Steam Steam Promotion, Discussion and FAQ Thread V39

TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 09:54 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Reae @ Feb 24 2014, 09:00 AM)
I can see that notice from client as well.

It does seems like it's locked.
This is utterly retarded as there should be no region lock in digital games. I understand if you want to region lock cheap Russian games for Russia, but please stop making life difficult for the rest of us.

QUOTE(chtan @ Feb 24 2014, 09:15 AM)
According to some, if you happened to travel abroad you can send an email to support to have them temporary lifted the locked. However, this is also very risky as one of the person got his account banned due to this. He actually made a purchase during the travel doh.gif
What nonsense is this? Where the source for this?

I do travel around a lot where I do buy games from a few country during my travels which now, I am very likely to get banned. I'll be damn pissed if I get banned for no reason, as all the non Malaysia games I bought are all from countries with overpriced games.

I doubt i'll be buying as many games from Steam now while will support Humble, UPlay and GOG more.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 10:24 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(chtan @ Feb 24 2014, 10:13 AM)
I know it sounds non-sense. Here is the article in Reddit although it happened quite sometime ago.
http://www.reddit.com/r/Steam/comments/zom...my_account_and/
If thats true, I am probably gonna be banned anytime because I did exact the same thing Steam Support suggested. I remembered that Steam Support advised me to add ?cc=au to use my Steam Wallet fund that I obtain from Australia in Malaysia, which I still use it till now, as apparently selling trading cards in Malaysia automatically adds funds into your Steam Wallet that is only usable on the Malaysia store, despite I still have a valid Australian debit card that is attached to a major Australian bank where I still buy games from Aus store.

Gonna compile all my visa, application, IC and so on now as evidence that I was in Australia for an extended amount of time in case Steam goes retard on me.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 11:25 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(chtan @ Feb 24 2014, 10:30 AM)
Any suggestion? COD Ghost or Battlefield 4 Digital Deluxe?
None of them.

Both games are fairly terrible.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 01:16 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

My problem with BF4 is, the whole issue with EA releasing incomplete and broken games with the release now, fix later mentality. BF4 isn't the first time this happened as Sim City was released in similarly horrible situation.

As a consumer, should we encourage this sort of irresponsible and greedy behavior? That doesnt even go into the rather mixed issue on the game stability, community fragmentation with premium, hit and miss Battlelog reliability and EA obsession with microtransactions in every damn game.

I love Battlefield due to its amazing gameplay since 1942 but EA's irresponsible, greedy business practice made me skip this Battlefield. Companies exist to make money but no one does it like EA with almost complete disregard with ethics and quality conscious. People would be dying if this sort of business practice present in pharmaceutical or automotive industry.

While the problem witn Ghost is, the dying population is just a major turn off where 12k daily players is pathetic for a game like this. According to Steam charts, even Black Ops 2 have more players than Ghost recently before the free weekend.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Feb 24 2014, 02:46 PM
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 02:44 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(chtan @ Feb 24 2014, 02:24 PM)
I can see what you all are coming from and believe me I know your pain.
I decided to take the plunge is because I have never played any battlefield seires previously. Before that, the only experience I have was COD BO2. So now I just wanted to see whats the differences that separate this two franchise.
And the other reason is BF4 already out for quite sometime now, EA should have sorted out most of the bug by now.
I will reporting back if I have encounter any problem.
Play Planetside 2 and join a decent outfit. The experience in Planetside 2 is vastly superior than what Battlefield can offer while SOE is much more attentive than EA.

If I had the time, I would have played Planetside 2.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 02:53 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Feb 24 2014, 01:32 PM)
It's not broken really, the problem is to those who has crashes or freezes are due to them playing on a normal rig.
My high end rig never has those crashes issues, I feel the pain though since most user says it does crash and freezes. Sometimes I even tell mine crash because kesian my buddies crash all the time on mid range pc.
BF4 server wasn't able to cope in day 1 but after a few days it was great. Nothing like SimCity which is full of bullshit all around. Sadly SimCity even that it has all this bugs I still like the game. Glad it's going offline soon as well.

For BF4 the small microtransaction which only helps you unlock weapon doesn't mean a lot to most people. Some items will be free in time and unlocked.
People get premium mostly for the server priority which queue you first to normal non-premium and double XP weekends. DLC is good but mostly we just play on the normal maps.
For DLC the price is alright since it's a full fledged map which is damn massive, if comparing with COD DLC... BF4 DLC is much better la.

EA likes to ruin things so yeah.. Anything when EA release something, people has to think more than 2 times before buying.
After what happen to SimCity and my all time favourite Sims Online being shut down, I haven't no trust on them at all.
Even though Titanfall that promising, I won't buy it until at least 50% off when server is more stable and everything fix.

Yeah COD Ghost simply died, all my hardcore COD friends also super disappointed about it after the purchase.
Some of my friends didn't even get it lol.. I get it just to play with my friends.. In the end we all end up playing Payday 2 which is much much better.
Just because you never really had issues with the game, that doesn't mean that other high end rigs are not having issue. Or all the lower end PCs are having issues as it is evident that BF4 isn't fully QA properly as even consoles with fixed hardware are having this issue with some consoles have zero issues while some consoles are having stability issues. And that should not happen because the point of having consoles are to have a fixed hardware so that optimizing and QA would be easier but some how some consoles are having more issues than others. EA has always been very notorious in their game's QA as most of their games are released in poor state.

If you have microtrasactions in a retail paid game, it is unacceptable regardless its just additional in game cash for real money to just to unlock some guns. Then offering something like Premium on top of microtransactions is just ridiculous.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Feb 24 2014, 03:14 PM
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 03:04 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(AceKendy @ Feb 24 2014, 02:00 PM)
The bugs such as the netcodes you are facing in Battlefield 4 had been there since Battlefield 2 Bad Company till Battlefield 3 and now Battlefield 4 (They don't even bother to fix it) and what you are playing on Battlefield 4 is exactly what the community recommends on the Battlefield 3 forum (They just took everything from the community and claim it as their own).

And the premium is just killing the game IMO. Battlefield 3 > Priority Queue (Seriously?) and a DLC that consist of only a few maps and some weapons but cost you like 20 bucks? And they even get to the point where you can unlock everything in the game by paying for the kit shortcuts which cost like 50 bucks plus.

Battlefield was once a great game. But EA has monopolise it (that is what they do best) and now the fan base is going lower and lower.
I don't even remember BC2 was that bad, probably because it has 32 instead of 64 players. BF3 was quite bad for me while poor core maps along EA's business practice also made BF3 my last BF game. I love Battlefield but I refuse to pay them my money, considering there are tonnes of interesting indie games out there that deserve my attention.

At least Premium has a reason to exist, it's very much a traditional expansion released in smaller chunks while its nice to see DICE offers a themed expansion each time. While maps are not cheap to make considering the size of each map. However how EA market it and manage the game just put me off from their future products.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Feb 24 2014, 03:15 PM
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 03:16 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Feb 24 2014, 03:10 PM)
tl;dr:

great game by dev; bad move by publisher
Which is why people has to stop buying games from EA as they give almost zero crap about QA or customer satisfaction. Or stop pre-ordering new games entirely as it brings almost zero benefit to the buyer.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Feb 24 2014, 03:19 PM
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 05:11 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(AceKendy @ Feb 24 2014, 04:48 PM)
BC2 is a good solid game. And then comes BF3, fill with bugs, overpriced DLC's and Premium shits which kinda force players to buy it because of priority queue.
BF3 will be my last BF series until DICE set their priority straight.

Am very pissed off with their "who cares about those bugs, just shut up and pay me your money." attitude.
I was a bit skeptical with BC2 initially as it looked like EA tried to COD-fied Battlefield but after getting my hands on it, it felt more like blending the strengths of both CoD and Battlefield in one game. At the end, it was one of the shooters that I enjoyed a lot, especially with its well designed progression system and great maps. BF3 is just a turd in comparison to BC2 or BF2.

I do not mind Premium, while I do like the idea of Premium without all the spamming of "You have been killed by a Premum player" and fragmenting the community. EA has been handling it pretty damn horribly now. Its just sad to see that the upcoming BF4's expansion called Naval Strike looked incredible. And also the amount of Operation Metro only servers with thousands of tickets, I am playing a Battlefield for combined arms gameplay, not stuck in a subway dying again and again at the same point.

QUOTE(chtan @ Feb 24 2014, 04:58 PM)
What about Diablo III Reaper of Souls? Thinking of pre-ordering from Battlenet the Deluxe edition. Worth it?
I rather ignore it as D3 was pretty damn terrible due to piss poor Saturday morning cartoon writing and overly grindy gameplay that isnt fun after a while due to slower progression and unfun Elite mobs to fight with. If you have D3, wait for the expansion patch first before getting the expansion. Hopefully Loot 2.0 isnt complete shit but I have been hearing people saying that its garbage and did not fix the problem.

Grim Dawn seemed to be shaping up to be a decent game. Or just play Torchlight 2 or Path of Exile now.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 05:50 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Feb 24 2014, 05:12 PM)
Surprise no one mentions Titanfall.
Heard the beta is pretty much a demo already---fun game and well polished.
If you want to buy a shooting game, go for that one.

Oh man, Thief is 19GB...
It doesnt mean Titanfall will be a good game on day 1 due to the amount of content it has in the demo. I like Titanfall, but I rather wait for the game to release first before even consider buying it. Companies cannot be trusted these days and pre-ordering a game does not give the buyer much tangible benefits.

BF4's Beta was pretty smooth with less problems, while the released version is a goddamn mess.

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Feb 24 2014, 05:38 PM)
Eh butthurt?  laugh.gif

I don't know mine is fine on Nvidia. Mine is hexa and yours is quad.  brows.gif
Seriously, its great that you have a high end rig but is it necessary to show off or even belittle other people's PC?

Heck, I dont even know BF4 or most games in general could fully utilize all 6 cores.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Feb 24 2014, 05:50 PM
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 06:47 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Feb 24 2014, 06:23 PM)
So for titanfall, we better wait for sales to buy so that it is more stable?
Not worth for preorder right?
No, just hang back and wait for initial reviews or feedback first before buying the game. Getting the game one week later wont hurt.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 08:14 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(fat cat @ Feb 24 2014, 08:12 PM)
the deluxe edition is not worth it unless you play WoW, and enjoy cosmetic items.
Apparently, preordering RoS will get you Demon Hunter in Heroes of the Storm as HotS will be using LoL model.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 09:41 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

The prologue of the new Thief.

Potentially a decent game, if not average but this aint a Thief game that I used to remember. Its more like some derivative of Dishonored in some ways.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 10:13 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(newuserex @ Feb 24 2014, 10:11 PM)
Written thief review here, what do you guys think?
That was kinda what I had expected. sad.gif

It is just sad considering its coming from the studio who made Human Revolution.

WTF is Thief.

Seemed like a good PC port.

RPS seemed to be more positive: http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2014/02/24...ew/#more-191233

Watcing TB's WTF half way, it does look not too bad but it has absolutely nothing to do with the last 3 Thief games.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Feb 24 2014, 10:30 PM
TSCheesenium
post Feb 24 2014, 10:40 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(FourZeroFour @ Feb 24 2014, 10:29 PM)
aww crap..I feel sorry for people who paid full price for Thief preorder
If you compared it to the older Thief games, the reboot sucked as it has nothing to do with the older game other than name.

If you take it as a new IP that has nothing to do with the previous 3 games, it looked like a decent game to me.

At least TB and RPS didnt really rip it to shreds.

Not sure whether I want to activate my key or not.

EDIT: Bloody hell, just activated the key. Hope its not another Absolution train wreck but looks like its not as bad as Absolution.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Feb 24 2014, 10:52 PM
TSCheesenium
post Feb 25 2014, 08:09 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Feb 25 2014, 04:11 AM)
Thief seems ok so far. Finished chapter 2.
Soundtrack is not good, AI sucks if you go for normal difficulty(choose hard or higher).
Not as good as Dishonored and doesn't have those multiple choices like Dishonored.
Very closed down type of game which requires and force you to stealth.
Going to combat way sucks as our hero is not good in combat.
Ok la the game so far. But Dishonored definitely is our benchmark. Thief got themselves Dishonored.. xD
Thief should be focused on stealth, not murdering everyone on sight like Dishonored while Garrett has been traditionally terrible at combat since the very first Thief. One guard is fine, 2 is pushing it and 3 is probably death sentence. I think Eidos made it even worse for Garrett by removing his sword.

Dishonored is a good game, but the problem with it is, there are way too many ways to kill but not enough ways or even fun to play stealth while if you kill, it does get quite punishing by making the story worse. I was put off from Dishonored because there are barely any ways available to play as you go by compromising and adapting to the situation where it was more viable in Deus Ex or even older Thief. Its either you go full stealth where you miss out all the fun of using all the crazy stuff or murder everyone in the level for a bad consequences.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 25 2014, 09:24 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(limjenson @ Feb 25 2014, 09:13 AM)
I quite enjoyed Dishonored. Managed to finish the whole game without murdering anyone.
There's plenty of ways to bypass guards with power such as teleportation and also possessions. You can possess the rats and bypass securities.
I dont know why I just dont like it despite I got it pretty early on when it goes on sale.

I might just give it another go when I have the time.

It was one of TB's favourite game of 2012 and it is quite surprising for me to dislike it this badly. I think i do share similar taste with TB most of the time which is partly why I tend to watch his videos more.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 25 2014, 09:50 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Feb 25 2014, 09:34 AM)
perhaps you dun find the idea of blinking behind people and then knocking them unconscious fun?
I like sneaking up and knock them unconscious but it feels like the game is punishing me for knocking anyone out which at the end, i avoid knocking out anyone at the end.

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Feb 25 2014, 09:40 AM)
nothing can beat this

Ah shit, this is damn cool.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Feb 25 2014, 09:53 AM
TSCheesenium
post Feb 25 2014, 10:45 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(limjenson @ Feb 25 2014, 10:29 AM)
Knocking them out and hiding their bodies won't punish you in the end.
Only if you kill them or if they are discovered will increase the alertness of the guards.

I finished my game with 0 kill and 0 alerts.
Thanks, I think i'll give Dishonored another go.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 25 2014, 12:18 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Feb 25 2014, 11:05 AM)
Yeah no idea why they removed the sword. As far as Thief goes I think it is actually heading into the right direction.
Going full stealth is always my kinda of gameplay, I did it in Dishonored so yeah this is gonna be good for Thief as well.
I don't like that the game is pretty closed and un-open like Dishonored. It's a lot more fun on Dishonored. Both aren't so bad though.
I think removing the sword is a good idea, but it was a bit surprising to me. After watching TB's video, seems like they really went 180 from the CoD-esque nonsense.

Both are different games, IMO, but as long as the game doesnt punish if you murdered a few people as badly as say Hitman Absolution, Splinter Cell Conviction and Dishonored, I think im alright with it. I like to make do with whatever I have as I go, not keep save scumming all the time.

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:56 AM