Life Sciences Future of a Biomedical Science graduate in M'SIA, what is next after the basic degree

TSsnowz28
post Feb 13 2014, 12:40 PM, updated 12y ago

69 posts

I considered Biomedical Science as my undergraduate degree course.
I haven't registered myself but the intake is a month away. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Those biomedical students or graduates, please do help smile.gif

What can I do after completing the basic 3/4 years of biomed degree? flex.gif

As far as I was told, biomedical science students usually end up in labs doing research.
I am not a very lab kind of person, nor do I love biology.
But compared to medicine and pharmacy, this seems like a lighter and brighter path to take.

I would like to know the opportunities of a biomed graduate.
I've heard of furthering one's studies.
What if I don't..?
What am I left to choose..? shakehead.gif

Plus, pharmacy and medicine fields are said to be getting VERY saturated with umemployed graduates.
Is this the same with biomed..?
This is a big concern for me as I am planning to stay in Malaysia unless I am THAT smart to earn myself a scholarship.
Meanwhile, I need to know the ugliest fact before I throw myself into this course.

THANK YOU! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
zheng88
post Feb 13 2014, 12:42 PM

Nutritionist / Nutrition Counselor
485 posts

Better you do accounting cert and start working part time; do a degree in accountancy in the evening that way no problem with job.
trosicky
post Feb 13 2014, 12:58 PM

20 posts

Really hard to find any job that specifically require biomedical degree, such as science officer@research officer position normally they will open to several other courses such as microbiology, biochem etc. so u have to fight with other people from diff courses for the same position. Biomedical lack of focus on something, jack of all trade,master of none. U can use ur flexibility as biomedical graduates to enter into many other post grad courses, become expert on something such as invitro fertilization, natural products or many others in order to make urself more valuable. Speaking from my own experience, currently i'm finishing my master on computational chemistry with application on sensor, previously working as SO for natural products, b4 that i'm doing works on endophytes as RA and yes, i'm biomedical graduates
Critical_Fallacy
post Feb 13 2014, 12:59 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(snowz28 @ Feb 13 2014, 12:40 PM)
As far as I was told, biomedical science students usually end up in labs doing research.
They tend to end up in doing sales for biomed companies. icon_idea.gif
TSsnowz28
post Feb 13 2014, 01:18 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(zheng88 @ Feb 13 2014, 12:42 PM)
Better you do accounting cert and start working part time; do a degree in accountancy in the evening that way no problem with job.

yes I've heard of how beneficial is the accounting course.

unfortunately, I've tried accountings in SPM.
Maybe it was my problem, since I didn't put as much effort in it as I did in science. ( since accounts was an elective subject, which I dropped at last before registering my final confirmed subjects for SPM)
Boy, I would say I can't do all the journals and bills.
Dont get me wrong, I love maths and figures, but somehow I couldn't do that.
But I wouldn't deny that I did not have the heart for it.

Recently I read back accounts materials in my college library, the ones for ACCA students.
I realized, I still don't have the grasp for it.
So, I think I shall just study a science degree.

THANK YOU for your feedback (:
TSsnowz28
post Feb 13 2014, 01:24 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(trosicky @ Feb 13 2014, 12:58 PM)
Really hard to find any job that specifically require biomedical degree, such as science officer@research officer position normally they will open to several other courses such as microbiology, biochem etc. so u have to fight with other people from diff courses for the same position. Biomedical lack of focus on something, jack of all trade,master of none. U can use ur flexibility as biomedical graduates to enter into many other post grad courses, become expert on something such as invitro fertilization, natural products or many others in order to make urself more valuable. Speaking from my own experience, currently i'm finishing my master on computational chemistry with application on sensor, previously working as SO for natural products, b4 that i'm doing works on endophytes as RA and yes, i'm biomedical graduates

I am sorry but I am having a hard time digesting what you've written. lol.
Can you make it simpler..? biggrin.gif
It's okay if you don't get my point.

Anyway, what do you mean that biomedical is lack of focus..?
I understand that it isn't a professional degree unlike a pharmacy degree.
However, I've also been told that biomed graduates are more flexible than pharmacy graduates.

One of the reasons I doubt pharmacy, is because I couldn't and wouldn't want to see myself guarding a pharmacy.
I don't have the financial ability anyway.
But a senior told me, an engineer graduate who doesn't want to end up as an engineer has other great opportunities such as working in a bank or other companies that need great math minds.
But as for pharmacy, besides working in clinics, retail pharmacy, or selling medicines.. there are not many other options left.

What would you say about Biomed..?
And your masters.. what is that exactly about..? computational chemistry with application on sensor..? that sounds.. so NOT familiar at all hahaha.
Forgive me If I sound dumb, I am actually biggrin.gif tongue.gif
TSsnowz28
post Feb 13 2014, 01:26 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Feb 13 2014, 12:59 PM)
They tend to end up in doing sales for biomed companies. icon_idea.gif

What does a biomed company do/sell?
How does one differs with a pharmacy which sell drugs..?

THANK YOU FOR YOUR COMMENT THOUGH biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TheDuckster
post Feb 13 2014, 01:31 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(snowz28 @ Feb 13 2014, 01:26 PM)

What does a biomed company do/sell?
How does one differs with a pharmacy which sell drugs..?

THANK YOU FOR YOUR COMMENT THOUGH  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
make one post enough la...make so many different post, all same story geh -,-

Anyway, simple.

Biomedical sciences can be use for non-sciences jobs a.k.a. medical underwriter, etc and don't have to take Masters.

Pharmacy allows license for own retail pharmacy BUT requires Masters for license.
TSsnowz28
post Feb 13 2014, 01:49 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Feb 13 2014, 01:31 PM)

Anyway, simple.

Biomedical sciences can be use for non-sciences jobs a.k.a. medical underwriter, etc and don't have to take Masters.

Pharmacy allows license for own retail pharmacy BUT requires Masters for license.

Ahhh I see.. nod.gif

Well the posts are not exactly same. haha (:
I hope to help those that have similar doubts as myself lol.

Plus, does the different posts thing trouble you..?
Sorry if it does, then you can choose to only read one. (:

Thanks though! smile.gif
trosicky
post Feb 13 2014, 01:58 PM

20 posts

There is no such thing as Biomedical Officer..if u grad from pharmacy, medic, dental, optometry..the job already waiting for u, unlike biomedical grad. What i meant by lack of focus is, after u grad, u have no expertise on something, u do learn pharmacology, physiology, microbiology, biochemistry etc. BUT u are not the expert on those specific subject.There is specific course for microbiology, biochemistry, pharmacy and those graduate become expert on their field. eg When a company want to hire a microbiologist, u also can say u can do microbe but microbiology graduate will have the advantages here, unless the company want to hire multi-skill worker such as microbiologist+biochemist, biomedical graduates do have advantage..My master do involve some quantum+analytical chemistry, i'm doing my master at Department of Chemistry, like i said, biomedical graduates very flexible..one more, sales executive become one of the most popular job for biomed grad...if u really like selling stuff
touix
post Feb 13 2014, 02:03 PM

139 posts

I'm a biomedical science graduate, currently working as a lecturer in IPTS.

I don't think this course is for you if you don't like doing lab works. There will be no less than 80% of subjects offered in this course require lab session. Furthermore, all of these subjects require the student to pass practical examination (apart from written final examinations).

Most of my fellow classmates during undergrad days now work as Science/Research Officer or Lab Managers. Some went for PG after graduation and embarked their career in teaching or research in IPTs. Some ended up being sales or technical reps for medical/lab equipments or drugs. Less than 10 of us now working as medical underwriter for insurance company.

Since you dislike labwork, there isn't much for you as a biomedical graduate in Malaysia at current moment. Furthermore, there is no proper human resource management in malaysia, hence you will be surprised if you could not get a decent job related to biomed after graduating.

The best you could do for now is to learn to love labwork.
touix
post Feb 13 2014, 02:05 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(trosicky @ Feb 13 2014, 01:58 PM)
There is no such thing as Biomedical Officer ..if u grad from pharmacy, medic, dental, optometry..the job already waiting for u, unlike biomedical grad. What i meant by lack of focus is, after u grad, u have no expertise on something, u do learn pharmacology, physiology, microbiology, biochemistry etc. BUT u are not the expert on those specific subject.There is specific course for microbiology, biochemistry, pharmacy and those graduate become expert on their field. eg When a company want to hire a microbiologist, u also can say u can do microbe but microbiology graduate will have the advantages here, unless the company want to hire multi-skill worker such as microbiologist+biochemist, biomedical graduates do have advantage..My master do involve some quantum+analytical chemistry, i'm doing my master at Department of Chemistry, like i said, biomedical graduates very flexible..one more, sales executive become one of the most popular job for biomed grad...if u really like selling stuff
There is one under SPA. Google Pegawai Sains Bioperubatan
TheDuckster
post Feb 13 2014, 02:11 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(trosicky @ Feb 13 2014, 01:58 PM)
There is no such thing as Biomedical Officer..if u grad from pharmacy, medic, dental, optometry..the job already waiting for u, unlike biomedical grad. What i meant by lack of focus is, after u grad, u have no expertise on something, u do learn pharmacology, physiology, microbiology, biochemistry etc. BUT u are not the expert on those specific subject.There is specific course for microbiology, biochemistry, pharmacy and those graduate become expert on their field. eg When a company want to hire a microbiologist, u also can say u can do microbe but microbiology graduate will have the advantages here, unless the company want to hire multi-skill worker such as microbiologist+biochemist, biomedical graduates do have advantage..My master do involve some quantum+analytical chemistry, i'm doing my master at Department of Chemistry, like i said, biomedical graduates very flexible..one more, sales executive become one of the most popular job for biomed grad...if u really like selling stuff
If you don't mind, will a B.Sc. in Medical Biotechnology suffice as a specialist degree? Was thinking of topping up with Masters, but not sure which will help out in job.

QUOTE(touix @ Feb 13 2014, 02:03 PM)

I don't think this course is for you if you don't like doing lab works. There will be no less than 80% of subjects offered in this course require lab session. Furthermore, all of these subjects require the student to pass practical examination (apart from written final examinations).

Most of my fellow classmates during undergrad days now work as Science/Research Officer or Lab Managers. Some went for PG after graduation and embarked their career in teaching or research in IPTs. Some ended up being sales or technical reps for medical/lab equipments or drugs. Less than 10 of us now working as medical underwriter for insurance company.

Since you dislike labwork, there isn't much for you as a biomedical graduate in Malaysia at current moment. Furthermore, there is no proper human resource management in malaysia, hence you will be surprised if you could not get a decent job related to biomed after graduating.

SOS
SOS2
mind helping out? i'm aspiring to be a lecturer. ignore butthurt on new generation from me laugh.gif

P/s: sorry to TS for thread hijack notworthy.gif
trosicky
post Feb 13 2014, 02:15 PM

20 posts

Yes i know that one, Pegawai Sains Bioperubatan aka pegawai histologi..i went to the interview last year..they only require your knowledge on histology@cell science, not biomedical as a whole
touix
post Feb 13 2014, 02:30 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Feb 13 2014, 02:11 PM)
If you don't mind, will a B.Sc. in Medical Biotechnology suffice as a specialist degree? Was thinking of topping up with Masters, but not sure which will help out in job.
SOS
SOS2
mind helping out? i'm aspiring to be a lecturer. ignore butthurt on new generation from me laugh.gif

P/s: sorry to TS for thread hijack notworthy.gif
What do you mean by specialist degree?

Afaik, Med Biotech graduates have an upper hand in terms of technicals compared to Biomed. Biomed students have better grasp on the disease biology (mechanisms behind pathogenesis, lab investigations and result interpretations), but this can differ from one uni to another.

Like in our molecular lab, we can easily pinpoint a personnel if he/she was a Biotech or Biomed graduate from the first few months. One is good with technical details, and another with background knowledge. After a few months, there will be no difference.

PG depends on what do you want to do later in life. You can take molecular if you want to work in molecular labs. A friend of mine took Masters of Dietetics and Nutrition and now she is a registered Dietitian.

If you want to do science, you have to further into PG although this cannot guarantee a secure job in our country.
Critical_Fallacy
post Feb 13 2014, 02:36 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(touix @ Feb 13 2014, 02:05 PM)
There is one under SPA. Google Pegawai Sains Bioperubatan
touix
post Feb 13 2014, 02:39 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(trosicky @ Feb 13 2014, 02:15 PM)
Yes i know that one, Pegawai Sains Bioperubatan aka pegawai histologi..i went to the interview last year..they only require your knowledge on histology@cell science, not biomedical as a whole
Come on man.

Do you know what are the job scope of a Biomedicine Science officer?
Different lab applies different specialty. Some even focuses on subspecialty.

Your interview clearly shows that they need manpower in histology/pathology lab. Internal transfers between labs is common. I wouldn't be surprised if you end up in blood banks after few years.
TheDuckster
post Feb 13 2014, 02:42 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(touix @ Feb 13 2014, 02:30 PM)
What do you mean by specialist degree?

Afaik, Med Biotech graduates have an upper hand in terms of technicals compared to Biomed. Biomed students have better grasp on the disease biology (mechanisms behind pathogenesis, lab investigations and result interpretations), but this can differ from one uni to another.

Like in our molecular lab, we can easily pinpoint a personnel if he/she was a Biotech or Biomed graduate from the first few months. One is good with technical details, and another with background knowledge. After a few months, there will be no difference.

PG depends on what do you want to do later in life. You can take molecular if you want to work in molecular labs. A friend of mine took Masters of Dietetics and Nutrition and now she is a registered Dietitian.

If you want to do science, you have to further into PG although this cannot guarantee a secure job in our country.
medical biotechnology is a Biotechnology degree with a set specialization, right?

I dunno la. I score perfectly in labwork, but dun feel like just doing the same thing over and over again. It's like a hobby turned into a job. But I feel like doing Masters. haiz.
abcde90
post Feb 13 2014, 02:46 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Feb 13 2014, 01:31 PM)

Anyway, simple.

Plz clarify the bolded part i.e. masters for license

As far as i know If you wanna open a retail or wholesale pharmacy biz u need to have License Type A. Any pharmacist registered with the pharmacy board can apply.

Fyi registered pharmacist are those who holds the relevant qualifications recognized by the board (undergraduate degrees) n have fullfilled the pupillage training.
TheDuckster
post Feb 13 2014, 02:48 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(abcde90 @ Feb 13 2014, 02:46 PM)
Plz clarify the bolded part i.e. masters for license

As far as i know If you wanna open a retail or wholesale pharmacy biz u need to have License Type A. Any pharmacist registered with the pharmacy board can apply.

Fyi registered pharmacist are those who holds the relevant qualifications recognized by the board (undergraduate degrees) n have fullfilled the pupillage training.
Obviously you won't be getting a license if you only have Bachelor's, right? yawn.gif
abcde90
post Feb 13 2014, 02:54 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Feb 13 2014, 02:48 PM)
Obviously you won't be getting a license if you only have Bachelor's, right? yawn.gif
Obviously u r not a pharmacist rolleyes.gif

nite_eif
post Feb 13 2014, 02:55 PM

482 posts

sigh..why you choose to take science..biomed science some more?

me myself biotech graduates, working in biomed sc/medical technology/life science research environment, top public hospital..

this field has very slow career promotion, close to none industrial opportunities and not even recognised as professionals..

better take pharmacy, optometrist, nutritionist, chemist, or others which has some sort of professional recognition..

if u insist, like wat i did, the best options is to score first class..go direct to your phd..and options will open ups after that..else with average degree..u will end up as sales reps..or lab rats..hehe wink.gif

ps: oh dont ever thinks of science officer position..it s one of the worst job scheme for gomen..but if you really like lay back, lab works all the time, in the hospital..can give a try...
TheDuckster
post Feb 13 2014, 02:59 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Feb 13 2014, 02:55 PM)
sigh..why you choose to take science..biomed science some more?

me myself biotech graduates, working in biomed sc/medical technology/life science research environment, top public hospital..

this field has very slow career promotion, close to none industrial opportunities and not even recognised as professionals..

better take pharmacy, optometrist, nutritionist, chemist, or others which has some sort of professional recognition..

if u insist, like wat i did, the best options is to score first class..go direct to your phd..and options will open ups after that..else with average degree..u will end up as sales reps..or lab rats..hehe wink.gif

ps: oh dont ever thinks of science officer position..it s one of the worst job scheme for gomen..but if you really like lay back, lab works all the time, in the hospital..can give a try...
How bad it is? .____. If i'm taking Medical Biotech then how? What Masters (and/or PhD) I can and need to take to open up job possibilities?
touix
post Feb 13 2014, 03:02 PM

139 posts

True.

Get first class honours -> PhD -> spend sometime doing PostDoc fellow abroad -> come back as a senior lecturer with steady salary
touix
post Feb 13 2014, 03:23 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Feb 13 2014, 02:59 PM)
How bad it is? .____. If i'm taking Medical Biotech then how? What Masters (and/or PhD) I can and need to take to open up job possibilities?
Find yourself a good and well connected supervisor.
TheDuckster
post Feb 13 2014, 03:31 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(touix @ Feb 13 2014, 03:23 PM)
Find yourself a good and well connected supervisor.
not sure how to find :/ i asked advice on my chosen education pathway from quite a lot of senior people, but they can't tell me much. mind giving me criteria on which people should I find?
touix
post Feb 13 2014, 03:41 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Feb 13 2014, 03:31 PM)
not sure how to find :/ i asked advice on my chosen education pathway from quite a lot of senior people, but they can't tell me much. mind giving me criteria on which people should I find?
This link should help you.

Start hunting at your uni.
Look for the most active lab in the campus.
List down potential lecturers + their field of interest
Do background check
Meet up and initiate discussion on on-going projects
Analyze
Decide

Lets not disturb other ppl's thread. open a new one la
TheDuckster
post Feb 13 2014, 03:43 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(touix @ Feb 13 2014, 03:41 PM)
This link should help you.

Start hunting at your uni.
Look for the most active lab in the campus.
List down potential lecturers +  their field of interest
Do background check
Meet up and initiate discussion on on-going projects
Analyze
Decide

Lets not disturb other ppl's thread. open a new one la
dun nid la, thats all i need biggrin.gif

Sorry, TS notworthy.gif
nite_eif
post Feb 13 2014, 04:05 PM

482 posts

hurm..the path to phd is a different story pulak..after your degree, which can be anywhere, but of course minimum CGPA should be >3.4..choose your core field of interest first, then you know where to find the best in the field supervisor or among the best in the world..try to get the supervisor with your title or research topic then try apply to the uni..after that follow the flow loh, whether u do direct phd..or 1+3 integrated master n phd also got..only keypoint is..you must be really good in your topic..

back to ts..if u dont like neither lab work nor biology..why choose biomed? rclxub.gif

if really hate labwork..can choose biology with education..teachers also earn not bad nowadays..else left sales job..or clinical research associate..or insurance..very limited..
trosicky
post Feb 13 2014, 04:11 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(touix @ Feb 13 2014, 02:39 PM)
Come on man.

Do you know what are the job scope of a Biomedicine Science officer?
Different lab applies different specialty. Some even focuses on subspecialty.

Your interview clearly shows that they need manpower in histology/pathology lab. Internal transfers between labs is common. I wouldn't be surprised if you end up in blood banks after few years.
The interviewer clearly said the Biomedical Science officer actually for Histo lab only, i ask them that question because i did my major in biochemistry and microbiology. I thought maybe becoz no other courses that teach Histology. That post still new that time, during my intern no such thing as Biomedic officer, the nearest one is Pegawai sains C41/biochem, got one senior hold that position.
TSsnowz28
post Feb 13 2014, 06:44 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(touix @ Feb 13 2014, 02:03 PM)

Hello there! (: biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Yes I am aware of the crazy amount of lab works.
But considering my doubts on medicine and pharmacy, would you still say I shouldn't do biomed..?
Since you're a lecturer, which I thought before as an aim, does that mean you have already achieved your masters/phD..?

I know I am taking a huge jump of risk here, but I really gave a lot of thoughts in this.
I went from medicine.. to pharmacy.. to this..
I also understand that it is not a specialised/professional degree yet. Therefore, is it considered inferior as to pharmacy and medicine..? I bet it does.. huh.. :/

Another reason I've considered this is that a counsellor told me that this course is more like a "ticket" to enter the science field. She said that when I graduate this, I can then choose my specialisation whether to further study into masters ( by choosing a SPECIFIC major) .... or I could always enter the working field.
This was also a reason why I hesitated on pharmacy. Since I am so unsure, getting into pharmacy which is quite a narrow path would be inappropriate.. no? blink.gif

And since you're so experienced, can you tell me more about the employment rates in Malaysia..? Is it decent..?
I was told to put my aim into countries like Singapore since Malaysia doesn't recognize biomed roles ( same goes to pharmacy) rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

And yes, I will try hard to love lab works. If I get into this, I would have to work extra hard to love bio then (:
Does chemistry take up a big portion? Personally enjoys chemistry more heh smile.gif icon_idea.gif
TSsnowz28
post Feb 13 2014, 06:49 PM

69 posts

OH. And I would love to know what further study I can do after my Biomed degree..?

My parent asked about medicine.
The counsellor told us that Biomed is basically an "assistant" for doctors..
But if graduates want to upgrade to medicine, he/she has to start from the basic.

Is there any science masters I can enter upon completing my biomed degree..?
THANKS
TSsnowz28
post Feb 13 2014, 07:05 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Feb 13 2014, 04:05 PM)

back to ts..if u dont like neither lab work nor biology..why choose biomed?  rclxub.gif

if really hate labwork..can choose biology with education..teachers also earn not bad nowadays..else left sales job..or clinical research associate..or insurance..very limited..

Why choose biomed..?
Hahhaha I've been receiving repeated questions as these.
But i understand.. I sound pathetic, dont I..?

But really, do listen to my considerations.
I always wanted to do science, been doing all 3 since form4 till my pre-u.
I enjoy chemistry the most, biology the least.
However, i dont know why, my biology is always better than my physics, although I am pretty sure I poured every bit of brain juice for my physics.
Maybe it was my pre-u syllabus.. It focuses more on animals and plants, something I can relate to daily life, not too much of cells..

Nonetheless, I always wanted medicine. But I know I am not able to invest such a huge amount of money and time to persue something I am not even 60% sure I can endure. I intended to be an obstetrician, if you may ask.. but I was naive to not consider how much and how long I have to study. After realizing that, Medicine totally got out of the list

Thus, that leaves me indirectly to pharmacy. I did my research online and watched testimonies online.
Most of them are negative, and I don't just say this after watching a few. I watched at least 10.
Plus, I asked counsellors and viewed blogposts.. The problems about the field getting too saturated with umemployed graduates... unrecognition of pharmacy role... insane amount of debt to be cleared after course..
That's why I started doubting. Pharmacy is not a cheap course as well. Plus, it needs at least 6 years.
Moreover, I was adviced to think about the flexibility of this profession.
An adult told me " Engineering students can end up in banks or companies that require their maths brains, but pharmacy is quite narrow, if you don't see yourself opening a pharmacy or working in a clinic for the long run.. what company wants you..? " shocking.gif
( A counsellor said Biomed is like a ticket to the various science professionals. As in we get to master in specific fields, science fields she meant... is this true? Or i have to start from scratch for every masters :/)

HENCE, I tried so hard to find other health related science degrees. I know there are more like chiropractic.. psychology.. but no, I am more of the medicine side.
Since I can't do medicine or pharmacy, the one closest is biomedical science.. no?
I rejected this at first, because I know how they say about being in the lab 24/7.
But I have to deal with something right. And I found out about the fees and duration.
It looks a lot lighter and brighter than the above choices I had...

This explains why I chose biomed, as ridiculous as I sound, I did not do this without thinking deep.
I did, maybe a little too deep? hahaha I dont know.
But you're telling me about the negative sides...
are there really no bright sides of it..? sad.gif

Besides this, I really don't know what to do anymore. Besides, biomed is 3 years.
If I really suck in it, I can endure 3 years.
But for pharmacy, its doubled.... that's another reason. blink.gif

BASICALLY. I just need a ticket pass to enter science field.
To continue masters or start working after that, I shall decide when I am near to graduating...

SIGH. I NEED POSITIVE REMARKS. at the brink of breaking down ): cry.gif
trosicky
post Feb 13 2014, 08:34 PM

20 posts

Why don't u enter pure science course? like Biology, Biotech, Biochem...a lot of other courses also can enter science field.

If u really want biomedical science, u should pursue master/phd after graduate, become expert on the field that u interested and land the job as researcher or become lecturer.
I believe this is one of the best path for u if u really want biomed.

Best of luck
touix
post Feb 13 2014, 09:05 PM

139 posts

Gosh. You really like to write, don't you think?
1. Most commonly, you are given the title lecturer once you have completed your trainee period with proper recommmendations by head of school. And yes, you need a postgrad degree to begin with.
2. In layman's term, this program is designed to get you acquainted with clinical laboratory, medical and research sciences. You are actually in training to become a medical science scientist. Medical doctors did not get the same training as you are, nor did pharmacists although at times you can work hand-in-hand with them. The roles are clearly defined, and there is no superior-inferiority complex here. However, medical doctors and pharmacists can be scientists too, with proper training in research like you are having throughout this course.
3. Employment rate:i dont have the real figures, but my friends from other uni told me that their students also have difficulties in hunting a decent and related jobs. What we can be sure here is there is no proper human resource management in malaysia. There is no Board for medical lab scientists and technologist like nursing pharmacy and medicine. Saturation is imminent. The same goes with doctors, and other allied health professionals.
4. Credit hour for chemistry differs from one uni to another. If you could get enough hours for chemistry, you can even go for forensic (a forensic pathologist friend told me)
5. Biomeds are not assistant to anyone.
6. You can do postgrad with any topic you learn throughout your studies. You can also try getting cytotechnologist certificate (you can check with IMR).

If you are looking into ipts, be extra careful. Make sure they have full accreditation rather than provisional accreditation. Talk to the current students to get insider information before deciding your uni of choice.

Another thing. In this field, remember this keyword: all-or-nothing. Either you complete with first class honours or do something else.

Anything else?
TSsnowz28
post Feb 21 2014, 01:19 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(trosicky @ Feb 13 2014, 08:34 PM)
Why don't u enter pure science course? like Biology, Biotech, Biochem...a lot of other courses also can enter science field.

If u really want biomedical science, u should pursue master/phd after graduate, become expert on the field that u interested and land the job as researcher or become lecturer.
I believe this is one of the best path for u if u really want biomed.

Best of luck

awww thanks (:
I would try my very best.
If i really can't survive, I would think of other ways after my degree.
Righht now, I just want to get thru this. hopefully I will grow to love it (:

Are you a biomed student too?
Any tips like what should I study or brush up..? hahah smile.gif
Abit paranoid here cause my intake starts in less than a month ^^
TSsnowz28
post Feb 21 2014, 01:26 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(touix @ Feb 13 2014, 09:05 PM)
Gosh. You really like to write, don't you think?
1.  Most commonly, you are given the title lecturer once you have completed your trainee period with proper recommmendations by head of school. And yes, you need a postgrad degree to begin with.
2. In layman's term, this program is designed to get you acquainted with clinical laboratory, medical and research sciences. You are actually in training to become a medical science scientist. Medical doctors did not get the same training as you are, nor did pharmacists although at times you can work hand-in-hand with them. The roles are clearly defined, and there is no superior-inferiority complex here. However, medical doctors and pharmacists can be scientists too, with proper training in research like you are having throughout this course.
3. Employment rate:i dont have the real figures, but my friends from other uni told me that their students also have difficulties in hunting a decent and related jobs. What we can be sure here is there is no proper human resource management in malaysia. There is no Board for medical lab scientists and technologist like nursing pharmacy and medicine. Saturation is imminent. The same goes with doctors, and other allied health professionals.
4. Credit hour for chemistry differs from one uni to another. If you could get enough hours for chemistry, you can even go for forensic (a forensic pathologist friend told me)
5. Biomeds are not assistant to anyone.
6. You can do postgrad with any topic you learn throughout your studies. You can also try getting cytotechnologist certificate (you can check with IMR).

If you are looking into ipts, be extra careful. Make sure they have full accreditation rather than provisional accreditation. Talk to the current students to get insider information before deciding your uni of choice.

Another thing. In this field, remember this keyword: all-or-nothing. Either you complete with first class honours or do something else.

Anything else?

Hahah yes my replies are long so that I'm sure my message is transferred clearly.
Sorry if it's bothering you (: sweat.gif sweat.gif

- Biomeds are no assistants? Hmm but I've been told, if I work after completing my degree, my path would be limited to at most lab assistants sad.gif
- About the postgraduate studies.. You see, the uni I'm looking at.. (Taylor's) offers elective subjects starting from the 2nd year onwards. The subjects are like microbiology/human nutrition/communication..
That's why I asked if I could do masters in nutrition after my degree ( if I choose to take up the human nutrition elective). But according to the counsellor, I can't. I have to start from basic. :/
- oh gosh.. seems like biomed graduates are not any better than pharmacy/medicine students in terms of employment isit..? ( cause I've heard of how pharmacy/medicine area is overpopulated..) blink.gif
touix
post Feb 22 2014, 02:23 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(snowz28 @ Feb 21 2014, 01:26 PM)

Hahah yes my replies are long so that I'm sure my message is transferred clearly.
Sorry if it's bothering you (: sweat.gif  sweat.gif

- Biomeds are no assistants? Hmm but I've been told, if I work after completing my degree, my path would be limited to at most lab assistants sad.gif
- About the postgraduate studies.. You see, the uni I'm looking at.. (Taylor's) offers elective subjects starting from the 2nd year onwards. The subjects are like microbiology/human nutrition/communication..
That's why I asked if I could do masters in nutrition after my degree ( if I choose to take up the human nutrition elective). But according to the counsellor, I can't. I have to start from basic. :/
- oh gosh.. seems like biomed graduates are not any better than pharmacy/medicine students in terms of employment isit..? ( cause I've heard of how pharmacy/medicine area is overpopulated..) blink.gif
1. No. If you mean graduate research assistant, this is different from lab assistant. In my organisation, we hire spm leavers as lab assistant.
2. A friend of mine did masters of science in human nutrition in states and become a registered dietitician. She was my classmate. No problem.

This post has been edited by touix: Feb 22 2014, 02:25 PM
xeralaine
post Mar 5 2014, 01:51 PM

14 posts

touix would you say that Nutritionists have a steadier career path than Biomedical science grads?
touix
post Mar 11 2014, 09:07 AM

139 posts

Generally, yes. If I'm not mistaken, you have to be a registered nutritionist in order for you to practice. For me, I would say all jobs that comes with a license have upper hand in a career pathway.

An analogy: they are like zebras, and we biomeds are like horses although we may share the same shadow silhouette.
Ju01 P
post Apr 16 2020, 01:14 AM

Probation

QUOTE(snowz28 @ Feb 13 2014, 12:40 PM)
I considered Biomedical Science as my undergraduate degree course.
I haven't registered myself but the intake is a month away. icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

Those biomedical students or graduates, please do help smile.gif

What can I do after completing the basic 3/4 years of biomed degree? flex.gif

I am not a very lab kind of person, nor do I love biology.
But compared to medicine and pharmacy, this seems like a lighter and brighter path to take.

I would like to know the opportunities of a biomed graduate.
I've heard of furthering one's studies.
What if I don't..?
What am I left to choose..? shakehead.gif

Plus, pharmacy and medicine fields are said to be getting VERY saturated with umemployed graduates.
Is this the same with biomed..?
This is a big concern for me as I am planning to stay in Malaysia unless I am THAT smart to earn myself a scholarship.
Meanwhile, I need to know the ugliest fact before I throw myself into this course.

THANK YOU! laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Hi, I am not sure if you would see this since it has already been 6 years. I would also assumed that you have completed your biomedical science degree in Taylor's. I'm currently also looking at the same degree at Taylor's. I would like to know how was your experience studying there? And how was the employability once graduating? I'm also lost right now as I know that I have no interest in business and accounting, and am more interested into biology and learning about humans. But being in the lab 24/7 isn't something I would enjoy either. So I would like to know your opinion and experience. Thank you!

0.0271sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:15 AM