Need advice on climbing Solo mmr

TSDecky
post Feb 8 2014, 03:49 PM, updated 12y ago

1,190 posts

I've been playing Dota for a long time now so I was quite glad that ranked MM came about.

I won 4/5 of the first 5 placements for solo MM but I ended up getting matchmade with teammates that sucked so bad and lost the next 4/5 (ish).

Now, when I "blame" them, I'm not doing so just because I think I'm the only one who played perfectly and they didn't. My problem with the pubs I was matchmade with was that they did things like picking carry at the last minute when everyone has already picked their heroes, picking mid heroes when someone has already called for mid and so forth.

Then there's this one game where someone dc-ed early game and the message was that it was safe to leave and no matchmaking stats would be recorded, so I left (since he was in my team). Then it ended up counting as a loss!

So I was given a rank of 3.1k in solo and I tried to work my way up since it was my hols and lo and behold... more terrible teammates. Terrible to the point where they wouldn't even reply friendly suggestions of chats and just play their own game etc.

I usually play position 4 or 5 and with friends of 4-4.5k mmr I still can fair quite decently as a hard support. But I realize that however good your support is, when you have teammates who pick like 3 carries and ALL of them buy midas when the enemy team is playing some quick push strat, you can't really do much to win the game.

So what role should I master in order to climb the mm since I've been getting really bad teammates lately? Should I just leave the carrying to myself and first pick carry all the time? Need suggestions pls!

azranashraf
post Feb 8 2014, 07:13 PM

601 posts

Pick mid heroes,gank all enemy.snowball hard.
xHj09
post Feb 9 2014, 06:01 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

instead of blaming, why not teach them what to do?

go support and initiate all the time. lead them to push, smoke in kill and take down tower. find good timing for roshan, take and throw aegis for tower. move as 5. at your rating solo, opponent hardly knows what to do if you guys move as 5.
suxxor
post Feb 9 2014, 07:15 PM

147 posts

don't play sea server to dodge those retarded non-english speakers.
richard3200
post Feb 9 2014, 11:26 PM

169 posts

pick solo mid who can push really fast. ie: pugna, dp, shaman. make sure u push down their towers before 8mins mark usually and win ur lane for obvious reasons.
TSDecky
post Feb 11 2014, 12:00 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Feb 9 2014, 06:01 PM)
instead of blaming, why not teach them what to do?

go support and initiate all the time. lead them to push, smoke in kill and take down tower. find good timing for roshan, take and throw aegis for tower. move as 5. at your rating solo, opponent hardly knows what to do if you guys move as 5.
That's my philosophy at first, but the problem is not that they are newbies that are eager to learn but that they're just arrogant kids who will tell you to stfu because "don't tell me what to do" (Even though I do so in a gentle manner) or they are pinoys who can't speak english and don't even want to try.

I won a few games as DP solo mid when my allies pushed with me, but when I played DP and my allies insisted on farming all day I lost even though I won (got firtblood and good farm) the midlane.
Mido_Ban
post Feb 11 2014, 02:01 PM

224 posts

is always a difficult game when you playing alone, try to add a few lowyat player here to make you game better.

This post has been edited by Mido_Ban: Feb 11 2014, 02:01 PM
Blues89
post Feb 11 2014, 02:05 PM

☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆
4,892 posts

solo mmr more on luck than skill lol...cos if ur teammate are all understandable and can teamwork well,the game is urs biggrin.gif
but if full of tards...lol...
xHj09
post Feb 11 2014, 10:57 PM

1,614 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Feb 11 2014, 12:00 PM)
That's my philosophy at first, but the problem is not that they are newbies that are eager to learn but that they're just arrogant kids who will tell you to stfu because "don't tell me what to do" (Even though I do so in a gentle manner) or they are pinoys who can't speak english and don't even want to try.
I won a few games as DP solo mid when my allies pushed with me, but when I played DP and my allies insisted on farming all day I lost even though I won (got firtblood and good farm) the midlane.
that is sad, but still try your best. luck in 3k~4k is really needed. 4k and above in solo games are really difficult, 10 out of 10 players know their role well. wish u luck climbing there!
andreaschan
post Feb 13 2014, 03:57 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Feb 8 2014, 03:49 PM)
I've been playing Dota for a long time now so I was quite glad that ranked MM came about.

I won 4/5 of the first 5 placements for solo MM but I ended up getting matchmade with teammates that sucked so bad and lost the next 4/5 (ish).

Now, when I "blame" them, I'm not doing so just because I think I'm the only one who played perfectly and they didn't. My problem with the pubs I was matchmade with was that they did things like picking carry at the last minute when everyone has already picked their heroes, picking mid heroes when someone has already called for mid and so forth.

Then there's this one game where someone dc-ed early game and the message was that it was safe to leave and no matchmaking stats would be recorded, so I left (since he was in my team). Then it ended up counting as a loss!

So I was given a rank of 3.1k in solo and I tried to work my way up since it was my hols and lo and behold... more terrible teammates. Terrible to the point where they wouldn't even reply friendly suggestions of chats and just play their own game etc.
I usually play position 4 or 5 and with friends of 4-4.5k mmr I still can fair quite decently as a hard support. But I realize that however good your support is, when you have teammates who pick like 3 carries and ALL of them buy midas when the enemy team is playing some quick push strat, you can't really do much to win the game.
So what role should I master in order to climb the mm since I've been getting really bad teammates lately? Should I just leave the carrying to myself and first pick carry all the time? Need suggestions pls!
First of all when you talk about public game solo it is hard but not impossible to climb up all by yourself . Personally although I not all mmr pursuer but if you want mmr so hard here is what I think you can do .

1.) Get yourself used to a few carry heroes especially ganker that you know well and just stick to that . Because we all know carry normally is the one determine the game from mid to late game .
2.) Take in charge of mid and gank or own them game asap .
3.) Give command like a commander or advice team mate when problem comes ( if you can use mic is better but dont abuse it . but get ready to get scolded stfu because not many people will listen to you or have the same vision as you )
4.) End the game asap when owning because to avoid late game hero own back or pusher .
5.) Try to counter pick enemy hero .

The reason I dont want to pursue is because I dont wanna die of rage . Some people logic / play style and argument is simply "awesome" whistling.gif . So I might as well just take it easy and maintain my mmr better .
TSDecky
post Feb 13 2014, 05:24 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(andreaschan @ Feb 13 2014, 03:57 PM)
First of all when you talk about public game solo it is hard but not impossible to climb up all by yourself . Personally although I not all mmr pursuer but if you want mmr so hard here is what I think you can do .

1.) Get yourself used to a few carry heroes especially ganker that you know well and just stick to that . Because we all know carry normally is the one determine the game from mid to late game .
2.) Take in charge of mid and gank or own them game asap .
3.) Give command like a commander or advice team mate when problem comes ( if you can use mic is better but dont abuse it . but get ready to get scolded stfu because not many people will listen to you or have the same vision as you )
4.) End the game asap when owning because to avoid late game hero own back or pusher .
5.) Try to counter pick enemy hero .

The reason I dont want to pursue is because I dont wanna die of rage . Some people logic / play style and argument is simply "awesome"  whistling.gif . So I might as well just take it easy and maintain my mmr better .
thanks for the advice mate.

Currently on a 6 match win streak with invoker for solo mmr.

So far so good...
monkeyboy94
post Feb 13 2014, 09:57 PM

216 posts

today my solo rank really all with duno people that speak weird language, really duno what every1 doing. rclxub.gif
Blues89
post Feb 14 2014, 09:26 AM

4,892 posts

im happy just to maintain lol...now just wanna raise my party mmr...solo is a bit hard :/
SUS~min~
post Feb 14 2014, 09:07 PM

SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

pick hero, when you see lineup suck, just leave earlier
darksider
post Feb 15 2014, 12:14 PM

868 posts

my main account I lost 7 out of 10 matches, in which 3 of the loss was abandonment due to disconnection and opponents resuming without waiting me.

I got 3.8k in the end, and I play in SEA server. After several matches I dropped to 3.5k and I stopped playing it. I know I deserve higher mmr so I created a new account for that purpose.

In my new account, out of 10 matches I lost 3 due to teammates who cant play carry but choose it. In all those matches I mainly play full support using tide hunter, ward everything I tapao.

And guess what, I lost last 3 matches but my mmr was 4242 (which could be higher if I did not lose the last 3).

I believe that if you play in SEA, most of the players always pick hard carry / mid gankers and very few are willing to support. So if no one is supporting , you should pick one because support is the hardest to play and usually the most satisfying

This post has been edited by darksider: Feb 15 2014, 12:17 PM
~@Sharks@~
post Feb 21 2014, 12:09 AM

498 posts

Which server do you guys usually play? blush.gif I've been playing solo from 3.8, I've dropped to 3.6 thanks to public team mates . Most of them are viets or pinoys. There was this player today from Penang decided to flame me for roaming but I failed a few times and he started being rude by cursing ( mom, dad, grandfather, cat dog..).. Tired of players like these... Esp when they're failing themselves and I'm not ... doh.gif

Funniest is when I got his personal info and he decided to stfu. Players on Dota 2 nowadays sweat.gif
harusame1989
post Feb 21 2014, 06:11 PM

183 posts

Actually if you not too obsessed with the rank given, you wont have to rage a lot. Just enjoy, and you are not increasing the mmr as if your future career depend on it. For me, MMR is a lot better than normal game cos out of 10, you manage to get at least 5 match that is high standard or to your standard, which is what MMR for.

But if you serious about increasing ur rank, there is a few hero which more all rounded like Mirana, WR, Pugna, Invoker. But it wont ensure victory, it still depend on ur team performance. Also when MMR, do not random, do no fail pick! If you random and fail too badly, u most likely to get report. Also just remember no flaming, no blaming, else u get report as well lol.

Still lately I havent meet any bad player, or player that fail as badly as normal match, so i guess its still not that bad.
matkim
post Mar 4 2014, 09:47 AM

iFag
711 posts

u know why solo mmr sucks alot?coz bunch of them are rejected and cant play with their coz they noob like hell

hahahaha...

dude try add someone here and better climb up party mmr...that whd be better
Blues89
post Mar 4 2014, 09:57 AM

4,892 posts

its really random, as we are teaming up with different ppl and different mindset...
just try ur best,i managed to climb slowly...but sure got loss thanks to some tards
Chrizalix
post Mar 4 2014, 11:28 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Mar 4 2014, 09:57 AM)
its really random, as we are teaming up with different ppl and different mindset...
just try ur best,i managed to climb slowly...but sure got loss thanks to some tards
I am very agree with you on this. It's pretty tough to up climb SOLO MMR when there are alot of tards want to play carries.
It pissed me real off, when you see there are four carries in your team when I am the last one to pick.

Blues89
post Mar 4 2014, 11:41 AM

4,892 posts

either u pick a very versatile hero or u pick first before they pick...else its almost certain ur being a supporter...
well,i normally let them pick all only i pick...dont mind training different role
philip42
post Mar 4 2014, 11:47 AM

1,396 posts

no such problems at 4k mmr bracket, the diff between 4k and 3k mmr bracket is so damn big! SRS
Blues89
post Mar 4 2014, 11:59 AM

4,892 posts

im at 4k but still sometimes there are some retards- -"
and the saddest case most retards tend to pick carries
v1n0d
post Mar 4 2014, 12:10 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Mar 4 2014, 11:47 AM)
no such problems at 4k mmr bracket, the diff between 4k and 3k mmr bracket is so damn big! SRS
QUOTE(Blues89 @ Mar 4 2014, 11:59 AM)
im at 4k but still sometimes there are some retards- -"
and the saddest case most retards tend to pick carries
There will always be retards, regardless of your bracket. This is why its important to add the good players you meet.
philip42
post Mar 4 2014, 12:15 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Mar 4 2014, 12:10 PM)
There will always be retards, regardless of your bracket. This is why its important to add the good players you meet.
yeah haha thats why its hard to climb the solo mmr, sometimes when u r doing well they will tend to spoil your game. biggrin.gif
Blues89
post Mar 4 2014, 01:11 PM

4,892 posts

yep...for solo,its hard to climb,party...get good members then its better and more possible
XylonBlue
post Mar 4 2014, 09:22 PM

74 posts

typical public players like to pick some carries and then they'll start farming the early game and feeding for the rest of the game, so better not play a solo mmr when you're not in a good mood, else prepare urself for the worst wrath of ur life! biggrin.gif
Arcisal
post Mar 4 2014, 11:46 PM

143 posts

I have found the secret to increasing your solo MMR!

Viper.

Just don't building a f*cking Vanguard and you'll be fine.
GodJesterZ
post Mar 5 2014, 01:13 AM

1,542 posts

I still get a lot of retards who pick sniper when enemy got burst dmg. and fail as safe lane farmer.
*-a|i3n-*
post Mar 5 2014, 08:56 AM

I'm who i'm
681 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Mar 4 2014, 01:11 PM)
yep...for solo,its hard to climb,party...get good members then its better and more possible
i was from 3.8k drop till 2.9k...
and now finally i slowly climb back from 2.9k to 3.4k... =.=
it's possible for climbing in solo....
just make sure you're the mid player and keep ganking the whole damn game.
sweat.gif
and party ranked match... 3.7k drop till 3.3k... cause always teamup as 2 person and join the team mmr...
no luck trying. sad.gif
TruthHurts
post Mar 5 2014, 09:01 AM

653 posts

solo MMR is so hard ... playing with people who just pick carry and still they cant win. Who else have to be support when all of them picks carry.... then again if pick carry .. they too pick carry.. Solo ranking is totally fcuked up.. i think MMR does not let you play with the same bracket but mix bracket of highs and lows to balance the team fight.

Blues89
post Mar 5 2014, 09:09 AM

4,892 posts

QUOTE(*-a|i3n-* @ Mar 5 2014, 08:56 AM)
i was from 3.8k drop till 2.9k...
and now finally i slowly climb back from 2.9k to 3.4k... =.=
it's possible for climbing in solo....
just make sure you're the mid player and keep ganking the whole damn game.
sweat.gif
and party ranked match... 3.7k drop till 3.3k... cause always teamup as 2 person and join the team mmr...
no luck trying. sad.gif
solo kinda more to luck...and of cos a bit of skill- -"
stuck at 4-4.1k
*-a|i3n-*
post Mar 5 2014, 09:09 AM

I'm who i'm
681 posts

i teach u la...most easy... is create a new account, play till lvl 13
and stacks with your 4 friends for 10 games until u get 5k mmr...
monstercoop
post Mar 5 2014, 09:31 AM

42 posts

Im a 4.6k MMR solo player and climbing
To get your mmr high or i can say, not dropping drastically, if your mmr is at 4.1k+ you should nt be worry about the carry or the mid player. You should worry more on the support role, at 4.1k mmr, everyone wants to become the mid and carry player, to win a game, sacrifice your mid and carry and just go for support if you think your support role is also actually good.

Of cause they might blame you on the lose game (Support roles always get the blame), but a real mature gamer will not blame you. just do your best supporting the lanes .

even at 4.6k MMR i still get stupid teammates that feeds on their lane, flame, complaint etc,
but just ignore that lane if you see he is on a lane with a not so strong late game.
Support your late game if this circumstences happen.

To be able to secure a win game in Solo mmr, Support must know the placement of wards, smokes, ganks, because when coming to ganking, supporter roles are the leader in this specialised ganking. Therefore call for gank if needed , ward if needed , smoke ganks if winning wars to secure your win and not throwing them, and Happy Dota gaming !

This post has been edited by monstercoop: Mar 5 2014, 09:31 AM
Blues89
post Mar 5 2014, 11:09 AM

4,892 posts

QUOTE(monstercoop @ Mar 5 2014, 09:31 AM)
Im a 4.6k MMR solo player and climbing
To get your mmr high or i can say, not dropping drastically, if your mmr is at 4.1k+ you should nt be worry about the carry or the mid player. You should worry more on the support role, at 4.1k mmr, everyone wants to become the mid and carry player, to win a game, sacrifice your mid and carry and just go for support if you think your support role is also actually good.

Of cause they might blame you on the lose game (Support roles always get the blame), but a real mature gamer will not blame you. just do your best supporting the lanes .

even at 4.6k MMR i still get stupid teammates that feeds on their lane, flame, complaint etc,
but just ignore that lane if you see he is on a lane with a not so strong late game.
Support your late game if this circumstences happen.

To be able to secure a win game in Solo mmr, Support must know the placement of wards, smokes, ganks, because when coming to ganking, supporter roles are the leader in this specialised ganking. Therefore call for gank if needed , ward if needed , smoke ganks if winning wars to secure your win and not throwing them, and Happy Dota gaming !
yea...thats why i seldom go carry now lol...
rather be semi/ support...as they are the main ones that actually control the game flow...support that sux ,carry wont be able to catch up with oppo carry's farm
Chrizalix
post Mar 5 2014, 03:47 PM

53 posts

I think emphasize certain heroes like Lich, DP, Zeus, Necro can really bring early gank-ing and push advantage to the game. Just own the opponent real hard and it snowball.
Blues89
post Mar 5 2014, 04:10 PM

4,892 posts

or go pugna tormented for early tower down,make ur carryfat
xFreedomBoix
post Mar 6 2014, 01:27 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

Solo MMR is mostly about luck..
my fren was once 5k, now dropped to 4.7k ish.. and he gave up on it. lol

On topic, i think a strong mid will win half of the game.
By strong mid, it can be tempo controller, or a semi hard carry.
Pick base on situation, if ur team have more than 2 carry, go tempo controller like a quas wex hunting invoker, qop, etc. Even slark mid with ganking item will do well.

If ur team have 1 carry, and u have no faith in that carry. try picking semi hard carry, example SF on radiant ( I love dis ), stack nc while at mid. Very easy farmed up. Or even the new meta sniper mid, it's good.

For tempo controller, gank more. Don't keep farm, create space for ur carries, makes enemy focus on u.
For semi-hard carry, only participate in war that u think ur team can win or have an edge, don't force fight too often. Get your core items up.

XylonBlue
post Mar 6 2014, 06:41 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(xFreedomBoix @ Mar 6 2014, 01:27 PM)
Solo MMR is mostly about luck..
my fren was once 5k, now dropped to 4.7k ish.. and he gave up on it. lol

On topic, i think a strong mid will win half of the game.
By strong mid, it can be tempo controller, or a semi hard carry.
Pick base on situation, if ur team have more than 2 carry, go tempo controller like a quas wex hunting invoker, qop, etc. Even slark mid with ganking item will do well.

If ur team have 1 carry, and u have no faith in that carry. try picking semi hard carry, example SF on radiant ( I love dis ), stack nc while at mid. Very easy farmed up. Or even the new meta sniper mid, it's good.

For tempo controller, gank more. Don't keep farm, create space for ur carries, makes enemy focus on u.
For semi-hard carry, only participate in war that u think ur team can win or have an edge, don't force fight too often. Get your core items up.
And all you need if just one little player to spoil ur whole plan by feeding here and there the whole game lol. whistling.gif
xFreedomBoix
post Mar 6 2014, 07:48 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(XylonBlue @ Mar 6 2014, 06:41 PM)
And all you need if just one little player to spoil ur whole plan by feeding here and there the whole game lol.  whistling.gif
as long as it's not too much.. it should be okay..
else.. join the feeds. brows.gif
xxhunter
post Mar 9 2014, 08:31 PM

195 posts

dont be a noob
xHj09
post Mar 10 2014, 05:03 AM

1,614 posts

at 4k solo you have to trust in your team mate, let them pick carry and mid. no point whole team take farmer. the key to win in solo is pro support that roams and gank effectively. i dropped from 4.2k to 3.7k on solo. but i climbed back to 4.1k, now dropped to 4k again. it really depends. some people might have your mentality to play a pro support, then you can carry/mid.
Blues89
post Mar 10 2014, 08:29 AM

4,892 posts

yea,just go for heroes that is needed in game ,or pick first.
if they still pick same role...well...u can guess roughly where the game goes
tekokk
post Mar 11 2014, 10:48 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(Arcisal @ Mar 4 2014, 11:46 PM)
I have found the secret to increasing your solo MMR!

Viper.

Just don't building a f*cking Vanguard and you'll be fine.
picks, viper
all teammates pick carry
= HAPPY FAMILY
Arcisal
post Mar 11 2014, 12:15 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(tekokk @ Mar 11 2014, 10:48 AM)
picks, viper
all teammates pick carry
= HAPPY FAMILY
Viper is good because you can:
-Build a Mek, which no one else will.
-Gain map control and make space for your carries by pushing early T1s and ganking a hell of a lot.
-Buy dust (if they have invis) and wards (occasionally) cause you have too much gold and don't need a lot of it.
-Is a tanking machine which most people want in their team.

Just don't play/build Viper as a hard carry. He's a good mid-game hero where he snowballs the f*ck out of control but past 45 minutes, he drops off pretty hard besides his ulti, which is why Aghanims is core on him.

All you need is Mek and Aghanims. Everything else is situational. AC, Heart, Butterfly, Daedalus are all good choices. Don't build Manta or Vanguard.
GirlyTeenGirl
post Mar 26 2014, 06:42 PM

45 posts

I won 8 of the first 10 you have to play.
started with 2k MMR =.=
keep getting bad teammates and stuck at 2k MMR
Blues89
post Mar 27 2014, 10:20 AM

4,892 posts

won 80% but stuck at 2k mmr?! o.o"
omg..they count thru kda?
Celldweller
post Mar 27 2014, 11:20 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(GirlyTeenGirl @ Mar 26 2014, 06:42 PM)
I won 8 of the first 10 you have to play.
started with 2k MMR =.=
keep getting bad teammates and stuck at 2k MMR
Cannot be lol , I won 8 and start at 3.9k
Blues89
post Mar 28 2014, 08:44 AM

4,892 posts

mine is like half half and im at 3.9+- as well
Damonzero
post Mar 28 2014, 08:58 AM

✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪
1,467 posts

I won 3 but start at 4.3k, so w/l not relevant.
Blues89
post Mar 28 2014, 09:31 AM

4,892 posts

from what i suspect,the rating starts on ur first match and keep callibrate.
means itll match u up with different ratings to check which rating suits u...
but well..who cares,if ur good,u can slowly climb ur way up
Chaud
post Mar 28 2014, 12:05 PM

1,119 posts

im currently in the same situation as well...when i choose supporter there's no carry or noob carry

when i choose carry, supporter dunno how to support and dont even bother to get wards even I asked them to

what's worst is they dont even wanna bother what you ask them to do sweat.gif

then I stop playing MMR since my luck got so bad that i ended up with noob players and keep losing constantly
gtboy2
post Mar 30 2014, 11:50 PM

42 posts

try C.Mode.. it way more better players .also can improve your skill as well
Blues89
post Mar 31 2014, 08:51 AM

4,892 posts

what if stranger captain dunno draft...thats even worse lol
Xzens1110
post Apr 8 2014, 04:36 PM

96 posts

voz of the teammate make me drop until 29++ .......if ur mmr is high enough they will pick some okok player into you team to balance the overall team ...this make me sick
FluffyMonkey
post Apr 21 2014, 06:41 PM

27 posts

My brother is 5.4k-5.5k mmr player (Rank 50 on SEA leaderboard yesterday).

I don't play dota, but after watching him play a few games today, i think i know how to climb solo mmr. Playing Ember Spirit every single game will get you far in solo ladder. LOL.
I had a good laugh after watching all the pub shenanigans today. Made me glad i didn't play this game.

From my observation in this thread i can tell that the mindset here is very similar to the pub conversation i saw. Blaming your teammates.

He told me, most of the time there were only two to four 5k players in the game, usually balanced between teams. He's always the one with the highest mmr in his team. Worse case scenario, the other team get two 5k players and he's the only one in his team. One plays carry and another one solo-mid, GG. Most people in this thread seems to think that once they get into higher bracket, they'll stop getting bad teammates. Wrong! This blaming sickness will never stop. My brother told me at 5k mmr, it gets much worse! The thing is, those 3k players might not listen to you or do bad decision in-game. Wait till you meet those 4.8k-4.9k players who had ego as high as mountain. Players ego and stubbornness increase exponentially with their ranks.

One game i saw today, this one guy who plays Nerubian Assassin and my brother got scolded by teammates because they were losing. The Nerubian Assassin guy was pretty chill about it, and my brother told me they were losing because their mid, Invoker screwed up. They kept calling names and at one point one guy, Mirana told my brother to uninstall dota! My brother told him he will if that Mirana's MMR is higher than him. The Mirana was confident, he thought my brother and Nerubian Assassins guy was a 3k player. Finally after the game ends we get to see the mmr. Apparently, that Nerubian Assassin was a 5.4k player, and my brother was 5.5k. The other 3 teammates? 4.7k-4.9k trash! Well, im pretty sure if they show mmr before the game starts, the other 3 will kiss my brother's ass.

You people like to call other bad players retards because you think they're holding you down, but you must realize there are other players who think the same way about you too. In my opinion, if players stop thinking too highly of themselves, then maybe they'll go far.
Patent
post Apr 21 2014, 08:42 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

What is more important than your mmr?

Your attitude.

FluffyMonkey
post Apr 21 2014, 09:55 PM

27 posts

I played less than 10 Dota match in my lifetime. On my first game i learned 2 important lesson:

1. I have mental disabilities.
2. My mother is a whore.

I was like ok, screw this game.

Even people who preach about manners failed to act on it when their patience are tested, especially Malay team captains(no vroom vroom here, i'm malay). Not all, but most of them. They like to boss people around. Always 100% right even when they're 100% wrong. You read about these team advertisement here, citing manners as requirement. I bet 50% of the captains failed in this department when the time comes for them to act on what they preach. How i knew this when i do not play dota? I watch my brother hop from team to team and see how the team captain act.

Another team requirement they failed, the willingness to accept criticism. They should changed it to "Team boss is always right, screw your opinion!". Being the youngest(16/17) around that time among players in their 20's, means he has no say. He had to learn his place. Now when i think about it, the minimum 18 years for team recruitment is a joke. You can be in your mid 20's but still more immature and more emotional than teenagers.

/end of rant.

I almost forgot, let me add 1 thing, being positive and treating people well is the key to success. Think more, act less on emotions.

I still remember earlier last year, my brother got paired with iceiceice and his friends on pub games. One game he screwed up so bad and the team lost because of him, guess how his teammates treat my brother? They we're laughing (loling, rofling) and kept telling my brother its ok. See, thats why they're the best, attitude! They got class! The next game my brother got paired with the same team and he managed to do well and i saw on stream iceiceice said his shackle was good and he's an above average player. Lift the pressure off your teammates, empower them. Not ordering people to do this and that.

This post has been edited by FluffyMonkey: Apr 21 2014, 10:30 PM
jeffng89
post Apr 22 2014, 03:53 AM

(/ .□.)\ ︵╰(゜Д゜)╯︵ /(.□. \)
846 posts

QUOTE(FluffyMonkey @ Apr 21 2014, 09:55 PM)
I played less than 10 Dota match in my lifetime. On my first game i learned 2 important lesson:

1. I have mental disabilities.
2. My mother is a whore.

I was like ok, screw this game.

Even people who preach about manners failed to act on it when their patience are tested, especially Malay team captains(no vroom vroom here, i'm malay). Not all, but most of them. They like to boss people around. Always 100% right even when they're 100% wrong. You read about these team advertisement here, citing manners as requirement. I bet 50% of the captains failed in this department when the time comes for them to act on what they preach. How i knew this when i do not play dota? I watch my brother hop from team to team and see how the team captain act.

Another team requirement they failed, the willingness to accept criticism. They should changed it to "Team boss is always right, screw your opinion!". Being the youngest(16/17) around that time among players in their 20's, means he has no say. He had to learn his place. Now when i think about it, the minimum 18 years for team recruitment is a joke. You can be in your mid 20's but still more immature and more emotional than teenagers.

/end of rant.

I almost forgot, let me add 1 thing, being positive and treating people well is the key to success. Think more, act less on emotions.

I still remember earlier last year, my brother got paired with iceiceice and his friends on pub games. One game he screwed up so bad and the team lost because of him, guess how his teammates treat my brother? They we're laughing (loling, rofling) and kept telling my brother its ok. See, thats why they're the best, attitude! They got class! The next game my brother got paired with the same team and he managed to do well and i saw on stream iceiceice said his shackle was good and he's an above average player. Lift the pressure off your teammates, empower them. Not ordering people to do this and that.
Agreed , never starts blaming .
whoopa
post Apr 22 2014, 05:27 AM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

lol ... unfortunately its filled with flaming ppl one la.

one support only i get the blame. i am dazzle i am supposed to save 4 carries. pudge go wandering around with enemy in a team of 5 roaming for kill. and he said dazzle no support. LOL.

others are like wards. why no wards. i am thinking if carry cant afford 150 gold for wards is pathetic lol.

i just ignore nowadays. but i realise aussie are good tho. they very patient and friendly. too bad their server so far.
l4nc3k
post Apr 22 2014, 10:36 AM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ Apr 22 2014, 05:27 AM)
lol ... unfortunately its filled with flaming ppl one la.

one support only i get the blame. i am dazzle i am supposed to save 4 carries. pudge go wandering around with enemy in a team of 5 roaming for kill. and he said dazzle no support. LOL.

others are like wards. why no wards. i am thinking if carry cant afford 150 gold for wards is pathetic lol.

i just ignore nowadays. but i realise aussie are good tho. they very patient and friendly. too bad their server so far.
when people start to flame I just say sorry (even though its not my mistake), most of the time they will change they altitude a bit and we can start playing as a team (of course most of the time its still retarded hero picks that lose us the game zz). If they continue flame I'll just mute.. peaceful match biggrin.gif

Aussies always complain SEA players flooding their servers sweat.gif
bmwcaddy
post Jun 10 2014, 09:30 AM

513 posts

Although its kinda hard, you need to practice to be the middle man of your team when it comes to argument. People with ego will not let go of their ego in online games thus thats were fights start. Learn to chill down teammates even though deep down there you want to find their ip address and assasinate them. No point winning an argument as its your MMR that is gonna go down, not your ego increasing.
Shiniz
post Jun 12 2014, 09:45 AM

112 posts

well i find SEA player some of em are either retarded....or they juz play wat they want..(well with compendium daily hero challenge/hero challenge) there an increase amount of em...

i m same as u..currently solo result in 4/4...nxt one will determined whether im 3k+ or -
CoolClassyCheap
post Oct 15 2014, 02:29 PM

My advice is below 4k carry the team yourself don't mind if there are many carry pickers most of them can't carry. Above 4k, you can rely on your teammates and pick support.

4.1k solo

This post has been edited by CoolClassyCheap: Oct 15 2014, 02:30 PM
Lurker
post Oct 15 2014, 03:05 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

When watching games how can we check out the player's mmr?
Leonix7791
post Oct 15 2014, 07:30 PM

235 posts

In my case, i just tell my team i pick last and i will play any roles they need.

When somebody in my team failed i tell them nicely if they don't take the advice kindly then i just leave them be. Let them fail for the rest of the game. No point nagging someone who just won't listen. Just do your job in the match is always how i play. If support then support properly if carry then carry properly etc.

Last but not least, when the game goes full retard just go with it.
CKs93
post Oct 24 2014, 02:38 PM

72 posts

I pick SK everytime i play solo MMR, i able to raise it up from 3-3.9k, especially vs tinker and those op hero like void, my game would be win 8 out of 10 when i use SK, i bought ward and courier at the beginning, and gank after my dagger as well as continue to supply ward so others can farm, basically if you strict to win a game instead of having fun(like marathon etc.), a team with sufficient disable should be alright(at least it happens to me during the 3k) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by CKs93: Oct 24 2014, 02:40 PM

0.0351sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:05 PM