Any lecturers?!, I mau info ^^

TSTheDuckster
post Feb 12 2014, 01:13 PM, updated 12y ago

429 posts

Anyone here is a pre-uni/undergraduate lecturer?
Wanna know how you got the job and what qualifications and experience you need.
Coz i'm interested in being a biology lecturer. tq! ^^
decypher
post Feb 12 2014, 01:38 PM

低头族
864 posts

In some institutions, you can be a lecturer with a relevant Master's Degree. Some requires a Ph.D in a relevant field.

Check with the institution (HR?) to see their requirements.

Experience? Well... I always encourage people to work in the industry first before going for their Master's Degree, but this is not mandatory. It is possible to go straight for your Master's Degree while working as a tutor/research assistant for a couple of years, then be a lecturer upon graduation.
louis6
post Feb 12 2014, 03:39 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

Local research uni require minimum PhD to b lecturer..
oldcat
post Feb 12 2014, 04:04 PM

Some Private Colleges accept Masters grad. But better get your phd after masters. if you'd like to be a lecturer.
TSTheDuckster
post Feb 12 2014, 04:31 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(decypher @ Feb 12 2014, 01:38 PM)
In some institutions, you can be a lecturer with a relevant Master's Degree. Some requires a Ph.D in a relevant field.

Check with the institution (HR?) to see their requirements.

Experience? Well... I always encourage people to work in the industry first before going for their Master's Degree, but this is not mandatory. It is possible to go straight for your Master's Degree while working as a tutor/research assistant for a couple of years, then be a lecturer upon graduation.
QUOTE(louis6 @ Feb 12 2014, 03:39 PM)
Local research uni require minimum PhD to b lecturer..
QUOTE(oldcat @ Feb 12 2014, 04:04 PM)
Some Private Colleges accept Masters grad. But better get your phd after masters. if you'd like to be a lecturer.
loius6, but i only feel like teaching undergraduate tho. i think i will consider writing to cover up instead of going as fully-fledged professor.

was planning to go into my college to lecture again (feel so sad to see my bio lecturer teaching at age of 65) but apparently some of them had double masters. and is PhD really necessary? according to MQA, only Masters and you are good to go teaching bachelor's and pre-uni. was wishing some sifu knows about how they hire lecturers now, really all need PhD? yawn.gif
louis6
post Feb 12 2014, 04:52 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Feb 12 2014, 04:31 PM)
loius6, but i only feel like teaching undergraduate tho. i think i will consider writing to cover up instead of going as fully-fledged professor.

was planning to go into my college to lecture again (feel so sad to see my bio lecturer teaching at age of 65) but apparently some of them had double masters. and is PhD really necessary? according to MQA, only Masters and you are good to go teaching bachelor's and pre-uni. was wishing some sifu knows about how they hire lecturers now, really all need PhD? yawn.gif
In my uni (UPM), teach undergrad also need PhD.. my lecturers also said same goes to local uni. With Master, you only can be tutor...
PCbuilder
post Feb 12 2014, 05:09 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Feb 12 2014, 04:52 PM)
In my uni (UPM), teach undergrad also need PhD.. my lecturers also said same goes to local uni. With Master, you only can be tutor...
Agreed with Loius6, Currently for all Local Univ, prerequisite to be lecturer (even teaching under-grad), one must be at least PhD Holder.

PhD = Lecturer
Masters = Tutor / Assistant Lecturer

I believe the standard has been gone up. How I know? Because my brother is doing his PhD in UPM now.
Prerequisite to be lecturer = Must be PhD Holder

Not sure about Private Univ though, Private Univ = all about Money, got money sure no problem.
decypher
post Feb 12 2014, 06:03 PM

低头族
864 posts

In Private Uni... Masters Degree is good enough to be lecturer.

But mileage may vary across different universities/colleges.
louis6
post Feb 12 2014, 06:07 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

QUOTE(PCbuilder @ Feb 12 2014, 05:09 PM)
Agreed with Loius6, Currently for all Local Univ, prerequisite to be lecturer (even teaching under-grad), one must be at least PhD Holder.

PhD = Lecturer
Masters = Tutor / Assistant Lecturer

I believe the standard has been gone up. How I know? Because my brother is doing his PhD in UPM now.
Prerequisite to be lecturer = Must be PhD Holder
Not sure about Private Univ though, Private Univ = all about Money, got money sure no problem.
I heard my friends told me that in Taylor's, their lecturer just master. Not sure is it true. Anyone mind to clarify ?
TSTheDuckster
post Feb 12 2014, 08:51 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Feb 12 2014, 06:07 PM)
I heard my friends told me that in Taylor's, their lecturer just master. Not sure is it true. Anyone mind to clarify ?
some are double masters holder and teach very well, or so i heard. double masters will have an advantage?

Edit: u went into UPM with STPM? and can i know what degree u taking?

This post has been edited by TheDuckster: Feb 12 2014, 08:57 PM
quovadis123
post Feb 12 2014, 08:58 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

Some lower tiers university lecturers are only master in qualification. In IPTA, such as ex-college university, have high % of masters as lecturers.
In higher tiers university, such as UM, USM, UTM etc minimum need phD to become lecturers. Master only can become tutor.

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Feb 12 2014, 08:51 PM)
some are double masters holder and teach very well, or so i heard. double masters will have an advantage?
Double master have advantage in teaching several different courses and employment is higher.
Last time, my secondary school teacher had double masters from Australia.
Don't bother to get, just go with your phD if you want to become lecturer.

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Feb 12 2014, 08:58 PM
Blofeld
post Feb 13 2014, 11:45 AM

4,700 posts

In private colleges/universities, you need at least a Master's degree to teach undergraduate and Master's students. (That is under the MQA requirement)

To teach the pre-university/foundation and diploma students, you just need an undergraduate degree. To teach at this level, you do not need a Master's degree.
PCbuilder
post Feb 13 2014, 12:27 PM

189 posts

I also believe that for Private Univ, Masters Degree is sufficient to be a lecturer.

but the Salary Scheme will have a huge gap between a PhD holder vs Masters holder.
PCbuilder
post Feb 13 2014, 12:29 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 12 2014, 08:58 PM)
Some lower tiers university lecturers are only master in qualification. In IPTA, such as ex-college university, have high % of masters as lecturers.
In higher tiers university, such as UM, USM, UTM etc minimum need phD to become lecturers. Master only can become tutor.
Double master have advantage in teaching several different courses and employment is higher.
Agree with quovadis.

Just go for PhD instead , of cuz it's way way harder than Masters.

TSTheDuckster
post Feb 13 2014, 12:48 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 12 2014, 08:58 PM)
I see. Was considering the private sector, the environment seems less stressful and more involvement in other university work, thus, better chances in moving up. wondering if anyone can explain the difference between these two sectors in academia.

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Feb 13 2014, 11:45 AM)
In private colleges/universities, you need at least a Master's degree to teach undergraduate and Master's students. (That is under the MQA requirement)

To teach the pre-university/foundation and diploma students, you just need an undergraduate degree. To teach at this level, you do not need a Master's degree.
I was thinking both pre-uni, diploma and bachelor's for lecturing and probably get a writer position to cover up as well.

QUOTE(PCbuilder @ Feb 13 2014, 12:27 PM)
I also believe that for Private Univ, Masters Degree is sufficient to be a lecturer.

but the Salary Scheme will have a huge gap between a PhD holder vs Masters holder.
Mind telling me the average gap and examples? Tq.
PCbuilder
post Feb 13 2014, 01:55 PM

189 posts

I not so sure bout the exact amount.

From what I've heard is about RM1500-2K difference between PhD vs Masters
louis6
post Feb 13 2014, 02:08 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

If you teaching in local public uni, is easier to apply govern grant for your research to publish paper constantly. As I know, if you maintain..
LoveMeNot
post Feb 13 2014, 02:09 PM

Live . Laugh . Love
1,710 posts

It depends on the field. Programs like Business, IT, Engineering may need one to have working experience in the industry + min Master in order to teach.

However, for science-related e.g. Biomed, Pharmacy, one may need to have PhD to teach full fledged.

But then again, depending on the private university itself, some only requires min of master to teach e.g. Mahsa, Segi while some e.g. Taylors, IMU, Monash need you to have a PhD.
oldcat
post Feb 14 2014, 11:18 AM

10 years ago, you can teach undergrad with Masters degree in all IPTA,
nowadays, you need a phd to teach undergrads in some courses,
10 years later, it may become mandatory to have phd to teach undergrads,

I don't really think you can secure a lecturer job for the next 30 years with a Masters Degree

0.0203sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:36 PM