Different ppl say different things....what about you guys....
Aerobics VS Yoga, which is better?
Jul 10 2006, 01:12 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
28 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Different ppl say different things....what about you guys....
Jul 10 2006, 01:26 PM
844 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: S'ban.N.S |
yoga is better
Jul 10 2006, 01:30 PM
9,006 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: PJ |
There is no better or worse here. Why're you comparing 2 different things? Yoga isn't really a form of cardio/aerobics.
Jul 10 2006, 01:34 PM
458 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 10 2006, 01:36 PM
2,816 posts Joined: May 2006 |
apples and oranges
better for what purpose? just to clarify, when you say aerobics, you mean aerobics and not aerobic right? QUOTE yoga is better how so? in what sense, for weight loss, general health? what does yoga involve appart from the insane stretching and spirituality?you cant(or rather shouldnt) just post 3 words without a full explanation, whats the point in that, we have no idea how or why its better we're just supposed to believe it? thats like saying herbalife milkshakes are better than normal foods. eta: damn i wanted to get 3rd post, stupid slow fingers! This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Jul 10 2006, 01:45 PM |
Jul 10 2006, 02:53 PM
1,368 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Jul 10 2006, 03:09 PM
844 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: S'ban.N.S |
QUOTE(huix @ Jul 10 2006, 01:34 PM) i think the thread starter should compare the tai chi with yoga.... not aerobics.... i tried tai chi before.... but im a yoga practitioner.... for me both have benefits... maybe + or - in few thing onyQUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Jul 10 2006, 01:36 PM) apples and oranges im just answered to what was asked by the thread starter... do i realy have to explain my points just for u to understand..... if u r yoga practitioner you can see everything beyond that three words.... better for what purpose? just to clarify, when you say aerobics, you mean aerobics and not aerobic right? how so? in what sense, for weight loss, general health? what does yoga involve appart from the insane stretching and spirituality? you cant(or rather shouldnt) just post 3 words without a full explanation, whats the point in that, we have no idea how or why its better we're just supposed to believe it? thats like saying herbalife milkshakes are better than normal foods. eta: damn i wanted to get 3rd post, stupid slow fingers! stop being such a dumba$$ n start to googling to find the truth your self QUOTE(T+1 @ Jul 10 2006, 02:53 PM) since u r asking opinion of guys... in my opinion, yoga is better because yoga practitioners have nicer figures |
Jul 10 2006, 03:16 PM
In term of losing weight, I do think aerobics have the immediate effects than yoga. But Yoga tend to be more effective in long run...confusing..!!!??!?!
Jul 10 2006, 03:19 PM
Jul 10 2006, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(rudhrasamy @ Jul 10 2006, 03:09 PM) im just answered to what was asked by the thread starter... do i realy have to explain my points just for u to understand..... if u r yoga practitioner you can see everything beyond that three words.... how did you answer the original question? i'm sorry but a 3 word answer which doesnt include any explanation into why yoga is better doesnt tell us crap. common sense, if the person is asking you which is better he/she obviously isnt a practitioner and doesnt know why its better which is why he/she is asking the question to begin with.stop being such a dumba$$ n start to googling to find the truth your self so you say yoga is better, how so? you're a practitioner right? what are the health benefits? emotional/mental/spiritual benefits if any? if you dont intend to provide a proper answer dont answer at all, its pointless. when someone asks a question either provide a full answer to the best of your abilities or keep it to yourself. being rude to someone who is simply inquiring into the reasons why yoga is better only serves to show yourself to be immature and lacking in knowledge. grow up. to reply to the original question as to which is better: since the yoga "practitioner" failed to provide any reason as to why yoga is actually better i'll go ahead and say aerobics is better. it strengthens all muscles involved in respiration, as with all exercises which maintain a mid-high heart beat rate it strengthens the heart improving efficiency of the heart and lowering the resting heart beat rate, it tones muscles and improves blood flow reducing the risk of high blood pressure. other benifits include increased red blood cell count and reduced risk of cardiovascular problems. not to mention exercising at an increased heart beat rate helps alot with fat burning, so if you want to lose weight(fat) aerobics > yoga, long term or short term for the purpose of burning fat and keeping it off aerobics is better. another benefit of aerobic exercise as with any exercise is the body's release of endorphines and adreneline, these help to relieve stress and improve moods(make you happy), so exercising is a natural way of improving one's physical, mental and emotional health. This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Jul 10 2006, 03:57 PM |
Jul 10 2006, 06:15 PM
5,796 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Well, I aint nobody but this is my 2 cents.
1. Yoga, it's relaxing, it's exercise but then it's slow. My friends who goes for yoga classes say that sometimes, the mind is too relax. Mind becomes so relax until, other 'things' like evil spirit may affect our bodies. 2. Aerobics - dance dance revolution, overall body workout. Surely produce more sweat than yoga. 3. Tai chi - slow motion exercise. Not that much sweat. I learnt before when I was younger. That whole tai chi chuan, hit the person and he flies away is bullshit. And I thought it was real. Sheesh! |
Jul 10 2006, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 10 2006, 06:15 PM) 3. Tai chi - slow motion exercise. Not that much sweat. I learnt before when I was younger. That whole tai chi chuan, hit the person and he flies away is bullshit. And I thought it was real. Sheesh! i've seen people get hit and flew before it wasnt like in the movies where people fly 10 meters but getting pushed into the air 1-2feet and 4-5feet backwards, just because one cannot do it does not mean it cannot be done. |
Jul 10 2006, 11:14 PM
5,796 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sure or not? Like Wong Fei Hong you mean? If orang besar tolak orang kecik, then ok la, they may land a few feet back... But not until like tai-chi, they hit the person liao, the palm still waving wan... itu I think cina-MAtrix effect la.
Jul 11 2006, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 10 2006, 11:14 PM) Sure or not? Like Wong Fei Hong you mean? If orang besar tolak orang kecik, then ok la, they may land a few feet back... But not until like tai-chi, they hit the person liao, the palm still waving wan... itu I think cina-MAtrix effect la. lol mana ada palm still waving after hitting... mm i have an example of what i mean but the link doesnt seem to be working, i'll post it later. i could post the bruce lee side kick vid but we all know bruce lee had damn near superhuman strength and technique so that'd be pointless. eta: on second though, watch bruce lee. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LT1r343pKDA thats what i mean by flying. eta2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3Qex7QFLss seen similar things with bagua and other styles aswell. This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Jul 11 2006, 01:20 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0182sec
5 queries
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:27 AM |