 1 2007, 12:39 AM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(Se0ng @ Jun 30 2007, 06:17 PM)
hi, need some help here, i follow the guide n do something on the ppp, and the status show "linkup", but y i still can't connect to internet?can tell me which part i forget to change?n when if I connect the internet myself without do anything in ppp, i can surf internet,I not sure what information i that need to be give, but my modem set as bridge
how come you still cant connect to internet??
after got "Link Up", open IE/FF and type http://forum.lowyat.net/ also cannot connect to here??

TStan_pang
post Jul 1 2007, 10:55 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(Se0ng @ Jul 1 2007, 09:41 PM)
I also kinda blur blur, 2day don't know set what inside there, now can oledi, thanks to all the guide tongue.gif ,but c like connection speed not as fast as b4,not sure y, did the dns affect the internet browse speed? are more ip route increase browse speed, or vice versa?

i tracert lowyat, google, get the same result like below, am my router set wrong something?

tracert lowyat.net

Tracing route to lowyat.net [202.190.197.144]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1    1 ms    1 ms    1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  3    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  4    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  5    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  6    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  7    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  8    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  9    *        *        *    Request timed out.
10    *        *        *    Request timed out.
11  150 ms  141 ms    49 ms  www.lowyat.net [202.190.197.144]

Trace complete.
better use back bridging mode to connect
this modem really have problem in routing mode connection

i also have many experience of "Request time out" problem in routing mode
thats why i using bridging mode
TStan_pang
post Jul 2 2007, 01:42 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(Se0ng @ Jul 2 2007, 12:01 AM)
oic, no wonder so hard to browse, i try to set back to bridge mode n c, by the way, i still can use the ppp at routing menu there to auto connect to internet,right?

[updated*] wow, routing mode using this modem really have so many problem, now i change it back to bridge mode, the connection are more better than routing mode, but how to let more than 1 computer connect to the internet without dialing it in bridge mode?r all this has been teach at previous page=.=?when i set it to bridge, and add auto connect into ppp, although it show link up,but i can't connect to internet unless I dial up the connection myself
you MUST dial in bridging mode
and if you want 2 pc or more to online in the same time with bridging mode
you have to make all the pc "dial" at the same time
TStan_pang
post Jul 13 2007, 11:47 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(Se0ng @ Jul 2 2007, 02:55 PM)
think i change the modem better, streamyx really sux ever in thier modem, actually, what is PPOA? i use bridge n PPOE oledi,then how bout PPOA?
if you are not using the Enterprise package of screwmyx
dun use PPPoA
becoz PPPoA is for static ip only
TStan_pang
post Jul 19 2007, 04:11 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(yaya1899 @ Jul 19 2007, 09:14 AM)
I got tis modem last friday and it was working fine in routing mode. But the modem "kong" on monday, left the power LED on only. So my colleauge exchanged for a new one and it only worked for 1 day... shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
After reset the modem, the link is up but the i can't even ping the gateway....did i miss up somting? notworthy.gif
try connect with bridging mode first
but if you cant even login to the modem
then reset first, and try to login again
else, try to unplug the DSL line
else... smash this modem and ask for a new one...
TStan_pang
post Jan 8 2008, 07:15 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Jan 8 2008, 10:16 AM)
this modem really super crappy , just replaced it today , and power on , all lights lit up and hang there  doh.gif
when all light on and not blinking
that usually mean this modem hang already...... sweat.gif
TStan_pang
post Mar 8 2008, 07:34 PM

3,110 posts

I have change my modem because this modem is not functional anymore!!!

the light keep blinking from PC > Data > Link and the process keep repeating... it just like the light goes from right to left, reset button also useless...
TStan_pang
post May 6 2008, 12:03 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(XteBan @ Apr 7 2008, 10:40 AM)
ok guys...
I M RILI HAVING A PROBLEM HERE
I m using DB102...and i bought a router Buffalo Air station WHR-G54s..
ok...now comes the weird part...when i try to setup the router...until at one point it said "connection to air station failed"

how do i solve this problem??
Another thing is that, even though i din finish configuring the router, my dad's laptop is able to use the wireless network and connect to the internet...but I canot access the internet when i connect to the wireless network...jz said local oni~
another thing is that, when my desktop is on9, my dad's laptop canot on9...should i change to routing mode for that modem?
help me pleassssee~
I don't know how to solve your problem... sweat.gif
because I'm noob in networking...
QUOTE(faizin @ May 4 2008, 11:17 PM)
hello, im using this modem and have d-link 5 port switch to share and make lan with my other pc. But the thing is i don't know how to set the configuration of this modem that suits for the sharing internet connection with the other pc.Im very very noob in networking.So, plz anyone helps me to guide step by step to configure with this modem for lan.

btw, im also dont know how to setting for the connection with the switch.my streamyx is manual login.so, plz help me with this settings too.
First, you have to make your modem become auto-connect (connect by routing mode)
I have put it under the spoiler in first post... try check on it

After you connect by routing mode, you should have no problem for file sharing and connect to internet...

This post has been edited by tan_pang: May 6 2008, 12:03 PM
TStan_pang
post May 10 2008, 12:42 AM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(St.Daring @ May 8 2008, 05:18 PM)
My LINK light is blinking.
Tried all the steps and all the calls made to streamyx but still cant solve.
What should i do now?
thats most probably mean your modem is died already......

btw, just LINK light is blinking?? how about the other??
TStan_pang
post Jun 13 2008, 09:42 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(F-22 @ Jun 12 2008, 02:45 PM)
i hv a riger db-102 modem from tmnet, i set it up as a router and it works.

but the problem im having with this modem is:-

1. when turned off and switched it on again, all the setting will become lost and need to reconfigure again if want to use it as a router, else it will stay in bridging mode.
2. after a few hours use as a router, i cannot connect to the internet. need to turned it off and reconfigure again, then i can use the internet.

im sick of using this modem/router in a weird way. is there anything i can do to make all of these problems would not happen again?? sad.gif

1. You haven't save your settings. You have to go to Admin > Commit & Reboot and click Commit after do the settings. Else, when you restart your modem, it will back to default configuration.
  2. That is the main problem of Riger DB102. It have routing mode issue. Therefore I don't recommend anyone to use routing mode. I have face it many times, and since that never use routing mode on this modem.

TStan_pang
post Jun 18 2008, 12:07 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(simpul @ Jun 15 2008, 04:27 PM)
my modem seems hanged a lot today.. the data LED didn't seems to be blinking and the internet was out.. any suggestions? issit heat issues?
Call them is the best way...

I have use this modem for more than a year (now didn't use it anymore), it doesn't have heat issue...

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Jun 18 2008, 12:07 PM
TStan_pang
post Jun 19 2008, 01:31 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 18 2008, 05:40 PM)
i have to say this modem is pretty good.
What I think good about this modem is that it is easy to configure and no heat issue...

But easily to modem hang, and cannot do well in routing mode.
TStan_pang
post Jun 22 2008, 02:14 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(helo @ Jun 22 2008, 10:44 AM)
how to check weather which account it connect to ?
After get into the router configuration page, go to WAN -> PPP
Click detail to see which account you connect
QUOTE(helo @ Jun 22 2008, 10:44 AM)
how to disable the auto-connect function? thanks.
Click delete beside the PPP rule

If you don't want the PPP rules come back after close/reset the modem, then go to Admin -> Commit & Reboot and click Commit

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0368sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:22 PM