Android TV Box

gwong
post Apr 28 2016, 04:23 PM

391 posts

hi guys, i am just wondering if there's any recommendation for android box that is good for some casual or action games. Read online and got to to know that Nvidia Shield is one of those box for gaming but it kinda expensive.

Any suggestion? Thanks.
gwong
post Apr 29 2016, 05:54 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 29 2016, 05:11 AM)
A few questions.. What's your budget? What specific game titles are you interested in? Guessing you'll be planning on getting a game pad as well, you should. True, the Nvidia Shield TV box is pricey, but there is no doubt that it's the best ATM. Probably overkill for most especially if one doesn't have a PC equipped with a capable Nvidia graphics card for streaming.
On a general note for all, I've taken delivery of the Minix Neo U1 + Neo A2 Lite Airmouse and as usual, will be able to provide a real user's review & answers to specific questions about the Neo U1 & the Airmouse. I still have my PS3 controller for gaming, not tested yet but I do not expect any compatibility issues. My initial thoughts are, it's pretty snappy, noticeably faster power up and shutdown, plus updating the firmware was a breeze. The box shipped with FW004 which doesn't have OTA capabilities (introduced in FW005), however, I was able to straightaway flash the latest firmware FW007 - 20160415 directly over the FW004 firmware using a Windows 10 PC & USB 3.0 port.
Let's say around 500 ringgit what would be a good recommendation? let's say something like Modern Combat and Republique....yeah...i've got a bluetooth game pad that can pair with android.

Mnix neo U1? okay ...will do some research. Thanks.

gwong
post Apr 30 2016, 08:08 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 29 2016, 10:31 PM)
I should have some time over the weekend to toy with the Minix Neo U1. However, posts from current owners have been positive and it does fall within your budget. I'm familiar with games like Asphalt Airborne, Dead Trigger, Shadowgun, Modern Combat, etc.. All played smoothly using the PS3 controller on the Minix Neo X8-H Plus. I would test Republique, but seeing as its a paid game... Eh..  smile.gif
Hmmm...How about china android tv boxes? what do you think? i mean they are cheaper if compared to units from more recognised OEMs.
I did some research online, and it seems that most chinese made android tv boxes are capable of media / tv streaming...but not really for games.

This post has been edited by gwong: Apr 30 2016, 08:09 AM
gwong
post Apr 30 2016, 03:52 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 30 2016, 11:49 AM)
many boxes of many brands incl premium ones are made in china! biggrin.gif

i mean they are sourced in china, manufactured in china factories. looks closer at the labels on the box.

but it varies for diff brands and cos. as to what firmwares they put in to cater to what markets.

the ones that sell more outside china will have more eng/int'l appeal - incl games.

those that are meant for china market will have just chinese games. some don't even have google and youtube.

but if u know androids well, it can be made to work anyway u want with the right apk's and patches.
Yupes, do understood what you mean. I guess will need to fork out abit more for a better box with better specs.
gwong
post May 5 2016, 03:32 PM

391 posts

Guys, one quick question. Any opinion or feedback on Nexus Player? Thank you.

0.1227sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:43 AM