Steam Steam Promotion, Discussion and FAQ Thread V39

pikachu01
post Feb 17 2014, 10:53 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Feb 17 2014, 10:51 PM)
Sudah got ways to prevent them from reading our website url?
Like this Valve boleh jadi the next google.
Can't be circumvented unless you stop using Steam VAC enabled games entirely.
pikachu01
post Feb 17 2014, 10:58 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(luna121245 @ Feb 17 2014, 10:56 PM)
Got it now, if I doesn't go for any website during game then any data of mine will send to them?
No, DNS entries stay stored in your OS for around a day (varies). If you're running a VAC-enabled game during that day, it'll upload all the entries (hashed though) to Valve's servers to be examined.
pikachu01
post Feb 17 2014, 10:59 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Feb 17 2014, 10:46 PM)
I hope people just don't ignore this since it's Valve..
What if this was EA... it would mean the end of the world.
If it's EA, I think a few notable YouTube celebrities would've made videos and petitions will be up at that very moment itself.

A few days later you would have drama/popcorn time like how it is with Totalbiscuit and his ever growing dev "friends".
pikachu01
post Feb 17 2014, 11:01 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(luna121245 @ Feb 17 2014, 11:00 PM)
Oh, means if I dun wan to give them my data I can only play offline? what when I didn't play games but just online on steam? will they get my data continuously too?
VAC is only activated when you play a VAC-enabled game.

You can see the list of games here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valve_Anti-Cheat

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Feb 17 2014, 11:02 PM
pikachu01
post Feb 18 2014, 09:37 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Feb 18 2014, 09:32 AM)
GabeN said nope, you guys have just been trololol'd. rolleyes.gif

http://www.reddit.com/r/gaming/comments/1y..._vac_and_trust/

EDIT: tl;dr below
CODE
1) Do we send your browsing history to Valve? No.

2) Do we care what porn sites you visit? Oh, dear god, no. My brain just melted.

3) Is Valve using its market success to go evil? I don't think so, but you have to make the call if we are trustworthy. We try really hard to earn and keep your trust.

They still read your DNS cache ... There's nothing different with what was discovered, only now Valve is making an official statement about it.
pikachu01
post Feb 18 2014, 10:07 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Feb 18 2014, 09:48 AM)
There are 2 different issues that are being highlighted here to be honest. I don't mean to be rude but what I'm trying to do here is to paint a better light to the whole fiasco which sounded pretty dire when you used the term NSAing.

Reading your DNS cache is not something new. It's being done by so many softwares out there & it's not as intrusive as it sounds to be. While we can all agree that you have all the rights to your privacy, we somehow failed to comprehend that we are not as anonymous as we would like to think we are when it comes to the WWW. But hey, let's no go there with all the Snowden-gate thingy where Big Brother is watching giggling over some silly Omegle avatars since this is not the same thing we're dealing with here.

If there's a need to make a quick comparison, I would say that it's akin to an antivirus scanning the entire directories in your PC. You don't expect an antivirus to be effective without going through what it needs to do, no?

Like I said above, I'm not here to say that you're-wrong-I'm-right but I think we should be able to present the DNS-sniffing controversy from both angles to the community here.

Peace out.
It's ok if if your DNS is only locally read by antivirus or any kind of processes. The problem is when it phones home to be checked by actual people. I can't deny that if it's EA doing this, I don't think a lot of people will be singing the same tune here.
pikachu01
post Feb 18 2014, 10:12 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(qhalidx @ Feb 18 2014, 10:08 AM)
what i know google did this all the time to provide ad-sense with better accuracy of one surfing habits. Since google did that, i don't see people tearing google to pieces. I'm not defending volvo or so but with so many user they must implement a filter in the client to better find the suspected domain (a needle in a haystack kinda situation) and maybe they got guys running exclusively searching for the cheat for VAC games.
Umm, I don't agree to what Google is doing as well, hence I opt out of it's browsing history module as well as block most of the obtrusive analytics. You can't opt out of Valve's unless you stop playing VAC enabled games.
pikachu01
post Feb 18 2014, 10:16 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Feb 18 2014, 10:12 AM)
And you think that the antivirus findings were not being screened through by real-life engineers somewhere out there?

People will go apeshit if Valve or anyone out there is keeping mum on this finding but to have the CEO himself coming out in the open to explain himself, I personally think that it's a commendable effort. Sure, he might be feeding us BS but still, the action is fast, his response is swift & in this age where rumours fly faster than news, he knew how serious this accusation is to make himself present instead of using some non-existent customer support personnel to counter the allegation. smile.gif
No, antivirus modules are not phoning home user data. If it does that, you'll already see a lot of people going batshit against it. If I remember correctly, there was one free antivirus doing that. In the end someone found out and a lot of people went batshit crazy against it. The antivirus company had to apologize for it and till now their trustworthiness went down the drain.

Edit: If I'm not mistaken, it was Panda.

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Feb 18 2014, 10:18 AM
pikachu01
post Feb 18 2014, 10:20 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Feb 18 2014, 10:13 AM)
Google did it for revenue.

Volvo did it to make the gaming experience better.

Yup, I hear you. Thank you very much for chipping in. smile.gif
Sigh, no need to get personal about this. It's not anything against you or anyone else out there. I'm just here to chip in my views so that it doesn't muddled over by Valve fanboys (note I'm also a Valve fanboy so it's not a derogatory term). If you want to make it personal, I have nothing against that, but please look at it from another perspective. I'm sure that there are quite a number of people who will agree or disagree with what I'm saying, but don't get your personal feelings up into the discussion. I'm just trying to be a devil's advocate here.
pikachu01
post Feb 18 2014, 10:22 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Feb 18 2014, 10:20 AM)
As you've stated, you actually can, just skip VAC-enabled games. biggrin.gif

In all seriousness, you can't expect VAC not to work for VAC-enabled games. It's like asking a policeman to stand down, just stay in his station & have some doughnuts. biggrin.gif
They do. The industry that I'm working in pretty much knew about the backdoor that certain antivirus products go through. sad.gif
It can be disabled (the same with Google as well). The keyword is personally identifiable information. It doesn't matter if what I'm sending is anonymous/ non-identifiable. What matters here is privacy, not the type of information that was sent.

And do note that I'm not playing any VAC enabled games at all. Personally, it doesn't concern me at all. But I'm not talking in a personal level here (and I expect you not to as well). I'm talking about how ethical a company can be from their actions. However, there is a limit on privacy violations here that some people will be uncomfortable at when they know this.

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Feb 18 2014, 10:24 AM
pikachu01
post Feb 18 2014, 03:37 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Feb 18 2014, 03:29 PM)
I know this has been discussed before, but I thought this is quite a fair article, without taking any obvious side.

And, welcome to the internet. What Valve VAC (allegedly) did, i'm sure not worse than what most of reputable security company already did since decades ago.
Yeah, and what happened to the reputable companies that did it decades ago? They're now fallen to obscurity, or have had some flak that people distrust them or disable any modules that has privacy concerns. The point is, it's bad no matter who is doing it. The only difference is how the companies involved handled it post-crisis.

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Feb 18 2014, 03:37 PM
pikachu01
post Feb 18 2014, 04:58 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Feb 18 2014, 04:48 PM)
Nope, there are still plenty of heavyweights allegedly spying on their user: http://www.informationweek.com/security/vu.../d/d-id/1112911, then you have Facebook allegation as well. At least in this VAC case, Gaben is pretty upfront and responsive to the customer's concern.
Facebook isn't a good example here. It's very nature involves private information presented to the public for consumption. If you are already presenting your photos to your friends (and even non friends can access it just by copying the exact address), how can you stop Facebook itself from not violating your privacy here? The only thing Facebook doesn't do is to snoop your Windows OS looking for unuploaded pictures or to snoop on your browsing history of other websites to learn things they shouldn't. And yes, there are already many petitions/outcry against Facebook for their privacy issues when tracking actions people do in Facebook.

However, whatever you do in Facebook is fair game to Facebook as it's in their TOS already and most that read it already know what they're in for.

If you say on that level, privacy is a concern. Then every website that accepts email address as login would be violating your privacy as any network admin will be able to see. Remember, it's not a privacy violation if you willingly gave information that they are asking for. It's a privacy violation if they are either using it for other purposes or doing something underhanded to fish information that you're not giving them.

As for the article in question, it doesn't mention antivirus companies phoning home/snooping on users/invading their privacy by uploading personally identifiable information.

pikachu01
post Feb 18 2014, 07:14 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ZyD86 @ Feb 18 2014, 07:12 PM)
At last..steam version at amazon..huhu

Btw,

What is the price b4 this at steam? Fogot d
70% off. icon_idea.gif
pikachu01
post Feb 18 2014, 09:21 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Feb 18 2014, 08:49 PM)

This look like a quality indie city-builder. People can die, spreading diseases if not buried properly. Once your settlers are more civilized, you need to build churches, graveyard, fighting crimes etc. Natural disaster, accident also can happen. Pretty realistic take on city builder simulator.

I'll keep an eye on this game.
It's in my wishlist brows.gif
pikachu01
post Feb 19 2014, 09:28 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Feb 19 2014, 04:39 AM)
My goodness today's humble bundle make me wanna cry. I have almost all the games in there!
Buy it for the DRM free and music offer. You can't go wrong with them. brows.gif
pikachu01
post Feb 19 2014, 02:31 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(miraclejustin @ Feb 19 2014, 02:22 PM)
could i buy the humble bundle a t$1 and then top up for BTA after the bonus game release?
Your average will stick even if it increases/decreases. AFAIK I think you can BTA anytime till 2 weeks or so after the Humble Bundle ends.
pikachu01
post Feb 19 2014, 02:54 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(miraclejustin @ Feb 19 2014, 02:54 PM)
u mean like right now, the BTA is 4.30. So if I bought $1 now, I can bta anytime(b4 the deal end) with top up of 3.30?
Yes. brows.gif
pikachu01
post Feb 19 2014, 02:58 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Scar_face @ Feb 19 2014, 02:55 PM)
i dont think so..i think follow current BTA..mean if during that time BTA is $6, u have to add $5..need train master kof91 to verify  laugh.gif
No. The BTA you need to pay always stays static. This means that, if you bought $1 when the BTA is $10, then even if the current BTA is $1.50, you're better off buying a whole new bundle rather than BTA-ing your older bundle.

Context: http://www.reddit.com/r/GameDeals/comments...camelee/cfiie43

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Feb 19 2014, 03:03 PM
pikachu01
post Feb 19 2014, 02:59 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(miraclejustin @ Feb 19 2014, 02:55 PM)
In your opinion, the average will get lower? for few more days?
The BTA is getting higher. My guess is that it'll get higher. If you want to BTA right now, it's good to do that.
pikachu01
post Feb 19 2014, 04:44 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Feb 19 2014, 04:42 PM)
Guessing there won't be Happy Hour for interstellar marines. sad.gif
Need to wait till the last 6 hours before giving up. hmm.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0249sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:50 AM