Android TV Box
SUSMatrix
May 15 2014, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 15 2014, 10:06 PM) wa.... so many!! which one u refering to? i dun mind getting another low cost android that purely handles xbmc 720/1080 dts/dd5.1 perfectly. say <rm200, but not interested to spend more. there is now a war by large cos. against "internet neutral" now, xbmc and associates may get stifled, we may get less... unless we pay!! I seriously doubt you can find an RM200 unit which can do passthrough for dts/dd5.1 though. Btw, is there something going on to close down XBMC? I don't think you can every pay for XBMC...all the sources are uploaded by everyone, no ones control it...XBMC merely crawls the web to get the source.
SUSMatrix
May 16 2014, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 16 2014, 12:34 AM) yes, that has been the idea. but over time, some powerful parties aren't happy with profits eroded and grey areas of piracy. recent events foretell the future net/www might not be all free and unrestricted like now. https://www.linkedin.com/today/post/article...-roll-art-titlehttp://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2013/...y-websites.htmlgood possibility of broadband tiering, isp new rules or outright ban on certain things - the killing of net neutrality. as some were saying in the xbmc thread, there is already noticeably less and less 1080 stuff available. dd/dts5.1 stuff becoming rare. most are 720 aac2.0, probably the lowest grade hdrips. well, until then, we enjoy what we can! Yeah...hardly can find any HD source in XBMC nowadays...anyway, going legit with Netflix and Huluplus not that expensive...and the user experience is way much better.
SUSMatrix
May 16 2014, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(susa @ May 15 2014, 06:59 PM) This a latest android box.... new android boxgood for running hd movie.. Anybody see this item in Malaysia... Info to me.... FYI...new boxes with AMlogic S802 (Vanilla) does not do DTS/DD decoding. There are many variants of the S802 chipset, but seems like most manufacturers opting for the vanilla S802.(Cheaper and no need to pay DTS/DD license) Some might be able to do it via software decoding but the the results might varies... I have a Tronsmart S89 Elite if anyone interested. Just one unit, doesn't do DTS/DD passthrough at all. But if that is not important to you, it runs most other stuff fine, including 4k videos. PM me if interested. This post has been edited by Matrix: May 16 2014, 10:45 AM