Android TV Box

NotTheOne
post Jul 11 2016, 09:58 AM

241 posts

sifus:

Just one question:
If buy a android tv box (any brand) can we watch the regular IPTV channels like: news (BBC,CNN), docu (NatGeo, Discovery, History etc), Sports (SkySports, BBC Sport, etc)

http://www.11street.my/productdetail/lates...droid-tv-861682
This one was suggested by someone and it seems like misleading as it does not provide the channels I listed above (PLEASE correct me if I am wrong)

NotTheOne
post Jul 12 2016, 02:58 AM

241 posts

Thanks to voncrane and avfan!

Something that a lot people have overlooked is SOUND!
Most players provide at least 1080p HD, so my next criteria in choosing a box comes down to which player (or home theater system configuration) will allow me to have hd sound passthru (i'm not sure what is the correct term to use).

So two questions:
1. Which player (or what to look for in the specs) that supports this hdsound passthru?

2 Say, I have a Smart TV with a simple but high quality 5.1 stereo system, and brand X TV Box, how do we maximize the Audio quality as output:
- Using 3.5mm to split red+white cable into the stereo system?
- Any other alternative way to hook up?

It might not be the right place for those question, but I'll go ahead and ask it here so you guys can point me to the right source later. In the meantime I am still finding out more and reading this thread as advised by someone earlier.

Thanks guys!

P/S: Voncrane, does your Minix Neo U1 do DTS (while streaming, not with file on system)? And does it do some flickering?
Saw this review and it says it does not play 5.1 while streaming! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mogcXc-umsw

This post has been edited by NotTheOne: Jul 12 2016, 05:30 AM
NotTheOne
post Jul 15 2016, 04:21 AM

241 posts

Guys. Thanks for your help so far. Despite the price temptation (on gearbest.com) from other TVB like Beelink Mini MXIII and MX3, it has come down to a Split decision between the U1 & either the Q5 Pro or Q10 Pro. One reason for this is I rather pay double or triple the price to have a future proof device, although I am aware their specs are really similar using s905 chips and at least quadcore 450 gpu's.

AVFAN: Just to clarify once again, latest HiMedia Q5Pro is 4th Gen? And it is able to passthrough all audio quality regardless of source right? For example even if I am not using Kodi, and streaming from other players/apps. (AVFAN please confirm)

voncrane: For the U1, it ONLY passesthru if using Kodi and not using other players/apps?

As you might sense, I might be confused on what Kodi & an app really is.

After making a decision, I would like to compile a list of apps needed. I've read the thread and saw this information scattered couple of places. However, if you all do not mind, let us get together to create an up to date list based on all of you users.

My suggestion is to run the list in the below format:
Genre: M=Movies; N=News; D=Documentary (Natgeo, Discovery); S=Sports; L=Lifestyle(AXN, Travel, etc)
Video quality: HD1= Only plays 480p; HD2= minimum 720p; HD3= 1080p;

For example:
- Popcorn: M; HD3

In any case, please do let me know if making the list is not a good idea as the apps keep changing/updating etc.

Thanks, again everyone!

This post has been edited by NotTheOne: Jul 15 2016, 04:25 AM
NotTheOne
post Jan 6 2017, 01:14 AM

241 posts

hey guys

I've got the UBOX 3 and it seems to be working OK although not many channels are reliable. Had also installed the popcorntime and showbox apps on it. They were both working fine until recently, when the subtitles on both apps have gone haywire.
Any advise from those who seen this happen?

thanks!
NotTheOne
post Jan 11 2017, 06:34 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Jan 6 2017, 01:14 AM)
hey guys

I've got the UBOX 3 and it seems to be working OK although not many channels are reliable. Had also installed the popcorntime and showbox apps on it. They were both working fine until recently, when the subtitles on both apps have gone haywire.
Any advise from those who seen this happen?

thanks!
Sorry guys if this not the correct forum to ask the above Question. But, just wondering if anyone faced this problem and know a solution. Seems pretty simple and that's why it is annoying smile.gif

0.1211sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:51 PM