Android TV Box

yuatyi
post Mar 1 2016, 09:44 AM

141 posts

Ditto Voncrane on that (see above comment). I have a LG TV and Minix too. I use separate remote controller for each. Actually it's not bad getting just a wireless mouse for the Minix. Plus it's great for surfing the webpages when you are using android browsers on your Minix box. Not bad for navigating through Kodi and such. It's rather cheap too. Just plug and play. Easy peasy.

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Mar 1 2016, 09:45 AM
yuatyi
post May 6 2016, 05:18 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(ctvtec @ May 3 2016, 05:06 PM)
Another way of watching HK, China, Korean dramas & movies: download an app named "Rss Video Player" from Google playstore, then add following url in the channel setting "http://irss.se/dramas", have fun...
Thanks for sharing this. But can't seem to load that url from that RSS Video Player at all. Is the link correct?
yuatyi
post Aug 30 2016, 11:43 AM

141 posts

Hi guys,

This is just my 2 cents. Thought of sharing my Android Box user experience here with you all. I know everyone has their own perspective and needs. I have been using Android Box for about 1 year plus already. I find that it does have many limitations and need lots of DIY and know how. I have learned lots about it even able to update firmware without the OTA support and install any Kodi builds on it on my own. By the way I am using Minix Neo X-8H Plus. Bought it at around RM500++. And now somewhat regretted my decision as I now think that getting a MiniPC of PC sticks would do just fine and less stress and hassle. If I wanted to play with Android stuff, just install Bluestack or some other Android Emulator on my PCstick/MiniPC and that's it! Why want to limit myself to only the Android environment when I could do lots more with Windows as a platform? But you need to be aware that runnning KODI needs lots of space. Therefore, please ensure to get a PCstick/MiniPC with storage no less than 16GB, the bigger the better. Best still get one with external storage expansion capability.

I currently think that HTPC is a good way to set up home entertainment. Just get a Windows PC stick/Vivostick or equivalent like Mini PC for example Asus Mini Vivopc or Assrock Beebox, and boot the browser up to watch Netflix/Xfinity/Hulu/iFlix/Viu and many other online video streams (lots of Asian streams available too). No hassle. Not tied to Android version limitation etc or the limitation of the box's hardware and software. You could even install KODI on it and use it to watch any streams you could find on the internet.

I still keep my Android Box up to date etc nowadays just for the sake of because I have it and because my Smart TV has lots of HDMI slots so nothing to lose. I just hope I could secure a Window device at a later stage to plug into my TV set to free it once and for all.

By the way, I could cast videos directly from Windows 10 PC to my LG Smart TV without needing extra devices like Chromecast. I could even cast my handphone directly to my LG Smart TV without extra devices, I just add an app on my phone to do the casting. Perhaps this is one more perks of having a Smart TV set. But I think you could just turn your dumb TV set into a Smart one with a Windows/PC base device or an Android Box if you so desire, provided it has HDMI slot.

One more thing, in my opinion the best keyboard/remote to use is Logitech K400 Plus Wireless Touch Keyboard. At first I bought Rii Mini Wireless Keyboard but it wasn't good enough - feature wise and also control wise. Rii's keyboard is very hard to type on. Go google Logitech K400 Plus Wireless Touch Keyboard and watch video review on it to learn more about it.

Happy viewing! Cheers!

yuatyi
post Aug 30 2016, 01:02 PM

141 posts

Their prices varies according to the model you choose. If it is the PC sticks variety it could be from range of RM300 to RM500. If it's the MiniPC range like the Vivopc or the Assrock Beebox, barebone cost is around RM700 below or so if not mistaken. There are those that are fully setup with Windows OS and storage etc could come up to about 1K plus. Depends on what you put inside of it. It's just like a PC. Fully configurable just on a much much smaller size than its brothers. Those minipc boxes are the size of Minix more or less. Go google those two favorites varieties and watch introduction videos and review on it. Very cool! Note that, those PC sticks usually comes complete with Windows OS and fully configured unlike MiniPC boxes cos some are just barebones and some are fully configured.

Video quality is just like what you get when you use your PC to play the streams. It also depends on the streams quality. I am playing HD for all my subscription sites like Netflix, Hulu, CBS and Xfinity. And also HD for Viu and any other online video streams that offers HD streams. I only stream it using my browsers. There's Bluestacks or other Android Emulators available if you want to play Android Apps on it.

Apart from that I have experienced lots of problems from streaming iFlix through my Minix android box using that iFlix android app. But if I use PC to stream via browser then if got identification issue just need to log out, close browser then open browser and go back to iFlix. I have free iFlix because of Unifi. Need not login to watch it but it does give me identification issue on and off. It such issue arises from my iFlix app on Minix, no such luck of just rebooting it. I have to either go clear cache or uninstall the apps and reinstall it. Such a pain even after I have gone through much trouble to update my Minix firmware to the latest one just to get iFlix on it.

As you have noted on my earlier comment up there, I have yet to buy one of these mini Windows PC device to use on my TV. I am just talking from experience from using my PC for home entertainment when compared to my current Android Box. I have been researching on these Windows HTPC devices and finding it more and more compelling each day.

yuatyi
post Aug 30 2016, 01:43 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 30 2016, 01:26 PM)
thank you for info.

rm700 will be a little high for most new users as u can see from last few pages, rm200-300 boxes are what many are looking for! biggrin.gif

right now, i think there there are many apps developed for android that don't exist for pc/windows but browser based alternatives may be available, not sure.

i do think pc sticks and mini-pcs have potential but somehow, there is no much interest or info here. off and on, someone will post something here in this androidbox thread but so far, no one has started a new serious thread to gather more interest. i for one may want to try it some day.

so, when u finally get yr hands on one, do start a new thread, many will like it!
You are welcome. If MiniPC is too way out of budget then a PC stick will do just fine as it fits into the RM300 to RM500 category. There are many options out there really. I am just thinking that I should have used my RM500 for Minix box to buy one of these PC sticks. Too bad I can't be getting one right now since my Minix is any a year plus or so. My spouse would nag me if I did.

As for the Android Apps, I think should not be a problem using it on a PC Android Emulator. That's why I am thinking why an Android box then? I have been using lots of android apps on my PC that way. But I have yet to really test out video apps on it. Maybe I would try one tomorrow see how it works out. One thing good about these Android Emulator is tat you could always stay up to date with the latest Android versions.

Moreover I find that in the Android environment, the browsers are not as flexible or configurable as in Windows platform. Can't even block unwanted ads from eating up the precious screen real estate. It's rather annoying when I want to watch video stream on sites like example on hkdramas.se or kissassian etc when there are advertisement popping out everywhere, making it harder to point to my video link especially if you are not using a dedicated mouse. I over come this problem by using a wireless rechargeable mouse on my Minix box. Phew!

That earlier Logitech keyboard I mentioned could be used on my LG Smart TV, my Minix box as well as PC. I love it. thumbup.gif Makes navigation on my Minix so much easier. Could control the audio from it too and it also interfaces well with Android environment. The trackpad is much more stable and easier to control than the Rii trackpad. After testing it on all my devices, I have now taken it into my bedroom for PC as my family usually hogs my big TV so I go HTPC in my bedroom lor.

By the way, I use this sweet desktop setup in my bedroom: (link is example only. I got mine elsewhere much cheaper - http://www.lelong.com.my/desktop-laptop-be...-01-Sale-I.htm)

Just sharing experience and exchanging knowledge/info. smile.gif

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Aug 30 2016, 01:59 PM
yuatyi
post Aug 30 2016, 02:16 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(cheryl15 @ Aug 30 2016, 02:08 PM)
You are right... Browsers are not utilized well in Android system..
To make up for that, use the standalone Android apps or kodi..
There are kissasian and azdrama/icdrama addons for kodi...
Just use them since the addons are scraped from the sites u mentioned.
The quality is the same too~
Mostly doing the same here. Using Kodi as the middle person. But there are times when these addons screwed up. So have to go directly to the website. And I find the 'search' and 'filter' features in Kodi addons for these sites have issues. So it makes it harder to get to the show you wanted. That's why sometimes I would rather go directly to the websites especially if I encounter such problem.

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Aug 30 2016, 02:17 PM
yuatyi
post Aug 30 2016, 02:54 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Aug 30 2016, 02:41 PM)
you could install firefox with adblock add on. work fine on android box.
Thanks. Didn't try Firefox yet as the reviews at GooglePlay wasn't too good back then when I wanted to install it. So I settled for Chrome and Dolphin. Will go home and try again with Firefox.

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Aug 30 2016, 02:55 PM
yuatyi
post Aug 30 2016, 04:12 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 30 2016, 03:34 PM)
Reading the past few posts and basically you are either the seller behind the lelong page (sly but alright) or someone suffering from buyer's remorse as a result of not properly researching your purchase and seeing if it's in line with your needs... In which case, I'm sure and at the right price, someone will be willing to take the Neo X8-H Plus off your hands smile.gif .. You went on and on about the limitations of an android box and I can tell you that every single issue you complained about has a solution. Also, you are singing praises about a HTPC or Mini-PCs and how emulators can do this and that, when you never even tested em or sure of its performance yet? Thankfully, you started with a disclaimer of sorts about people's preferences.. So good for ya..

Here's a hint on getting rid of most ads on your box.. Root it, install AdAway & let it do its magic.. Also, an emulator (at best) can never be as good as the real thing.. Why? Cuz native access to the hardware is required for certain functions.. Think hardware decoding of 10-bit 4K files.. I'm sure you get it.. As for Netflix, HULU, etc.. These are better handled by smart apps installed on an average Smart TV. So for example, Netflix's 480p limitations on non-certified devices is.. Well.. Moot.. As you rightly pointed out, a decent HTPC rig costs at least RM1K and even then, it may still not be able to passthrough, say DTS-HD MA.. Personally, I'd rather get the complex made simple, Nvidia Shield TV box instead..  smile.gif
Thanks for your input but you really need not hit so hard when others are only sharing their experiences. This is a forum afterall. Sharing pros and cons is the way to go and have a fruitful discussion afterall. Sometimes I feel that any other input are not exactly welcome here especially negative ones other than for singing praises. I don't have bad feelings for Android boxes it has it's own merits and brought me many hours of joy but it is just my personal opinion that I could do much more with the other alternative. That is all. So can I not share my experience here as an Android box user? FYI, I am NOT a seller just purely a user.

So far I have no problem playing Netflix, Hulu etc on my PC. All HD and smooth. As I have already said earlier on this is just my own views and others might have their own perspectives like you just highlighted yours. Since everyone has different needs.

This is why I usually refrain from sharing my thoughts here eventhough sometimes I wish to help out others who has questions. So got good things, keep it to myself. Same goes for bad stuff. Zip it and less headaches and heartaches. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Aug 30 2016, 04:15 PM
yuatyi
post Aug 30 2016, 04:37 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Aug 30 2016, 01:31 PM)
I honestly don't see the above logic here...

A small simple device android box (less than RM250) with plenty of apps with dts passthru capability, able to watch a huge variety of HD movies, dramas, documentaries, concerts, news, mtv, sports etc etc without having to pay subscriptions unlike iflix, netflix, xtro etc

Sitting in front of your lazy couch and navigating thru the small remote that comes with the device or using Kore from your smartphone to navigate thru

How complicated can one commoner's expectation gets with regards to home entertainment?
As I have said earlier, different people different needs and perspective. I am also a Kodi user here. I subscribed to other paid services like Netflix and Hulu etc because believe it or not there are shows especially documentaries which Kodi lacks. I know Kodi has documentaries but not those are not exactly on high demand titles nor was it current.

For me I am not exactly worried about the DTS thingy that is why PC platform HTPC would work out just fine with PC stick or those NUc/MiniPC units. I am not saying these devices lacks DTS support as I have yet to try it. Moreover those PC sticks are getting cheaper nowadays too. Around RM300 to RM500 can get one. Therefore solves the price gap you just mentioned. That's why I have second thoughts on my own current Android setup and thought of adding one with Windows platform.

yuatyi
post Aug 30 2016, 04:41 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 30 2016, 04:32 PM)
i think u r the 5th person in this thread to discuss "pc for entertainment".

i remember asking each one to start a new thread but so far, no one bothered to start a thread.

seriously, u can start a new thread and explore share pc-pc sticks-mini pc's.

as an alternative to androids or astro or hypptv... whatever.

i hope u can start one, as a user or user-to-be.
Know that I am not exactly only discussing PC for entertainment here. I am sharing my own experience as an Android box user here. Since this an Android Box thread.

I have been following this thread so I know what you have talking about. I have seen newbies asking about HTPC here too. That is why I am not asking about HTPC here. Just sharing my experience as and Android box user and talked about some cons about it. Which is not very much welcomed here at this thread. I would not even have gone detailed into the HTPC thing if you did not first ask me questions about it and asked for my input.

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Aug 30 2016, 04:46 PM
yuatyi
post Aug 31 2016, 03:52 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 30 2016, 07:26 PM)
Firstly, I'd like to apologize for coming on too strong earlier... My bad... console.gif  it was not my intention. At the time, it felt like there were too many misconceptions being thrown around and I didn't want people getting misinformed.. Everyone's opinions are much welcome here. In fact criticisms about a particular box or firmware is much welcome than praises.. Cuz you see, we are at a time when boxes are cheaper and there being either minor or major differences between them. You can check my previous posts, while I may have a soft side (somewhat) towards the Minix brand, I do not hesitate to literally throw em under the bus should they mess up.. I.e the Neo A2 Lite airmouse.. Build quality & performance is great, but really..no dedicated "underscore" button?.. Have to use a workaround.. Sheesh!
Since you've followed this thread for awhile, sure you'd come across when we talk about there being no perfect media box/device... Even the current "best" has its pitfalls.. So we basically just try to get a device within budget that best matches our requirements. There are tons of media players out there, running different OSes... For now and across its various price points, a truly smart TV + a decent android TV box rules the competition..

Cons are welcome... just be sure its a con without a working workaround or solution first.. If unsure as in the browser ads situation, feel free to ask and replies will be given. Seriously, do not hold back on the good or bad stuffs, as it helps others make a better purchase.  biggrin.gif
Thank you for hearing me out and for understanding my pov. I understand your pov too. Also that you are worried of misconceptions that is understandable too. That is why I clearly states that my feedback is purely my own opinion from my very own perspective as a user. I just thought by sharing experiences we could enrich each other. This is something every forumer would hope to gain from participation. Reading and learning from others mistake and taking the right options in future. I think people wouldn't be commenting about a cons if they already knew there's a solution or workaround. Most of the time if a cons were brought up in a forum, everyone and anyone is free to input their solution if any to dispute that cons. Same goes with a pros. That would not only keep the thread active, it would also keep everyone's interest and enhances everyone's knowledge. For example, by sharing my thoughts on the Android Browsers shortfall for me, I have now gain new knowledge about it and could improve and enrich my experience when using it in future. Others like me who had read that message would not repeat the same mistake like me. That is a plus right? smile.gif This is the reason why I like to hang around threads I have interest in. Helps alot. I have learned lots from you guys here too. A big thank you for that. thumbup.gif

I am not a big fan of air mouse since I favor my current wireless keyboards and wireless rechargeable mouse. Feels that it gives me better control and ease. Air mouses can be pretty awkward to use sometimes especially if your hands aren't very steady and somewhat pain when it comes to typing not as smooth and easy as those clicky keyboards. Of course this is subject to personal preference as well.

I do like Minix brand since it has pretty strong support system out there unlike some other no name brands. Lots of source to help out should shits hit you when you least expect it. I like it when everything is just a google away. Handy. Frankly if anyone asks me to point them to a good Android Box, Minix is what I would vouch for. I am just a bit concern that android boxes like these would go obsolete too fast due to the fast Android OS version upgrades. Like losing out on good apps because the box's android version unsupported being marked as outdated by these apps. Even Kodi is dropping Android version 4 and below. Sighhh a reality I know. I am not sure if it is possible to upgrade my Minix's android OS in future. I certainly hope so. Will need to do bit more googling to answer this.

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Aug 31 2016, 04:24 PM
yuatyi
post Aug 31 2016, 03:59 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 30 2016, 08:00 PM)
well...

i understand androids as much as u and some others do.

there is no shortage of expertise on androids as u already know from this thread.

i was just hoping someone with a passion for pc-pc sticks-mini pc's can start a new thread and drum up new interest.

u come across as someone who knows enough of the subject and ready to take the plunge, start a new thread.

i had hoped it will be u, but if u decline, that's ok. icon_rolleyes.gif
Well I too hope for the same, that someone could start a HTPC thread here especially those PCsticks/MiniPC users. I can't be the one to do so without first being a user of it. Unless we are talking about me using my desktop PC as a HTPC. But that wouldn't be new or interesting. There's lots of threads out there on this subject but mainly on overseas forums. Seems to be better received elsewhere than in Malaysia.

I think we have enough mention of the sensitive word "HTPC" here. Best just leave this alone. icon_rolleyes.gif

And wish everyone a great day! thumbsup.gif

yuatyi
post Sep 1 2016, 08:19 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 1 2016, 01:01 AM)
Soon soon...  tongue.gif
Yeah, with Kodi V17 comes a higher OS level requirement. I can't blame the devs as Google continues to introduce better code optimizations and features and from a software dev's POV, it's a real pain having to deal with "backward" OSes.. Plus, it's my understanding that there are only a handful of devs dedicated to the Android Kodi app.. So understaffed..

Also, I think the folks at Minix made it clear that they won't be officially releasing a Lollipop firmware for the Neo X8-H Plus.. Sad I know, however, would you be interested in a custom ROM instead? Read that there's a Lollipop version floating around.. Might be stable enough..  nod.gif
Congrats..  rclxms.gif
Aha.. Another for the books.. Thanks kind sir...  brows.gif
Thanks for that link. Will go check it out.

yuatyi
post Sep 9 2016, 02:33 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Sep 6 2016, 09:14 PM)
example?
Hi sorry I can't answer you here since this is Android Box thread and best not derail the discussion here.

If you really want. I don't mine if you PM me.

This post has been edited by yuatyi: Sep 9 2016, 02:34 PM

0.0827sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:39 AM